Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Grand Cayman Submarine Tour Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Submarine Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience the thrill of journeying beneath the sea in Grand Cayman on a tour in a spectacular submarine.
Member Image forda30
1 review
Dec 2014

My daughter and I really wanted to do a beginning scuba tour since most of the scuba requires you to already be certified but this tour does not. The night prior, after my son and wife had booked a different excursion, we received word our tour had be cancelled, supposibly due tothe water being to cloudy. LAter, once my daughter and I had already headed into town on our own, my wife and son found out the submarine portion of their tour had also been cancelled. While they did the rest of the tour (and received a partial credit) my daughter and I spent the day snorking. They have a bus service that is at odds with the taxis here. The buses charge $2.50 (or $1 cayman) to ride almost anywhere and the taxis wanted like $12 forthe same ride. The buses look just like thet axis but have a name on the windsheild (lizzie, Lenny? something like that) Anyway, take the bus! WE did all thes ame things my wife and son did but we spent as much time as wew anted and then went snorkling too. If you are going for snorkling, go to Cemetary beach. All the busses know where it is, and there is a pick up spot for you to wait for a bus back. Once on the beach, to get to the reef you have to swim out a bit but it is amazing! Tons of corals, fish and a big reef. Even though the water was "too murky" for the tours, we had no problems seeing 20+ feet down in the clear ocean waters. If you are going to go here, stop for some drinks or snacks to bring with you, have snorkle gear from home (there are places to rent it, but not here. And it is very expensive to buy at any port) and of course, bring your own towel since this is a public beach, not a tourist excursion. This is a great port to skip the tour, ride the bus and "wing it". Everyone in Grand Cayman gets taught English in school and there are many ex-pats here so there are no language issues and the simple island layout lends itself to tourists. If you are going to rent a car (and I have no idea why you would) remember, they drive on the other side of the road there.
As side note, this is a "tender" port and if there was one thing to complain about, it would be how poorly Carnival handled debarktation here. A little tip, go all the way to the forward elevator, go down to A and get into line from there, the other line was up many decks with no one controlling the line.

Read forda30's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image wackydon
1 review
Oct 2014

We were taken to see dead reefs with no color. The turtle farm is the best thing on the island to do and once you have been there then there is nothing you want to see. The shops pricings were ridiculous! Don't care to go back there either.

Read wackydon's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image M&Marecruising
1 review
Oct 2014

The tender service was excellent and the submarine tour left from less than 500 feet the tender dock.

The submarine was great and provided wonderful under water views of the reef.

The shopping was good and we never felt put upon like Jamaica.

Read M&Marecruising's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image HHI Girl
1 review
Oct 2014

Tour personnel were very knowledgeable, and even had a diver feeding the fish so we could see them up close.

Read HHI Girl's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Joe906
1 review
Mar 2013
We found this place on our own. We were disappointed with the rest of the port and tried this place for something to do. Very nice spot. Staff was friendly and they have a perfect safety rating dating back to the 80s. Trip was about 1.5hrs altogether and a lot of fun.
Read Joe906's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Atlantis
Member Image mollyutah
1 review
Mar 2013
nice port, close to everything. Took an independent cab tour int he morning with Josephine's tours.
Read mollyutah's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image mpls1639
1 review
Dec 2012
The Submarine was a lot of fun, but getting to the experience takes about a half hour. Then when we asked if we would be dropped off in the same area we were picked up at they said yes. This is NOT what happened. We got dropped off at their office and had to walk all the way back to the port. This is not a very clean part of town and good luck finding a restroom. The first one was all locked up; when we came to the 2nd one it was open but very unclean. When my husband was coming out of the men's room some guy was waiting at the door with a bag of stuff (probably drugs) as soon as my husband walked out the guy shut the door and locked it (this was a 6 stall bathroom). We walked back to the port and got on the ship.
Read mpls1639's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image mistamrd
4 reviews
Dec 2012
The Submarine tour was terrific, adn we got to see quite a bit of reef life. The Bus tour to the Turtle farm and the rim cake factory was a bit rushed, however we have don this tour before and just enjoyed the turtle farm.
Read mistamrd's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sas
1 review
Apr 2012
Excellent experience. Great and informative guide on this tour. Really exciting seeing the underwater wildlife! A little rough getting from the boat onto the submarine but really smooth once inside. No toilets on board the submarine though, so it could be tricky with young children. It's about 10 minutes to get to and from the submarine (each way), then 45 minuets on board.
Read sas's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mrhouston
1 review
Apr 2012
We went down about 100 feet and seeing all of the varieties of fish and turtles was great. The submarine would spit out fish food occasionally so the fish would come close to it. The submarine was pretty big so everyone had plenty of room.
Read mrhouston's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TylerRose
8 reviews
Mar 2012
My folks could not handle the tender in Georgetown, so they stayed on boat. DH and I enjoyed the "Atlantis Submarine at Grand Cayman"... later yummy pizza lunch. This port is VERY RICH compared to others and VERY CROWDED. Sub was fun, photographed drab views beneath the sea that were instantly autocorrect in i-photo to reveal their magnificent colors
Read TylerRose's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.