Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Grand Cayman Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A tour of Grand Cayman, rich in history and folklore, will touch on the island's many unique characteristics and popular attractions.
Member Image ratsneaker
1 review
Jun 2016
The island tour included the turtle farm and Hell as well as the beach.
Read ratsneaker's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image tamangel
1 review
Jun 2016
We went around Grand Cayman in a taxi/tour van. We stopped at historical areas. In Hell I was able to buy a gorgeous shirt for a friend. We went to the Rum factory and the turtle farm where we were able to hold the sea turtles.
Read tamangel's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jako0614
1 review
May 2016
Excellent, great way to see the island.
Read jako0614's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cbgiles1960
1 review
May 2016
Very good although not the largest of islands so fairly short
Read Cbgiles1960's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image seeotterdee@yahoo.com
2 reviews
May 2016
Good but not great, done it once, on to something else next time.
Read seeotterdee@yahoo.com's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image NewtoCruising6
1 review
May 2016
We had a knowledgeable driver, who told us about the places we were seeing. The one bad part is that we almost lost 2 of our passengers while at the Turtle Farm, because they got caught up in another group.
Read NewtoCruising6's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image peacey
2 reviews
May 2016
Grand Cayman by Land and Sea. A very worthwhile tour - especially the turtle farm. The submaine was OK but got very hot by the end of the tour. The port side is the best side for viewing. Our tour guide was excellent.
Read peacey's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jerseyshoreguy
1 review
Apr 2016
Great guide, small group. Went to Hell, literally
Read jerseyshoreguy's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 4myOpinion
2 reviews
Feb 2016
Stingray City was really well done and interesting. The Barrier Reef Snorkel was also good, although the crew didn't come into the water with us to identify what we were seeing. But the final stop - Tikki Beach on 7-Mile Beach was just awful. Tis is a crappy little rocky beach with a steep drop-off. The lunch buffet was unappealing, but the Shore Excursion brochure warned us ahead of time that the food "wasn't up to the ship's standards." We took that as a warning not to eat the food. But since the beach was so poor, we left the beach early. Do yourself a favor, take a tour that does NOT include this beach or the lunch. We wished we took the Stingray City + Barrier Reef Snorkel instead.
Read 4myOpinion's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image stub's dad
5 reviews
Feb 2016
This was a really nice trip which included the Turtle Farm and a visit to Hell.
Read stub's dad's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image flo1234
2 reviews
Feb 2016
Included hell,turtle farm
Read flo1234's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Simmo139
1 review
Jan 2016
Island tour finished up on the 7 mile beach
Read Simmo139's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image grtfldave
4 reviews
Dec 2015
This was a nice overview of the Island. We've been the Grand Cayman on two other occasions but never had a chance to see the Island. Our tour guide was very informative and took us to the Tortuga Rum Factory and Hell.
Read grtfldave's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image wlscutts
1 review
Dec 2015
Grand Cayman: this was the stop I researched and planned the least. We ended up wandering off the ship and right into Ursula Smith, a grandmotherly taxi driver who said she'd take us around the island for $20pp. This was a fair price for getting to see Hell, the Tortuga Rum Factory, and the Turtle Farm, where I fell in love with and named each and every sea turtle. Ursula told us rambling stories that started with, "When I was a girl…" and stopped at the post office to pick up her mail. Her taxi broke down between the turtle farm and the dolphin encounter, but a call to another taxi-driving friend took us back to port. Because we were not in the market for Rolexes, perfume, or Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville, we headed back to the ship.
Read wlscutts's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image metterchin
1 review
Nov 2015
The independent tour was knowledgeable and interesting.
Read metterchin's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image weasel2000
1 review
Nov 2015
Booked with the glass-bottom boat tour and also visited the Tortuga Rum Cake Factory. Hell isn't that much of an attraction, you are mainly there to get some trinkets and picture of the sign. You can get your passport signed and some shirts and magnets. We didn't have enough time to send out a postcard from the post-office. The rum cake factory wasn't actually much of a factory; it was mainly a store front that offered samples and then had cakes you could buy. There was nothing wrong specifically with the tour itself, the glass bottom gave good views of fish, coral, shipwrecks and was as advertised. However, my wife and MiL got sick due to a combination of the heavy waves and the diesel fumes. The operation looked kind of slip-shod. There was no gangway and people had to be careful getting into and out of the boat. The PA system wasn't working so you couldn't hear what was being said. The crew was less than helpful, especially when my MiL couldn't stand anymore and had to lie-down and then when she got even sicker.
Read weasel2000's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wgeddings
6 reviews
Nov 2015
My family of 4 went to Grand Cayman years ago and went to Stingray City and we have wanted to return ever since. Last time we had Grand Cayman as a stop, we had gotten our group all excited about it and then the boat had to skip it due to weather problems. We had this group all fired up and excited too for what I knew would be the highlight of the trip! We all got ashore and were supposed to meet the people from Soto’s Cruises. Sadly, she told us that the government had closed the sandbar (Stingray City) due to weather problems so no tours were allowed that day. Disappointed is too weak a word. She was very kind and helped us by trying to suggest some alternatives. 4 of our group went on the Turtle Farm tour and said it was really good. They got the $35 version rather than the $48 version where you get to swim with the turtles. We made a worse decision and bought a 2 hour island tour from “Discount Excursions” kiosk there in the debarkation area. It was $20 and was still overpriced by about $25. The guide spoke heavily Spanish accented English so he was hard to understand at the best of times. He mumbled too which did not help. He liked to gesture and point to things with the hand holding the microphone so when he would tell us about something (which was rare), he was not speaking into the mike thus no one could hear. He told old boring jokes which were frequently interrupted by him remembering he should have added something and by fits of hacking cough. For example (sadly I cannot reproduce the mumble and heavy accent so just imagine it) “A man had a cat. His wife did not like the cat and told him to take it away. He was married, I forgot that. So he wanted to take the cat away. I mean his wife wanted him to take the cat away. Over there is the…. lives. So she took the cat, I mean he took the cat, and drove it far away……”. We stopped at Hell which was very disappointing. It is a rickety shack gift shop with an area like someone’s backyard with some spiky black rocks you can stand on an overlook and see. Nothing at all like the pictures or brochures make it seem. Then we went to the Tortuga rum cake factory, got to see where people were swimming with the dolphins and went to a beach bar for a few minutes. We were back within 90 minutes and there were no tips but also no demands for a refund. I can safely say that neither I nor anyone I am with will ever trust that kiosk again for a tour. We shopped a little bit then headed back to the ship.
Read wgeddings's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Discount Excursions
Member Image Jacqsgirl
1 review
Nov 2015
Able to purchase right in port after getting off ship, a 2 hour excursion for only $20 (was $72 if booked onboard). Went to Hell, Tortuga Rum Factory, 7 mile beach, and a dolphin swim and nicely narrated drive by of other places such as Governor's Mansion. Great way to see the island, tour guide was friendly.
Read Jacqsgirl's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Discount Excursions
Member Image koss78b2
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Nice tour of the island, went to town to Hell and to the beach, as well the rum factory. lots of fun
Read koss78b2's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CARNIVALCRUISE3
6 reviews
Aug 2015
Great island tour. We were taken to many places.
Read CARNIVALCRUISE3's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cyndeebran
1 review
Jul 2015
Very good, most enjoyable.
Read cyndeebran's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Teresa1122
1 review
Jul 2015
Seven miles beach is a must things to do.
Read Teresa1122's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mandigo
1 review
Jun 2015
the island tour was cool. stop by several stores
Read mandigo's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Salem615
1 review
May 2015
We did the land and sea tour with Carnival. Overall a very nice afternoon. We visited the Turtle Farm and got to hold turtles, visited Hell - which is really not much but it was fun and quirky and I love that stuff, did the semi-submersible which was a lot of fun. We saw a lot of fish and some shipwrecks and we also toured the island and got a sample of rum and rum cakes. A nice time!
Read Salem615's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image colgal77
1 review
May 2015
Picked a your up just at the pier. Had a great time touring this beautiful island. Went to Hell, Turtle farm, rum cake factory. I wish we would have had more time here!
Read colgal77's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.