Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Halifax Peggy's Cove Excursion Reviews

Halifax Peggy's Cove cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience the beauty of Peggy's Cove as you wander through the scenic, rocky paradise and learn the history behind its famous white lighthouse.
Member Image chevytrkr
5 reviews
Oct 2014

Although the weather was inclement during our tour, our tour operator, Liz, made the trip very enjoyable with her stories about Halifax. Especially noteworthy were the roles Halifax played during the 9/11 disaster when flights arriving back to the U.S. were diverted to Halifax when the airspace over the U.S. was shut down. Also, Halifax was involved with the Titanic disaster by retreiving bodies at sea and burying those victims who could not be identified. Another trajedy was the airline crash off the coast of Halifax that left all passengers and crew dead. Peggy's Cove is a beautiful little fishing village with a picturesque lighthouse sitting on a stone outcropping. Even the terrible weather could not deter us from venturing out and taking photos. Liz also provided us a very humorous rendition of the mating ritual of lobsters. Who knew?

Read chevytrkr's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image June DeMarco
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

My favorite excursion of all.... Seeing magnificent Peggy's Cove (you really have to be there to really see it and experience it, but what a thrill!), and then stopping off in Halifax at the graveyard where many of the victims of the Titanic were taken. Oh my! It still gives me goosebumps.... You'd think it'd be depressing, but instead it's a feeling of connection. This was real, and you are sharing in its reality. Frankly, there are no real words to describe it. I can only say that everyone of us on the excursion could have easily stayed longer at the gravesites and absorbed so much more of that history.

Read June DeMarco's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image DaydayT
1 review
Sep 2014

Peggy's Cove was beautiful! Note that the ride to the cove was quite curvy and the bus moves at a notable speed to honor time restraints for the tour. Be sure to wear "sea bands" (excellent wrist bands obtained at pharmacies or Walmart) or motion sickness meds if you are prone to become sick) The tour guide shared interesting and educational information about the area as we traveled.
Our tour included a stop at the graveyard for the Titanic. The historical and personal stories shared by our tour guide was excellent. The realization of what these people experienced becomes a reality and you are reminded of the heartache of such a terrible tragedy.
This was a good excursion to help you experience the Halifax area.

Read DaydayT's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Wanetadrift
3 reviews
Sep 2014

First trip to Halifax and love lighthouses so booked the Coastal Tour to Peggy's cove. Interesting tour guide narrative of the history and sights on way to Peggy's cove. Saw cemetery for some of the Titanic voyagers. The Lighthouse sits on the most amazing terrain all granite from the receding glaciers. Was a nice trip. If you want to walk up to the Lighthouse wear good shoes and be agile. Saw several take tumbles. Typical gift store there. Small restaurant , coffee bar.

Read Wanetadrift's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KatBerry61
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

Peggy's Cove was worth the trip. While this was a long day, it didn't seem that way as it was broken up with photo-ops and stops. (Titanic Cemetary, maple syrup store, Citadel, etc) Tour guide was excellent giving stories and information the entire time. Highlight tour of the cruise for us!

Read KatBerry61's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image goochnj9
1 review
Sep 2014

Good destination very photographic

Read goochnj9's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Dragonesque
4 reviews
Sep 2014

(This also appears in my main cruise review.)
We’ve been to Peggy’s Cove many times in the past. It’s a beautiful little place, everything you could wish of a quaint fishing village. This time it was still beautiful, but it was simply too freaking crowded. There must have been 20 buses there that day. The line to the bathroom in the little store/restaurant was out the door. The restaurant, which serves the most delicious gingerbread in the world, was absolutely jammed and there was no way we were getting any gingerbread that day. They also need to allow more time to explore this area, especially when you are rivaling against 20 other tour buses. This tour is obviously extremely popular, so book early.

Read Dragonesque's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wdlnds58
5 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

The bus was clean and comfortable, our guide was informative and fun. Most of what you see in Halifax and Peggy's Cove are out of the bus windows but worth it all the same. Stops and the lighthouse in Peggy's cove and the Halifax cemetery with the Titanic graves.

Read wdlnds58's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jahzed1
1 review
Jun 2014

The weather in Halifax was the worst of the trip. The tour we took included Peggy's Cove and the Titanic grave site. The tour, while rainy and relatively miserable (from a weather perspective) was very good and the tour guide excellent. She made the most of the crappy weather and we learned a great deal about Halifax, the explosion of 1917 and the Titanic on the trip. I think anything that you would have booked (private or not) would have been crappy due to the weather. We did get to the Maritime Museum on our own prior to the tour and that is definitely a must-see!

You could easily have found an independent contractor to give you a better, shorter, more self-directed tour for the same (if not lower) price. Also, while they are more than happy to sell you the tour, HAL does not send staff members on them to maintain the quality/consistency of the experience for guests. This tour was good.

Read jahzed1's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Aelder2259
1 review
Oct 2013

After reading the disappointing reviews by other cruise critic members, I was starting to regret that I signed up for the Peggy's Cove excursion. I'm glad I did, though...it was my favorite place of the whole cruise to take photos!

Unlike some of the other reviewers, we spent 75 minutes at Peggy's Cove - plenty of time to walk through the town, take photos, get a bite to eat, and do a little shopping.

Hints: Take your passport with you and go upstairs of the main gift shop/restaurant - they will stamp it with a passport stamp that has the lighthouse in it. Also, everything upstairs is locally made (instead of China) and there was NO line at the checkout! Skip the crowd at the restaurant and head over to the hotdog cart ($5 for a dog and a soda) - she even makes her own relish and mustard.

My only negative comments are that there are so many people walking around the lighthouse that it's near impossible to get a complete photo of it without people in it. Too bad they don't make everyone clear out every 30 minutes (for 15 minutes) so people can take photos. Also, too many buses there at one time...I think 3 buses at a time is plenty (not the 20 that seemed to be there). The place is just too small for that many people.

Read Aelder2259's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image VacationsRme
3 reviews
Oct 2013

Very good tour. Saw some beautiful scenery.

Read VacationsRme's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cruzin_ga_gal
10 reviews
Oct 2013

This was a combination tour of Peggy's Cove and Titanic cemetery. Peggy's Cove is a very picturesque fishing village. There is nothing to do there except to take pictures. The excursion spent too much time here and not enough in the Titanic cemetery.

Getting back on the bus in Peggy's Cove, there was too much confusion of where people were sitting. The guide was very school marmish telling people where to sit. We were all adults, but I felt that it wasted time, while people played musical seats and were chastised by the guide.

The Titanic Gravesite is interesting. The gravesites are shaped in the form of a bow of a ship. It is sad to see so many still unnamed dead. I would have liked to had more time to read more of the gravestones.

Read cruzin_ga_gal's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 53smokey
1 review
Sep 2013

Beautiful place to visit. Time was cut short by unorganized loading of the buses by tour operators. It's a place to put on a bucket list

Read 53smokey's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image wgb7428
6 reviews
Sep 2013

Peggy's Cove was nice, tour guide lost her creditability when she tried to pass off waves over the rocks as whales.

Read wgb7428's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jst4fun137
1 review
Sep 2013

Tour guide was good. Sit on the side behind the driver to see all the stuff the driver talks about. Had gingerbread at shop at Peggy's Cove It was good Also went to Titanic Cemetary

Read Jst4fun137's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TeaG
1 review
Aug 2013

Then off to Peggy's Cove. Nice views of cove from rocks on shore. Pretty little lighthouse. Lots of little gift shops. Picturesque place, nice little hat shop there where milliner makes original headgear -- not cheap, but unique! Off to Titanic graveyard -- very interesting but depressing way to end a tour especially considering we are about to board a cruise ship! Then back to boat. Tour guide was very good!

Read TeaG's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image MrBanana1240
4 reviews
Aug 2013

Beautiful town. It was very beautiful.

Read MrBanana1240's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image lunacruise
1 review
Aug 2013

This one is a must see. Go there once is all you need though. DO NOT GET NEAR THE WET BLACK ROCKS; DO NOT RUN in the area. I witnessed an older gentlemen fractured his ribs and head because he fell on the rocks (I found out later on)

Read lunacruise's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Princessbunnie
1 review
Aug 2013

Peggy's Cove is a beautiful fishing village. Not to be missed. We took the 3 hour tour. Our guide Donna was very knowledgeable about Halifax and Peggy's Cove. I enjoyed every moment of the trip. Reason why I give the excursion only a 4 is that they only give you 1 hour at Peggy's Cove to explore. I wanted to stay longer and enjoy a nice outdoor lunch while enjoying the sea air.

Read Princessbunnie's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Ohiocruiser
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Loved the Titanic tour

Read Ohiocruiser's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hillbilly1
2 reviews
Jul 2013

Missed the good shopping in Halifax.

Read hillbilly1's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ziggy2132
1 review
Jul 2013

Fantastic private tour. Price was better than cruise lines. Tour guide was a wealth of knowledge and we saw so many areas that by the time the tour was over, our family was ready for a nap!

Read ziggy2132's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image TNCruiser2011
2 reviews
May 2013

Halifax was a wonderful city and the trip to Peggy's Cove was worth the hour drive BUT again we were not given enough time once we were there. I'd suggest finding a tour that gives you 2-3 hrs there if you want to grab a bite to eat and see any of the shops. We were there 1 hr and only had time to walk thru the town and back (with a short bathroom stop).

Read TNCruiser2011's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image nancylc
1 review
Oct 2012

Best tour of the cruise! Absolutely a must! The drive there and back is beautiful and Peggys Cove is enchanting. The little shops, rocky cliffs, lighthouse were all so enjoyable. The guides were wonderful. We really enjoyed this tour!

Read nancylc's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image AkronMadisonGal
1 review
Oct 2012
Had originally booked a Tall Ship excursion here, but with the experience in Bar Harbor, we were spooked about accessibility so we changed to a bus tour that included Peggy's Cove as we knew the bus could handle the collapsible wheelchair. In retrospect, the dock was modern and had even boards, so the advertised "8-10 minute walk along a wooden dock to the tall ship" would have been navigable. As it turned out the, the Peggy's Cove Tour was quite entertaining - we certainly saw a lot of Halifax and that was the point. On this trip, the guide, quite liked himself and his stories, and he got a little boorish by the end of the tour. He diverted our bus on the way back to drive past his boyhood schools, which, in rush hour, was unnecessary, and cut into our time back at the dock to visit the other vendors and markets nearby.
Read AkronMadisonGal's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DMAB
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Gray Line tour of Peggy's cove and the Titanic Graveyard. Tour is about 4 hours long, over 1/2 of which is on the bus going between places. We locked out and weather at Peggy's Cove was beautiful, cool but clear, sunny and no wind.
Read DMAB's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Karen1969
1 review
Oct 2012
Just not much in Peggy's Cove except the lighthouse and a few shops. And if it happens to be raining, forget it. We also didn't have enough time to really do anything except walk the streets a bit.
Read Karen1969's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image CRUISEBOY305
8 reviews
Oct 2012
Halifax I did the Peggy's Cove and Titanic (with Scooter and Momma) wonderful tour. Peggy's Cove is absolutely brilliant and beautiful. The Fairview Cemetery was very interesting for me. I've always been very fascinated by the tragedy of titanic. This excursion stated at 12:30pm so I did the Pink Bus Hop On and Off around the city. Stopped at the Citadel and Public Gardens. Citadel was interesting. Publix Gardens was beautiful. A must in Halifax.
Read CRUISEBOY305's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image banana5214
1 review
Sep 2012
Only had 30 mins at Peggy's Cove, very congested there. Put on the wrong bus at the ship, delayed start of trip by 20 mins. Titanic cemetery fascinating.
Read banana5214's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Autumn72
6 reviews
Sep 2012
Pretty little town. Had it not been raining we would have loved to walk around. Everyone was in the gift store / restaurant which made it tough to move around.
Read Autumn72's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gabbydaisy96
1 review
Sep 2012
Raining in Halifax, but we enjoyed the tour. The tour guide told us a lot of Titanic history. Peggy's Cove was amazing. I highly recommend this tour.
Read gabbydaisy96's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ssgmike
4 reviews
Sep 2012
an excellent tour, guide was excellent
Read ssgmike's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Lazy Sea Days
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Fun excursion, lots of rain. Peggy's Cove is a must see, this is my 2nd time and I still loved it.
Read Lazy Sea Days's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Eponine7
1 review
Sep 2012
The day we went halifax and peggys cove was filled with a thick fog which made it difficult to see its natural beauty. However what we saw was fantastic at peggy's cove and it can only have been better in clear weather. would recommend.
Read Eponine7's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruisingsewgirl
1 review
Sep 2012
We chose the Peggys cove hop on, hop off. We boarded the bus for the trip to Peggy's cove. Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable of the city. Once we arrived at the cove we found that there was at least seven buses there so it was extremely busy. We had to wait to get into the gift shop. We were given about 45 minutes to wander the town. With so many people, we wish there was a little more time to wander and check out the little shops around the cove. The hop on, hop off was afforded to us but since we were so hungry we did not utilize it and chose to go get some lobster instead.
Read cruisingsewgirl's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rogerball
1 review
Sep 2012
Interesting once we got there. Tourist trap. Recommend booking independently.
Read Rogerball's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wolfie2702
1 review
Jul 2012
Enjoyed Peggy's cove. The tourguide was very informative and very passionate about Nova Scotia.
Read wolfie2702's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Holomoku
5 reviews
Apr 2012
My DW and friends took the HoHo tour to Peggy's Cove and really were looking forward to a Lobster Lunch. The tour was good but no one told them that to have the lunch they would need to go right in there and not go around Peggy's Cove and take photos. They missed what my DW had been waiting for as a highlight of this cruise. Perhaps the tour could have informed them of this before arriving in Peggy's Cove.
Read Holomoku's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AntjeG
1 review
Sep 2011

Loved this - esp. as we had sunny weather and were the first tour bus that day. Lovely Little village and to get there you drive through nice countryside.
Warning: tends to be extremely crowded later in the day. Noticed at least 5 busses going there when we left.

Read AntjeG's full AIDAaura cruise review
Provider: AIDA

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.