Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Grand Cayman Stingray Swim Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Stingray Swim cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Encounter one of Grand Cayman's most popular sea creatures -- the stingray. Feed and touch them as you swim together in the island's turquoise water.
Member Image zaherej
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Cool experience to be that close to so many stingrays. Great tour operators. Highly recommend using Moby Dick if you want to do this.
Read zaherej's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Moby Dick Tours
Member Image estillcrew@aol.com
reviews
Mar 2016
I highly recommend Nativeway for Stingray City. It was $62 per person and it included interacting with the stingrays at sting ray city, snorkeling in a great little spot, and lunch and beach time at Rum Point beach. They take you to stingray city first on an amazing boat and provide punch and water the entire time you are on the boat. There were only 13 people with us, so the guides were able to spend a lot of personal time with each of us. They provide food to feed the stingrays and were VERY patient with me because I was so nervous. They take many individual pictures and family pictures of the stingray encounter. After stingray city, they take you snorkeling. One of the guides kept diving down and bringing up conch shells. He pulled the conch out and cut off pieces, and we all had sushi! It didn't taste like fish at all - more like a potato! Each family also got a conch shell to take home for a souvenir. After snorkeling, we got back on the boat, and they passed out menus for each of us to order our FREE lunch. Once we made our selections, he called them in, and when we arrived on the beach, our lunch was ready! We could not believe all of the choices for lunch! My daughter got a bacon cheeseburger and fries, my husband got a blackened mahi mahi sandwich and fries, I got jerk chicken, rice and beans, and my other daughter got a jerk chicken wrap and fries. Drinks were included with lunch and everything was delicious! We got to spend about an hour and a half on this beach in lounge chairs or in hammocks. There were plenty of spots in the sun and shade to choose from. While you are there, you can view the pictures that were taken with the stingrays! Our photographer took 59 pictures of my family, and they were fantastic. We purchased all of the pictures for $60 and they were sent to me via email. I will treasure these pictures forever! Alcoholic drinks are expensive here, but they were good. After the beach, we sailed back to port in plenty of time to shop. I highly recommend this company!
Read estillcrew@aol.com's full cruise review
Provider: Nativeway
Member Image njbeliveau
1 review
Mar 2016
We have done this before in Turks and Caicos but this was much better! The snorkeling afterwards was equally as good.
Read njbeliveau's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cypresspodiatry@aol.com
1 review
Mar 2016
Was crowded and the stingrays were not hungry anymore so they didn't eat from our hands. Go early in the day for the best experience
Read cypresspodiatry@aol.com's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Darshan1
12 reviews
Mar 2016
A good tour mostly with the exception of our irascible, double-booked guide. The turtle farm is interesting enough and the colors of the water are so amazing, you should treat yourself to sailing on them even if you don't want to swim with stingrays. But our guide skipped a photo stop on Seven Mile Beach and was late picking us up from our boat ride, leaving us out in the heat for a while. Nice enough itinerary, but Princess heard from us about the guide's poor execution.
Read Darshan1's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jpantonini
1 review
Mar 2016
This was a pretty good value for the money. Nice boat ride out and back again. spent a lot of time in the sting ray city sand bar area. The captain grabs a ray and takes everyone's picture with it in several poses. That's pretty fun, and the photos are fairly inexpensive to purchase as these things go. What's better is to just get away from the group and hang out in the middle of the sand bar - rays will just swim by and come up to you if you are calm and you get more of an interaction. This was a favorite activity and I'd recommend it. Got back to the port with enough time for lunch and light shopping too.
Read jpantonini's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rwily
1 review
Mar 2016
We did the Sting Ray City excursion, booked through HAL. We were on a nice big dive boat (with a bathroom, even!). Had a very pleasant ride about 30 minutes each way out to the sand bars in the bay where the sting rays hang out. There were sting rays everywhere, big ones/little ones. They were very easy to see because the sand on the bar what white and the sting rays are black on top. So, standing in water a little over waist deep, the sting rays come right up to you, brush by you, etc. Feeding them was fun. This was a great excursion, really worth it.
Read rwily's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image GerBobcruisers
1 review
Mar 2016
Great experience .....had a fantastic time....
Read GerBobcruisers's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image whoop1995
2 reviews
Feb 2016
fun but extremely crowded. There were over 300 people in a small area.
Read whoop1995's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Dance kath
1 review
Feb 2016
Would of been Excellent if they had acknowledged us for photos
Read Dance kath's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image whitelimo
1 review
Feb 2016
Our excursion also included stops at the Turtle Farm, Hell and Rum Cake Factory, but the Stingray Swim was the real highlight. You'll ride on a small fishing boat out to a sandbar in the ocean where you can stand in four feet of water as the stingrays swim all around you. It's a little scary at first but really feels like something unique - something you'll probably never get to do again. The water's warm and beautiful and everybody's in the same boat (literally) so it becomes a really fun community experience as everyone's kind of shouting and laughing together. Had a great time doing this.
Read whitelimo's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Etoc
1 review
Jan 2016
We booked this excursion but it was canceled because of high offshore winds. We walked into town instead. Be prepared to pay $35 for a small personal pizza and beer. Prices are crazy here.
Read Etoc's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image NeedToVacation
5 reviews
Jan 2016
Catamaran sail to stingray sandbar. Small group (20 max). Chip, the captain, was on the ball - very nice! He even jumped overboard to show us a starfish he saw. Got right in water with HUGE stingrays, fed them, petted & hugged them!! Snorkeled at nearby reef. Saw lots of cool coral & colorful fish. Fresh sliced pineapple on sail back. Fun day all around!!
Read NeedToVacation's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Cayman Eco Adventures
Member Image jenb1847
1 review
Jan 2016
Great excursion!
Read jenb1847's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvin
Member Image The Cruiser 1000
4 reviews
Dec 2015
A lot of fun on our Nature adventure. Sting rays were fun, it was ok holding the birds, LOVED PHOTOGRAPHING DOLPHINS!!! Video of animals we saw: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjLnLjidmec
Read The Cruiser 1000's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image boy's mom
6 reviews
Dec 2015
Moby Dick Tours was the only stingray tour that would accept babies (we had a 6 month old with us) on the boat. It was $45 pp, cash, (the baby was free) & included a bus ride from the port to the marina (it was very easy to find them under their canopy), about 45 minutes of snorkeling (they provided the equipment) & about 45 minutes of swimming with the sting rays in the middle of the ocean in chest deep water. They were very friendly, knowledgeable & helpful. They were the only tour operators (that I could see), who brought a bucket of stingray "food" to throw in periodically so that the stingrays would swim right around us. Even though the water was only chest deep (I'm 5'2"), it was extremely rough (I had a hard time standing upright) so I was glad that my boys were a little older (12 & 15). (They also provide life vests.) There was a shower as you climb back on the boat for rinsing off, a dispenser of punch & a dispenser of water (with those little cone cups), a toilet (although it wasn't working so they told us not to use it), & shade on about half of the boat. When we got back to the marina, their bus was waiting to take us back to the dock. We had about an hour to shop before we had to take the tender back to the ship. (Grand Cayman is a very expensive place to shop & eat-- a small smoothie at Burger King cost me $8 USD!). The people there are very friendly & I felt very safe.
Read boy's mom's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Moby Dick
Member Image jdavis5221@aol.com
1 review
Dec 2015
Bus ride to Grand Cayman yacht club. Took a 25 minute boat ride to snorkel and then went to Sting Ray City. Swam with and held sting rays, very cool. Tendering in to Grand Cayman was the only downside, just time consuming. Wish we had more time in Grand Cayman to shop but our excursion took all of our time.
Read jdavis5221@aol.com's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Moby Dick
Member Image JChoudhary
1 review
Dec 2015
Daughter went on this as well, tour operators were very courteous and helpful.
Read JChoudhary's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image beckylynn05
1 review
Dec 2015
Fun and very interesting. These things can become very excited at feedings.
Read beckylynn05's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Murphy125
1 review
Dec 2015
Bus transportation was horrible. Bus should not of been certified to be on the roads. Very very old and held together with bungy cords and duck tape. Once on boat....just as bad. Very poor condition. Could not hear any of the instructions and no help getting on and off boat. Seas were very rough. Many people got sick but crew could care less to help. We found the excursion when we walked off our cruise ship so had not researched the company....big mistake! We learn from our big mistakes...
Read Murphy125's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Carson tours. ....Blue something
Member Image jconnelley
1 review
Dec 2015
I was extremely disappointed with the process of disembarking and returning to ship for excursions. In Grand Cayman we booked a stingray swim and snorkel excursion. We were told to assemble in the theatre at 7:30 but it was nearly 8:30 before they led us to the tender. They gave us no explanation for the delay. We just sat on the tender for another 1/2 hour or more after everyone was loaded before we actually departed for the port. Again, no explanation for the delay. When we finally got inside the port everything was complete chaos! There must have been 2,000 people all trying to find their individual excursion meeting points in the town square. It was a complete mess and took another 45 minutes just to get organized. Then there was another 20 minute bus ride to the dock where our boat was to leave for the stingray swim. We were not able to snorkel because of wind in the area, so we went straight to the Stingray Swim area. Finally another 1/2 hour boat ride to the actual destination. We were allowed about 20 to 30 minutes with the stingrays. Then on the return, they boarded us onto the WRONG BUS! We all had to get off and then on to another bus. But we still ended up with some people who should have been on another bus. Instead of putting them on their correct bus, our bus had to take a detour to drop those passengers off at their destination, which added another 15 to 20 minutes to our return trip. We were scheduled to be back to the port by 11 a.m. and instead it was nearly 1 p.m. The line to get back on the tender was a mile long, and since we had to re-board the ship by 3:15 (not 5:30 as we were originally told) there was barely time to grab a quick lunch before getting in line to wait another 1/2 hour to get back on the tender. We finally managed to get back on board ship by 3 p.m. - just 15 minutes before departure time!
Read jconnelley's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Daisyloo
9 reviews
Nov 2015
We did this last year and loved it so much we wanted to do it again. A smaller boat takes you out to a sandbar, out in the middle of the sea, about 35 minutes from the shore. The water in this area is only about 3-4 feet deep. You get out of the boat and stand on the sandbar and the wild stingrays come swimming in all around you. Hundreds of them. They are very docile and allow you to touch and pet them. The guides bring squid pieces so that you can feed the rays. It is a fun excursion and I would do it again.
Read Daisyloo's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image chris7000
1 review
Nov 2015
Catamaran sail to Stingray City with stops for snorkeling. Loved by the entire group.
Read chris7000's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Discount Excursions
Member Image Toby1957
4 reviews
Nov 2015
Really interesting. Quite a ways out into the water before you get to the sandbar where the stingrays are. At first you think they are rocks but then realize there hundreds of these rays and they are huge! When you first get in it is a little creepy but you soon get used to them. It was an excellent tour and we learned a lot! Recommend.
Read Toby1957's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sandbox Cruiser
1 review
Nov 2015
Great way to spend the morning in Grand Cayman. New boats and great staff.
Read Sandbox Cruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Captain John

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.