Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ensenada Blowhole Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Ensenada Blowhole Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy a day trip in Ensenada to see this natural blowhole by the sea, which shoots water into the air, similar to a geyser.
Member Image Pamtom
1 review
Apr 2015
It's a hit and miss with the La Bouffadora blow hole. Saw 1 good blow, the rest were mediocre. The bus we rode in was a little dirty and the bathroom on board was the WORST I've ever been in.
Read Pamtom's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image crinteastwood
1 review
Apr 2015
We were just going to go shopping and walking and were steered to a shuttle to the downtown area for $3. return. On the bus they told us about a trip to La Bufadora for only $15 each ($38 each on the ship). 45 minute bus ride with a graet host and a million dollar view at the blowhole with all the Mexican trinkets and t-shirts that you could handle. Very glad we got on board with this tour - worth every penny and more.
Read crinteastwood's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lnctwm
1 review
Apr 2015
Taxi broke down, only got to stay for 10 minutes. The blowhole is ok, the flea market prices are higher than in the city itself. Someone tried to sell me a mocajete for $40.00 there, and in the city it was $16.00.
Read lnctwm's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Taxi
Member Image rasthravas
1 review
Apr 2015
Great tour guide who made the trip very enjoyable. It was a long tour and yet the price was very reasonable. The vendors are the blowhole had lots of great samples. We had fun. It wasnt mind blowing or anything but enjoyable for what it was.
Read rasthravas's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bestnana2007
3 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2015

Once we got off the shuttle at the ship and dropped off in town, there was an independent shuttle that took us to the Blow Hole (La Bufadora). It was so great to see the water.The tour lasted about 3 hours (to and from), The shuttle took us back to ship. We did walk through the flea market and I bought some tanzanite earrings . The whole excursion cost us $15 a piece.

Read bestnana2007's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image trbarton
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2015

Since I've been there many times I decided to take a private tour out to La Bufadora.
La Bufadora is a marine geyser or blowhole located on the Punta Banda Peninsula in Baja California, Mexico. The spout of sea water is the result of air, trapped in a sea cave, exploding upwards. Air is forced into the cave by wave action and is released when the water recedes. This interaction not only creates the spout, but a thunderous noise as well. The phenomena repeats every minute or so with its volume depending on the strength of the waves.
After l examined the Carnival options and doing some research I found that you could get a private tour for only $15. After leaving the ship we boarded the shuttle into town and while on board the guide gave us a coupon for $5 off. The office was right where we got off the shuttle. $15 each with an option to do horseback riding as well. The drive out to La Bufadora was nice and our guide was great at describing things as we traveled along. Once we were there we were allowed 2hrs. and the driver escorted us and explained things and shops as we went along. There are many shops and you need to bargain to buy something. We were told to offer 40% less than what they offer. There are food vender as well. One restaurant gave us a FREE drink. Be aware that the venders are very aggressive to get your business. The Blowhole is a sight to see as the water shoots up through the rocks with quite a spray. Be carful as you might get a little wet. After our 2 hours we were taken back to the ship. We felt no need to go downtown as there were plenty venders at La Bufadora. It was worth every penny of the $15

Read trbarton's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image tuscansun17
1 review
Nov 2014

We had never been to Ensenada and didn't know what we would do when we got off the ship. We jumped on a shuttle to cruise into town and the shuttle operator offered us a trip to La Bufadora for a discounted price--we jumped on it! When we were dropped off in town, we paid for our excursion and boarded another bus. Our tour guide was amazing! He gave us little tidbits of history of the area and made the 30 minute drive pass by quickly! The drive had beautiful ocean views once we got out of town. Once we were parked at the market place, he walked us down and pointed out merchants we may be interested in checking out (I am sure that he gets some sort of kick back for purchases made but tourists) and suggested we try the margaritas and the tacos at the little stand near the parking area where our bus was parked. His recommendations did not disappoint! We had a great time walking down and taking photos of the blow hole (even though the ocean was pretty calm so the blow hole wasn't really at it's best). Walking back we were harassed a bit by the merchants we walked by, but, that is expected and you just keep on walking.

Read tuscansun17's full Carnival Imagination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image skylarson
1 review
Oct 2014

Don't bother unless you want to purchase prescription drugs (they really are cheap), leather or silver.

Read skylarson's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image santi985
1 review
May 2014

Nice trip. Lots of shopping

Read santi985's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image brad4him
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Do the Misión Tourism one (or some name like that). They have smaller buses - they'll tell you about it when they shuttle you in. It's a fantastic drive, the shops are fun, the tour guide was fantastic, the blow hole was cool, and it was only $15. Book off the ship for sure! You save over 50% doing it this way! Get a fresh churro and a few fish tacos before you head back to the ship - so yummy.

Read brad4him's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Misión Tourism (Or something like that)
Member Image RovinBee
4 reviews
Nov 2013

Our family of 6 took a comfortable bus tour to La Bufadora. Our tour guide Melanie was excellent, informative and attentive which we all appreciated very much. The blowhole has a small lane of stalls selling a wide range of things, that is very accurate and we could've skipped all other shopping stops in order to get everything at La Bufadora and at better prices too.

Read RovinBee's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Bofeb14
1 review
Apr 2013
Booking the Blowhole excursion thru the ship $32.99. Booked in town $15.00. Same exact trip. Would do it the same way again.
Read Bofeb14's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image LBfun
1 review
Feb 2013
we did find the shopping good, but as far as the blow hole goes... just buy the post card.
Read LBfun's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jenniferkatie
2 reviews
Jan 2013
It was an ok tour...the blow hole was not blowing much and the vendors lining the walkway down to the site were really annoying and pestering...the tour guide was nice and helpful...but being the tour started at 3 it was dark by 5 and by then i was ready to go back to the ship but the tour had till 7 and we had to go to the convention center still which was ok, but i really was ready to be done by then...and to go home!
Read jenniferkatie's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image EboMike
1 review
Dec 2012
The biggest advice for Ensenada is not to take the Bufadora or horseback excursions offered by the cruise line. You can book the same ones on-site for much cheaper - get a shuttle to downtown ($3 for a return ticket for adults), and they'll drop you off at a ticket counter where you can get the excursion for half of what Carnival wants (plus - they're much more lenient about not paying for kids). We paid $15 for a trip to the blowhole for each person 5 and up - Carnival wants $28 (for kids 4 and up). Also important - be sure to bring cash to Mexico. We chose the blowhole because it seemed like the least crappy activity offered - keep in mind that Ensenada is not a particularly exciting location, its prime interest for cruise lines is its proximity to the ports in Southern California, so I lowered my expectations to a minimum. With that, it was surprisingly good - we hit the blowhole at a very good tide, so the water shot up in the air very high; it was off-season, so it was not packed, and the peddlers were most certainly not aggressive, even though virtually every review claimed that. I guess people are a bit sheltered. To get to the blowhole, you have to walk through a large flea market, and every thirty seconds, someone will try to sell you something, like pharmaceuticals and knock-off watches and handbags (one of them offered to "rip you off for less!"). But they're not in your face, and if you say "no thanks" once, they'll get you go.
Read EboMike's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image azladyhawk
1 review
Sep 2012
Very scenic and intersting. The guide was very informed and spoke very good English, there was no language problems. We enjoyed the cooler weather near the spray, you want to stay away from the vendors or be a good bargainer!
Read azladyhawk's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image hounddogz
2 reviews
May 2012
second time doing this tour. Intersting drive and narration. The blow hole is cool and the market is awesome! Keep an open mind!
Read hounddogz's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.