Bar Harbor Acadia National Park Excursion Reviews

Bar Harbor Acadia National Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The Acadia National Park offers both active and more relaxed ways to enjoy all its splendors, including a 360-degree view of Bar Harbor!
Member Image Naheda
1 review
Jul 2016
Thunder Hole is an exceptional place to see especially during the rising tide.
Read Naheda's full Independence cruise review
Provider: American Cruise Lines
Member Image Fsulaw1
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Excellemt
Read Fsulaw1's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image susie2183
6 reviews
Jun 2016
Excellent tour guide
Read susie2183's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Acadia tours
Member Image carmbre
1 review
Jun 2016
We took a bus tour that we found very near the cruise dock. It was excellent.
Read carmbre's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Bookworm66
1 review
May 2016
Misty day but enjoyed the lovely park. Missed seeing the mountain, though.
Read Bookworm66's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Arizona Budgies
5 reviews
Oct 2015
Our only tender, driver did a great job, comfortable trolley ride, beautiful park and colors but very windy and cold here, paid $30 USD each for the tour.
Read Arizona Budgies's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Oli's Trolley
Member Image pianoteachertravels
1 review
Oct 2015
Rented a car and drove to Lunenberg - did a walking tour - drove to Peggy's Cove. Loved the bagpiper and the lighthouse!
Read pianoteachertravels's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image New York Nana
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Very engaging driver/guide. Great stops and picture opportunities.
Read New York Nana's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Acadia Park Tours
Member Image Uncle Al95670
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Acadia National Park and Lobster Bake. Lobster lunch was fantastic, but tour through Acadia was just OK. A quick loop through the park with one stop. Did not even go up Cadillac Mountain.
Read Uncle Al95670's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image landlovr
1 review
Oct 2015
At Your Service Taxi with Paul was an outstanding tour. He was a Bar Harbor native and really knew the area. The van was nice and the tour well organized.
Read landlovr's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image LUV TO CRUISE AR
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Good tour but cloudy day and could tell driver on a schedule
Read LUV TO CRUISE AR's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Acadia Tours
Member Image smcdonald2674
1 review
Sep 2015
We were an extra group so they had to get another bus and driver and guide at the last minute. Driver sped through the park so he could catch up with the other buses. We couldn't get a good picture because bus was going fast. The guide was monotone and spoke fast. Couldn't hear him and didn't know what he was talking about. Very disappointed! Lobster bake was good but once again I felt we were hurried.
Read smcdonald2674's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image paulgs
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Enjoyable
Read paulgs's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chrisecrawf
1 review
Sep 2015
Great ride on old Rockefeller carriage trails. Only steep hill is at very beginning of ride but you can hop off and walk up at any point. Tour guide waits at top and other spots for all to catch up. We had a large group and all levels of riders so go for it if you can ride a bike as well as a teen and want to see some pretty views. Our female guide Chris (short blonde hair) was great!
Read Chrisecrawf's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image WALLEEK
1 review
Sep 2015
This was a really great tour. The Cadillac Mountain is very beautiful. Enjoyed the carriage ride through the park.
Read WALLEEK's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Americanand proud
1 review
Aug 2015
Actually, a big disappointment. You're on the bus and aside a few minutes on top of Cadillac Mountain you're driving by the beautiful sites. Thought we'd stop more.
Read Americanand proud's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image my1
1 review
Aug 2015
Acadia is beautiful but 15 minute stops mean you get no time to really do anything. On and off the bus...Lobster bake great, but would have given up for baloney sandwich to spend some real time in Acadia.
Read my1's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image IIB
1 review
Jun 2015
We arrived on time but got the last seats on the trolley. No windows there so didn't get to see much. They should not sell these seats. Mike the driver had many interesting facts. The day was clear so it was beautiful.
Read IIB's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Olis Trolley
Member Image walkpl
1 review
Jun 2015
Where was my waterfall stop with the hike?
Read walkpl's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Sblue1229
1 review
Jun 2015
Bus Tour of park was excellent seeing the beauty of the island and learning about the history and natural geologic features. Visited the Sand beach, Thunder Bay, and Cadillac mountain on a clear day. Great photos! Easy to access the bus tour as it was only a short walk from the harbor.
Read Sblue1229's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image macusr
8 reviews
Oct 2014

I can see why Bar Harbor is so popular! Gorgeous scenery & delicious lobster rolls!
We did an Acadia National Park tour, and it was a good 2.5 hr tour for the money (only $30 pp). We had outstanding weather so we enjoyed all the park vistas. I would have liked more time at the top of Cadillac Mountain.
Again, I could definitely see myself coming back for a land vacation and being able to spend more time in Acadia National Park.

Read macusr's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Oli's Trolley
Member Image Southern Cruise
2 reviews
Oct 2014

Acadia National Park by Bus Tour

Acadia National Park was gorgeous, but beware - the bus stops only once at the top of Cadillac mountain. Beautiful views from Cadillac Mountain, but chilly at the top, so layer up. I would take the carriage tour or rent a taxi for a few hours if I returned. Buses were not allowed to go inside the park, only around the perimeter road. Was disappointed that I wasn't given more opportunity to take pictures because the foliage was extraordinary. They should add another 20 minutes to the tour to allow for a few more photo stops.

Read Southern Cruise's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image chevytrkr
5 reviews
Oct 2014

We booked this tour because we had never been to Maine and wanted to visit Acadia National Park. The drive to Cadillac Mountain was spectacular. Fall colors were just ending, but we were able to see enough color to make the tour enjoyable. At the end of the tour, we were dropped off at at restaurant in town for a very tasty lobster bake. This was definitely the highlight of the day. The only negative about the tour was it did not take us to the top of Cadillac Mountain to get a view of the harbor and the surrounding countryside.

Read chevytrkr's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image silverc243
7 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

In Bar Harbor, tenders were used. The seas were calm and getting on and off the tenders was very easy. We took the Acadia Park and Lobster Bake tour. The colors have not started to change yet, but the park is still an awesome place. The lobster bake at the Bar Harbor Club was excellent.

Read silverc243's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Wanetadrift
3 reviews
Sep 2014

Tour guide and driver wonderful. Told about the history of Bar Harbor (which is an island by the way) which was very interesting. The ride was 27 miles through Acadia Park and stopped at Cadillac Mountain for some photo ops. Saw some huge beaver dams. Would have been better if bus would have stopped a few times to see Thunder Hole and other things. Downtown was really cute, lots of shops and right near the dock. Best thing of excursion was the history!

Read Wanetadrift's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?