Grand Cayman Semi Submarine Tour Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Semi Submarine Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This unique vessel, similar to a glass bottom boat, is perfect for viewing Grand Cayman's reef formations and unique marine life- all while in the hull of the submarine.
Member Image Kearhartkbds
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Hopped on a bus, did city tour, then went into water, monitor was dark could not see the fishes or sunken ship, feeding the fishes was fun. Wished we could of seen the sunken ship...
Read Kearhartkbds's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Luv2travlX2
1 review
Feb 2017
We took Capt. Nemo's semi sub. It was a lot of fun. Snorkeling option for those who chose to do that. Others could remain onboard and watch thru the big windows on the lower level.
Read Luv2travlX2's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image clamper
3 reviews
Feb 2017
Brilliant semi submersible views of ship wrecks, corals with fish, rays and turtles on show. Cheaper than cruise ship tour & 2 mins walk from tender dock.
Read clamper's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Atlantis submarine
Member Image mrrastos
1 review
Feb 2017
Grand Cayman was very nice after our negative experience in Ochos Rios. I actually studied German on the way to Grand Cayman in case the vendors were as aggressive and I wanted to pretend I didn't speak English. Thankfully I didn't have to resort to that. The people in Grand Cayman were a bit reserved, yet friendly and polite. This was my wife's favorite stop. For me it almost seemed a bit too much like North America, but I enjoyed it nevertheless. There are lots of high end shops around if you're into that sort of thing. The Atlantis semi-submarine tour was about a ten minute walk from the cruise docks. I knew that beforehand and booked it independently. The operator seemed like a very professional and reputable company The underwater reefs and shipwrecks we saw were incredible. The company has a scuba diver that feeds the fish to lure them close to the windows so people can see them up close. We liked Grand Cayman a lot and stayed ashore until about an hour before the ship was scheduled to leave.
Read mrrastos's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Atlantis
Member Image Jamazay89
1 review
Feb 2017
The Amphibious land/boat tour was awesome. A must do. It was just the right amount of time where you could tour some of the island, go in the water on the same bus, stopped at the 7 mile beach to eat and chill. Great value for the price.
Read Jamazay89's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image SpringBob54
1 review
Jan 2017
Took the Land and Sea package. It was interesting and a good value.
Read SpringBob54's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image WriteRon
1 review
Jan 2017
We enjoyed seeing the reef, fish and shipwrecks. Our first time in this type of excursion.
Read WriteRon's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ohaycruiser
1 review
Dec 2016
If your not among the 1st to get on you won't get a good seat. It also get very warm and stuffy in side
Read ohaycruiser's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Belle1234
1 review
Oct 2016
Great way to see under the ocean without getting wet. It was very cool and comfortable.
Read Belle1234's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image adimaio
1 review
Jun 2016
Fumes from boat interior made me very nauseous after 30 mins. Felt like I couldn't breathe.
Read adimaio's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image papamikeinaz
1 review
Jun 2016
Not enough AC, very uncomfortable while trying to view the fish and shipwrecks. If it was cooler this would get 4 stars.
Read papamikeinaz's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image ricardo123
1 review
May 2016
We enjoyed seeing the reef. Was good for younger kids.
Read ricardo123's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jerseyshoreguy
1 review
Apr 2016
Lots of amazing sights. Great commentary.
Read jerseyshoreguy's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Not going back to work
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Truly amazed! and to see God's creation, from (below) the sea over 100 feet down, one almost can't even put in to words. The colors of the fish, but only to a certain point though, and the ocean floor terrain, and the Cayman trough, spectacular.
Read Not going back to work's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image unleadedchrome
1 review
Jun 2015
Was the worst part of my trip, didnt have a big enough shuttle to take everyone so they asked us to walk to the boat, showed up to the boat, No A/C, warm water to "cool down" never again if they tell u no ac. Ask for your moneyback and walkaway
Read unleadedchrome's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Computer Lady
2 reviews
Apr 2015
We booked right at the port at the Discount Excursions kiasok.The next available mini-sub was not for a couple hours. We walked around and went to the Hard Rock Cafe for a couple drinks to kill time. It was right across the street from where we boarded the sub. There were only 6 of us on the sub which was great! We could move all about and had great views. The captain scuba dived into the water to feed the fish which came right up to the windows. We saw sting rays and many other fish and sunked vessels. Our narrator was excellent! He was very informative and answered all questions.
Read Computer Lady's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Discount Excursions
Member Image Traveler joe
1 review
Feb 2015
the only thing we did was the Atlantis sub this was great ,down 100 feet good explanations,on what you were seeing' well worth the price .We found the rest of the port area to be a bit pricey for what is there
Read Traveler joe's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image edeel5
1 review
Dec 2013

The submarine was nice. You don't see many fish until they feed them. There are no big fish.

Read edeel5's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image NCSuz
3 reviews
Dec 2013

Semi-submersible was part of the Land & Sea tour. Dennis the captain was awesome. Martin the narrator was more snarky than funny. Great underwater views of fish, stingrays, coral and 2 shipwrecks. Would definitely recommend.

Read NCSuz's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image chickensmomma
2 reviews
Nov 2013

We tendered in Grand Cayman. For ASD you need ear muffs again- the boats are loud and completely filled with people(so a lot of voices). We then took an excursion to Sea World Observatory boat booked by NCL. It was really neat and perfect for ASD- not completely enclosed and there is an upper deck if you encounter problems. The guide was nice and pointed our fish to my other two kids- they were fascinated. They do put about 40 people in a smaller enclosed space. After that we walked around and shopped. We ventured to Burger King to get nuggets for the ASD (because she had only eaten cereal and pizza in days)- it was really expensive and they did not have nuggets. Stopped at duty free to pickup Doritos (for the ASD) and tendered back to the ship. My son was impressed with the cold towels (there was no greeting in Jamaica).

Read chickensmomma's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mikeyt38
2 reviews
Nov 2013

The tour was very nice, with clear water, lots of fish, and several ship wrecks

Read mikeyt38's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image niteshift
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

The Nautilus was great. Long ride around water; about 45 minute. We saw lots of colorful fish, scuba divers, and shipwrecks!! Air conditioning felt great during the ride!!

Read niteshift's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image fuzzyb
1 review
Mar 2013

The semi sub was great. Georgetown was great. The water is beautiful. You cant go wrong here.

Read fuzzyb's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image whoop1995
2 reviews
Feb 2013
We did the Nautilus semi-submersible with our 5 and 7 yr old. It was nothing special, but the kids loved it.
Read whoop1995's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Nsteerage
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Great way to see coral, fish, ship wrecks, etc., without getting wet. Don't sit in the back where the engine noise drowns out the tour guide's narration.
Read Nsteerage's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?