Ensenada Blowhole Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Ensenada Blowhole Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy a day trip in Ensenada to see this natural blowhole by the sea, which shoots water into the air, similar to a geyser.
Member Image rentlady
2 reviews
Oct 2016
This was interesting!
Read rentlady's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image speedo45
1 review
Oct 2016
There was a quick stop at the old resort and casino from the 1930's. Interesting short tour. The blow hole was amazing to see once you got there. You do have to walk thru a ton of vendors all cat calling for your business. If you do choose to purchase something bargain, bargain, bargain. We choose to ignore them all. I do recommend trying the fresh churros for $3.
Read speedo45's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image agambrell1
1 review
Oct 2016
We learned a lot on this excursion, from farming around the area, and how to shop and test their jewelry goods and leather. The local cuisine was excellent.
Read agambrell1's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Bonneysaints
1 review
Oct 2016
Good tour
Read Bonneysaints's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image funat55
3 reviews
Oct 2016
Very good and priced right at only $15.00 per person.
Read funat55's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image BEFdoc
3 reviews
Oct 2016
In Ensenada we were on our own and using the shuttle tour company Del Mar tours we booked a Bufadora excursion. We had visited this many years ago and it has gone through many improvements through the years. The road to the attraction has been repaved and there are now clean bathrooms in several locations. The best fish and shrimp tacos can also be found located behind the shuttle bus and taxi parking lot. The Bufadora did not disappoint and we got a good shower while filming the attraction. Before going to this attraction I would recommend checking the tide charts to see what time high tide is to get the best experience. My only complaint for this tour was the wasted time spent "introducing" us to the various vendors that are "guaranteed" to give us a "good price". I understand that the tour company gets reimbursement from both tourists and vendors. I would recommend to those taking this tour to go ahead of the tour guide so that you can spend more time on your own
Read BEFdoc's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Del Mar
Member Image JDM2
2 reviews
Sep 2016
The bus ride to and from the blowhole was great. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly.
Read JDM2's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Habana Banana
Member Image SByrd1118
1 review
May 2016
Tonya was fun! The Blowhole was amazing and the people were super friendly!!
Read SByrd1118's full Carnival Imagination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Heidi727
1 review
May 2016
Blowhole is a must see!
Read Heidi727's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image barbierahrah
1 review
May 2016
Not really much to see. Good narration, but not much at the final stop, a museum of some sort.
Read barbierahrah's full Carnival Imagination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image hondo1717
1 review
Apr 2016
Good excursion, view of blowhole was fantastic. Shopping was also fun.
Read hondo1717's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jpm45t
1 review
Mar 2016
Bus trip. The blow hole was very interesting. On the way to the blow hole we walk a gauntlet of many small crafts booths, souvenir shops and food places. Streets were muddy and the temperature was cool (60 degrees) and rainy. Ate some authentic tacos and enjoyed the day. Also toured the city and the old casino/resort. It was nicely preserved and interesting to tour. The people we met were very friendly and hospitable.
Read jpm45t's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image GordonC
1 review
Oct 2015
Time a Blowhole could have been longer, seemed kind of rush.
Read GordonC's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image FCABARLE
1 review
Oct 2015
Stand too close and you'll get wet.
Read FCABARLE's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ralphie
1 review
Jul 2015
Really not enough time to walk around and have lunch. Take some snacks if you think that you might get hungry. The stop at the town community center was a waste of time unless you really care about the history of Ensenada.
Read ralphie's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Pamtom
1 review
Apr 2015
It's a hit and miss with the La Bouffadora blow hole. Saw 1 good blow, the rest were mediocre. The bus we rode in was a little dirty and the bathroom on board was the WORST I've ever been in.
Read Pamtom's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image crinteastwood
1 review
Apr 2015
We were just going to go shopping and walking and were steered to a shuttle to the downtown area for $3. return. On the bus they told us about a trip to La Bufadora for only $15 each ($38 each on the ship). 45 minute bus ride with a graet host and a million dollar view at the blowhole with all the Mexican trinkets and t-shirts that you could handle. Very glad we got on board with this tour - worth every penny and more.
Read crinteastwood's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lnctwm
1 review
Apr 2015
Taxi broke down, only got to stay for 10 minutes. The blowhole is ok, the flea market prices are higher than in the city itself. Someone tried to sell me a mocajete for $40.00 there, and in the city it was $16.00.
Read lnctwm's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Taxi
Member Image rasthravas
1 review
Apr 2015
Great tour guide who made the trip very enjoyable. It was a long tour and yet the price was very reasonable. The vendors are the blowhole had lots of great samples. We had fun. It wasnt mind blowing or anything but enjoyable for what it was.
Read rasthravas's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bestnana2007
4 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2015

Once we got off the shuttle at the ship and dropped off in town, there was an independent shuttle that took us to the Blow Hole (La Bufadora). It was so great to see the water.The tour lasted about 3 hours (to and from), The shuttle took us back to ship. We did walk through the flea market and I bought some tanzanite earrings . The whole excursion cost us $15 a piece.

Read bestnana2007's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image trbarton
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2015

Since I've been there many times I decided to take a private tour out to La Bufadora.
La Bufadora is a marine geyser or blowhole located on the Punta Banda Peninsula in Baja California, Mexico. The spout of sea water is the result of air, trapped in a sea cave, exploding upwards. Air is forced into the cave by wave action and is released when the water recedes. This interaction not only creates the spout, but a thunderous noise as well. The phenomena repeats every minute or so with its volume depending on the strength of the waves.
After l examined the Carnival options and doing some research I found that you could get a private tour for only $15. After leaving the ship we boarded the shuttle into town and while on board the guide gave us a coupon for $5 off. The office was right where we got off the shuttle. $15 each with an option to do horseback riding as well. The drive out to La Bufadora was nice and our guide was great at describing things as we traveled along. Once we were there we were allowed 2hrs. and the driver escorted us and explained things and shops as we went along. There are many shops and you need to bargain to buy something. We were told to offer 40% less than what they offer. There are food vender as well. One restaurant gave us a FREE drink. Be aware that the venders are very aggressive to get your business. The Blowhole is a sight to see as the water shoots up through the rocks with quite a spray. Be carful as you might get a little wet. After our 2 hours we were taken back to the ship. We felt no need to go downtown as there were plenty venders at La Bufadora. It was worth every penny of the $15

Read trbarton's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image tuscansun17
1 review
Nov 2014

We had never been to Ensenada and didn't know what we would do when we got off the ship. We jumped on a shuttle to cruise into town and the shuttle operator offered us a trip to La Bufadora for a discounted price--we jumped on it! When we were dropped off in town, we paid for our excursion and boarded another bus. Our tour guide was amazing! He gave us little tidbits of history of the area and made the 30 minute drive pass by quickly! The drive had beautiful ocean views once we got out of town. Once we were parked at the market place, he walked us down and pointed out merchants we may be interested in checking out (I am sure that he gets some sort of kick back for purchases made but tourists) and suggested we try the margaritas and the tacos at the little stand near the parking area where our bus was parked. His recommendations did not disappoint! We had a great time walking down and taking photos of the blow hole (even though the ocean was pretty calm so the blow hole wasn't really at it's best). Walking back we were harassed a bit by the merchants we walked by, but, that is expected and you just keep on walking.

Read tuscansun17's full Carnival Imagination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image skylarson
1 review
Oct 2014

Don't bother unless you want to purchase prescription drugs (they really are cheap), leather or silver.

Read skylarson's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image santi985
1 review
May 2014

Nice trip. Lots of shopping

Read santi985's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image brad4him
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Do the Misión Tourism one (or some name like that). They have smaller buses - they'll tell you about it when they shuttle you in. It's a fantastic drive, the shops are fun, the tour guide was fantastic, the blow hole was cool, and it was only $15. Book off the ship for sure! You save over 50% doing it this way! Get a fresh churro and a few fish tacos before you head back to the ship - so yummy.

Read brad4him's full Carnival Inspiration cruise review
Provider: Misión Tourism (Or something like that)

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?