Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Quebec City City Tour Excursion Reviews

Quebec City City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
There is much to do in Quebec City, and taking a guided tour will ensure you don't miss any of it.
Member Image Olivehilda
1 review
Oct 2014

Tour bus driver spoke French, did not understand English. The tour guide and the bus driver had never talked with each other before this tour. Therefore, the tour guide assumed that the driver knew the city and traffic flows. The driver did not know the city and therefore made several mistakes and had to backing up a hill to make the correct turn.
Tour company did not lower the bus at the end of the tour which caused my wife to damage her one knee. A simple wooden step could have been placed on the ground and lower the bus. By the way, the bus had the capability to be lowered but the driver did not understand English so our request was ignored.

Read Olivehilda's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image bluechip
1 review
Oct 2014

Well attended and narrated. A comprehensive tour of the city with a very erudite guide.

Read bluechip's full Pearl Mist cruise review
Provider: Pearl Seas Cruises
Member Image rubysue
10 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Quebec City is spectacular, one of the most beautiful cities we have visited. Our tour was comprehensive, with a stroll through Old Quebec, a visit to Montmorency Falls, lunch at a lovely inn on Ile de Orleans with a view of the city, time at St. Anne du Beaupre Basilica, a drive along the Royal Road, a visit to the Plains of Abraham and more time to wander around near Chateau Frontenac. The weather was variable, with some sun in the morning, but overcast skies and a chill wind in the afternoon. The tour was rated "moderate", but involved a lot of walking on uneven surfaces. The tour guide was superb, full of historical information and anecdotes about the area.

Read rubysue's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image lecanadian
1 review
Sep 2014

At Quebec City, we were able to easily walk from the dock to Old Quebec. 4 hour tour was a combination of bus and walking. Great city to explore whether for an hour or a day.

Read lecanadian's full Grande Caribe cruise review
Provider: Blount Small Ship Adventures
Member Image ruthweissart
1 review
Sep 2014

Tour guide was buffoon and talked a lot about bars, the city however was lovely. Quebec was, as advertised, a wonderful place to look, see and strol--we were there for days eight and nine. We didn't realize that one could have taken a 7-day rather than a 14 day cruise, and we would have loved to jump ship, rent a car and drive to Montreal and then to Boston. I'd say "next time" but there won't be a next time. Of course, the $5.50 Starbucks latte in Quebec surprised me, although I don't know why I was surprised since we were in the tourist area at high season. The museum of fine arts there was terrific, and by taking two local buses to get there we saw some of the city outside the old city walls. The art galleries were interesting and showed something other than tourist art, and there was a street that held local artists' work of great caliber, especially the etchings.

Read ruthweissart's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Viatour
Member Image jahzed1
1 review
Jun 2014

Quebec City is an awesome place and the port places you right in the middle of the old town. There is so much to do and see and as long as you are able to walk, you can access most of what you need to see in town. The city tour was a bit long for my taste and we really only got out of the bus at the citadel, a park and for the elevator ride for the panoramic view of the city. We were glad that we explored the old town at length and on foot the day of embarkation and the morning before the tour.

I will repeat this many times, but you could easily have found an independent contractor to give you a better, shorter, more self-directed tour for the same (if not lower) price. Also, while they are more than happy to sell you the tour, HAL does not send staff members on them to maintain the quality/consistency of the experience for guests. This tour was just OK.

Read jahzed1's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Terpitude
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

A great tour if, like us, you've never been. We had a very sharp guide and the coach gives you the ability to get a real feel for that part of the world.

Read Terpitude's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Princepaddy
2 reviews
Sep 2013

See above

Read Princepaddy's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jescott54
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

It rained so hard,we could not see one thing or enjoy the city.

Read jescott54's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ladymadeline
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Very knowledgeable guide showed us the lower and upper sections of the city, let us run through the Frontenac, pointed out some side streets and shops and then took us to the Battlefield are before heading to Montmorency Falls. With her overview we were able to spend the afternoon on our own and had a great time exploring the area.
Read ladymadeline's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Autumn72
6 reviews
Sep 2012
We had 2 days here and walked from the ship to explore the old town by ourselves on the first day. There was a shuttle but the line was very long and the walk only about 3/4 of a mile. Very easy walk. We took the Grand Tour of Quebec on day 2 and went to the Chateau Frontenac, Ste Anne de Beaupre, Montmorency Falls and Ile d'Orleans. It was a very nice tour and included a lunch at a farm style restaurant.
Read Autumn72's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Daladycruiser
1 review
Sep 2012
Upon arrival we went on Historic and Modern Quebec tour. It was a quick ride around the city which gave us a quick overview and familiarization. We were able to get off at the Chateau Frontenac and walk around for about half hour. The following day we did a Grand Exploration Of Quebec excursion and visited the world-renowned shrine of Ste-anne-de-beaupre & Montmorency Falls. Many kudos to our tour guide Johanna who was with us for two of the tours.
Read Daladycruiser's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jtanewport
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Quebec City is the essence of French Canada. Very interesting historical buildings; the Chateau Frontenac is not to be missed. A carriage ride offers a great way to experience the city.
Read jtanewport's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image dudley mom
2 reviews
Jun 2012
The visit to Island of Orleans, the incredible countryside, the sugar shack farm and the Mauvide-Genest Manor were so much fun. Excellent tour guide and excellent, comfortable bus. The visit to the sugar shack was awesome. We could have spent more time there. The falls at Montmorency were ok.
Read dudley mom's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image AntjeG
1 review
Sep 2011

What a lovely City! But a city tour really is not nessessary as you can easily get around walking and using the elevator that connects the lower and upper parts of the city. However, the guide was knowledgeable and friendly and we enjoyed the tour.

Read AntjeG's full AIDAaura cruise review
Provider: AIDA

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.