Halifax City Tour Excursion Reviews

Halifax City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
From the beautiful public gardens to the eighteenth century Fort George on Citadel Hill, there is a lot to appreciate in the historic city of Halifax.
Member Image winokermpls
1 review
Oct 2016
we did this after the Peggy cove tour and the guide on the hop on hop off told us we really only had time to do the ride because the museums all closed between 3-4 and we later found out this was not true so we missed out on some of the things we wanted to do.
Read winokermpls's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Herbs Mom
4 reviews
Oct 2016
We like to pick up a local guide when we get in a port, so we outside and talked to a few cab drivers and settled with Adel. He took 5 of us for 4 hours for $200. We ended up going about an longer and paid him accordingly. He asked us what we wanted to see and then made some other suggestions. He drove us to Peggy's Cove, took us to a great lobster lunch at a fisherman's warehouse, the Titantic cemetery, stopped when we asked to stop to see the fall foliage, etc. Adel was great!
Read Herbs Mom's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Broadway Taxi and Tours
Member Image darrmarr
1 review
Sep 2016
Took a private tour for several hours with Eric and loved the tour. Very informative and well thought out. Would definitely repeat.
Read darrmarr's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image semiretired52
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Bruce did an excellent job of taking us to all the important sites in Halifax. We got to see many different spots that a bus wouldn't fit. He explained the history and we got to see many historical sites. Great time by all.
Read semiretired52's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Bruce's tours
Member Image CruiseOhMy
1 review
Sep 2016
Great experience. A number of very interesting stops. The Victorian Garden was A++ as was the citadel. Few people got off at either, and we thought they were two of the best.
Read CruiseOhMy's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jotjot
2 reviews
Sep 2016
hop on hop off very easy tour
Read jotjot's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image optiman32
4 reviews
Sep 2016
This tour gives you the highlights of the city gardens and it also stops at the Titanic grave sites
Read optiman32's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tanja + Björn
1 review
Sep 2016
city seemed a little bit boring, not much to see except the changing of the guards; some nice cafés and shops were missing
Read Tanja + Björn's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image maryoking
1 review
Sep 2016
We did the duck tour. The duck was crowded and the tour was very short. Would not do that tour again.
Read maryoking's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image snowbird922
2 reviews
Sep 2016
As noted above. Booked eight person limo for our group. Driver narrated city tour, plenty of stops for photos, breaks. Also stopped at Cemetery where 120 victims of the Titanic are buried. Nice smaller city, wonderful tour.
Read snowbird922's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cruisingelizabeth
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Interesting tour which combined walking and riding bus with a good tour guide. Visited the public gardens and the citadel. Too much free time
Read cruisingelizabeth's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Janets560
1 review
Jul 2016
Hop on and hop off tour. Gave excellent over view and history of Halifax. Then we retraced steps to where we anted to be and where we wanted to eat.
Read Janets560's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image icem86
1 review
Jun 2016
Nice, but nothing special.
Read icem86's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lberney
1 review
May 2016
The tour guide was very knowledgeable, but we didn't get to walk around much and we were taken to one restaurant to eat! We weren't given a choice of where to eat and we were not taken to the restaurant until 3:30 (we were way past lunchtime at that point and people were very hungry). Also, the restaurant was pretty expensive ($18 for fish and chips).
Read lberney's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Soul Blazer
5 reviews
May 2016
Very nice tour. Great history
Read Soul Blazer's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Pink Bus
Member Image NiceBob7
4 reviews
Oct 2015
Great weather and had a wonderful time. There a lot place to eat. But we did not do that. A lot to do here.
Read NiceBob7's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Hop on and off bus (Grey Line)
Member Image cambriah
4 reviews
Oct 2015
Nothing Special
Read cambriah's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mojomorris
17 reviews
Sep 2015
We booked the Harbour Hopper Duck tour thru the ship. Kaleigh the guide was very informative and entertaining but wear warm clothes since you’re on the water for the actual harbor part. We were docked at the industrial pier and took free shuttles to the business area where you can find lots of souvenirs and lots of seafood. Take the boardwalk and you’ll find lots more places to shop/eat. We opted for lobster rolls and ice cream.
Read mojomorris's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image nyshopgirl
1 review
Aug 2015
We booked the hop/on hop off through the cruise with the Citadel and Maritime museum add-on. Halifax was interesting, although the Titantic connection seemed odd to learn about on a cruise.
Read nyshopgirl's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image CruiseBG
1 review
Jun 2015
Lovely town and a nice overview
Read CruiseBG's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bob and Diane
1 review
Jun 2015
Rode hop on hop off trolley. Rode one full loop and then started the hop on hop off process
Read Bob and Diane's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rubysue
10 reviews
Oct 2014

We booked a private tour for just the two of us in Halifax. Our visit was shortened due to rough seas (pilot boat could not approach the ship). We did get a four-hour tour that included highlights of the city, a visit to the Protestant cemetery with many of the Titanic victims, a stop at a maple producer, and time in Peggy's Cove. Our driver, Stewart, was excellent and took us through interesting neighborhoods and back roads. We were among the only visitors at Peggy's Cove when we arrived there and the dramatic overcast skies and scenery were wonderful!

Read rubysue's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Halifax Tour Guys
Member Image Travelgrandma10
7 reviews
Aug 2014

We took a walking tour of Halifax. A double-decker bus picked us up at the port and took us to the absolutely beautiful public garden where we started the walking tour. The tour took us to other interesting historical sites. The kilted guide, a retired school teacher, was wonderful. He knew the history of the area and you could tell that he loved his city. Caution: This is a walking tour requiring almost 2 miles of walking because some cruisers had trouble completing the tour.

Read Travelgrandma10's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image garvey818
5 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

At $49.95 per person for 90 minutes, this was at the high end for what we'd normally pay for a city tour. But it was well worth the money. The guide was a retired railroad official who provided a steady stream of facts and stories about the city. Highlights included seeing the vast amount of green space that Halifax has preserved for public use, and visiting the site of the 1917 explosion that killed 2000 residents and destroyed much of the city.

Read garvey818's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Terpitude
1 review
Sep 2013

Be sure to bring your comfortable shoes, as the walking tour is quite extensive. A lovely city with a spectacular central park. Lots and lots to do.

Read Terpitude's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?