Portland (Maine) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Portland (Maine) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a guided tour of Portland and see everything the tenacious city has to offer.
Member Image Maraprince
7 reviews
Sep 2016
Tour gave us a good view of the city and then took us to one lighthouse where we had time to take photos and allowed for shopping as well. Guide was very knowledgeable. Our bus was one of 4 buses in total and our bus went the opposite direction from the other 3 buses so our arrival at the lighthouse enabled us to visit without competing with almost 150 other passengers.
Read Maraprince's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image vstanisz
1 review
Sep 2016
Walked around Portland in the morning and took NCL tour in the afternoon. Enjoyed seeing neighborhoods of Portland via bus but seen one lighthouse seen them all.
Read vstanisz's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lattelady
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Was very informative and really like the lighthouse stop.
Read lattelady's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image byrdylady
1 review
Sep 2016
Lovely tour....our tour guide was wonderful. Being a local she was able to impart so much information to us.
Read byrdylady's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tanja + Björn
1 review
Sep 2016
nice tour through the city and to a famous lighthouse, tourguide was very informative
Read Tanja + Björn's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mimijes
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Fun and informative tour of the Portland harbor and lighthouses. Good tour guide.
Read mimijes's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lovestwins
1 review
Sep 2016
Could have made more stops but was nice.
Read lovestwins's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image timmuh56
1 review
Sep 2016
Drove around on a bus- boring.
Read timmuh56's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jansypoo
1 review
Sep 2016
Good friendly interesting guide but needed to explain more for non-American/Canadians
Read jansypoo's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Nana4x
1 review
Sep 2016
Make sure there is enough time to get back to the ship. We were late leaving due to passengers disembarking from a different ship. Got back 10 to 15 min prior to all aboard. It was nerve wracking. Tour was comprehensive we did the AM and PM tours. Weather was not nice rain and fog.
Read Nana4x's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TapPATapPA
2 reviews
Sep 2016
It was a foggy day, so not the best for touring but we enjoyed it.
Read TapPATapPA's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ALANG
1 review
Sep 2016
Informative and well organized tour. Many areas of interest in Portland to see.
Read ALANG's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Scenic Tours of Maine
Member Image 2LoveBikes
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Very good
Read 2LoveBikes's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image indymagic
1 review
Aug 2016
Loved Portland , I would like to go back and stay longer
Read indymagic's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jasperdog
3 reviews
May 2016
Lighthouse was enveloped in scaffolding so it wasn't camera worthy. We were given excellent places as to where to eat. We found Canadian cities to be more interesting.
Read jasperdog's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Arizona Budgies
6 reviews
Oct 2015
Did the city tour and Cape Elizabeth from 130-330pm for $24 each. Another trolley but was comfortable and a good way to see the city.
Read Arizona Budgies's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Portland Discovery
Member Image Uncle Al95670
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Part of Kennebunkport Tour.
Read Uncle Al95670's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mojomorris
17 reviews
Sep 2015
We booked a trolley tour direct online thru Portland Discovery Tours. Our driver was humorous and informative making the tour enjoyable. I'd recommend the trolley tour for sure (book it online so you're guaranteed a ticket).and if it's a nice day, get there early to book the harbor/bay cruise tour. We split a lobster roll, fries and a beer at the Portland Lobster Co. It's on the main street with plenty of tables so it's easy to find a seat. There's also entertainment at various times. I'd recommend it for Portland first timers.
Read mojomorris's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Portland Discovery Tours
Member Image laura8951
2 reviews
Sep 2015
This is a delightful city. I chose the Portland Highlights and Lighthouse excursion. Interesting city tour via bus with narration both about the city’s history and current status. There is a brief stop at Portland Head Lighthouse, which was the most enjoyable part of the tour. There is time to look around the lighthouse and beach area, take pictures, and pop in the gift shop. There is not enough time to walk the trails. The tour has an early start, so I did sufficient time to browse the Old Port area, which is easily navigated on your own. Plenty of local vendors were available on Commercial Street with lots of local artisan products.
Read laura8951's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image tatanka49
4 reviews
Oct 2014

This was a bus tour. Saw the high points of Portland city and then drove down to Kennebunkport.. Guide was excellent and in period costume. Spent some time at a nearby lighthouse..about a half hour but should have been longer. Continued on to Kennebunkport. Again, not enough time in town to see the sights and check out the stores.

Read tatanka49's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image KatBerry61
1 review
Sep 2014

We did the Top 10 Portland/Kennebunkport. A great overview of the city of Portland and plenty of time to grab a lobster roll in Kennebunkport. Good tour guide
A great harbor side area where we had a beer and did a little shopping afterwards

Read KatBerry61's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ewlj
2 reviews
Sep 2014

We took an independent tour to the Portland Head Light with City Tour. It was OK. A bit rushed at the lighthouse. After the tour, we walked the town, ate lunch and shopped.

Read ewlj's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: The Scenic Route Maine Tours
Member Image Shadowsmom
1 review
Oct 2012
We used the hop on, hop off bus in Portland ($5.00/person for the day) which was great. Recommend seeing the Fireman's museum, small but good (don't forget to talk to the volunteers there, that's what is so interesting).
Read Shadowsmom's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: hop on hop off bus
Member Image Lvillenc
1 review
Oct 2012
A city tour that was a lot of fun and educational. We'd recommend it.
Read Lvillenc's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Portland City Tours
Member Image Hoyaken
1 review
Sep 2012

See main review. This was bundled-Best of Portland and Kennebunkport. The Portland component was just a drive by on the bus.

Read Hoyaken's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?