Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Grand Cayman Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A tour of Grand Cayman, rich in history and folklore, will touch on the island's many unique characteristics and popular attractions.
Member Image grtfldave
4 reviews
Dec 2015
This was a nice overview of the Island. We've been the Grand Cayman on two other occasions but never had a chance to see the Island. Our tour guide was very informative and took us to the Tortuga Rum Factory and Hell.
Read grtfldave's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image wlscutts
1 review
Dec 2015
Grand Cayman: this was the stop I researched and planned the least. We ended up wandering off the ship and right into Ursula Smith, a grandmotherly taxi driver who said she'd take us around the island for $20pp. This was a fair price for getting to see Hell, the Tortuga Rum Factory, and the Turtle Farm, where I fell in love with and named each and every sea turtle. Ursula told us rambling stories that started with, "When I was a girl…" and stopped at the post office to pick up her mail. Her taxi broke down between the turtle farm and the dolphin encounter, but a call to another taxi-driving friend took us back to port. Because we were not in the market for Rolexes, perfume, or Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville, we headed back to the ship.
Read wlscutts's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image weasel2000
1 review
Nov 2015
Booked with the glass-bottom boat tour and also visited the Tortuga Rum Cake Factory. Hell isn't that much of an attraction, you are mainly there to get some trinkets and picture of the sign. You can get your passport signed and some shirts and magnets. We didn't have enough time to send out a postcard from the post-office. The rum cake factory wasn't actually much of a factory; it was mainly a store front that offered samples and then had cakes you could buy. There was nothing wrong specifically with the tour itself, the glass bottom gave good views of fish, coral, shipwrecks and was as advertised. However, my wife and MiL got sick due to a combination of the heavy waves and the diesel fumes. The operation looked kind of slip-shod. There was no gangway and people had to be careful getting into and out of the boat. The PA system wasn't working so you couldn't hear what was being said. The crew was less than helpful, especially when my MiL couldn't stand anymore and had to lie-down and then when she got even sicker.
Read weasel2000's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wgeddings
6 reviews
Nov 2015
My family of 4 went to Grand Cayman years ago and went to Stingray City and we have wanted to return ever since. Last time we had Grand Cayman as a stop, we had gotten our group all excited about it and then the boat had to skip it due to weather problems. We had this group all fired up and excited too for what I knew would be the highlight of the trip! We all got ashore and were supposed to meet the people from Soto’s Cruises. Sadly, she told us that the government had closed the sandbar (Stingray City) due to weather problems so no tours were allowed that day. Disappointed is too weak a word. She was very kind and helped us by trying to suggest some alternatives. 4 of our group went on the Turtle Farm tour and said it was really good. They got the $35 version rather than the $48 version where you get to swim with the turtles. We made a worse decision and bought a 2 hour island tour from “Discount Excursions” kiosk there in the debarkation area. It was $20 and was still overpriced by about $25. The guide spoke heavily Spanish accented English so he was hard to understand at the best of times. He mumbled too which did not help. He liked to gesture and point to things with the hand holding the microphone so when he would tell us about something (which was rare), he was not speaking into the mike thus no one could hear. He told old boring jokes which were frequently interrupted by him remembering he should have added something and by fits of hacking cough. For example (sadly I cannot reproduce the mumble and heavy accent so just imagine it) “A man had a cat. His wife did not like the cat and told him to take it away. He was married, I forgot that. So he wanted to take the cat away. I mean his wife wanted him to take the cat away. Over there is the…. lives. So she took the cat, I mean he took the cat, and drove it far away……”. We stopped at Hell which was very disappointing. It is a rickety shack gift shop with an area like someone’s backyard with some spiky black rocks you can stand on an overlook and see. Nothing at all like the pictures or brochures make it seem. Then we went to the Tortuga rum cake factory, got to see where people were swimming with the dolphins and went to a beach bar for a few minutes. We were back within 90 minutes and there were no tips but also no demands for a refund. I can safely say that neither I nor anyone I am with will ever trust that kiosk again for a tour. We shopped a little bit then headed back to the ship.
Read wgeddings's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Discount Excursions
Member Image Jacqsgirl
1 review
Nov 2015
Able to purchase right in port after getting off ship, a 2 hour excursion for only $20 (was $72 if booked onboard). Went to Hell, Tortuga Rum Factory, 7 mile beach, and a dolphin swim and nicely narrated drive by of other places such as Governor's Mansion. Great way to see the island, tour guide was friendly.
Read Jacqsgirl's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Discount Excursions
Member Image koss78b2
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Nice tour of the island, went to town to Hell and to the beach, as well the rum factory. lots of fun
Read koss78b2's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CARNIVALCRUISE3
5 reviews
Aug 2015
Great island tour. We were taken to many places.
Read CARNIVALCRUISE3's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cyndeebran
1 review
Jul 2015
Very good, most enjoyable.
Read cyndeebran's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Teresa1122
1 review
Jul 2015
Seven miles beach is a must things to do.
Read Teresa1122's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mandigo
1 review
Jun 2015
the island tour was cool. stop by several stores
Read mandigo's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Salem615
1 review
May 2015
We did the land and sea tour with Carnival. Overall a very nice afternoon. We visited the Turtle Farm and got to hold turtles, visited Hell - which is really not much but it was fun and quirky and I love that stuff, did the semi-submersible which was a lot of fun. We saw a lot of fish and some shipwrecks and we also toured the island and got a sample of rum and rum cakes. A nice time!
Read Salem615's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image colgal77
1 review
May 2015
Picked a your up just at the pier. Had a great time touring this beautiful island. Went to Hell, Turtle farm, rum cake factory. I wish we would have had more time here!
Read colgal77's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tdnosnhoj11
4 reviews
Apr 2015
In Grand Cayman we did another Carnival sponsored excursion. This was a simple tour of one side of the island. We stopped at a pretty beach, the Sea Turtle Farm, Tortuga Rum Store, and Hell. I knew this wouldn’t be the greatest excursion ever, but I wanted to go ahead and get the touristy things taken care of since we had already swam with sting rays during our last visit. Next time we will likely just go back to the Turtle Farm and spend more time there. The tour guide here was nice as well, but a little more subdued.
Read tdnosnhoj11's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 1stimecruiser
2 reviews
Apr 2015
We visited the rum cake factory, hell and the turtle farm. We had plenty of time to taste the rum cakes and purchase rum at the store. Hell's gift shop is very over priced and shows it's age. The turtle farm is very up-to-date and lots of fun for all ages.
Read 1stimecruiser's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image wingedone3
1 review
Apr 2015
This excursion was wonderful. We completely enjoyed the ride out and the ride back. These creatures are interesting and we learned a lot about them. The current was a bit strong but the waters were beautiful and our guides were wonderful.
Read wingedone3's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image Mike Lowe
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Our biggest problem was that we visited on a Sunday when many attractions were closed. However, for $20 each the 5 passengers spent a pleasant day touring the island and seeing many of the sights.
Read Mike Lowe's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image jlewis324
1 review
Apr 2015
he showed us all over the island stayed with us even dropped us at the other excursions and came back and picked us up at the time we asked.
Read jlewis324's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Glenn
Member Image Ron - Linda
1 review
Mar 2015
The gentleman who drove us and provided an excellent explanation of all the stops and sights was wonderful. He took us into the turtle farm and told us the history of it's purpose and how the turtles were cared for. We also had a chance to hold some of the young one who were really wonderful creatures.
Read Ron - Linda's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image rmm3313
1 review
Mar 2015
The island tour was good and inside an air-conditioned van. It was not bad at all but it was average. The stops were nice and adequate.
Read rmm3313's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image msidescooter
2 reviews
Mar 2015

Grand Cayman is a very nice island and I'm glad we took the tour. We booked an tour which did a quick stop at 7-mile beach, the governors mansion, a few minutes at Hell, and a hour or so at the turtle farm. The turtle farm was the best part, we enjoyed playing with the baby turtles, although at first they tried telling us no photos, but then told us we could move farther down and pick up our own turtles to take photos with. The tour guide was a bit negative about the development occurring on the island, but we mostly tuned him out as we looked at the sights. On our way back to the ship we got some rum cakes and samples of rum; we're looking forward to these to remind us about our trip on rainy days.

Read msidescooter's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image julianne16
1 review
Feb 2015
We did the "Best of the Cayman's" tour which was a bus tour with multiple stops. I enjoyed our tour guide who talked non-stop throughout the entire tour with facts about the island. The stops were fine -- a beach, Hell, the Tortuga Rum store, and the Turtle Farm where we got to hold turtles. Not a bad tour -- just a tad boring.
Read julianne16's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image wsx99
5 reviews
Feb 2015

This tour went to the turtle farm, the town of hell and the rum factory. All were very enjoyable along with the tour of the island. This island is very beautiful and we would love to go back to it even if not on a cruise. This tour was advertised as a 2 1/2 hour tour but barely made it to 2 hours. Did not feel it was worth the money and would do a non cruise line tour if we ever went back.

Read wsx99's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mffletcher
5 reviews
Jan 2015

Have been here 3 times previously. 4 ships in port, beach was out of the question with so many ships. Went into town and found an Island Tour for $15 in an AC bus. WEnt to "Hell" whichone needs to see the "rocks" which I was not aware of and why this place is called "Hell". The Rum factory was just a rum outlet andhad free rum cake and rum tasting. On the waer, nice view. Dolphin Encounter vist, great, clean facilitiy. Watched part of a dophin show, no admission, no donations which surprises me based on the good condition. The "Turtle Farm" was available but it had a $10 admission charge and the stop was just about 20 minutes.

Tour was about 2 hours long and worth the $15. Back in Port had a couple of drinks at the Tiki bar before going back to the ship.

Read mffletcher's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Sharonfire
1 review
Jan 2015

This tour was a bus ride around the island. The bus driver took a lot of time showing us things that were not part of the itinerary. While I"m sure some people appreciate the effort it took for the driver to add a few stops, I felt it took precious time away from the places we actually wanted to see. We felt very rushed at each stop and barely had time to snap a few pictures before we had to get back on the bus.

Read Sharonfire's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rich8862
1 review
Dec 2014

Lovely place to visit. The island tour was very informative and the stops were good. We've visited "Hell" and the "Tortuga Rum Factory", quite enjoyable.

Read rich8862's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.