Saint John (New Brunswick) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Saint John (New Brunswick) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
You will be pleasantly engaged as you absorb Saint John's vibrant history and beautiful Victorian-style during this city tour. There's a unique storybook quality and bohemian flair, with lots of street musicians, funky galleries, independent record stores and so much more!
Member Image MostlyLegal
7 reviews
Jun 2016
St John’s is a small place and there is not a lot to see. We took a short city tour, which did take us out to the, the famous Reversing Rapids on the St. John’s river where the tides of the Bay of Fundy actually force the waters at the mouth of the St. John River to reverse its flow. We walked around the old part of the city and really did better on our own. In retrospect, we would have avoided the shore excursion and done the Hop On Hop Off bus on our own.
Read MostlyLegal's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jasperdog
3 reviews
May 2016
Very informative 3 hour tour. Saw some gorgeous old houses from the bus, each one different from the other. Reversing rapids are fascinating.
Read jasperdog's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sweetygirl
1 review
Oct 2015
Boring
Read Sweetygirl's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image laura8951
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Yet again, my original selection for a shore excursion, Countryside and Covered Bridges, was cancelled, much to my disappointment. This time by the tour company due to operational issues. No other explanation was provided. I booked the Saint John walking tour instead. Saint John is a very unassuming and pleasant city to visit. The tour hit the highlights of the city: downtown, residential areas, Kings Square, and the Loyalist Burial Ground before ending at the City Market. There were brief stops at Saint David and Saint Andrew Church of Canada and Trinity Church, both which have unique features and gorgeous stained-glass windows. The tour showed off lots of interesting architecture and iron work. Our guide was friendly and informative. The only weak point was the 1:30 PM starting time. I would have preferred an earlier start with time for lunch and browsing.
Read laura8951's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruisesat60
1 review
Jun 2015
For what this is, it is excellent. It is a causal bus ride while learning the history of St. John. Take about 2 hours
Read cruisesat60's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tatanka49
3 reviews
Oct 2014

City tour and St Martin.... Six hour bus tour. Tour guide was in period costume. Had a 'quiz' at the end with prizes. Saw reversing falls twice--at both low and hid tides. Not enough time in New Brunswick museum. Too much time in City Market--people needed lunch but stop could have been shortened. Went on to St Martin. Again, a long trip and not enough time for that distance. We clocked 91 miles on this tour.

Read tatanka49's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image LakeErieLive
4 reviews
Sep 2014

WE booked a short tour in a trolley type bus that took us around town and then out to the Reversing Falls. It was okay. They have to work hard to find sights in town to show us, but the tour guide was good and added humor. He gave us a good history lesson on New Brunswick. We spent time out at the reversing falls and it was interesting. We strolled thru the city market, shopped a little, hung out in town. Later some of us went back to the ship and some went to a bar across the street from the ship for a few beers.

Read LakeErieLive's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image remarcm
5 reviews
Oct 2012
Needed more photo stops, was too rushed.
Read remarcm's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image patmama
7 reviews
Oct 2012
St.John was a nice town. We took the trolley tour with the ship. It was $36.00pp. The Bay of Fundy and City Market was disappointing. Really this was our least favorite port. Not really much to see or do. We ate lunch at the City Market.
Read patmama's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wolfie2702
1 review
Jul 2012
We took a tour of the city. It was nothing special. people were nice
Read wolfie2702's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ktm71
1 review
Jun 2012
Hop on Hop Off Was exactly what you would expect - though they probably should have had more busses on the route. Waiting was a drag.
Read ktm71's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.