Bar Harbor Acadia National Park Excursion Reviews

Bar Harbor Acadia National Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The Acadia National Park offers both active and more relaxed ways to enjoy all its splendors, including a 360-degree view of Bar Harbor!
Member Image ALANG
1 review
Sep 2016
Acadia National Park is a must do. After returning to Bar Harbor walked the city and enjoyed many of the shops. Recommend Gaylns restaurant, try to get a table on the second floor by the window overlooking the harbor and park.
Read ALANG's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mseiferth
2 reviews
Sep 2016
It was Labor Day, and the park was, according to our guide, the most crowded he had ever seen. Our stops were short and overly regimented. The guide was excellent,however!
Read mseiferth's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image sundevil99
2 reviews
Aug 2016
In Bar Harbor, lots of excursions were available. We chose the Acadia National Park and Lobster Bake which was an exceptional tour. Prior to tendering to Bar Harbor, everyone on the ship was required to go through US Customs. Instructions were provided and the process was relatively painless. Once tendered ashore, the bus took us all to way up to the Cadillac Summit in Acadia and we had 25 minutes to walk around and take pictures. We were the only tour bus up there, so we had the summit to ourselves. There were only 16 people on our tour. Upon return to Bar Harbor, we were taken to Bar Harbor Club for a lobster bake. We each received a platter with a whole soft-shell lobster, new potatoes, corn on the cob, and four mussels. The staff offered to assist anyone who didn't want to tear apart the lobster. One gentleman kindly got all of my lobster meat out in about 20 seconds flat, while my husband floundered with his for a good five minutes. The meal was excellent, and it was topped off with a fabulous blueberry crumble for dessert.
Read sundevil99's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image nycalgal
3 reviews
Aug 2016
The PA system did not work on the bus.
Read nycalgal's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image girardj
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Bar Harbor – Acadia National Park and Lobster Bake Dinner. The Anthem had to tender into Bar Harbor. The good thing that RC did for this was to use a similar process that Disney Cruise lines do. For each excursion, you meet in a specific area of the ship and a cruise staff member escorts you as a group off the ship and links you up with the excursion host. In the case of RC, the only thing that we did was to meet in the theater at a specific time so that we could be provided transported on a specific tender schedule. We were still left to our own devices once the tender docked. Luckily, there was a knowledge tour guide on shore to direct us to our buses. The tendering service both to and from the ship was fine. Plenty of boats and very little wait time. The bus ride through the national park was just so-so. It was long (about 1.5 hours) and our guide must have told us how wonderful Rockefeller was to donate and protect all the land on the island at least 500 times. It grew tiresome and monotonous. The bus stopped at only one location to let us offload to take some pictures. Other scenic location were just slow drive bys – and if you happen to be on the wrong side of the bus, your loss. After circling the 29 miles of the Acadia National park and hearing over and over again about Rockefeller, we arrived back in Bar Harbor for the lobster dinner. The venue was a very nice and was well prepared for us. Lobster dinner included one whole lobster, a half ear of corn, a small container of cole slaw, a couple of red potatoes, and half a dozen mussels. Plus ice tea or ice water. There were plenty of staff to assist in how to prepare and eat the lobster for those who did not know. In my opinion, this tour was not worth the $99 per person price.
Read girardj's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image indymagic
1 review
Aug 2016
Bar Harbour is lovely. We had a really good guide and had a lovely day
Read indymagic's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Naheda
1 review
Jul 2016
Thunder Hole is an exceptional place to see especially during the rising tide.
Read Naheda's full Independence cruise review
Provider: American Cruise Lines
Member Image Fsulaw1
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Excellemt
Read Fsulaw1's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image susie2183
6 reviews
Jun 2016
Excellent tour guide
Read susie2183's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Acadia tours
Member Image carmbre
1 review
Jun 2016
We took a bus tour that we found very near the cruise dock. It was excellent.
Read carmbre's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Bookworm66
1 review
May 2016
Misty day but enjoyed the lovely park. Missed seeing the mountain, though.
Read Bookworm66's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Arizona Budgies
6 reviews
Oct 2015
Our only tender, driver did a great job, comfortable trolley ride, beautiful park and colors but very windy and cold here, paid $30 USD each for the tour.
Read Arizona Budgies's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Oli's Trolley
Member Image pianoteachertravels
1 review
Oct 2015
Rented a car and drove to Lunenberg - did a walking tour - drove to Peggy's Cove. Loved the bagpiper and the lighthouse!
Read pianoteachertravels's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image New York Nana
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Very engaging driver/guide. Great stops and picture opportunities.
Read New York Nana's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Acadia Park Tours
Member Image Uncle Al95670
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Acadia National Park and Lobster Bake. Lobster lunch was fantastic, but tour through Acadia was just OK. A quick loop through the park with one stop. Did not even go up Cadillac Mountain.
Read Uncle Al95670's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image landlovr
1 review
Oct 2015
At Your Service Taxi with Paul was an outstanding tour. He was a Bar Harbor native and really knew the area. The van was nice and the tour well organized.
Read landlovr's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image LUV TO CRUISE AR
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Good tour but cloudy day and could tell driver on a schedule
Read LUV TO CRUISE AR's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Acadia Tours
Member Image smcdonald2674
1 review
Sep 2015
We were an extra group so they had to get another bus and driver and guide at the last minute. Driver sped through the park so he could catch up with the other buses. We couldn't get a good picture because bus was going fast. The guide was monotone and spoke fast. Couldn't hear him and didn't know what he was talking about. Very disappointed! Lobster bake was good but once again I felt we were hurried.
Read smcdonald2674's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image paulgs
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Enjoyable
Read paulgs's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chrisecrawf
1 review
Sep 2015
Great ride on old Rockefeller carriage trails. Only steep hill is at very beginning of ride but you can hop off and walk up at any point. Tour guide waits at top and other spots for all to catch up. We had a large group and all levels of riders so go for it if you can ride a bike as well as a teen and want to see some pretty views. Our female guide Chris (short blonde hair) was great!
Read Chrisecrawf's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image WALLEEK
1 review
Sep 2015
This was a really great tour. The Cadillac Mountain is very beautiful. Enjoyed the carriage ride through the park.
Read WALLEEK's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Americanand proud
1 review
Aug 2015
Actually, a big disappointment. You're on the bus and aside a few minutes on top of Cadillac Mountain you're driving by the beautiful sites. Thought we'd stop more.
Read Americanand proud's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image my1
1 review
Aug 2015
Acadia is beautiful but 15 minute stops mean you get no time to really do anything. On and off the bus...Lobster bake great, but would have given up for baloney sandwich to spend some real time in Acadia.
Read my1's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image IIB
1 review
Jun 2015
We arrived on time but got the last seats on the trolley. No windows there so didn't get to see much. They should not sell these seats. Mike the driver had many interesting facts. The day was clear so it was beautiful.
Read IIB's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Olis Trolley
Member Image walkpl
1 review
Jun 2015
Where was my waterfall stop with the hike?
Read walkpl's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?