Puerto Vallarta City Tour Excursion Reviews

Puerto Vallarta City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a guided tour of Puerto Vallarta to experience everything this beautiful city has to offer.
Member Image New cruiser8
1 review
Apr 2017
City is dirty and disliked all the peddlers. Tour guide was pleasant
Read New cruiser8's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image peter grant
10 reviews
Mar 2017
First time in PV in many years; wanted to see the highlights. At $29.95, this tour looked like a good way to do that. The stops were typical: Malecon, walking tour to the cathedral, higher-end jewellery shop, scenic overlook with iguana photo-op and a beachfront cafe. The guide was a disaster: she had both limited fluency in English and very little knowledge of her city. I don't blame her so much as the tour operator and Princess. We'd have been better off to hire a cab for a couple of hours and take our chances, or maybe just wander to Walmart across the highway from the pier.
Read peter grant's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mauimama48
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Toured Peurto Vallarta including the Cathedral, some free time for shopping and a trip to Mislamoya beach were they filmed Night of the Iguana.
Read mauimama48's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ellengsnader
1 review
Dec 2016
Great guide. Great weather. Tour gave us the feel of Puerto Vallarta. Lovely stop at the Church of Our Lady of Guadalupe and great drive along the bay and through the town. Brief stop at very good shops.
Read ellengsnader's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jjosselyn
1 review
Dec 2016
Great overview. Plenty of photo ops and a wonderful lunch to top off the tour! Saw whales playing in the bay from our table. Loved it!
Read jjosselyn's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Redee2cruz
4 reviews
Dec 2016
Because we were not familiar with the area, we wanted to stay with the confines of a organized tour. This included the Church of Guadalupe, time spent around the Malecon and tequila tasting a lunch. Just enough to see the area and get around without the hassle. Our tour guide Freddy was great and very informative.
Read Redee2cruz's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image firegal2539
13 reviews
Nov 2016
This tour was sold as an activity level 1 with limited walking and four or five steps included. We were let off the tour bus and had to walk 6 blocks of the Malecon on cobblestone streets and plazas before we got to our bus again. In the Malecon we were brought to the Opal store hoping they could sell us jewelry. We also visited the church of Our Lady of Guadalupe but it had over 20 steps to walk up and I couldn't do that. The next and last stop was for a free drink at Oscar's Restaurant, you were offered a margarita or lemonade. You could also eat but only had 15 minutes to do it. To me the tour needs to be revised to a level 2 tour with lots of walking and steps and cobblestone streets included.
Read firegal2539's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jephph
5 reviews
Nov 2016
Was OK. Walking portion an their boardwalk, but the bus ride got boring. ended at a restaurant where we were supposed to buy our own lunch...might have been better if lunch was included. We didn't have lunch there...waited to get back to ship.
Read Jephph's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image hpotter50
1 review
Oct 2016
Was ok for a city tour. Got to see areas we would not have seen had we not taking a tour due to time in port. Lunch was included which was a plus.
Read hpotter50's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image K&JfromPDX
2 reviews
May 2016
It's good the see how other people live.
Read K&JfromPDX's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image piratequeen2
1 review
May 2016
A brief drive around the city.
Read piratequeen2's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image liz92284
1 review
Apr 2016
Drove to Old Town. Had a couple of shopping stops. Went to a church - Our Lady of Guadalupe. Short walking tour through Old Town and along Boardwalk near the water. Drove to tequila factory. Tour guide from bus explained tequila making process. Tasted 6 different kinds of tequila. Had some time there on our own. Tacos and margaritas for sale. Bus not hot, but not always too cold either. Guide was good and talked most of the time. More tequila tasting than we expected - thought we'd only get a small taste, but had the 6 different kinds.
Read liz92284's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Buck1949
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Natalio was at the pier offering van rides through the city of Puerto Vallarta. Boy are we glad we found him (or he found us). His van was clean and air conditioned, and Natalio provided us with a nice tour of the city, and provided numerous unplanned stops along the way. We went in the Our Lady of Guadalupe Church, as well as made a stop at the beach. We also saw the Casa de Kimberly (Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor's home) and many other areas. This was scheduled for a 2 hour tour, but I believe Natalio provided us with closer to a 3 hour tour of the area. This city is a place we would love to return to in the future.
Read Buck1949's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Natalio Garibaldo C. with myfriendinmexico.com
Member Image blustig77
2 reviews
Dec 2015
i booked this walking tour through a tripadvisor rating and it was a good tour, there was only 2 of us and we walked thru the downtown area seeing local shops, the church, the malecon. it was a good introduction and sandra was very knowledgeable
Read blustig77's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: learnvallarta
Member Image Epernay
1 review
Nov 2015
Nice clean bus, saw a lot but don't count on this tour to get any shopping done. 20 minute stops are insufficient unless you have 500$ to impulse shop for silver.
Read Epernay's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sledmandean
1 review
Nov 2015
Loved the tour and the tour host
Read sledmandean's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jbpcalifornia
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Unenthusiastic guide. Obvious collusion between Carnival and store owners for businesses they take you to for shopping
Read jbpcalifornia's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image missjazz
1 review
Apr 2015
The tour guide was excellent but they took us to the very date El Sed?? restaurant and jewelry buying stops(do many people really buy stuff there?). They eventually took us to the market where the locals sold their wares but little time to spend there.
Read missjazz's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Rhosie
3 reviews
Mar 2015
Really enjoyed this guided tour of Old Town and the coast, even though "shopping" time and "dining" were limited. Still enjoyed it. If they'd keep it to 2.5 hours it would be better.
Read Rhosie's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bepapaul
1 review
Mar 2015
Local company and local knowledge, tequila tour, coastline, shopping, downtown, old town, beachfront, catheral, and much more. 15.00 per person, three plus hours
Read bepapaul's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: local at exit
Member Image Carolly
1 review
Mar 2015

We don't usually book our tours through the cruise line, but did so this trip since it was our first to the Mexican Riviera. The buses were very comfortable and our guides were friendly and knowledgeable.

Read Carolly's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image j willhite
1 review
Mar 2015

Carlos gave a a 4 hour tour of the city, mountain area, zip lines, grocery store, shopping, rum and tequila tasting, tortilla factory, churches, and his favorite seafood cafe, hiden away in the mountain area..It was delish!!!! Steamed clams, Whole deep fried fish, Huge shrmip cocktails, with salad, rice beans, 3 different salsa, and tortilla chips, with 2 drinks...$42.00 Our tour on the ship we did not take was $120.00...

Read j willhite's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Taxie
Member Image Terre
16 reviews
Feb 2015

The Malecon, the church, the Tequila factory were all great. One negative, the bus ran out of gas and we had to wait for another one to pick us up.

Read Terre's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image glomarrone
22 reviews
Dec 2014

We took a bus ride to San Sabastian in the Sierra Madre Mountains. The town is remote & historical. There was pretty scenery on the drive up the mountains. The town gave us a glimpse of rural Mexican Life. It took us back to the 1700s. The town has 600 inhabitants.

Read glomarrone's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image loveocean
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

He took us all over the city and to the outskirts of the city. We saw so much, including waterfalls. We got to eat where locals eat, that was our request. It was great!!!! We got a driver for the day and he took us everywhere.

Read loveocean's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Unknown

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?