Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Grand Cayman Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience Grand Cayman's underwater world while snorkeling in what is known as one of the world's leading destinations for snorkeling.
Member Image serenebcruiser
1 review
Nov 2014

We took an excursion to Stingray City followed by some snorkeling. I absolutely loved the natural sand bar where Stingray City is and I would have been more than happy to stay there the whole day. Finally, we got to see crystal clear, blue caribbean water which we hadn't seen at any of the other 3 islands. Interacting with the wild but docile stingrays was amazing and most memorable but I immensely enjoyed just swimming in the water. Totally loved it! We then got back on the boat and were taken to another place for snorkeling where the water was less clear and much more rough. We saw hundreds of fish and while that was nice, I really wish we could have just stayed at Stingray City. If you go to Grand Cayman, you must go to Stingray City.

Read serenebcruiser's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image turbofixr
1 review
Nov 2014

Over priced....Could have done the same thing for 40% less if we had booked ourselves

Read turbofixr's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Shibbernackles
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Got off the ship and instantly book a sting ray city/snorkeling tour and saved 30-50 pp vs ships pricing. Fantastic time.

Read Shibbernackles's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cayman Ocean Adventures
Member Image JackAndPatti
1 review
Oct 2014

This was booked independently with a family owned company. it was, by far, the best excursion yet. We went to Stingray City and two snorkel stops. Beautiful reef and then to coral city. Nice time, nice people. we didn't have to follow someone around with them constantly calling to the stragglers. This was time to spend in the water with beautiful fish.

Read JackAndPatti's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvin
Member Image jaburke
1 review
Sep 2014

We snorkeled around after going to stingray city. It was great seeing all the fish and the coral.

Read jaburke's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Discount Tours
Member Image tm32561
3 reviews
Sep 2014

We were supposed to do a 2 reef snorkel but we only did one. I never heard an explanation as to why. The water was rough and many people could not snorkel. I stayed in the water and enjoyed all kinds of fish and stingrays and beautiful corals and sponges.

Read tm32561's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jon_davidson@yahoo.com
5 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

Cemetery Beach has a fairly nice reef just off shore and a much nicer one about 100 yards out.

Read jon_davidson@yahoo.com's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Inishmore
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

GEORGETOWN, GRAND CAYMAN: We did a 2 snorkel stop and Stingray City stop booked through Captain Marvin's. It was the highlight of the cruise. Excellent snorkeling at 2 separate coral reefs. Stingray City was absolutely amazing. I could have spent hours in both locations and would book with Captain Marvin's again.

Read Inishmore's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image shucks59
1 review
Aug 2014

We did a non-Carnival excursion - Stingray Swim and Snorkeling. They cram you in a bus to get you to the marina. The Stingray part was pretty amazing and the staff on the boat were very knowledgeable. The Snorkeling part while we saw lots of amazing fish, the snorkeling equipment was makeshift, not enough flippers, no snorkeling life jackets, only regular life jackets used as makeshift snorkeling ones, masks were ok. We got back to the port close to "last tender" time and it was a huge long line to get onto a tender. Then for some reason disembarking the tender once we reached the ship took FOREVER!!!! At least 20 minutes.

Read shucks59's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Cayman Adventures?
Member Image shepdt
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

We were first time kayakers, much harder then we thought! But was a great experience. You kayak a good distance! Snorkeling was awesome, lots of fish, the fish would swim into you!

Read shepdt's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image SJK120
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Amazing! Beautiful fish and coral! A must do!

Read SJK120's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Fat Fish
Member Image bouncerbal
1 review
Jun 2014

Beautiful waters and skilled crew made for tons of fun!!! Next time I will take my own snorkel rather than use theirs which appeared to just be dipped in a bucket of water after the last person used it.

Read bouncerbal's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dandebnick2
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Don's Snorkeling for Caymen shore snorkeling was great. Dean, Don and I'm sorry not to remember the young ladies name, who was wonderful also. Beautiful trip.

Read dandebnick2's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image sperez424
1 review
May 2014

Very nice experience

Read sperez424's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image ruthsear
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Our group decided to book the shore snorkel experience. Half of our group had never snorkeled before and we thought this would be a good fit for all of us. The excursion was well organized where we were met at the port and escorted to a bus for the 5 minute ride to the dive spot. When we got to Don Foster's dive site we were greeted by 3 very professional instructors who informed us of what we needed to know and then suited us up. This excursion was entitled shore snorkel, but you could not walk into the water. We were instructed to get in the water by using the ladder and then put on our gear. We were in the water about an hour and a half and we saw a variety of fish and coral. The water was crystal clear! Everyone in our group thoroughly enjoyed this excursion and would do it again on future trips to Grand Cayman.

Read ruthsear's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image time2travl
5 reviews
Apr 2014

great to swim with the stingrays. If you haven't it should be on your bucket list. Also great snorkeling and if you're lucky the captain may let you keep a conk shell. Great family fun.

Read time2travl's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mojomorris
13 reviews
Apr 2014

Tiki Beach & snorkel excursion. The snorkel boat crew was good with instructions for the new snorkelers and got into the water with us BUT the waves were a tad high and I came back on board after about 10 minutes - swallowing salt water was not fun. The second half of the excursion was relaxing on Tiki Beach in the shade with a lounger and free drink. It would have been perfect if the sea was calmer during the snorkel part.

Read mojomorris's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Caroline8
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

Moby dick tours are great!

Read Caroline8's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Moby Dick
Member Image Cruise Coot
1 review
Mar 2014

Nice snorkel stops. We were in 8 - 10 feet of water. They did not require reef safe suntan lotion but should.

Read Cruise Coot's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Grand Cayman Cruise Excursions
Member Image CruzinDNA
2 reviews
Mar 2014

80 people booked the "shipwreck snorkeling" excursion. Thankfully the group was split between two boats, making the swimming experience more bearable. The two guys who facilitated the event were knowledgeable, but they took us to 2 snorkeling spots we could have swum to from shore! That's not their fault, but why would Princess book an excursion that was basically a sham? If they had advertised this experience for beginners only, we would have known we had to book an excursion with a local provider who would have taken us to "boat accessible only" locations. If we wanted a swim from shore experience, we wouldn't have had to book an excursion. Regarding the port itself, I was surprised by how run down it looked. It is very commercialized, from a Western American perspective. Prices were ridiculously high compared to it's other Caribbean counterparts. Much more for the tourist rather than the traveler.

Read CruzinDNA's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image flutist13
1 review
Feb 2014

Snorkeling was fun. The water was pretty clear, but the area we snorkeled didn't seem to have very many fish. There were several other boats with snorkels near, not sure if that made a difference.

Read flutist13's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image adkchair
1 review
Jan 2014

A short bus ride from the tender docks brought us to Tiki Beach where we were issued snorkel equipment, life jackets and fins. We were able to lock our possessions in a lockbox on the beach. We kayaked 3/4 of a mile along 7 mile beach to Governor's reef where we pulled our kayaks ashore and swam out to the reef to swim with the fish. I didn't see many colorful fish although other members of my party did. After about a half-hour of snorkeling, we swam back to the beach and kayaked back to Tiki Beach where we were served complimentary rum punch (very good!) and spent about an hour lounging on the beach, chairs provided. We were returned to the tender docks by bus with about 45 minutes left for shopping in George Town.
I enjoyed the excursion. I had to stop and rest my arms occasionally while kayaking in the ocean, but I don't think this excursion requires a tremendous amount of athleticism. An elderly man in our group, who had a young girl as a kayak partner, was unable to complete the kayaking portion. The tour company delivered them to the snorkeling spot via jet ski.

Read adkchair's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image manipogo
1 review
Jan 2014

We did a snorkeling tour that included a trip to the USS Kittewake, a purposely sunken US Navy rescue ship, followed by a short trip to Cheeseburger Reef near to the cruise port.

The boat was a large catamaran with plenty of room for the the 30 participants to move around comfortably. The equipment was in good shape. They played an audio history of the wreck along the way so you knew all about the ship by the time we got there. We had a lot of time at the wreck. The ship sits in about 60 ft of water and is about 15 feet form the surface at it's highest point. Although you wouldn't know it since the water is so clear. We could see groups of stingrays cruising by on the bottom and plenty of schools of fish swimming around. If you are an experienced snorkeller you can easily dive down to touch the boat or look in some windows. For beginners it is a unique experience to see a real-life intact "wreck". Cheeseburger reef is also a good snorkel in a shallow reef with plenty of fish and coral to look at. The reef is close the the port and the moored cruise ships which makes for an interesting scene above the surface as well.

Read manipogo's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Shoresan
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2014

We had a fun excursion in Grand Cayman. We rode a bus to the dock area, where we then took a 40 minute boat ride to the Barrier Reef. We saw many tropical fish, and even a stingray! Our guide Matthew made sure we all knew what we were doing, and kept an eye on everyone throughout. Definitely a highlight of the cruise.

Read Shoresan's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Mister34990
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2014

This was an amazing experience. Our guides were the best. They did an absolutely, amazing job and they are good at what they do. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for an excursion on their cruise or anyone heading to that Island. I would definitely do it again.

Read Mister34990's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Stingray City by Jetski and Snorkel
Member Image dispachcops
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

For only $75 bucks per person we did Hell, Turtle farm, Rum Cake Factory, Stingray City, and snorkeling. The Stingrays were awesome and so was the turtles. Hell and Rum Cake Factory could be missed if needed...

Read dispachcops's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Cayman Adventure Tours
Member Image webrose98
1 review
Dec 2013

Grand Cayman we did the kayak and snorkeling. You are bused to Kiki beach and we kayak'd down the beach which once arriving I made decision to sit on the beach instead of swimming out to snorkel because you are swimming about 1/4 mile and you must be able to tread water and snorkel for about 45 min. I snorkeled close to the shore. My kids did snorkel and saw some interesting coral and fish. After kayaking we went to tiki beach and got our free rum punch then sat down for lunch b/c after kayaking and snorkeling the kids were hungry. Please note the prices are in grand cayman money and the US dollar is less so your bill will be higher than what you think.
Back to the main area we were able to shop some and then walk to the tender boat back to the ship.

Read webrose98's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruisette4711
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

This was by far the best tour we did during our cruise. Kat, Chip and Kevin from Cayman Eco Adventures were really easy to communicate with, reliable and made sure we get to the stingrays as quickly as possible, which meant way ahead of everyone else. Snorkeling was wonderful as well and the trip to starfish beach definitely worth it. Water and sodas were included in the price as well as transportation from the port to the yacht club and back to the port or seven mile beach if you wish.

Read cruisette4711's full Costa Luminosa cruise review
Provider: Cayman Eco Adventures
Member Image kbfamilycruiser
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Fantastic visit to Stingray City. Excellent snorkeling. Relatively small boat with smaller group of people made the experience very pleasant.

Read kbfamilycruiser's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cayman Eco Tours
Member Image life_dizzy
1 review
Dec 2013

We enjoyed the snorkeling a lot. It was absolutely beautiful in the Caymans and we want to live there now =)

Read life_dizzy's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image dkojic
2 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2013

Our guides Reed and Matt were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and very professional. Reed pointed out fish and coral and was a lot of fun. Our tender was on time and professional.

Read dkojic's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image aiptasia
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

Grand Cayman is a British protectorate and their national bird appears to be the construction crane. It is very modern here and everyone speaks English. Based on the British pound, the shops are more expensive here and the island itself is very affluent. We booked the shoreline snorkel dive at a very reasonable price, which was a 2.5 hour snorkel dive about a quarter mile from the cruise ships along the rocky coastline. Our driver had us at the dive spot within two minutes and we had a very calm, chill scuba instructor named Ty from B.C., Canada. The dive equipment was top notch and I was allowed to free dive with the instructor instead of use a snorkel. This suited me just fine.
The reef dive here was the 3rd best in Grand Cayman. A thriving, healthy coral reef just off the coast about 20 yards out. We saw several species of plate & brain corals, acropora, staghorn, fire coral, all colors of calcarious algaes and at least 40 species of fish. We saw tarpon, a very small black tipped shark, green parrotfish, blue parrotfish, red parrotfish, boxfish, puffers, sargent majors, damselfish by the dozens, eels, sea urchins, sea eggs, sea cows and all kinds starfish. Our guide, Ty, would dive and point out unique species of animals and bring up a few for us to handle underwater (urchins, brittle stars, etc.). This was a very relaxing dive and we got quite a variety of amazing photos while we played Jaques Cousteau for an afternoon. This was one of the best dive spots i've ever been to and as it turns out, our cheapest excursion booked through Carnival ($39 each). I hope Carnival keeps this excursion as the Dan Foster dive shop intimated that once their contract ends, Carnival doesn't plan to renew. You might have to book through Royal Caribbean or another Cruise line (or just on your own) and experience this dive for yourself.

Read aiptasia's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image PDC55
1 review
Oct 2013

I had been on this excursion before with same company but we went to Coral Gardens this time. Lots of fish and they gave us squid to feed the fish so we had tons of them coming up. Water was a bit rough and boat crew took extra time to help the older customers enjoy snorkeling.

Read PDC55's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvin's
Member Image ilvinorosso
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

We did the snorkeling Coral Garden and Stingray snorkeling tour. It as fantastic. I understand that Carnival is cancelling this tour. I don't know why, the crew and the boat and the equipment and the experience were all exceptional.

Read ilvinorosso's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image tricat3
1 review
Sep 2013

At Grand Cayman Island, we snorkeled around the USS Kittiwake and another reef with the same tour guide as part of our excursion. Although we loved our excursion, we wished it had left earlier so that we could have gone to one of the beaches afterward. We couldn't plan much else around the island because of that.

Read tricat3's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image marymarie
5 reviews
Sep 2013

No sandy shoreline. Rocks - coral/lava. Have to jump into 8 feet of water and swim out to 50 feet to see the fish. It is billed as Cayman Shore Snorkel. We think that implies walking in from a zero depth at the shoreline to a depth you are comfortable with. Transport was late at both beginning and end of the tour and they packed us in like sardines. Couple of the jump seats were broken. We'd like a refund and 3 of the 4 did not even get into the water when they could not go in from the shore -- they were not comfortable jumping off the edge of the rocks. Bummer!

Read marymarie's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image craftynovice
1 review
Jul 2013

beautiful, professional and well informed. the guide took time to have a personal conversation with every guest on the boat. he took time to find a map and show us how to get to a specialty shop we asked about. the reef was a god 'first time' reef, and had lots of fish.

Read craftynovice's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image cindy1957
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Wonderful island and excursion! Beautiful reef for snorkeling.
Read cindy1957's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Stingray Sailing
Member Image corrigc
1 review
Mar 2013
Excellent daY. best day of the whole cruise
Read corrigc's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image StacieJG
1 review
Mar 2013
What a great experience! The tour guides were great - very informative and super funny. The snorkeling was one of the most enjoyable things I've ever done!
Read StacieJG's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image StacieJG
1 review
Mar 2013
What a great experience! The tour guides were great - very informative and super funny. The snorkeling was one of the most enjoyable things I've ever done!
Read StacieJG's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rrodriquez2
1 review
Mar 2013
Outstanding experience with Captain Marvin - would highly recommend.
Read rrodriquez2's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvins
Member Image Nikki Lisette
3 reviews
Mar 2013
Lovely. Jay, the proprietor was warm and welcoming, very knowledgeable about the islands and it's flora and fauna. The snorkeling was a blast - Jay made sure that everyone had a good time and there was plenty of sea life to look at. Gorgeous. My favorite excursion of all.
Read Nikki Lisette's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image NewEngland900
1 review
Mar 2013
Captain Marvin is the only way to go! Our huge ship was the only one not stuff full of people. It can easily hold close to 100 people and there was all of 25 of us with other boats going out so it was not a 'sign up' issue, they cater to keeping their customers comfortable and happy. Took lots of pics with the sting ray and the snorkeling portion was in a good area full of colorful fish (not just brain coral as some boats did). Excellent excursion!
Read NewEngland900's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image candyman53
1 review
Mar 2013
This excursion cost the same as the Cruise Lines one. They just went Stingray on a junkie boat and back 2 1/2 hours. Captain Marvins-We went faster, nicer boat. More Stingray interaction, plus another snorkeling stop, and trip to Tortuga Rum Factory and Hell for only 8 bucks more.5 hours
Read candyman53's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvins
Member Image grevlup
1 review
Mar 2013
$30 for a glass bottom boat/snorkeling trip just a short walk from the pier. Found it online and booked it online. Were met right at the appointed time at the appointed place and everyone truly enjoyed this excursion. Got to feed the fish while in the water. Guide a very good swimmer, very kind with those who had not snorkeled before. Pretty lucky in that we saw a conch which he went down and brought up for us to view. Also saw a turtle, some tarpon, and a lot of fish.
Read grevlup's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: Glass Bottom Boats
Member Image Daintyphatman
1 review
Mar 2013
Great guys. Great times. Will be back for a second excursion.
Read Daintyphatman's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: MOBY DICK
Member Image okgladmom
4 reviews
Mar 2013
We booked "Cheeseburger Reef Kayak and Power Snorkel" and I'm giving it a generous 3 because the owners of the equipment and guides were so nice. The power snorkel equipment barely worked and was more trouble than it was worth. We did a similar excursion last year in Grand Turk and the equipment was much nicer and we could zip around really fast if we wanted. Most people ended up putting the power snorkel back on the kayak and snorkeled without it. The cost was only $65 per person, so I guess you get what you pay for.
Read okgladmom's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CRUZN CHICK
1 review
Feb 2013
Booked Barrier Reef Snorkeling Tour on Carnival which I felt was very misleading. I was with a couple who also dive and we all felt this reef was not as it was advertised. We expected a lot more. We did see some pretty fish and a little coral, but I had expected something similar to what I had seen in Cozumel - more different kinds of fish. The water was beautiful though and crystal clear. I would not recommend this tour unless you have never snorkeled - probably a good beginner snorkeling tour. We did some shopping (which is abundant) and went to Island Glass Blowing Company. They have some beautiful pieces that are priced very reasonably. Looked in several stores, but mostly there were jewelry stores which we weren't interested in. Not sure I'd want to go back here again, but glad I went once.
Read CRUZN CHICK's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image pointoit
1 review
Feb 2013
Great! Took about 3 1/2 hours to get all the gang together to getting off the snorkeling boat. Water was 64F but warmed up quickly. There were cheap snacks and free water on the boat with all equipment needed for snorkeling. Native English speaking workers who gave great advice, and were very helpful. Don't drink the sea water as yummy, clear blue, and candy-like it looks! It's only the 5th saltiest water in the world... no this did not happen to me. Advice in Gran Cayman... DON'T GO TO ANY COFFEE SHOPS HERE. ASK for the price of things. $10 for two small drip coffees=terrible.
Read pointoit's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image 2dogs4cats
1 review
Feb 2013
The reef snorkeling was in the same location as Stingray City. We thoroughly enjoyed both, but had less than 2 hours, not counting the boat ride to and from. Fantastic snorkeling, though. It would be amazing to visit Stingray City on a day when no other tour boats are there. 6-7 other boatloads of tourists got to be a bit much.
Read 2dogs4cats's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image northernislandgirl
1 review
Feb 2013
Grand Cayman is approached by tender, but the ship is close to shore, so it doesn't take long to go ashore. Was a great experience. We booked the excursion as soon as we were on shore. We gathered in the dock area . Operator told us the time he was leaving, and left precisely at that time. He drove us to the dock area were we went by boat to the Stingrays, to the reef and then snorkeling. This was a wonderful day.
Read northernislandgirl's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Yankeecruiser69
1 review
Feb 2013
The excursion at at Grand Cayman was the wreck and reef snorkeling and it was the best snorkeling ever. Saw a lot of fish.
Read Yankeecruiser69's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ready.set.sail
1 review
Feb 2013
Loved GC as well. We booked a tour for snorkeling and swimming with the Stingrays independently through Moby Dick Tours. Price was right and we had a great time. Snorkeled at the reef (saw a nice long eel- way cool) and great fish and then went to the sandbar to feed and hold the Stingrays. Make sure you hold the octopus food correctly because they have a super strong suction. Very cool as well.
Read ready.set.sail's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Moby Dick Tours
Member Image Mahtomedi
2 reviews
Feb 2013
We had an early excursion at 8:30 so got plenty of time to snorkel. It was the best snorkeling I had done. I have done snorkeling in Cancun, Grand Turks and Acapulco. Water was clear and fish were plentiful. Trip was not so crowded so you would not bump into other snorkelers. I loved it.
Read Mahtomedi's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Capt Marvins
Member Image irieman21
1 review
Feb 2013
Stingray swim was well worth it. It was more crowded than expected at the sandbar but we got our stingray time in fast and then hung out towards the back swimming and enjoying crystal clear waters. Snorkeling was more of a mixed bag as my wife took off and explored the reef. She gave it a 5+ while my 17 year old daughter had equipment issues and lacked experience. With some choppy water she would give it a 3.
Read irieman21's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image merib1
1 review
Feb 2013
Bit of a mix up when we got off the boat, but the excursion itself was primo. Tendering is for the birds.
Read merib1's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Airbubble
1 review
Jan 2013
First snorkelling stop wasn't so good and the guides said that, second stop was better more to see with coral and fish and sea current not as strong better for kids.
Read Airbubble's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Captain marvins
Member Image doomisdelicious
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2013
The snorkeling is FANTASTIC!
Read doomisdelicious's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvin's Watersports
Member Image laxwest
1 review
Jan 2013
It was our first time snorkeling. The guides were nice but took too long and didn't have enough time to explore. It was worth the money since it was very cheap but I say you can do this excursion yourself at the 7 Mile Beach.
Read laxwest's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Tepcro
1 review
Jan 2013
Kari Soto picked us up at the port and after they bused us to their launch location which was at a house in a very upscale neighborhood we had a GREAT time! The price was half of what the cruise line charged. Their boat was perfect as it had a big back deck and ladders that folded down to help you out of the water. There was pleanty of stingrays and the snorkeling was great too!
Read Tepcro's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image micmacmissy
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Transportation (bus, boat) rather run down. Equipment old and didn't have proper fitting gear for younger kids.
Read micmacmissy's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Nativeway
Member Image yvoyage
1 review
Dec 2012
Same excursion with Stingray swim. Clear water, many fishes and clear coral.
Read yvoyage's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image RovinBee
4 reviews
Dec 2012
Our excursion was excellent! We met our driver who was On-Time only a short distance from the port and he took us directly to meet our jet ski guide who quickly got us and another couple onto the ocean for a thrilling ride out to a stingray sandbar. Once anchored in the chest deep, crystal clear water, we put on provided snorkel gear and were given near 40 minutes to play with the rays. From there we rode to a different spot in order to spend near another hour snorkeling. There were no crowds, just beautiful water, colorful fish, coral and stingrays that were playful and friendly beyond belief. Our driver even made local food suggestions on the return trip and dropped us off there so we could experience as much during our short stay as possible.
Read RovinBee's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: ShoreExcursioneer.com
Member Image CarnivalChick1116
1 review
Dec 2012
Once we were off the boat, we went right into the shopping area at the port and there were MANY different companies offering tours with snorkeling and stingray city. We chose the one that approached us first and they were certified and backed by the Port Authority of Grand Cayman. They wanted to charge $40/per person US but we decided we could find cheaper and began to walk away. That is when she stopped us and said she can do $30/per person. So we went with them and saved $40 overall :). We are so glad we did. After a 10 minute bus ride to the marina, we were handed over to our boat captain and his three shipmates. After a 20-30 minute ride we were brought to a coral reef area to snorkel. We stayed for 30 minutes and there was an abundance of fish and seafans and marine life. Bring an underwater camera - the fish are gorgeous and like nothing I have ever seen before.
Read CarnivalChick1116's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image kratescape
1 review
Dec 2012
We booked a tour through Moby Dick Tours. We had a great time. The guys are great, stingrays are awesome. The recommended Rackum's for lunch, that was great as well
Read kratescape's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LiseD
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2012
Booked a swim with the stingrays and rum point excursion with Nativeway. We had a great day but will say they ran very late and about 1/2 our group on a different ship didn't get back to port until the time their last tender was leaving. Otherwise a fun day!
Read LiseD's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ChristmasLegend12
1 review
Dec 2012
Used the Buccaneer and Captain Bryan. He was excellent. Would highly recommend him to anyone.
Read ChristmasLegend12's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image Trixie1965
1 review
Dec 2012
We booked a deep sea fishing trip that also took us to the the stingray bar. We then snorkeled right in the area right outside where the ships docked. After spending 650.00 for the deep sea fishing trip, my kids liked the snorkeling for $15 each right off the ship better!!!! The stingray city was awesome!
Read Trixie1965's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Misty5757
4 reviews
Dec 2012
Booked a speed boat thru Island Marketing to take us to Stingray City and Snorkeling. Unfortunately--we got off the boat 2 hours later than expected due to Carnival's disorganization regarding tenders on the ship. What it looked like to us is that Carnival was only using 1 tender at a time to unload passengers--on the way back--they opened up 2 entrances to upload people back onto the boat. So--when we got to our appointed meeting area 2 hours late--no one was there. The folks at the Blue Iguana store were not helpful, so we tried to find a local phone to call the tour operator. Only 1 out of 5 outdoor payphones was working and we had to use an international phone--which ended up costing me $31.00 in order to contact the tour operator who said he was at the appointed spot by that time. He had to rearrange for a taxi for the 11 of us in the group--and these arrangements took another 30 minutes. When we finally got to the boat and onto the water--it was heavenly. Stingray City was crowded and the stingrays were not hungry anymore (they basically ignored the squid we brought)--but they are still mangificent animals to see up close. We then were taken to a snorkeling area and spent about 30 minutes seeing the most incredible assortment of fish I have seen in the Caribbean. We then had the choice of what to do next (Starfish beach, mangrove tour or lunch)--we opted for lunch and MudSling cocktails--which was the perfect way to relax after a hectic morning. Loved this personal tour which was cost effective as compared to the cruise ship tours--the only downside was the ladder to get onto the boat from the water. It was a bit too flimsy for some of the overweight members of our group and several of the men got leg bruises after climbing back into the boat.
Read Misty5757's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image afcolcpa
1 review
Dec 2012
Great opportunity to see a living coral reef up close.
Read afcolcpa's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image cajundanzman
1 review
Dec 2012
Snorkeling was fun, but more tiring than expected. Did dive for Conch shells though, so have our souvenir.
Read cajundanzman's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image MarisT
1 review
Nov 2012
Fun, but the reefs are not spectacular.
Read MarisT's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image crz4ksu
1 review
Nov 2012
Grand Cayman was gorgeous - we did stingray city plus 2 snorkel stops with Captain Marvin's tours. Wish it had been a bit less crowded when we were with the Stingrays and at Coral Gardens (the second snorkel stop.)
Read crz4ksu's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Captian Marvins
Member Image JoAnn&Mike
4 reviews
Nov 2012
We did Captain Marvin's 2 stop tour...Stingray City and snorkeling. I highly recommend Captain Marvin for your tours. Very professional, friendly, and so helpful!! https://www.captainmarvins.com/ The snorkeling was the second stop of the 2 stop tour. The stingray city was first (review below). The area we were brought to for snorkeling was amazing....thousands of fish...so colorful...coral. Just beautiful!!!! Can't wait to get my pictures developed!! I noticed a couple of the staff were helping people snorkel. I'm not real sure that this was part of the tour...snorkeling lessons...but the were so willing to help anyone that wanted to learn. You definitely won't be disappointed if you make your tour reservations with Captain Marvin.
Read JoAnn&Mike's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvin
Member Image gigglypug
1 review
Nov 2012
Reefs located between ship and shore, so never went very far. Good visibility, laid back (and short) experience.
Read gigglypug's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image yokelridesagain
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Nice snorkeling, water about 8 feet I would guess? Again, waves off the reef were choppy and I would not be comfortable about putting an elementary aged child in this water unless he/she was a very strong swimmer.
Read yokelridesagain's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Moby Dick
Member Image Goalie32
1 review
Oct 2012
Had a GREAT time snorkeling over the USS Kittywake and the next dive site. Lots of interesting coral and fish and the trip was just long enough to be worth the money but not too long that we could not visit the town. By all means vist the town...very clean, NO aggresive store owners trying to get you to buy and a very beautiful place!
Read Goalie32's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SouthernOhioCrusier
1 review
Oct 2012
Ocho Rios, Jamaica - Did the Dunn's River Falls / Bamboo Beach excursion. The weather that day was not very good, it rained all day. Despite that the tour guides were great and did their best to show us a good time. We did get to see baby sea turtles by total luck at the beach so that alone made the excursion worth it. We did really hate the pressure that we got from all of the market vendors...they use very aggressive sales tactics and at times were very rude if you refusted to even look at their wares. They need to chill out because it could hurt them in the long run. Everyone I talked to on the ship liked Jamaica EXCEPT for that part, so just be wary. And if you have children make sure they understand that NOTHING is FREE there no matter what the vendors tell them.
Read SouthernOhioCrusier's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: sailcayman.com
Member Image marshhawk
6 reviews
Sep 2012
We saw a dive flag from the ship and walked to the location. It was Don Foster's Dive Cayman. I love free, and use of the fresh water pool, entry to the snorkeling area free, and if you wanted yo could rent equipment from the dive shop. What a wonderful place this was! Not too far, easy entry into the water.
Read marshhawk's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Don Foster
Member Image snorkelbum
3 reviews
Sep 2012
The Buccaneer catamaran tour of sting ray city and coral reef and coral gardens was as good as any of the many we've been on. Staff were great, boat was comfortable, instruction and knowledge of staff were thorough. The crew were most helpful to all passengers' needs and the snorkeling was phenomenal. At Coral Gardens the crew fed the fish and created a feeding frenzy, teeming with hundreds of beautiful fish all around us, as if we were swimming in a giant aquarium!
Read snorkelbum's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Captain Bryan
Member Image 2Okies
2 reviews
Sep 2012
We booked our own excursion through Moby Dick tours online to reserve a spot and time. We met them at the appointed time at the pier, paid our $45pp, and they bused in an air-conditioned bus to their boat across the island. The driver told us about different points of interest on the island as we traveled. We had about 23 on our excursion, but they said they can take around 40 on an excursion. Mark, the owner, is very nice, professional and he and his staff are always there with you while snorkeling or at Stingray City. We snorkeled first. The reefs were gorgeous! We got some awesome pictures. We also got to see Mark feed a Moray eel that lives under a rock in the area. After about 45 minutes of snorkeling we went to Stingray City. They had told us how to conduct ourselves (shuffle your feet in the sand so as not to step on them, etc), but you have no reason to be afraid of this experience. These animals are just amazing! They are silky soft, and its just very emotional to look into their eyes as you hold them. Its an adventure you won't soon forget. Be sure to kiss one for 7 years good luck! Moby Dick dropped us off in town and recommended a good fish & chips place to eat that was right on the waterfront by the ships. Great food!
Read 2Okies's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Moby Dick tours
Member Image Family Vacation Planner
1 review
Aug 2012
The crew was great, however, there wasn't much to see under water. Very bland!
Read Family Vacation Planner's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image kevrab
1 review
Aug 2012
Great time swimming with the stingrays in Stingray City. The whole crew aboard the Buccaneer were great. After Stingray City we went snorkeling which was just ok.
Read kevrab's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Captain Bryan's Tours
Member Image dtredy2go
1 review
Aug 2012
Waverunner excursion to Stingray City and another snorkeling site. Waverunners looked brand new and guide was excellent. This was not a follow the leader, idle speed ride. He told us to spread out and have fun. Water was pretty rough but made it even more fun to jump the waves. I ran at speeds up to 32mph, did some spinouts, and crossed a lot of wake. I have been to Stingray City before but this was by far the most fun getting there.
Read dtredy2go's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Ebanks
Member Image kcwingwalker
1 review
Jul 2012
Grand Cayman was lovely, rest of family went snorkeling and had a wonderful excursion.
Read kcwingwalker's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image KansasK
2 reviews
Jul 2012
We did the Barrier Reef Snorkel at Georgetown, Grand Cayman. We rode a bus to the boat and the boat ride to snorkel on their barrier reef was not long. This reef was much smaller in height than at Roatan and not joined together, but there were lots of coral formations and the coral was healthy and varied, with lots of fish. This was also a great snorkel run. The water was even clearer here.
Read KansasK's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Southern Gal Georgia
1 review
Jul 2012
The Cheeseburger Reef Kayak and Snorkel excursion was not good. The guides don't know what to tell you to do. A beginner who had not snorkelled before was in the kayak next to me, and she had no idea what to do, and no one helped her. We left this excursion shortly after it began, and returned to the trip.
Read Southern Gal Georgia's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image love the sea1
1 review
Jun 2012
Unfortunately the snorkeling was more about staring at coral than beautiful fish. It was more like a desert under the water. As for the Stingray encounter, there were three stingrays and each one was handled Iy the deck hands for us to pet and take a photo with our own cameras. So if you don't have a waterproof camera, you are out of luck. It was nice to be in the warm water, but the excursion was boring. I would not go on this excursion again.
Read love the sea1's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image PawsOnTheGo
1 review
Jun 2012
Great experience with great leaders watching our group and guiding us to see what was down below the water. Made sure we saw it all!
Read PawsOnTheGo's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image mygirlsmm32
1 review
Jun 2012
The waters were rough and the boat really rocked. This was a tough place for our daughters 10 and 11 to learn to snorkel. Fortunately, they are adventurous and did not give up. By the end of the second reef, they were getting comfortable. My husband felt really seasick on this excursion and felt like he was on solid land once on the cruise ship again.
Read mygirlsmm32's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Caitinmountain
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Wind was extremely bad and seas were heavy so the snorkeling at Cemetary Beach did not go as planned. We ended up at a place called Papagallo's which is very remote. It started raining and we were afraid our driver had forgotten us so we walked to the main road. Driver did finally show up, but I was panicked that we would miss the boat. No fun when on vacation to relax.
Read Caitinmountain's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image umari
1 review
May 2012
Great and friendly staff. Small group. Great snorkeling and memorable experience with the stingray. This is one trip that everyone who is going to Grand Cayman should do.
Read umari's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvin's
Member Image mighty45
1 review
May 2012
I did the Kittiwake snorkel and the excursion was very well organized. We went to two different dive spots and spent about 45 minutes at each one. The spots were about five minutes apart from each other and the boat ride to the snorkel spots was about 30 minutes. The sunken ship was cool to see and the water was very nice and warm.
Read mighty45's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image CruzNewby
1 review
May 2012
I didn't really care for snorkling. The water is incredibly blue. A beautiful aqua color. After snorkling, we chose to walk to the ship, which is through a town filled to the brim with shops. There's something for everybody's taste there. The people are so friendly. I want to go back!!
Read CruzNewby's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Maggs07
2 reviews
May 2012
This was an incredible excursion! We did the Rays Reef and Rum tour with Native Way Watersports. I can't say enough about them! We did the sting rays which was one of the coolest experiences I've ever had. Then we did a snorkel stop which was beautiful. Then on to Rum Point beach for lunch and some time to relax. We got back to the port with plenty of time to shop before the last tender. I high recommend this tour!
Read Maggs07's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: NativeWays
Member Image 2fortravel
3 reviews
May 2012
Took a snorkeling excursion on a great yacht 51 feet, went to a beach as well as a great snorkeling place. Well worth the expense.
Read 2fortravel's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image BandBxelem3
1 review
May 2012
This excursion was well organized. We were taken by bus to a boat that took us out to an area about 40 minutes away. The snorkeling was a great experience. Lots to look at. Beautiful varieties of coral and lots of fish. We enjoyed the time in the water. Some even saw stingrays. Our crew entertained us on the way there and it didn't seem to take too long.
Read BandBxelem3's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image DiveMasterMark
1 review
Not Rated
May 2012
We booked no onshore excursions through the ship, opting to take the advice we read here, and booked a Stingray City snorkel aboard Captain Bryan's Buccaneer via Island Marketing for our Grand Cayman stop. However, a monsoon decided to visit the island that day, so the trip was cancelled. The lady keeping us posted throughout the morning of the excursion called when the decision to cancel was made, and promised a refund of our deposit.
Read DiveMasterMark's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing / Captain Bryan's
Member Image pinkdiamonddolly
2 reviews
May 2012
The best excursion we have ever taken on any cruise! Professional and fun.
Read pinkdiamonddolly's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Nativeway
Member Image JGORD7
1 review
Apr 2012
Catamaran & snorkel adventure booked though cruise line was the best time of the whole cruise for me!
Read JGORD7's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image celialou
1 review
Apr 2012
We booked our on excursion with Captain Marvin's. It was $35/each. We were taken by shuttle to the boat and went out to Sting Ray City. It was really cool. We got to swim with the rays, kiss them, etc. They had a camera guy taking pictures of everything. He would put them on a CD for $45, which is pretty steep. Normally I wouldn't have paid that much, but I left my own waterproof camera on the boat and didn't want to not have any pictures at all. The second stop was snorkeling at a reef. It was beautiful. They threw food into the water to attract the most beautiful fish. There were even rays swimming towards the bottom. Very nice. On the way back to shore, one of the crewmen had cleaned and prepared some conch he had gathered from the bottom. It was delicious. I highly recommend Captain Marvin's. I know if this is your first cruise your gut tells you to book through Carnival, but let me warn you....you will pay three times as much and be crammed shoulder to shoulder on a rickety boat with 70 people. This actually happened. The people jampacked on this boat pull up to sting ray city with us and there were so many kids and people it was ridiculous. One of the women told me they had booked through Carnival and paid $150. Our really nice boat only had 20-30 people.
Read celialou's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image milliganmonks
1 review
Apr 2012
Great Excursion as we were welcomed in Port by Chip (Owner), driven in a Private Coach to Marina. Great, relaxing sailing on the Catamaran as we headed out to Sting Ray City. Great conversations with Chip and his father on board. Good amount of time in water snorkeling. On way back to marina they offered complimentary fruit and bottled water. Beer was available for purchase if desired.
Read milliganmonks's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Stingray Sailing
Member Image Westbank is bestbank
3 reviews
Apr 2012
In Grand Cayman we snorkeled at Paradise Snorkel Center which was in walking distance of the ship and it was free because we had our own snorkel gear. You could rent snorkel equipment there for about $14. The food was very expensive there. A plate of chicken wings was $20 US dollars and a few drinks later we spent $100. But lots of fish to see! You could see about 5 huge tarpons swimming around before even entering the water. After snorkeling we headed to 7-mile beach and went to Calico Jacks. Totally enjoyed the atmosphere, food, and drinks. The restaurant and the beach were very crowded. I'm bored on secluded beaches so it worked for me.
Read Westbank is bestbank's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Love2gocruise
1 review
Apr 2012
2 man operation on a catamaran. Small group (18) and we were never rushed. We stayed with the stingrays longer than any other tour that day. They helped us hold the stingrays and the whole area had the most beautiful water. The reef had many different types of coral but not many fish that day, which isn't the fault of the operator. He sailed back into the island instead of using the motor which was very nice and relaxing. Had a great time for $40 per person
Read Love2gocruise's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Dexter's Fantaseas
Member Image olie20
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2012
Water was way to rough to enjoy seeing the ray's. Should have been canceled but NCL didn't care just so they got the money.
Read olie20's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ajtaylor29
1 review
Mar 2012
Loved this! Snorkeled, swam with stingrays, had lunch at a private beach club. The island is gorgeous!
Read ajtaylor29's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvins
Member Image Theatre Lover Cruiser
1 review
Mar 2012
ok, but not special; reefs were a bit dull
Read Theatre Lover Cruiser's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image my3boysmom
1 review
Mar 2012
Tiki Party barge Variety of ages aboard, mostly college. Driver and guides were informative and very safety minded. There was a DJ and music which made it a "party" atmosphere but plenty of space to get away to be away from it if desired. Soda and drinks (rum punch, beer) served but not until after snorkeling. After snorkeling we were dropped off at the 7 mile beach for 1 1/2 hours. The boys played and had a blast. We found a table in the shade and had a snack. Even though my husband and I did not snorkel, was had a good time. The boys (12 years old) had a blast!
Read my3boysmom's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image AdkRd
1 review
Mar 2012
Cannot say enough about what a fabulous day this was in Grand Cayman. Planning on going back for an extended stay!!!!
Read AdkRd's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Sail12
1 review
Feb 2012
Best port. British controlled and you will see the prosperity right away. Water is spectacular blue. We booked a private tour to the stingray beach by way of the jet ski and then snorkeled. Best excursion ever so far.
Read Sail12's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image dawnvan
1 review
Feb 2012
By far my favorite excursion!! Moby dick was right off the tendering boat waiting for us. We had a short bus ride to the boat and then off to snorkel. The snorkeling was very good enjoyed very much.
Read dawnvan's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Moby Dick
Member Image tjbear010
1 review
Feb 2012
THE REEF WE WENT TO WAS NOT VERY VIBRANT BUT THE CREW OF THE CATAMARAN WERE GREAT
Read tjbear010's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DeliaPug
2 reviews
Feb 2012
We went snorkeling out by a ship wreck and by a coral reef. I think I would have enjoyed the excursion more if I had not been very dehydrated and sunburned. This was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
Read DeliaPug's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tidepool
1 review
Feb 2012
Took a catamaran out to two dive sites for snorkeling. Both sites were great and we really enjoyed them both. The catamaran was a lot of fun and the snorkeling was too.
Read tidepool's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lady Anna & Sir Troy
4 reviews
Feb 2012
Nativeway did a wonderful job taking us out to see the Stingrays where you get to hold, pet, and feed them in their natural habitat. They also take you to a great snorkeling site called coral gardens and show you some starfish up close.
Read Lady Anna & Sir Troy's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Nativeway
Member Image coralrief
1 review
Feb 2012
same tour - stingray and 2 snorkel stops - saved $50 per person booking outside of Carnival.
Read coralrief's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image stoplightmakeupartist
1 review
Feb 2012
Snorkeling in the Grand Cayman is fantastic! Water is very clear and there are tons of beautiful fish to see.
Read stoplightmakeupartist's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gcalli1
2 reviews
Feb 2012
I am a novice at snorkeling so my opinion is based on my limited experience. We went to a location that is just off the tender pier, so it was very convenient. There were some very pretty fish, but overall this was nothing spectacular. I have heard there are several great locations if you get away from the port. The best thing about this was its convenience, and since we were parasailing first, we wanted to stay in the same area. This wasn't bad, but if you want to snorkel as your main excursion, check on locations that are away from the pier. I did purchase an underwater camera (Olympus Tough) that took great pictures and videos. I am planning on making snorkeling a vacation hobby, and i am confident that this camera was a great purchase.
Read gcalli1's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image pensgrl
1 review
Dec 2011
My very first snorkeling experience (I'm hooked!) We snorkeled the reef for what seemed to be a long time. The water was so clear and the colors of the fish were amazing.
Read pensgrl's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Native Way
Member Image CruiserSchmoozer
2 reviews
Dec 2011
The Stingray excursion we booked with the cruise line was cancelled due to rough water on the other side of the island, so we got a snorkeling excursion instead. The visibility was not great and the sea life color and variety was not great, but it was visible enough and interesting enough to be worth it.
Read CruiserSchmoozer's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image atlcruizr
4 reviews
May 2011
Snorkeling was amazing! The tour met us at the pier and led us on a short walk down the beach to the dock where we me the boat which took us to the reefs. Grand Cayman has some of the most beautiful reefs & fish I've ever seen. The only downside for us was that is was overcast, so visibility was not great. They also took us to the site of sunken ship which was also very cool.
Read atlcruizr's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.