Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Halifax Peggy's Cove Excursion Reviews

Halifax Peggy's Cove cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience the beauty of Peggy's Cove as you wander through the scenic, rocky paradise and learn the history behind its famous white lighthouse.
Member Image kevinkevin
1 review
Oct 2015
Exceellent
Read kevinkevin's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image BobbieB251
1 review
Oct 2015
Great bus tour of Peggy's Cove. Bruce was the tour guide and he was wonderful. Bruce was very knowledgeable and funny at times. Hop on and hop off option at the end was nice. We saw a lot of sites
Read BobbieB251's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Uncle Al95670
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Tour of Halifax and Peggy's cove. All day tour. Time for shopping and strolling the town in Peggy's Cove. Beautiful little fishing village. City tour with lunch in Halifax, Halifax Maritime Museum, and Halifax Citadel. Again, great tour.
Read Uncle Al95670's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sweetygirl
1 review
Oct 2015
Beautiful scenery
Read Sweetygirl's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image landlovr
1 review
Oct 2015
Excellent tour, top notch driver and guide, very nice bus. Peggy's Cove is small so I could see it all after the 20 minute wait for the ladies bathroom!
Read landlovr's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Mademypoint
3 reviews
Sep 2015
This included several stops including the Gardens, the citadel (photo opp only), the local area and the cemetery where the victims of the titanic were buried.
Read Mademypoint's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image LINDAE3213
2 reviews
Sep 2015
waste of $65 each for 45 minutes in a small and very crowded area with about 30 tour buses.... nice scenery if you can see past hundreds of people walking over the rocks by the lighthouse as you try to absorb the view..would NOT return to the area even with another cruise newbie who wants to see it ...they can waste the 3 hours and $65 without me !
Read LINDAE3213's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image paulgs
1 review
Sep 2015
More hype than substance. Little town with 40 residence and 30 bus loads of tourists.
Read paulgs's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image WALLEEK
1 review
Sep 2015
Did this tour in conjunction with the Titanic cemetery. Enjoyed both very much. Had a really good guide.
Read WALLEEK's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LOU
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Peggy's cove is beautiful but too much time spent traveling to and from the cove and not enough time to enjoy it.
Read LOU's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image harnpat
1 review
Aug 2015
Very scenic once you get there. There are a lot of hilly areas. Bought some molten glass jewelry as gifts.
Read harnpat's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Americanand proud
1 review
Aug 2015
Peggy's Cove is a little (really little) town by the sea that provides great photo opportunities. We also visited the cemetery where many Titanic casualties were buried. The guide was very knowledgeable and witty.
Read Americanand proud's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cobollover
1 review
Aug 2015
Took a car service around Halifax and Peggy's cove. Many interesting facts including standard time starting there. We also visited the titanic cemetery and early universities. Peggy's cove was prettier than I expected. A must see.
Read cobollover's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image imaproudma
2 reviews
Jul 2015
hiked the beautiful area around Peggy's cove, delicious lunch and amazing guide Jillian
Read imaproudma's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Great E.A.R.T.H
Member Image CruiseBG
1 review
Jun 2015
Great tour guide and the Titanic cemetery was an unexpected treat due to the wonderful stories.
Read CruiseBG's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image walkpl
1 review
Jun 2015
Very picturesque
Read walkpl's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image LovingTheHighSeas
1 review
Jun 2015
Our driver let us off at the historic lighthouse and let us take our time to take pictures and walk through the fishing village on the way back to the vehicle. Very relaxing.
Read LovingTheHighSeas's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Halifax Tour Guys
Member Image chevytrkr
5 reviews
Oct 2014

Although the weather was inclement during our tour, our tour operator, Liz, made the trip very enjoyable with her stories about Halifax. Especially noteworthy were the roles Halifax played during the 9/11 disaster when flights arriving back to the U.S. were diverted to Halifax when the airspace over the U.S. was shut down. Also, Halifax was involved with the Titanic disaster by retreiving bodies at sea and burying those victims who could not be identified. Another trajedy was the airline crash off the coast of Halifax that left all passengers and crew dead. Peggy's Cove is a beautiful little fishing village with a picturesque lighthouse sitting on a stone outcropping. Even the terrible weather could not deter us from venturing out and taking photos. Liz also provided us a very humorous rendition of the mating ritual of lobsters. Who knew?

Read chevytrkr's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image June DeMarco
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

My favorite excursion of all.... Seeing magnificent Peggy's Cove (you really have to be there to really see it and experience it, but what a thrill!), and then stopping off in Halifax at the graveyard where many of the victims of the Titanic were taken. Oh my! It still gives me goosebumps.... You'd think it'd be depressing, but instead it's a feeling of connection. This was real, and you are sharing in its reality. Frankly, there are no real words to describe it. I can only say that everyone of us on the excursion could have easily stayed longer at the gravesites and absorbed so much more of that history.

Read June DeMarco's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image DaydayT
1 review
Sep 2014

Peggy's Cove was beautiful! Note that the ride to the cove was quite curvy and the bus moves at a notable speed to honor time restraints for the tour. Be sure to wear "sea bands" (excellent wrist bands obtained at pharmacies or Walmart) or motion sickness meds if you are prone to become sick) The tour guide shared interesting and educational information about the area as we traveled.
Our tour included a stop at the graveyard for the Titanic. The historical and personal stories shared by our tour guide was excellent. The realization of what these people experienced becomes a reality and you are reminded of the heartache of such a terrible tragedy.
This was a good excursion to help you experience the Halifax area.

Read DaydayT's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Wanetadrift
3 reviews
Sep 2014

First trip to Halifax and love lighthouses so booked the Coastal Tour to Peggy's cove. Interesting tour guide narrative of the history and sights on way to Peggy's cove. Saw cemetery for some of the Titanic voyagers. The Lighthouse sits on the most amazing terrain all granite from the receding glaciers. Was a nice trip. If you want to walk up to the Lighthouse wear good shoes and be agile. Saw several take tumbles. Typical gift store there. Small restaurant , coffee bar.

Read Wanetadrift's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KatBerry61
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

Peggy's Cove was worth the trip. While this was a long day, it didn't seem that way as it was broken up with photo-ops and stops. (Titanic Cemetary, maple syrup store, Citadel, etc) Tour guide was excellent giving stories and information the entire time. Highlight tour of the cruise for us!

Read KatBerry61's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image goochnj9
1 review
Sep 2014

Good destination very photographic

Read goochnj9's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Dragonesque
4 reviews
Sep 2014

(This also appears in my main cruise review.)
We’ve been to Peggy’s Cove many times in the past. It’s a beautiful little place, everything you could wish of a quaint fishing village. This time it was still beautiful, but it was simply too freaking crowded. There must have been 20 buses there that day. The line to the bathroom in the little store/restaurant was out the door. The restaurant, which serves the most delicious gingerbread in the world, was absolutely jammed and there was no way we were getting any gingerbread that day. They also need to allow more time to explore this area, especially when you are rivaling against 20 other tour buses. This tour is obviously extremely popular, so book early.

Read Dragonesque's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wdlnds58
5 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

The bus was clean and comfortable, our guide was informative and fun. Most of what you see in Halifax and Peggy's Cove are out of the bus windows but worth it all the same. Stops and the lighthouse in Peggy's cove and the Halifax cemetery with the Titanic graves.

Read wdlnds58's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.