Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Grand Cayman Hell Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Hell cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit Hell -- a group of short, black, limestone formations located in Grand Cayman. It’s touristy, but it’s a must-do (and a great photo op for your cruise scrapbook).
Member Image allybean
1 review
Nov 2014

It was rushed, and with the time frame we could have spent more time at each place, but I still loved it! Dennis was our tour leader and he was GREAT! I had a good time doing the 3 geocaches here, and would have liked visiting the area longer.

Read allybean's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvin-turtle farm and hell
Member Image Tobias10
2 reviews
Mar 2014

Nothing special about this stop except the name. two tiny shops to buy junk and post cards in and the post office to mail your cards from.

Read Tobias10's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image virgintraveller
1 review
Feb 2014

Hell & The Lava Formations were very interesting. A great place to mail a letter home with the “Hell” postmark from the Hell post office; or have your passport stamped. The selection of t shirts etc. was very good.

Read virgintraveller's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dispachcops
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

For only $75 bucks per person we did Hell, Turtle farm, Rum Cake Factory, Stingray City, and snorkeling. The Stingrays were awesome and so was the turtles. Hell and Rum Cake Factory could be missed if needed...

Hell was a 20 min tourist trap stop.

Read dispachcops's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Cayman Adventure Tours
Member Image edeel5
1 review
Dec 2013

Hell was okay. Of course I sent myself a postcard from Hell.

Read edeel5's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image robsmom
3 reviews
Dec 2013

Silly stop. Tourist junk shop. Waste of time.

Read robsmom's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image NCSuz
3 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Hell was part of the Land & Sea tour. Honestly, Hell is the primary reason I chose this cruise and this particular tour. I learned about Hell in a high school geography class and it has been on my bucket list 20+ years. I'm the kind of person when enjoys goofy tourist attractions like Foamhenge in Virginia so Hell was great to me, silly and fun.

Read NCSuz's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image niteshift
1 review
Jul 2013

Grand Cayman is beautiful. Very clean. Tour was great!! The Nautilus was fantastic, lots of fish to see!! We also enjoyed Hell; we sent a postcard home! The Turtle Farm was great. We had an informative guide. We also got a nice tour of the town as we drove from place to place. Rum factory was crowded; unfortunately we experienced a crowd making a meal out of the free samples!! But I must admit the rum fudge was tasty! The view and water behind the rum factory, was like glass. BEAUTIFUL!!! We would definitely visit this port again.

Read niteshift's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Frugalman
1 review
Apr 2013
Not worth the excursion.
Read Frugalman's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image candyman53
1 review
Mar 2013
This excursion cost the same as the Cruise Lines one. They just went Stingray on a junkie boat and back 2 1/2 hours. Captain Marvins-We went faster, nicer boat. More Stingray interaction, plus another snorkeling stop, and trip to Tortuga Rum Factory and Hell for only 8 bucks more.5 hours
Read candyman53's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sweetnesscruises
1 review
Feb 2013
Kinda neat. It's a very short stop. Picture ops and able to say we have been to Hell and Back. Hell Yeah!
Read sweetnesscruises's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image tysona
2 reviews
Feb 2013
was booked off the ship when we arrived. not the best tour we have been on as we have been here before. but it was o.K for $20
Read tysona's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image LLA68
1 review
Feb 2013
Cool rock formations but if you buy something in the gift shop, check your receipt as 3 people on our tour where overcharged.
Read LLA68's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 4daDA
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2013
Was a different location, smaller than expected, but was OK. The actual site was impressive, with a couple of shops and post office nearby.
Read 4daDA's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image WooPigCruiser
1 review
Jan 2013
Hell was an interesting place to get your passport stamped and mail a postcard back home.
Read WooPigCruiser's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image doomisdelicious
1 review
Jan 2013
I give this a 5+ not because of the place, but because of the overall experience provided by Captain Marvin's Watersports. They're funny, they're educational--they're great.
Read doomisdelicious's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvin's Watersports
Member Image BODICERIPPER
1 review
Jan 2013
Part of a bus tour. Very interesting fossilized coral formations, but that's about it. Charming little stores at this site, but a bit pushy trying to convince us to buy something. Friendly folks though.
Read BODICERIPPER's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ladyhawk415
1 review
Jan 2013
Definitely a tourist trap, but the limestone field BEHIND the building is eerily beautiful. You can send a postcard from the shop there postmarked from "HELL". Hopefully this will be my only time in hell. :)
Read ladyhawk415's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Nsteerage
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Interesting rock formations, crowded gift shop, but welcome bathroom break.
Read Nsteerage's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ercbman
1 review
Dec 2012
Nothing with nothing. Looked like a cheap amusement park with old wooden signs.
Read ercbman's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Crew News
3 reviews
Nov 2012
Great pictures that can be over saturated to look like Hell.
Read Crew News's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image vips_va
1 review
Sep 2012
Interesting rock formation, and a store of souvenirs and cheap gifts.
Read vips_va's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ETSY
1 review
Jul 2012
Wednesday was the 4th of July and we had a ball! We were in Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands. The shuttles were lined up as we disembarked and our group got a great deal. The shuttle driver was nice and took us around on a tour. He was so nice that we were able to give him a time to come back and get us and he was right on time.
Read ETSY's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Maxine615
1 review
Jun 2012
Interesting but exploited area of a erosion. Looks like a miniature Bryce Canyon with oddly shaped pinnacles. Worth seeing.
Read Maxine615's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image NanaJag3
1 review
May 2012
You don't get a lot of time, but really you don't need it. There is a post office, a few shops and black mean looking rocks... Pass
Read NanaJag3's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image gloryfun12
1 review
Apr 2012
it was different but not a place i would go back to
Read gloryfun12's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Sasha22
1 review
Apr 2012
I wasn't too impressed with the island.
Read Sasha22's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image iaminadaze
1 review
Mar 2012
Tiny.
Read iaminadaze's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image stonemanor
2 reviews
Feb 2012
We made a very short visit to Hell and while not outstanding, it was still interesting. Had some souvenir shops and we were able to purchase drinks, shirts, etc. and postcards that could be mailed from Hell to the people back home.
Read stonemanor's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image derekjp47
5 reviews
Feb 2012
Not a whole lot to it, except to say you have been to hell and back
Read derekjp47's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tfmd
1 review
Feb 2012
Tourist trap. Interesting (for about 30 seconds) above water coral formations, and a great place to buy a Tee-Shirt that says "I went to HELL and back". Otherwise a waste of time.
Read tfmd's full Costa Atlantica cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image mactrio
1 review
Feb 2012
It was ok, the store is small but stocked with lots of mdse and the devil was very friendly.
Read mactrio's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image pjtakk
2 reviews
Jan 2012
WE traveled on a small uncomfortable bus to the "castle" where the Caymanian constitution was written. It was interesting. Then we went to Hell, which was ok. We sent post cards. The bus then took us to a beach for an hour.
Read pjtakk's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Jonk67
1 review
Feb 2011
The lava formations at Hell were interesting, and my children got a kick out of sending postcards from there to friends.
Read Jonk67's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.