Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Halifax City Tour Excursion Reviews

Halifax City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
From the beautiful public gardens to the eighteenth century Fort George on Citadel Hill, there is a lot to appreciate in the historic city of Halifax.
Member Image rubysue
10 reviews
Oct 2014

We booked a private tour for just the two of us in Halifax. Our visit was shortened due to rough seas (pilot boat could not approach the ship). We did get a four-hour tour that included highlights of the city, a visit to the Protestant cemetery with many of the Titanic victims, a stop at a maple producer, and time in Peggy's Cove. Our driver, Stewart, was excellent and took us through interesting neighborhoods and back roads. We were among the only visitors at Peggy's Cove when we arrived there and the dramatic overcast skies and scenery were wonderful!

Read rubysue's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Halifax Tour Guys
Member Image garvey818
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

At $49.95 per person for 90 minutes, this was at the high end for what we'd normally pay for a city tour. But it was well worth the money. The guide was a retired railroad official who provided a steady stream of facts and stories about the city. Highlights included seeing the vast amount of green space that Halifax has preserved for public use, and visiting the site of the 1917 explosion that killed 2000 residents and destroyed much of the city.

Read garvey818's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Terpitude
1 review
Sep 2013

Be sure to bring your comfortable shoes, as the walking tour is quite extensive. A lovely city with a spectacular central park. Lots and lots to do.

Read Terpitude's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image kathy6890
1 review
Aug 2013

Halifax is a charming city and some nice walkable sites. However, much of it is uphill from the port, so a challenge for those who aren't in good shape or have any mobility issues.

Read kathy6890's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Grammyceej
1 review
Oct 2012
This was a private van tour that we shared with other members from Cruise Critic roll call for this cruise. It was very well priced when being shared with others. Our guide, David was excellant!!! Doing a private tour you get to go places the buses can't. It was obvious that David does his research to know exactly what he's talking about. We had a stop at the Acadia Maple Store. Heaven! Great prices compared to what we pay here in BC for maple syrup. When we were there David asked each of us what size lobster we wanted then phoned ahead to have it ready when we arrived at the wholesaler. They had lobsters ranging in size from 1.5 pounds to 2.5 pounds and they cook them there for you but you pay wholesale instead of retail. Yum, yum, yum!! We left there and went to beautiful Peggy's Cove, where we were for about 45 minutes. Another must do! Upon leaving Peggy's Cove we returned to town where we stopped at Fairview Cemetery where 121 victims of the Titanic are buried. Once again David showed us what a historian he is as he explained so much of the site to us, he had several others following along with us listening to him as well. He also took us to the Halifax Citadel while on this tour. A very educational tour indeed. I highly recommend David with Van Tours of Nova Scotia.
Read Grammyceej's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: David Marriott
Member Image Autumn72
6 reviews
Sep 2012
It was raining so we did not stop but just drove through the Citadel. We did stop at the Victorian park which was nice, altho a bit soggy. The guide dropped us off for the "shopping" portion of our tour at 9:30 at a small city mall where the stores opened at 10 and we had to meet the bus at 10:05. We were supposed to go to the maritime museum but he just pointed it out and kept the bus moving. We did stop at the Titanic graveyard which was interesting. Not a great overall tour.
Read Autumn72's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Daladycruiser
1 review
Sep 2012
It was raining but that did not deter us from enjoying the tours. Did The Best of Halifax Tour - Minicoach. Our tour guide was great and knowledgable Awesome views and much better than doing the motorcoach. Went to Peggys Cove, got out of the minicoach and went straight into restaurant and ordered a wonderful lobster. Waitress was awesome and had the lobster on the table right away. This gave me plenty of time to take some dynamite photos of the cove. Since it was raining, my photos were more interesting than photos that I have seen of the cove on sunny days. Titanic burial grounds were interesting. Nothing negative to say about this tour. The gardens were beautiful, even in the rain.
Read Daladycruiser's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jszap
4 reviews
Aug 2012
It was 90 degrees on a 3 hour tour and they did not give us any water. I asked if we could stop for us to buy water and they said it wasn't on the tour. Only on full day tours. This ruined our trip. We got headaches and were miserable. Margaret Ann needs a microphone because 50 people can't hear her. She is very informative, but you can't hear her!! The stop at the Titanic grave site was too long. Too much time spent around the Titanic. Enough already. Everyone saw the movie. Now in 3 D. We got it.
Read jszap's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Morhoyle51
1 review
Aug 2012
Terrible! no bathrooms on tour. You have to use the bus bathroom. All outdoor tour. You never enter anything..only walk around outdoors.
Read Morhoyle51's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Jammu2
4 reviews
Aug 2012
Super guide. I ended up liking the tour through the Public Gardens the best of the 10. But this is a great way to see Halifax for the first time visitor. It includes Peggy's Cove. I found the time spent there adequate so I'm glad I did not choose an excursion just to go out to Peggy's Cove.
Read Jammu2's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image chicagopeeps
1 review
Jun 2012
$50 per person and you did go around the city but when we came home my husband said we saw that there was a free bus in the city of Halifax we could have taken. Not sure of the name but I would have done that to save money. You have to try a pub when you are in Halifax and we went to the Man's Mustache I think and it was great. A PB burger yummo, fries amazing, and beer cheese soup delish. Great micro brews as well. The 3 is for the fact that i would have loved to have known about the free bus because I like to save money and would have liked to have heard more about the history from the tour guides. Plan on $100 per person for this port as well. BTW talking with one of the tour guides if you are doing a leaf peeping tour do not plan to go till the very end of October because the colors do not change till then because the water keeps them warmer and hence the leaves change later.
Read chicagopeeps's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Pink Hop On Hop Off Bus
Member Image jtanewport
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Halifax is an interesting small city. Fun to walk around on your own.
Read jtanewport's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ktm71
1 review
Jun 2012
Hop on Hop Off Lots to do on the route. Halifax was nice. Busses came often enough to encourage getting off the bus.
Read ktm71's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image dudley mom
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Halifax's Top Ten - Such a sense of history. The shore excursion to the Fairview Cemetery was incredible. Lunch was excellent. We really enjoyed it. Great tour guide. Very knowledgeable.
Read dudley mom's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jasthorn
3 reviews
Apr 2012
Intersting city tour.
Read jasthorn's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image AntjeG
1 review
Sep 2011

We had a combined tour that included a short City tour and visit to the Fairview Lawn Cemetery (Titanic burial site). It was nice.

Read AntjeG's full AIDAaura cruise review
Provider: AIDA

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.