Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Grand Cayman Stingray Swim Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Stingray Swim cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Encounter one of Grand Cayman's most popular sea creatures -- the stingray. Feed and touch them as you swim together in the island's turquoise water.
Member Image Etoc
1 review
Jan 2016
We booked this excursion but it was canceled because of high offshore winds. We walked into town instead. Be prepared to pay $35 for a small personal pizza and beer. Prices are crazy here.
Read Etoc's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image NeedToVacation
5 reviews
Jan 2016
Catamaran sail to stingray sandbar. Small group (20 max). Chip, the captain, was on the ball - very nice! He even jumped overboard to show us a starfish he saw. Got right in water with HUGE stingrays, fed them, petted & hugged them!! Snorkeled at nearby reef. Saw lots of cool coral & colorful fish. Fresh sliced pineapple on sail back. Fun day all around!!
Read NeedToVacation's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Cayman Eco Adventures
Member Image jenb1847
1 review
Jan 2016
Great excursion!
Read jenb1847's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvin
Member Image The Cruiser 1000
4 reviews
Dec 2015
A lot of fun on our Nature adventure. Sting rays were fun, it was ok holding the birds, LOVED PHOTOGRAPHING DOLPHINS!!! Video of animals we saw: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjLnLjidmec
Read The Cruiser 1000's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image boy's mom
6 reviews
Dec 2015
Moby Dick Tours was the only stingray tour that would accept babies (we had a 6 month old with us) on the boat. It was $45 pp, cash, (the baby was free) & included a bus ride from the port to the marina (it was very easy to find them under their canopy), about 45 minutes of snorkeling (they provided the equipment) & about 45 minutes of swimming with the sting rays in the middle of the ocean in chest deep water. They were very friendly, knowledgeable & helpful. They were the only tour operators (that I could see), who brought a bucket of stingray "food" to throw in periodically so that the stingrays would swim right around us. Even though the water was only chest deep (I'm 5'2"), it was extremely rough (I had a hard time standing upright) so I was glad that my boys were a little older (12 & 15). (They also provide life vests.) There was a shower as you climb back on the boat for rinsing off, a dispenser of punch & a dispenser of water (with those little cone cups), a toilet (although it wasn't working so they told us not to use it), & shade on about half of the boat. When we got back to the marina, their bus was waiting to take us back to the dock. We had about an hour to shop before we had to take the tender back to the ship. (Grand Cayman is a very expensive place to shop & eat-- a small smoothie at Burger King cost me $8 USD!). The people there are very friendly & I felt very safe.
Read boy's mom's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Moby Dick
Member Image jdavis5221@aol.com
1 review
Dec 2015
Bus ride to Grand Cayman yacht club. Took a 25 minute boat ride to snorkel and then went to Sting Ray City. Swam with and held sting rays, very cool. Tendering in to Grand Cayman was the only downside, just time consuming. Wish we had more time in Grand Cayman to shop but our excursion took all of our time.
Read jdavis5221@aol.com's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Moby Dick
Member Image JChoudhary
1 review
Dec 2015
Daughter went on this as well, tour operators were very courteous and helpful.
Read JChoudhary's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image beckylynn05
1 review
Dec 2015
Fun and very interesting. These things can become very excited at feedings.
Read beckylynn05's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Murphy125
1 review
Dec 2015
Bus transportation was horrible. Bus should not of been certified to be on the roads. Very very old and held together with bungy cords and duck tape. Once on boat....just as bad. Very poor condition. Could not hear any of the instructions and no help getting on and off boat. Seas were very rough. Many people got sick but crew could care less to help. We found the excursion when we walked off our cruise ship so had not researched the company....big mistake! We learn from our big mistakes...
Read Murphy125's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Carson tours. ....Blue something
Member Image jconnelley
1 review
Dec 2015
I was extremely disappointed with the process of disembarking and returning to ship for excursions. In Grand Cayman we booked a stingray swim and snorkel excursion. We were told to assemble in the theatre at 7:30 but it was nearly 8:30 before they led us to the tender. They gave us no explanation for the delay. We just sat on the tender for another 1/2 hour or more after everyone was loaded before we actually departed for the port. Again, no explanation for the delay. When we finally got inside the port everything was complete chaos! There must have been 2,000 people all trying to find their individual excursion meeting points in the town square. It was a complete mess and took another 45 minutes just to get organized. Then there was another 20 minute bus ride to the dock where our boat was to leave for the stingray swim. We were not able to snorkel because of wind in the area, so we went straight to the Stingray Swim area. Finally another 1/2 hour boat ride to the actual destination. We were allowed about 20 to 30 minutes with the stingrays. Then on the return, they boarded us onto the WRONG BUS! We all had to get off and then on to another bus. But we still ended up with some people who should have been on another bus. Instead of putting them on their correct bus, our bus had to take a detour to drop those passengers off at their destination, which added another 15 to 20 minutes to our return trip. We were scheduled to be back to the port by 11 a.m. and instead it was nearly 1 p.m. The line to get back on the tender was a mile long, and since we had to re-board the ship by 3:15 (not 5:30 as we were originally told) there was barely time to grab a quick lunch before getting in line to wait another 1/2 hour to get back on the tender. We finally managed to get back on board ship by 3 p.m. - just 15 minutes before departure time!
Read jconnelley's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Daisyloo
9 reviews
Nov 2015
We did this last year and loved it so much we wanted to do it again. A smaller boat takes you out to a sandbar, out in the middle of the sea, about 35 minutes from the shore. The water in this area is only about 3-4 feet deep. You get out of the boat and stand on the sandbar and the wild stingrays come swimming in all around you. Hundreds of them. They are very docile and allow you to touch and pet them. The guides bring squid pieces so that you can feed the rays. It is a fun excursion and I would do it again.
Read Daisyloo's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image chris7000
1 review
Nov 2015
Catamaran sail to Stingray City with stops for snorkeling. Loved by the entire group.
Read chris7000's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Discount Excursions
Member Image Toby1957
4 reviews
Nov 2015
Really interesting. Quite a ways out into the water before you get to the sandbar where the stingrays are. At first you think they are rocks but then realize there hundreds of these rays and they are huge! When you first get in it is a little creepy but you soon get used to them. It was an excellent tour and we learned a lot! Recommend.
Read Toby1957's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Brightongal8
1 review
Oct 2015
Was very disappointed in this, the tour operators onboard did not seem to know what they were doing. there were only two of them. My husband and I are experienced snorkelers, however the other 8 couples were not, they were given no directions, the equipment was sub par. They gave us no instructions on how to interact with the sting rays. Which was ok since they did not take us to where we thought we were going. We swam in 12-14ft of water instead of the 4 ft that was advertised. we saw 4 rays, that was it. The second half was a reef, which was pretty good, but again for the people who were not strong swimmers this was not good for them.
Read Brightongal8's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image IslandGirl247
1 review
Oct 2015
This and Bonaire were my favorites. We booked an excursion with Stingray City Tours. Small tour of 11 people on a tour boat that could have easily booked 16 or more. It was small and intimate and we felt very well taken care of by a company that cares about the animals and the environment - other tour operators were harassing the sea life and that really bothered me. The operator brought frozen fish for the stingrays. The stringrays hear the boats drop anchor and come from near and far for a free snack. I just stood in one place and let them be and they would come right up to my body. It was a wild, wild experience. We also stopped at the nearby reef for some snorkeling (good, but not as great as Bonaire) and starfish beach where other operators where pulling starfish out of the water and placing them on people's heads for photo ops. That was disturbing.
Read IslandGirl247's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Stingray City Tours
Member Image tohmer
1 review
Oct 2015
Enjoyed this nine years ago and decided to do it again, and glad we did. MOBY DICK TOURS was most excellent! Spend lots of time in the water swimming with and got to feed and get "kisses" from the stingrays! Also snorkeled the corral reef.
Read tohmer's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Moby Dick Tours
Member Image CruzinTampa
1 review
Oct 2015
"Deluxe Stingray City" tour operators were great. Crew got us to the sandbar before most of the other boats, and stayed on station for a hour, rather than the 20-30 minutes most other tours offer. Guides were knowledgeable and caring for the animals and the environment as well. There are onboard snacks & beverages for an additional cost. Snorkel gear and life vests are available for free use.
Read CruzinTampa's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Rangersfan1994
1 review
Oct 2015
Moby Dicks was a great choice as the staff was very helpful and attentive.
Read Rangersfan1994's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Moby Dicks
Member Image gballard
1 review
Oct 2015
These were out in the ocean on a sandbar and were REAL, wild stingrays. I had been told that they were captive. Our guides were familiar with the stingrays since they are there everyday and feed them. It was a great experience. We were allowed to take our own pictures and they also took pictures that we could purchase, which I did. $25 for one, or $60 for all (100 pictures in my case). Great crew!
Read gballard's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gypsygal1962
1 review
Sep 2015
Waist deep water. Good tour if not a strong swimmer.
Read gypsygal1962's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 58Piano
1 review
Aug 2015
Wonderful company since the 1950's Small personable Fun
Read 58Piano's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvin's
Member Image Shazzygo
1 review
Aug 2015
We enjoyed both activities but the hour wait after getting off the ship, standing in a confined space with hundreds of people ruined the day. Everything would have been quicker and smoother if we hadn't gone through Carnival.
Read Shazzygo's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image randysw
1 review
Aug 2015
old boat. expensive watered down drinks, wife sliced her foot on the anchor, two many people on the tour so did not get to spend a lot of time with the rays
Read randysw's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image NWACruiser
1 review
Aug 2015
We boarded the Cayman Explorer and off we went to Stingray City. Stingray City is a sandbar located in a bay on Grand Cayman. The water is about three feet deep. There is a good natural supply of food for stingrays. Therefore it became a good way to teach visitors about stingrays in their natural environment. We spent nearly an hour with the stingrays. We snorkeled some, took a few underwater photos and video. Then the fun started. We petted, held, and even kissed a stingray. Afterwards, we made a fist. A piece of squid was placed in our fist so we could feed the rays. One thing to remember, keep your thumb down. Stingrays are bottom feeders and feed by sucking their food out of the sand. If your thumb is sticking up, they will think its food and suck your thumb. Once we got back to the port, we walked around George Town for a bit. Our guide on the Stingray City tour told us about a Rum Cake store that has free samples. We had to hit there.
Read NWACruiser's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image guitarabuser@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2015
Friendly operator with fun crew.
Read guitarabuser@gmail.com's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.