Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Though a long drive from port, Ho Chi Minh City is the largest city in Vietnam and rife with things to see and do.
Member Image Cc cruisers
1 review
Oct 2016
Booked with ship transfer to city. Two and half ours from port. We visited all the tourist places. War museum was highlight.Had seven hours in city which we found too long (also a lot of other travellers said same)
Read Cc cruisers's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Jennyhays
1 review
Oct 2016
Bus group of 20 people. Highlights covered, includied a cyclo tour through the city traffic - an experience for sure. Full day for $85 US each.
Read Jennyhays's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Smile Tours
Member Image SMCruiseControl
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Guide was pleasant and knowledgeable. It's a long drive from Phu My to Saigon, but fortunately, on a Sunday, we did not encounter much traffic. Saw the temple, the cathedral (exterior only), the palace (thorough tour), the museum (a different perspective of the war than we had), and the zoo. Also had a sumptuous buffet lunch at a nice hotel with lots of local foods to try.
Read SMCruiseControl's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pipandcol
1 review
Oct 2016
Too rushed
Read pipandcol's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Karen3500
1 review
Oct 2016
We got to see lots of the city and our guide was very informative.
Read Karen3500's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ETdreamer
4 reviews
Sep 2016
A good overview of the highlights of the city.
Read ETdreamer's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image darkpelagic
3 reviews
Sep 2016
The tour was basically a bus ride into Ho Chi Minh city - you then did your own thing. I'm rating it as average because it was only 4.5 hours and not nearly enough time - though the distance of the port makes any longer difficult. It really is a 1.5 hour ride to Ho Chi Minh. The Phu My port is not really satisfactory. I wish ships still docked at Vung Tau.
Read darkpelagic's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image oddstuff
1 review
Sep 2016
Saw the old and the new. Nice
Read oddstuff's full Viking Mekong cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Rgm1953
3 reviews
Aug 2016
A 1.5 hour drive to the city from the ship. We had a couple of hours on our own which was great. Our bus guide gave us good information and we visited the main attractions and got a good overview. Would definitely go back and spend some more time.
Read Rgm1953's full Dawn Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image gogetter2
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Interesting for short trips and a fun way to stretch legs
Read gogetter2's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 54Aussie
1 review
Jun 2016
This proved to be a bit expensive for a city tour especially as Ho Chi Minh is around 2 hours by bus from where the ship docked.
Read 54Aussie's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Holly2
7 reviews
Feb 2016
Usually have good experiences with private tours but this tour with Private Asia was disappointing. Did not get to go to Cathedral or City Hall because tbe driver headed back to port early. Did do Cyclo ride and market.
Read Holly2's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Private Asia tours
Member Image housemartin
3 reviews
Jan 2016
Private local guide with a love for the city that came across in all he did
Read housemartin's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Saigon Touring (Zoom)
Member Image Traveller32
1 review
Dec 2015
Far away from city
Read Traveller32's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bobeteebob
1 review
Nov 2015
Walked out of the port gate to find another operator who charged far less than Celebrity
Read bobeteebob's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image spandance
3 reviews
Oct 2015
quite interesting but not worth the money
Read spandance's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LiSoRi
1 review
Oct 2015
This time we took the excursion from the cruise, it was good. The guide was very nice and she explained a lot of things about culture, work, food....
Read LiSoRi's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rrensink
1 review
Oct 2015
I really don't feel like we saw much of Vietnam, and definitely didn't feel like we got much fo the culture. We saw reunification Hall, a chinese temple, and a market. The lunch was great, however. It was probably the best meal of the cruise.
Read rrensink's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pc1949
5 reviews
Oct 2015
Really good eye opener and got to see a lot.
Read pc1949's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Friscojoyce
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Bus tour around Ho Chi Minh City and Cholon. Just a big city. Lots of construction.
Read Friscojoyce's full Viking Mekong cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image divad61
4 reviews
Aug 2015
It was fine. Included Reunification Palace, and that's mainly what we wanted to see.
Read divad61's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image The Cruising Golfer
1 review
Jun 2015
Very average. Over promised and under delivered.
Read The Cruising Golfer's full Quantum of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image highlander150
1 review
Jun 2015
Guide was took every opportunity to insult Americans.
Read highlander150's full Quantum of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image possum52
1 review
Mar 2015
We loved this tour and our guide was excellent. The venues we visited were interesting - the Reunification Palace, a temple, a museum where we saw a water puppet production which was lovely, visited a laquerware factory and were driven past the Cathedral and post office, had a walk around the area where the Continental Hotel (Graham Green was a famous guest), the opera house and the city hall are all situated.
Read possum52's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SirHorse
1 review
Mar 2015
Located 2 hours from the harbour at Phu My, the city of Saigon is a must-see. The tour was excellently executed, presenting both cultural heritage, colonialism, the war and the 'tiger economy' that is about to change the city. Do visit Saigon now!
Read SirHorse's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?