Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Grand Cayman Semi Submarine Tour Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Semi Submarine Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This unique vessel, similar to a glass bottom boat, is perfect for viewing Grand Cayman’s reef formations and unique marine life- all while in the hull of the submarine.
Member Image edeel5
1 review
Dec 2013

The submarine was nice. You don't see many fish until they feed them. There are no big fish.

Read edeel5's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image NCSuz
3 reviews
Dec 2013

Semi-submersible was part of the Land & Sea tour. Dennis the captain was awesome. Martin the narrator was more snarky than funny. Great underwater views of fish, stingrays, coral and 2 shipwrecks. Would definitely recommend.

Read NCSuz's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image chickensmomma
1 review
Nov 2013

We tendered in Grand Cayman. For ASD you need ear muffs again- the boats are loud and completely filled with people(so a lot of voices). We then took an excursion to Sea World Observatory boat booked by NCL. It was really neat and perfect for ASD- not completely enclosed and there is an upper deck if you encounter problems. The guide was nice and pointed our fish to my other two kids- they were fascinated. They do put about 40 people in a smaller enclosed space. After that we walked around and shopped. We ventured to Burger King to get nuggets for the ASD (because she had only eaten cereal and pizza in days)- it was really expensive and they did not have nuggets. Stopped at duty free to pickup Doritos (for the ASD) and tendered back to the ship. My son was impressed with the cold towels (there was no greeting in Jamaica).

Read chickensmomma's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mikeyt38
2 reviews
Nov 2013

The tour was very nice, with clear water, lots of fish, and several ship wrecks

Read mikeyt38's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image niteshift
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

The Nautilus was great. Long ride around water; about 45 minute. We saw lots of colorful fish, scuba divers, and shipwrecks!! Air conditioning felt great during the ride!!

Read niteshift's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image fuzzyb
1 review
Mar 2013
The semi sub was great. Georgetown was great. The water is beautiful. You cant go wrong here.
Read fuzzyb's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image whoop1995
1 review
Feb 2013
We did the Nautilus semi-submersible with our 5 and 7 yr old. It was nothing special, but the kids loved it.
Read whoop1995's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Nsteerage
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Great way to see coral, fish, ship wrecks, etc., without getting wet. Don't sit in the back where the engine noise drowns out the tour guide's narration.
Read Nsteerage's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Loan Witch
1 review
Dec 2012
Speaker was a little annoying but knowledgeable
Read Loan Witch's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image yaya4Kylie!!
1 review
Sep 2012
While I enjoyed what I saw - I would have loved to have seen more!
Read yaya4Kylie!!'s full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image NanaJag3
1 review
May 2012
If you have not gone yet - you must go. The 'wrecks' are interesting. The guide has the most amazing voice - he sounds like one of the pirates that sailed on those long lost ships! It's worth the money - AMAZING views of lots of colorful fish.
Read NanaJag3's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image orleanna1521
2 reviews
Apr 2012
Very fun for all ages, there are two sunken shipwrecks to see, the tour afterwards is a nice way to see Grand Caymen.
Read orleanna1521's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image gloryfun12
1 review
Apr 2012
the tour guide was very informative but way too loud. It hurt my ears as it felt like he was yelling
Read gloryfun12's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image stonemanor
2 reviews
Feb 2012
A very interesting and personable guide who kept everyone entertained while viewing the sea life and ship wrecks in the bay. The diver feeding the fish brought hordes of fish within view.
Read stonemanor's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image saharaga
7 reviews
Dec 2011
In Grand Cayman, we booked the Nautilus semi-submarine tour through the company's website. It was a good tour but I think the adults enjoyed it more than the kids. My little boy was bored with the fish well before the tour was over. It was fascinating though seeing the undersea ruins and all the tropical fish. We had a really good tour guide who made sure everyone got good pictures. We did a little souvenir shopping after the tour and went back to the ship. This was a great tour but probably best for older kids.
Read saharaga's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Nautilus

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.