Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Grand Cayman Trolley Roger Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Trolley Roger cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Board Grand Cayman's Trolley Roger, an open-air transport that will take you through local parts of the island and past some of its oldest buildings.
Member Image The Ryan Girls
1 review
Aug 2015
Great history of Grand Cayman. Stopped at a lovely little beach , just for pictures and to walk in the sand to walk in sand.
Read The Ryan Girls's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kema1005
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Absolutely loved this tour. We learned a lot about Grand Cayman and how the island operates (which apparently works for them). Out of the 55k people there they have only about 2200 unemployed, which says a lot. Banking is their #1 industry and banks are charged something like $350k a year by their government. Tourism is their #2 industry. Every cruise ship has to pay Grand Cayman $15 for each person on the ship (crew or passenger) and they sometimes have as many as 17 ships per week. Airlines flying into Grand Cayman pay $25 pp. There are no taxes, no sales tax, no income tax, etc. People who want to move/live there are granted a 7 year visa during which time they need to show what they can do for Grand Cayman. I.e., if they are going to start a business, get that going and start making a profit, in order to stay. Additionally, what we thought was amazing, everyone is given the opportunity for an education. There is no reason for someone not to go to school. It is free to everyone. English is their #1 language and people must learn it. No excuse. We learned so much in that hour tour - quite impressive actually. Would definitely do the tour again.
Read Kema1005's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tead102
1 review
Apr 2015
This was a short trolley tour of Grand Cayman narrated by a tour guide who explained the basic philosophy of the Cayman government and the extensive banking done in Grand Cayman. Highlight was a brief stop at a local beach that was beautiful.
Read Tead102's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LadyPandora407
3 reviews
Mar 2015
Nice 1 hour tour, very informative. We learned quite a bit about the Island the citizens of Grand Cayman. You go to the beach and can get out and walk if you like on the beach for a couple minutes
Read LadyPandora407's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TB- Cruiser
1 review
Mar 2015
Very nice and quick tour of island highlights. Tour guide was very knowledgeable. Also very full tour, it is likely that you and traveling companions won't sit together ...but it is only for about 1 hour.
Read TB- Cruiser's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mag2184
1 review
Mar 2015
this tour was great because it lasted about an hour, they picked you up right at the dock, very easy to find the signs, and they spoke to you about the history of cayman islands, showed you around shops, banks, houses, hotels, and a locals beach spot which is gorgeous and they give you 10 minutes to check it out! I truly think its a great value for the money. the island is small, quiet, safe, clean, very different from other islands. truly beautiful. we then took a taxi to 7 mile beach which is amazing and spent a couple hours there before heading back to dock. tenders are easy, fast, and great service with water, cold towels waiting for you before boarding.
Read mag2184's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image thiggins2000
1 review
Mar 2015
Again cheaper than booking through the cruiseline. Made reservations via email before the cruise. Picked the excursion that fit our ships time and gave detailed information on where to find them. Just a block from the cruise terminal. We went on the snorkle and stingray tour and the guys were great. The bus ride to the boat was very informative and nice. Provided water and punch as well is snorkle gear. It was only 40 gor me and 35 for each of my boys. Clean boat and equipment.
Read thiggins2000's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: captain Marvins
Member Image Ms. Cruiser
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Very informative. The driver gave us a nice history of the island and a short tour. We stopped at the beach and drove past some old historical homes. It was very nice.
Read Ms. Cruiser's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SixAndNeutral
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2013
We booked the Trolley Roger to learn about the Cayman Islands. This tour was very informative and fully met our expectations.
Read SixAndNeutral's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image marybor
3 reviews
Sep 2012
It was so unimpressive, that I can't recall anything about it. We just went up and down some roads @ 10 miles per hour!!! A waste of time and money.
Read marybor's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image skyking356
1 review
Mar 2012
inexpensive!
Read skyking356's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.