Grand Cayman Stingray Swim Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Stingray Swim cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Encounter one of Grand Cayman's most popular sea creatures -- the stingray. Feed and touch them as you swim together in the island's turquoise water.
Member Image ludwigvii
1 review
Feb 2017
Stingray City was fun. Something about being 4.5 miles out in the ocean and being able to stand in waist deep, crystal clear water while hanging out with Stingray is cool.
Read ludwigvii's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Devil975j
1 review
Feb 2017
The sting ray bar / snorkel was awesome! After a 30 minute boat ride into the middle of the ocean we appeared to a waste high sandbar and got to swim with 20-30 sting ray in open water and habitat. Great for Go Pro!
Read Devil975j's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image AroundTheWhirl
1 review
Feb 2017
Stingray City was the higihlight of the trip. Gorgeous boatride on amazingly colored water out to a sandbar to swim with HUGE and gentle stingrays. Just being on a sandbar out there was awesome, to say nothing of the stingrays. Great for kids, too.
Read AroundTheWhirl's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image clementine01
1 review
Feb 2017
Booked private tour for party of 6 with George's Watersports. It was EXCELLENT!!! i highly recommend them. Our two guides made sure we held and interacted with the stingrays in a safe and enjoyable manner. They were great.
Read clementine01's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: George's Watersports
Member Image seadream1
1 review
Feb 2017
We enjoyed stingray city, starfish beach and a lunch at Kaibo.
Read seadream1's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image jdsaint
3 reviews
Feb 2017
It was a great experience, however the 25 minute bus ride and 35 minute boat ride (each way) was not. While we are glad we did it, wouldn't do it again.
Read jdsaint's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image grosspolly
1 review
Feb 2017
love it - odd you travel to the middle of the ocean - but amazing
Read grosspolly's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Team Baker
1 review
Feb 2017
Way to many people on this excursion!!!! So many people in the water that the stingrays didn't want to come to our area
Read Team Baker's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image shasta78
1 review
Jan 2017
Fun day with the sting rays- great for the whole family
Read shasta78's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Blazeoffire
1 review
Jan 2017
Be careful on doing both. They are on different sides of the island and if the weather is windy, it makes for choppy waters. NCL claimed the stingray portion was cancelled due to weather but it was not. However, it was hard to stay standing on the sandbar due to choppy waters. It was really cool and dolphin swim versus encounter is definitely recommended. Nothing crazy, but you get to glide on the dolphin by holding it's fins and also they push you while on a boogie board.
Read Blazeoffire's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: AAA
Member Image funandsun63
1 review
Jan 2017
It was so much fun being able to hold a stingray. My boyfriend brought along a water proof camera and was able to take some underwater pictures! The excursion company also took pictures and sold the package of all pictures to us for $50.00. The turtle sanctuary was really cool also. We were able to see alot of turtles, swim with them and again, take a picture holding them. Cayman Islands: We took a Jeep and Snorkel Tour through Carnival. I would probably not recommend this tour. We went to a beach where we could go snorkeling and eat lunch, saw a Ruin, Lighthouse, and an alligator. We feel we would have had a better time renting a jeep and exploring the island on our own.
Read funandsun63's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cruisenthusiast
1 review
Jan 2017
Best part of our vacation! We were bussed from the cruise port to the yacht club, boarded a boat and made the 30 minute trek out to the sandbar. Along the way we were educated about the stingrays and the rules of interaction with them. Once there two sailors held stingrays and did demonstrations for us and allowed us to hold them and interact with them, while their photographer took pictures. We were given squid to feed the stingrays with but they were all full by then! The sailors were very knowledgeable and gentle,with the stingrays, they genuinely cared about the animals well being. The stingrays themselves were very friendly, they were obviously used to people. We got our pictures taken holding the stingrays, "kissing" them, and having them on our backs, the underside of the stingrays are very smooth! We had about 45 minutes there then we sailed back to the marina and were bussed to the turtle farm.
Read Cruisenthusiast's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Just getting started
1 review
Jan 2017
Great staff, clean transportation and a most precious experience! Great Value! The guides were experienced and knowledgeable, safety was a top priority and they made sure everyone enjoyed themselves.
Read Just getting started's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bandjwayne
1 review
Jan 2017
e booked the Deluxe Stingray City & Sandbar for All Ages excursion through Carnival. What a fun unique experience to be so close to wild stingrays. I brought my 7 yr old’s life jacket with us which was nice because the water was too deep for him stand by himself w/the waves. I ended up holding him most of the time because I didn’t want him to swim & kick any stingrays. We had enough time to walk around the port a little too before & after the excursion.
Read bandjwayne's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cantonfirecruise
1 review
Jan 2017
No photos. Great guides, plenty of interaction.
Read Cantonfirecruise's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Adventure ?
Member Image bigtee907
1 review
Jan 2017
About a 15 minute bus ride to boat dock. Then the boat travelled about 25 minutes to a sandbar out in the middle of the water. Lots of boats and other tourist there, but there were lots of stingrays and plenty of opportunity to interact with them, especially with the help of the crew. Fun and neat experience. Water is waist deep. You were welcome to snorkel too but we didn't see the need.
Read bigtee907's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image otters92
2 reviews
Jan 2017
If you go to Grand Cayman with kids, book this excursion! We booked directly through Captain Marvin's Watersports. They were fantastic and the excursion was even better than advertised. (I thought we would have 1 snorkel stop, but there were 2, in addition to the Stingray City stop.) Communication prior to the excursion and payment the day of the excursion were both effective and painless. Lastly, my wife left her sunglasses in the bathroom by the boat departure port and didn't realize it until we arrived back into the city. Anna and several drivers communicated by radio to find that another client had picked them up and taken them to her hotel, looking for the original owner. The drivers coordinated through Anna to get the glasses back to my wife within 30 minutes. They weren't an exceptionally valuable pair of sunglasses, but the employees went the extra mile to help us out. They were fantastic!
Read otters92's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Capt. Marvin's Watersports
Member Image ColoradoExceptInWinter
2 reviews
Jan 2017
A bit disappointing - some guides trying to wrestle away a stingray to their group from among the few hundred (at least) people on the sand bar. We did enjoy touching and feeding a stingray that a guide from another group was holding. We did this once, would not do it again.
Read ColoradoExceptInWinter's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image t_hipfanatic
1 review
Jan 2017
See above about Rum Point Beach and swimming with the stingrays. Good to do, wouldn't do this again. Lots of problems getting people to their excursions and getting back in time.
Read t_hipfanatic's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Mac4YYZ
8 reviews
Dec 2016
Stingray City is a must see at least once in Grand Cayman. One of the wonders of the Caribbean.
Read Mac4YYZ's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image plawren2
1 review
Dec 2016
catamaran ride out to shallow sand bar, 45 minutes in water with stingrays - great time!
Read plawren2's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image aotten01
1 review
Dec 2016
We did stingray city about 15 years ago - maybe it has changed, maybe this was different, but remember being surrounded by stingrays years ago and now....we got to interact with maybe two. Not everyone got to feed them, because they got full after a while. Tiki Beach was nice - lots of additional activities such as snorkeling and paddle boarding for a decent price. The time to travel between Stingray City and the beach was excessive - over an hour, so time at the beach was limited. I swear the boat was traveling at idle speed just so they could make sure they sold pictures of the stingray experience to everyone who wanted them before we got to shore - other boats were passing us!
Read aotten01's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image nhlbd
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Our kids loved the stingrays. It was quite an experience for them.
Read nhlbd's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 1cruise2U
1 review
Dec 2016
Excellent trip, fun and exciting, would not take younger than 5 child as the Rays can be large and the water is about 3 to 4' in the middle of the ocean on sand bar
Read 1cruise2U's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Way
Member Image baileybrad
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Professional, easy to get to in port. Uncrowded boat. Friendly crew. Not pushy for tips. Well worth it in every way. See my actual review for more information. 2nd time using this company. Our captain was Chris. He is very compassionate with the rays.
Read baileybrad's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cayman Eco Tours

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?