Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Bar Harbor Acadia National Park Excursion Reviews

Bar Harbor Acadia National Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The Acadia National Park offers both active and more relaxed ways to enjoy all its splendors, including a 360-degree view of Bar Harbor!
Member Image macusr
7 reviews
Oct 2014

I can see why Bar Harbor is so popular! Gorgeous scenery & delicious lobster rolls!
We did an Acadia National Park tour, and it was a good 2.5 hr tour for the money (only $30 pp). We had outstanding weather so we enjoyed all the park vistas. I would have liked more time at the top of Cadillac Mountain.
Again, I could definitely see myself coming back for a land vacation and being able to spend more time in Acadia National Park.

Read macusr's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Oli's Trolley
Member Image Southern Cruise
2 reviews
Oct 2014

Acadia National Park by Bus Tour

Acadia National Park was gorgeous, but beware - the bus stops only once at the top of Cadillac mountain. Beautiful views from Cadillac Mountain, but chilly at the top, so layer up. I would take the carriage tour or rent a taxi for a few hours if I returned. Buses were not allowed to go inside the park, only around the perimeter road. Was disappointed that I wasn't given more opportunity to take pictures because the foliage was extraordinary. They should add another 20 minutes to the tour to allow for a few more photo stops.

Read Southern Cruise's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image chevytrkr
5 reviews
Oct 2014

We booked this tour because we had never been to Maine and wanted to visit Acadia National Park. The drive to Cadillac Mountain was spectacular. Fall colors were just ending, but we were able to see enough color to make the tour enjoyable. At the end of the tour, we were dropped off at at restaurant in town for a very tasty lobster bake. This was definitely the highlight of the day. The only negative about the tour was it did not take us to the top of Cadillac Mountain to get a view of the harbor and the surrounding countryside.

Read chevytrkr's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image silverc243
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

In Bar Harbor, tenders were used. The seas were calm and getting on and off the tenders was very easy. We took the Acadia Park and Lobster Bake tour. The colors have not started to change yet, but the park is still an awesome place. The lobster bake at the Bar Harbor Club was excellent.

Read silverc243's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Wanetadrift
3 reviews
Sep 2014

Tour guide and driver wonderful. Told about the history of Bar Harbor (which is an island by the way) which was very interesting. The ride was 27 miles through Acadia Park and stopped at Cadillac Mountain for some photo ops. Saw some huge beaver dams. Would have been better if bus would have stopped a few times to see Thunder Hole and other things. Downtown was really cute, lots of shops and right near the dock. Best thing of excursion was the history!

Read Wanetadrift's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LakeErieLive
4 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

Before the tour we walked the shore path. The trolley tour was very good with three stops the best being Cadillac Mountain. It was a clear Maine day so the view from the top was extensive. the whole park was beautiful. Back in town we walked about, shopped, ate a little lunch, and gawked at the scenery. It was a bit crowded.

Read LakeErieLive's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Oly's Trolley
Member Image SteveinPhilly
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

We've been to Bar Harbor on a cruise 4 times and this was the tird time we have used Acadia Park Tours. They are a small family run company and their guides have always been great. And you still have time to walk the shore line trail on yiur own - less than a mile each way.

Read SteveinPhilly's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Acadia Park Tours
Member Image marinercruiser1
2 reviews
Aug 2014

This tour is advertised as strenuous, and once you actually get started, the first hill comes maybe 5 minutes in, is VERY strenuous -- several of our group got off their bikes and walked them up the hill. Another hill, not quite so steep, comes up shortly after that, a smaller number walked up that hill. Once past that, though, it's smooth sailing -- very easy riding. A restroom break at the halfway point, then going back, when you get to that very steep first hill it can be very dangerous going down because of a curve near the bottom of the hill -- you need to just coast and use the brakes to keep from going too fast. The trails are paved but have small amounts of gravel, so you need to not go too fast and not get too near the pavement edge, which almost always is next to a drainage ditch that you'll be in quickly if you are not paying attention. We had an accident at the very end of the ride, the trail opens out into the parking lot and it would be safer to have people dismount before the end of the trail and walk out to the parking lot, because people there are not watching for bikes coming off the trail. During the tour we stopped at a couple of spots, probably most impressive for me was at a pond that had been formed by a beaver dam that we got a close look at, along with the view of a beaver lodge -- it's surprising how large they can get.

Read marinercruiser1's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image paul8
20 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

You could pay the $30 fee as we did or take the Free hop on hop off bus provided. We felt that the fee was well worth the price.

Read paul8's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Arcadia National Park
Member Image cruzin_ga_gal
10 reviews
Oct 2013

This was a combination, Acadia National Park, Cadillac Mountain and lobster lunch. The views from the top of Cadillac Mountain were awesome. Acadia National Park was open and we were told that due to the many entrances to the park, it was never fully closed due to the shutdown.

Read cruzin_ga_gal's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image maachi
4 reviews
Aug 2013

Booked the Acadia National Park and Cadillac Mountain tour thru acadiatours at $30 per person; Tour was excellent; details are:
Acadia National Park Tours / National Park Tours and Transport, Inc.
207 288-0300 (Reserve Tickets)
207 266-4662 (Private Charters, Step On Guide Services)
www.acadiatours.com
(RCL wanted $112 per person for the same tour; go figure);

Read maachi's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image maachi
4 reviews
Aug 2013

Booked the Acadia National Park and Cadillac Mountain tour thru acadiatours at $30 per person; Tour was excellent; details are:
Acadia National Park Tours / National Park Tours and Transport, Inc.
207 288-0300 (Reserve Tickets)
207 266-4662 (Private Charters, Step On Guide Services)
www.acadiatours.com
(RCL wanted $112 per person for the same tour; go figure);

Read maachi's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image WifesChef
5 reviews
Aug 2013

We booked the Deluxe island tour in a limo with a dinner. The Limo was designed for 10 people, it would have been uncomfortable with 10, we had 8 and was pretty cozy.

We did a quick town tour, and the loop around Acadia National Park, and then up to Cadillac Mountain then back into town for lunch.

The tour guide/driver was very knowledgeable of the town and area and answered all of our questions.

Lunch was okay.

Read WifesChef's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dawnster1014
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Took the tour bus trip along with a lobster bake at the country club. Excellent tour and lunch. Well worth the money.

Read dawnster1014's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jescott54
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

We were only in port until 3:00pm. Since we had to tender in and out, this was insufficient time. During the summer months, you need to be in port until at least 7:00pm.

Read jescott54's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Taxi Company
Member Image snafyensid
4 reviews
Oct 2012
Nice wheelchair-friendly excursion. Good guide and driver.
Read snafyensid's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Karen1969
1 review
Oct 2012
We biked in the Acadia National Park and just LOVED it. The fall colors were gorgeous and the tour guide very good. You don't have to be bike regularly to do this tour, as they give you plenty of rest/picture taking time.
Read Karen1969's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image CRUISEBOY305
8 reviews
Oct 2012
Bar Harbor Maine, (with Scooter and Momma) we did the Best of Bar Harbor, which takes you there Acadia National Park. I do have a few complaints here, there was no stopping along the park except on top of Cadillac Mountain. He would make quick photo stops but with the glare from the glass we couldn't get any decent pictures. If there going to go through Acadia like that then they should have an open top bus for people to take pictures. My advice if you want to do Acadia, rent a car and stop and go as you please. The tour also included a stop at a Lobster museum called Oceanarium Bar Harbor. which included a lecture. Which was great however, they also had a Lobster Hatchery which is open to the public but was not included in this tour. I think that would have been nice on this tour. Again, do this on your own. Then we made one last stop which was a complete waste of time. I can't even remember where it was, that's how irrelevant it was. After the tour we had lunch at the Fish House Grill which is right next to the tender pier. What an amazing lunch. We had Lobster, Blueberry Beer, Blueberry Pie. Price was very reasonable. If you love lobster defiantly give this place a try. After lunch we walked around the downtown area, did a little shopping. Lots of quaint little shops, restaurants and coffee shops. I think Bar Harbor was my favorite port.
Read CRUISEBOY305's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ladymadeline
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Beautiful park. Worth the trip. We had an outstanding tour guide who really knew her stuff about Mt. Desert Island. We had a lobster lunch included, which was good. I've started to believe that the included lunches on these excursions are not always the best restaurants each port has to offer. I wouldn't go out of my way to go back to some of these places, but if you're on a bus all day, it is wise to have the included lunch, I guess.
Read ladymadeline's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image patmama
4 reviews
Oct 2012
We booked independently with Bill Fleming. It was just my husband and I along with Bill and his wife. It was great. Acadia National Park is beautiful. The tour was about 2 1/2 hrs. The town was absolutely beautiful. In easy walking distance are two parks, shopping, dining, tours, and numerous activites. We ate at Dog and Pony Bar (across from city park). It was really good,lobster roll& clam chowder for $13.99. This town was just great.
Read patmama's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JaneRichard
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Enjoyed the bus tour very much, but wish that we had more time at each stop. If you had to use the bathroom, you pretty much didn't have time for anything else.
Read JaneRichard's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Hoyaken
1 review
Sep 2012
This was a bike tour. The route included a very steep hill at both the start and finish. It also only included one of the many stone bridges in the park. Not the best!
Read Hoyaken's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image odiebuddy
1 review
Sep 2012
This also included a lobster lunch. If you didn't want lobster you could have steak. The steak was overcooked and dry, but I used the butter I was given for the lobster the moisten up the steak.
Read odiebuddy's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.