Grand Cayman Dolphin Swim Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Dolphin Swim cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy a dynamic dolphin swim enclosed in the pristine waters that surround Grand Cayman.
Member Image todd2ski
1 review
Mar 2017
We got off to a rough start. Getting off the ship was beginning to shows signs of being an Epic fail but once we got off the ship @ 11:45 am things went pretty smooth and we had an amazing day. The Dolphin swim was a once in a lifetime experience. We were in a small group and it was well organized. The trainer and Capernico were great hosts. We did not get all of our photos that we paid for. It was a great day however it was just way to short. We felt a little rushed on this day.
Read todd2ski's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Gerusa
1 review
Mar 2017
It was ok, very commercialized, felt like we were channeled through the experience the most efficient way possible. I did it because it was my 10 year old's dream to swim with a dolphin and they wouldn't allow her in the water by herself. No photos allowed, you have to lock all your belongs into a locker and then basically all you do is smile for the camera in various positions with the dolphin. It was over fast and then they rip you of if you want any pictures. They will deal if you hesitate for a package for two persons (last offer $100 instead of $140, I should have insisted on trying to deal for a package of just one as well, but it was still $70 for a cd of mostly bad pictures since we were all squinting against the sun, no sunglasses or hats allowed, only prescription glasses. They watch you like a hawk so you don't take pictures of the computer screen images. The dolphin trainer who worked with our group was nice, he had remembered all of our names by the end of the program. We had booked the dolphin push, pull and swim but it didn't seem very much that we did: hold out our hand and touch the dolphin while it swims by, kiss the dolphin, dance with the dolphin holding its fins, then get pulled by the dolphin and then dolphin pushed your feet out of the water while you hold on to a buggy board.
Read Gerusa's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image KristineLTN
1 review
Mar 2017
Lots of fun! It was a beautiful, clean area and the dolphin was so sweet.
Read KristineLTN's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Dboltin
1 review
Mar 2017
This was the highlight of our vacation. My wife has always wanted to swim with dolphins and we were able to check this off her bucket list. Word to the wise. Don't go cheap on the dolphin swim. Spend the extra money for the more expensive package. You will get to interact more with the dolphins.
Read Dboltin's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mikeaa86
1 review
Jan 2017
Awesome experience. Photos were not allowed to be taken. They will sell you theirs at $50/person. Can talk them down but they're still too expensive.
Read mikeaa86's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cruiserten
1 review
Jan 2017
Was a great experience. Kids loved it!
Read Cruiserten's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bdrsuccess
1 review
Dec 2016
Expensive but worth it, one of the best dolphin experiences. Bargain them down on photo package. Stingrays were amazing.
Read bdrsuccess's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Hermodson
1 review
Dec 2016
An unique and enjoyable experience that the kids loved and we enjoyed (as adults). The for purchase photos are expensive.
Read Hermodson's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image CaseyJoJo
1 review
Dec 2016
Giving this three stars, because it's a racket to get money. Went to Dolphin Discovery. Usually on excursions, you have one guide, but I felt like we were passed off to a lot of people. You CANNOT take a camera in - don't even try it. Someone in our group had one and they said these people aren't doing anything till they give up the camera. Wow! I'm glad it wasn't my family. The dolphin swim is a bucket list thing, but to have to pay $200 for pictures. Sorry - not good.
Read CaseyJoJo's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wayfarer001
1 review
Oct 2016
It was cool to watch the dolphins
Read wayfarer001's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dsky227@comcast.net
1 review
Aug 2016
A lot of people diss this excursion 'cause you can't take your own pictures and hence, if you want photo memories, you have to buy from them... and its true, those photos aren't cheap. Just know that going into the event. We had a fabulous time interacting with the dolphins. I don't have words to adequately describe the opportunity to have that kind of interaction. Booking with RCI was kinda key. To get to Grand Cayman, you have to get on a smaller boat called a tender. RCI gives priority boarding on the tenders to folks who book shore excursions through RCI. It probably didn't matter; but it certainly provided some peace of mind. And getting an early tender allowed us to explore a little bit before the excursion began. We enjoyed getting a coconut from a street vendor who was hacking away at them with a machette. After the dolphin swim, I wanted to go to the turtle farm across the street but the rest of the fam wanted to hang on the beach. So, per the recommendation of someone from dolphin swim (who skateboards like my kid) we went to the Royal Palms Club (or something like that) via public bus. It was $2/pp to get access to the beach, $10/chair and $15/umbrella. I thought it was a little ridiculous. We recognized fellow cruisers there and shared a cab back to the tender.
Read dsky227@comcast.net's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Slmcbride
1 review
Jul 2016
The experience was awesome! The picture that were available for purchase was ridiculous in the prices! One 4X6 picture was $38 and to purchase a CD of all pictures was $ 240. We did not buy any pictures at those prices and you are not able to take your own pictures, so we have nothing to remember this excursion. We purchased a soda which cost $3/bottle.
Read Slmcbride's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image davidoh2010@yahoo.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Good but short.
Read davidoh2010@yahoo.com's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jakeshunny
1 review
Jul 2016
Our 12-year old granddaughter did the Deluxe Dolphin Swim and it was wonderful. I highly recommend the top rated choice bc the swimmer gets to experience all the activities with the dolphins plus the group is smaller.
Read Jakeshunny's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: booked at the dolphin swim
Member Image likeitornot777@yahoo.com
1 review
Jun 2016
The Dolphin swim is HIGHLY recommended :)
Read likeitornot777@yahoo.com's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jroberge54@hotmail.com
1 review
May 2016
very pleasant experience. Very well maintained facilities and great staff who wanted to make sure that you will enjoy your experience.
Read jroberge54@hotmail.com's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Costco Travel
Member Image JuanitaRogers
1 review
May 2016
The Dolphin Swim was the highlight of this entire cruise.
Read JuanitaRogers's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image raleprice
1 review
May 2016
Amazing, intimate swim with the dolphins. Expensive, but worth it. Can't take a camera, so had to buy their very pricey photos. Get the CD, bring them all home. They are exceptional pictures
Read raleprice's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image DavenMarz
1 review
Apr 2016
Great excursion - belly swim with dolphin was awesome
Read DavenMarz's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image phelp1ma
2 reviews
Jan 2016
The Dolphin Swim and Stingray encounter was awesome but with all the waiting around the excursion will take up all of your time in the port.
Read phelp1ma's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ommax2
2 reviews
Dec 2015
Other than the usual complaint of price gauging at photo purchase time, it was great!
Read ommax2's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JChoudhary
1 review
Dec 2015
Daughter did this, she really enjoyed it, although the staff there was a bit rude. Because I did not go in the water, it was dirty lagoon water, I got a refund.
Read JChoudhary's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jennywenny
1 review
Nov 2015
exciting experience and enjoyed also the sting ray sandbar. beautiful
Read jennywenny's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image IanB74
1 review
Aug 2015
After riding a tender from the ship, you take a bus out to Dolphin City. Our excursion did the Stingray Encounter first....so you then get on another boat where they take you out to a shallow spot where the stingrays are and let you off the boat to pet, kiss and get a back rub from a Stingray. We had done a lot of Stingray encounters at Sea Worlds and Zoos we have been to, so other than the back rub, it was "old hat". Still, it was a beautiful spot, and just getting out and swimming in the water was awesome. They have photos for sale, you can get a couple of prints or just get them all e-mailed to you for $60, which sounds like a lot, but continue reading. Then we rode back to Dolphin City for our Dolphin swim. The experience was amazing, a once in a lifetime type thing. You get to pet the Dolphin, touch it's belly, and then it will pull you through the water on it's belly. Very fun, something the kids will always remember. No cameras are allowed, so you have to buy their photos. You can pick and choose the photos you want, or get them all on disk for a whopping $160. I expected to pay an exorbitant amount, but not quite that bad. Of course, I hadn't yet priced photos on the ship at this point, and realized how expensive getting photos of this vacation was going to be! I had promised to get the pictures, though, so I went through with it. Overall, we really enjoyed it, though.
Read IanB74's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image leejero
1 review
Jul 2015
Captured dolphins taking pictures kissing and riding with you. Will NOT do this ever again. Feel sad for these dolphins that are captured. Some had scratches on the sides and don't seem happy. They also want you to buy their photos to make more money off you, won't let you take your own photos.
Read leejero's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?