Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Portland (Maine) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Portland (Maine) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a guided tour of Portland and see everything the tenacious city has to offer.
Member Image jasperdog
3 reviews
May 2016
Lighthouse was enveloped in scaffolding so it wasn't camera worthy. We were given excellent places as to where to eat. We found Canadian cities to be more interesting.
Read jasperdog's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Arizona Budgies
5 reviews
Oct 2015
Did the city tour and Cape Elizabeth from 130-330pm for $24 each. Another trolley but was comfortable and a good way to see the city.
Read Arizona Budgies's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Portland Discovery
Member Image Uncle Al95670
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Part of Kennebunkport Tour.
Read Uncle Al95670's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mojomorris
17 reviews
Sep 2015
We booked a trolley tour direct online thru Portland Discovery Tours. Our driver was humorous and informative making the tour enjoyable. I'd recommend the trolley tour for sure (book it online so you're guaranteed a ticket).and if it's a nice day, get there early to book the harbor/bay cruise tour. We split a lobster roll, fries and a beer at the Portland Lobster Co. It's on the main street with plenty of tables so it's easy to find a seat. There's also entertainment at various times. I'd recommend it for Portland first timers.
Read mojomorris's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Portland Discovery Tours
Member Image laura8951
2 reviews
Sep 2015
This is a delightful city. I chose the Portland Highlights and Lighthouse excursion. Interesting city tour via bus with narration both about the city’s history and current status. There is a brief stop at Portland Head Lighthouse, which was the most enjoyable part of the tour. There is time to look around the lighthouse and beach area, take pictures, and pop in the gift shop. There is not enough time to walk the trails. The tour has an early start, so I did sufficient time to browse the Old Port area, which is easily navigated on your own. Plenty of local vendors were available on Commercial Street with lots of local artisan products.
Read laura8951's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image tatanka49
3 reviews
Oct 2014

This was a bus tour. Saw the high points of Portland city and then drove down to Kennebunkport.. Guide was excellent and in period costume. Spent some time at a nearby lighthouse..about a half hour but should have been longer. Continued on to Kennebunkport. Again, not enough time in town to see the sights and check out the stores.

Read tatanka49's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image KatBerry61
1 review
Sep 2014

We did the Top 10 Portland/Kennebunkport. A great overview of the city of Portland and plenty of time to grab a lobster roll in Kennebunkport. Good tour guide
A great harbor side area where we had a beer and did a little shopping afterwards

Read KatBerry61's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ewlj
2 reviews
Sep 2014

We took an independent tour to the Portland Head Light with City Tour. It was OK. A bit rushed at the lighthouse. After the tour, we walked the town, ate lunch and shopped.

Read ewlj's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: The Scenic Route Maine Tours
Member Image Shadowsmom
1 review
Oct 2012
We used the hop on, hop off bus in Portland ($5.00/person for the day) which was great. Recommend seeing the Fireman's museum, small but good (don't forget to talk to the volunteers there, that's what is so interesting).
Read Shadowsmom's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: hop on hop off bus
Member Image Lvillenc
1 review
Oct 2012
A city tour that was a lot of fun and educational. We'd recommend it.
Read Lvillenc's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Portland City Tours
Member Image Hoyaken
1 review
Sep 2012

See main review. This was bundled-Best of Portland and Kennebunkport. The Portland component was just a drive by on the bus.

Read Hoyaken's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ssgmike
4 reviews
Sep 2012
it was a wonderful informative tour, the guide was excellent
Read ssgmike's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jul1221
1 review
Sep 2012
We did the best of Portland/Kennebunkport. The tour in total is a 5+ but not enough time in Kennebunkport.
Read jul1221's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image vonnieed
1 review
Sep 2012
Gave a good overview of the city
Read vonnieed's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.