Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ensenada Blowhole Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Ensenada Blowhole Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy a day trip in Ensenada to see this natural blowhole by the sea, which shoots water into the air, similar to a geyser.
Member Image tuscansun17
1 review
Nov 2014

We had never been to Ensenada and didn't know what we would do when we got off the ship. We jumped on a shuttle to cruise into town and the shuttle operator offered us a trip to La Bufadora for a discounted price--we jumped on it! When we were dropped off in town, we paid for our excursion and boarded another bus. Our tour guide was amazing! He gave us little tidbits of history of the area and made the 30 minute drive pass by quickly! The drive had beautiful ocean views once we got out of town. Once we were parked at the market place, he walked us down and pointed out merchants we may be interested in checking out (I am sure that he gets some sort of kick back for purchases made but tourists) and suggested we try the margaritas and the tacos at the little stand near the parking area where our bus was parked. His recommendations did not disappoint! We had a great time walking down and taking photos of the blow hole (even though the ocean was pretty calm so the blow hole wasn't really at it's best). Walking back we were harassed a bit by the merchants we walked by, but, that is expected and you just keep on walking.

Read tuscansun17's full Carnival Imagination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image skylarson
1 review
Oct 2014

Don't bother unless you want to purchase prescription drugs (they really are cheap), leather or silver.

Read skylarson's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image santi985
1 review
May 2014

Nice trip. Lots of shopping

Read santi985's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image brad4him
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Do the Misión Tourism one (or some name like that). They have smaller buses - they'll tell you about it when they shuttle you in. It's a fantastic drive, the shops are fun, the tour guide was fantastic, the blow hole was cool, and it was only $15. Book off the ship for sure! You save over 50% doing it this way! Get a fresh churro and a few fish tacos before you head back to the ship - so yummy.

Read brad4him's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Misión Tourism (Or something like that)
Member Image RovinBee
4 reviews
Nov 2013

Our family of 6 took a comfortable bus tour to La Bufadora. Our tour guide Melanie was excellent, informative and attentive which we all appreciated very much. The blowhole has a small lane of stalls selling a wide range of things, that is very accurate and we could've skipped all other shopping stops in order to get everything at La Bufadora and at better prices too.

Read RovinBee's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Bofeb14
1 review
Apr 2013
Booking the Blowhole excursion thru the ship $32.99. Booked in town $15.00. Same exact trip. Would do it the same way again.
Read Bofeb14's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image LBfun
1 review
Feb 2013
we did find the shopping good, but as far as the blow hole goes... just buy the post card.
Read LBfun's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jenniferkatie
2 reviews
Jan 2013
It was an ok tour...the blow hole was not blowing much and the vendors lining the walkway down to the site were really annoying and pestering...the tour guide was nice and helpful...but being the tour started at 3 it was dark by 5 and by then i was ready to go back to the ship but the tour had till 7 and we had to go to the convention center still which was ok, but i really was ready to be done by then...and to go home!
Read jenniferkatie's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image EboMike
1 review
Dec 2012
The biggest advice for Ensenada is not to take the Bufadora or horseback excursions offered by the cruise line. You can book the same ones on-site for much cheaper - get a shuttle to downtown ($3 for a return ticket for adults), and they'll drop you off at a ticket counter where you can get the excursion for half of what Carnival wants (plus - they're much more lenient about not paying for kids). We paid $15 for a trip to the blowhole for each person 5 and up - Carnival wants $28 (for kids 4 and up). Also important - be sure to bring cash to Mexico. We chose the blowhole because it seemed like the least crappy activity offered - keep in mind that Ensenada is not a particularly exciting location, its prime interest for cruise lines is its proximity to the ports in Southern California, so I lowered my expectations to a minimum. With that, it was surprisingly good - we hit the blowhole at a very good tide, so the water shot up in the air very high; it was off-season, so it was not packed, and the peddlers were most certainly not aggressive, even though virtually every review claimed that. I guess people are a bit sheltered. To get to the blowhole, you have to walk through a large flea market, and every thirty seconds, someone will try to sell you something, like pharmaceuticals and knock-off watches and handbags (one of them offered to "rip you off for less!"). But they're not in your face, and if you say "no thanks" once, they'll get you go.
Read EboMike's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image azladyhawk
1 review
Sep 2012
Very scenic and intersting. The guide was very informed and spoke very good English, there was no language problems. We enjoyed the cooler weather near the spray, you want to stay away from the vendors or be a good bargainer!
Read azladyhawk's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image hounddogz
2 reviews
May 2012
second time doing this tour. Intersting drive and narration. The blow hole is cool and the market is awesome! Keep an open mind!
Read hounddogz's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.