Grand Cayman Stingray Swim Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Stingray Swim cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Encounter one of Grand Cayman's most popular sea creatures -- the stingray. Feed and touch them as you swim together in the island's turquoise water.
Member Image shasta78
1 review
Jan 2017
Fun day with the sting rays- great for the whole family
Read shasta78's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Blazeoffire
1 review
Jan 2017
Be careful on doing both. They are on different sides of the island and if the weather is windy, it makes for choppy waters. NCL claimed the stingray portion was cancelled due to weather but it was not. However, it was hard to stay standing on the sandbar due to choppy waters. It was really cool and dolphin swim versus encounter is definitely recommended. Nothing crazy, but you get to glide on the dolphin by holding it's fins and also they push you while on a boogie board.
Read Blazeoffire's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: AAA
Member Image funandsun63
1 review
Jan 2017
It was so much fun being able to hold a stingray. My boyfriend brought along a water proof camera and was able to take some underwater pictures! The excursion company also took pictures and sold the package of all pictures to us for $50.00. The turtle sanctuary was really cool also. We were able to see alot of turtles, swim with them and again, take a picture holding them. Cayman Islands: We took a Jeep and Snorkel Tour through Carnival. I would probably not recommend this tour. We went to a beach where we could go snorkeling and eat lunch, saw a Ruin, Lighthouse, and an alligator. We feel we would have had a better time renting a jeep and exploring the island on our own.
Read funandsun63's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cruisenthusiast
1 review
Jan 2017
Best part of our vacation! We were bussed from the cruise port to the yacht club, boarded a boat and made the 30 minute trek out to the sandbar. Along the way we were educated about the stingrays and the rules of interaction with them. Once there two sailors held stingrays and did demonstrations for us and allowed us to hold them and interact with them, while their photographer took pictures. We were given squid to feed the stingrays with but they were all full by then! The sailors were very knowledgeable and gentle,with the stingrays, they genuinely cared about the animals well being. The stingrays themselves were very friendly, they were obviously used to people. We got our pictures taken holding the stingrays, "kissing" them, and having them on our backs, the underside of the stingrays are very smooth! We had about 45 minutes there then we sailed back to the marina and were bussed to the turtle farm.
Read Cruisenthusiast's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Just getting started
1 review
Jan 2017
Great staff, clean transportation and a most precious experience! Great Value! The guides were experienced and knowledgeable, safety was a top priority and they made sure everyone enjoyed themselves.
Read Just getting started's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bandjwayne
1 review
Jan 2017
e booked the Deluxe Stingray City & Sandbar for All Ages excursion through Carnival. What a fun unique experience to be so close to wild stingrays. I brought my 7 yr old’s life jacket with us which was nice because the water was too deep for him stand by himself w/the waves. I ended up holding him most of the time because I didn’t want him to swim & kick any stingrays. We had enough time to walk around the port a little too before & after the excursion.
Read bandjwayne's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cantonfirecruise
1 review
Jan 2017
No photos. Great guides, plenty of interaction.
Read Cantonfirecruise's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Adventure ?
Member Image bigtee907
1 review
Jan 2017
About a 15 minute bus ride to boat dock. Then the boat travelled about 25 minutes to a sandbar out in the middle of the water. Lots of boats and other tourist there, but there were lots of stingrays and plenty of opportunity to interact with them, especially with the help of the crew. Fun and neat experience. Water is waist deep. You were welcome to snorkel too but we didn't see the need.
Read bigtee907's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image otters92
2 reviews
Jan 2017
If you go to Grand Cayman with kids, book this excursion! We booked directly through Captain Marvin's Watersports. They were fantastic and the excursion was even better than advertised. (I thought we would have 1 snorkel stop, but there were 2, in addition to the Stingray City stop.) Communication prior to the excursion and payment the day of the excursion were both effective and painless. Lastly, my wife left her sunglasses in the bathroom by the boat departure port and didn't realize it until we arrived back into the city. Anna and several drivers communicated by radio to find that another client had picked them up and taken them to her hotel, looking for the original owner. The drivers coordinated through Anna to get the glasses back to my wife within 30 minutes. They weren't an exceptionally valuable pair of sunglasses, but the employees went the extra mile to help us out. They were fantastic!
Read otters92's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Capt. Marvin's Watersports
Member Image ColoradoExceptInWinter
2 reviews
Jan 2017
A bit disappointing - some guides trying to wrestle away a stingray to their group from among the few hundred (at least) people on the sand bar. We did enjoy touching and feeding a stingray that a guide from another group was holding. We did this once, would not do it again.
Read ColoradoExceptInWinter's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image t_hipfanatic
1 review
Jan 2017
See above about Rum Point Beach and swimming with the stingrays. Good to do, wouldn't do this again. Lots of problems getting people to their excursions and getting back in time.
Read t_hipfanatic's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Mac4YYZ
8 reviews
Dec 2016
Stingray City is a must see at least once in Grand Cayman. One of the wonders of the Caribbean.
Read Mac4YYZ's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image plawren2
1 review
Dec 2016
catamaran ride out to shallow sand bar, 45 minutes in water with stingrays - great time!
Read plawren2's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image aotten01
1 review
Dec 2016
We did stingray city about 15 years ago - maybe it has changed, maybe this was different, but remember being surrounded by stingrays years ago and now....we got to interact with maybe two. Not everyone got to feed them, because they got full after a while. Tiki Beach was nice - lots of additional activities such as snorkeling and paddle boarding for a decent price. The time to travel between Stingray City and the beach was excessive - over an hour, so time at the beach was limited. I swear the boat was traveling at idle speed just so they could make sure they sold pictures of the stingray experience to everyone who wanted them before we got to shore - other boats were passing us!
Read aotten01's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image nhlbd
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Our kids loved the stingrays. It was quite an experience for them.
Read nhlbd's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 1cruise2U
1 review
Dec 2016
Excellent trip, fun and exciting, would not take younger than 5 child as the Rays can be large and the water is about 3 to 4' in the middle of the ocean on sand bar
Read 1cruise2U's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Way
Member Image baileybrad
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Professional, easy to get to in port. Uncrowded boat. Friendly crew. Not pushy for tips. Well worth it in every way. See my actual review for more information. 2nd time using this company. Our captain was Chris. He is very compassionate with the rays.
Read baileybrad's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cayman Eco Tours
Member Image spork1958
1 review
Dec 2016
Probably a must do (other than SCUBA) in Grand Cayman. Amazing experience for young and old. Holding a stingray isn't something I ever thought I would do! Can't say enough about Moby Dick Tours--I highly recommend them; they gave us an unhurried, uncrowded, and fascinating experience (again, reasonably priced!)
Read spork1958's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Moby Dick Tours
Member Image UCJAMES
1 review
Dec 2016
We loved the turtle farm as we got to hold turtles and got to visit Hell. My wife and son LOVED the stingray swim, I hated it as we were taken out by a small boat and the ocean was very very rough. If you get sea sick DO NOT DO THIS or you will regret it and waste your money. I was so sick I didn't even get off the boat to swim. If you want to do this and have your heart set on it there was a large barge type boat that did not have the issues we did.
Read UCJAMES's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carribmom
1 review
Dec 2016
ok - very crowded but our tour did not feed the stingrays, and we had to ask for food instead of them giving it to us. Snorkeling was not good.
Read carribmom's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: discount excursions
Member Image SwtCandi
1 review
Dec 2016
Booked through Trip Advisor. Was a 3rd of the cost of the ships excursion, and we went to the same place. Had an amazing time.
Read SwtCandi's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image adventurenerd
1 review
Dec 2016
The meeting and pickup was a bit disorganized, we had trouble finding the tour operator at the dock (his sign was very small). The staff were generally very friendly and seemed knowledgeable. The "Captain" was a local from Cayman and a bit of a blow-hard but overall we had a nice time. We were forced to sit on the floor of the "taxi van" as it was overloaded and they didn't want to make 2 trips. There was supposed to be a pizza as a snack but we had to leave without it for some reason so the operator discounted the tour by 10%.
Read adventurenerd's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Acquarius Tours
Member Image golf1278
1 review
Dec 2016
Nice catamaran ride out to a natural shallow area to swim with free stingrays that come here to feed. Then it was a very short distance to the reef for snorkeling with lots of beautiful coral and fish. Fun and professional crew provided safety and entertainment.
Read golf1278's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Love2Dance4Me!
11 reviews
Dec 2016
The tour included Star Fish Point, Stingray City and snorkeling. Captain Mario and his staff were excellent and we had a wonderful time. Only 18-20 guests can attend and we had a blast.
Read Love2Dance4Me!'s full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Aquarius Sea Tours
Member Image ally harrison
1 review
Dec 2016
We could have skipped going to the little place called Hell and skipped the Rum Cake store as you can buy rum cakes anywhere. Would have rathered spent more time with the Turtles or with the Stingrays. This was all one tour. Driver, Jason, was very good.
Read ally harrison's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?