Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) Mekong Delta Cruise Excursion Reviews

Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) Mekong Delta Cruise cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Travel inland from Ho Chi Minh City for an introduction to the fertile Mekong Delta region via river cruise.
Member Image helenls
2 reviews
Feb 2013
This was an excellent tour except for the portion in the small rowing boat. Boat access and egress were tricky and difficult. There were also no life preservers or safety precautions.
Read helenls's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image paul reynolds
2 reviews
Feb 2013
On the second day we visited the Mekong with a long coach journey but well worth the effort. A cruise on the Delta, a visit to a factory making honey and processing coconut by products preceded a ride by pony and trap through the villages and ended with ride in a punt back to the quay where our boat was waiting. This was followed by a delightful lunch in a local restaurant.
Read paul reynolds's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Taxwatcher
1 review
Jan 2013
Interesting tour of islands and markets. Long drive but worth it.
Read Taxwatcher's full Seabourn Pride cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image alexandra cruiser
6 reviews
Dec 2012

7 day cruise on AMAlotus was great.Good food,fantastic staff,informative tour guides.

Read alexandra cruiser's full AmaLotus cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image calgal729
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Mekong Delta cruise was OK but wouldnt repeat, there really wasnt much to see except a touristy candy making store and fake canoe river trip.
Read calgal729's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Smile tours
Member Image bromyardbell
1 review
Jun 2012
An interesting day but a long one. Not what I expected; I envisaged mangrove swamps and deserted riverbanks on a calm but wide river delta. What we got was a very choppy river ride to an island where we had a sampan ride and lunch, which we enjoyed. Plus of course the compulsory factory and markets. I don't mind contributing to the local economy so I prefer to buy from the locals, but these factories seem so commercial I doubt any locals benefit!
Read bromyardbell's full Dawn Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Lassiepoo
1 review
Apr 2012
This took FAR to long to get to. 3 hours each way to ride briefly on the river (in the city - not the least bit remote), a stop at a true tourist trap. We were fed honey tea and local fruits which were very good but the little sampan ride felt so much like Disneyland, a fellow traveller wondered whether we'd be able to see the rails! Despite this, the lunch was incredible! (Be sure to like seafood if you plan on going to Asia).
Read Lassiepoo's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image aussiegirl51
1 review
Mar 2012
We both did this trip and it was quite disappointing. The brochure said a 30 minute cruise on the river and also a visit to an Island. We went across from the jetty onto the island and it was all about selling their wares. The only good part was the boat ride back 0off the Island. Not value for money
Read aussiegirl51's full Costa Classica cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.