Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Though a long drive from port, Ho Chi Minh City is the largest city in Vietnam and rife with things to see and do.
Member Image AWHW
15 reviews
Dec 2016
Good excursion, much to see in this vibrant city, including night life.
Read AWHW's full SuperStar Virgo cruise review
Provider: Star Cruises
Member Image pattycake323
1 review
Dec 2016
Good trip with lunch included incl of a few beers
Read pattycake323's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Zoom Dung
Member Image Hockey friend
1 review
Dec 2016
excellent private tour with a private family traditional 7 course meal at Pauls country farm Highly recommended
Read Hockey friend's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Paul Rowe Vung Tu Tours
Member Image Lifeisgood1005
1 review
Dec 2016
Great tour, great city - really enjoyed our selves - we are planning a longer trip there.
Read Lifeisgood1005's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Longfield
1 review
Dec 2016
Good oversight to the city.
Read Longfield's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image gemini19
2 reviews
Dec 2016
I thought this would be a tour of colonial and historic saigon but was disappointed. 5 stops - a temple (very very smoky due to incense; quick stop not much info needed air. next stop a shop to shop for painting and woodwork - very nice shop quality of work nice. Repartition place - nice history of vietnam but hot and very narrow only one person down a hallway at a time. next stop post office - you will get bugged by the people for cards, souvenirs, and knock off bags. Lunch at the Lion City restaurant - buffet lunch was cold and too many people picking over food not clean enough for me only ate the spring rolls not good. Met up but had to wait for the bus due to traffic and again met with the people selling knock offs right in front of the real store. Next stop a zoo - not worth it I dont even know if there were animals there very short stop about 30 minutes. Back to ship and I was done with celebrity shore excursions.
Read gemini19's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Russ4Joy
1 review
Dec 2016
Best shore experience of the trip. We were given an excellent experience with this company including experiences not provided by the cruise line.
Read Russ4Joy's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Vietnam Private Tours
Member Image kdtodd
2 reviews
Nov 2016
fun to see everything we saw on TV during the war. Great experience
Read kdtodd's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Jurdie
1 review
Nov 2016
Definitely worth doing this excursion, tour guide, the lunch provided and the places visited were excellent.
Read Jurdie's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HappyHombre
1 review
Nov 2016
The city is about 1h 15m drive. We decided to go on the shuttle bus organised by the cruise liner. We had 4 1/2 hours in the city. It was not enough. The city attractions close from 11:00 to 1:30. This limits the number of attractions you can see. The city is clean, generally un-crowded (other than traffic), and easy to get around. I recommend getting the cruise line shuttle. We met some people that organised a taxi at the port. They saved a little bit but it was a hassle and they had less time in Saigon.
Read HappyHombre's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Cruiser Critique
1 review
Nov 2016
It was OK. Some interesting sights. Excellent, informative guide.
Read Cruiser Critique's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image u241799
1 review
Nov 2016
Saigon is a must to have a professional guide
Read u241799's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Cc cruisers
1 review
Oct 2016
Booked with ship transfer to city. Two and half ours from port. We visited all the tourist places. War museum was highlight.Had seven hours in city which we found too long (also a lot of other travellers said same)
Read Cc cruisers's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Jennyhays
1 review
Oct 2016
Bus group of 20 people. Highlights covered, includied a cyclo tour through the city traffic - an experience for sure. Full day for $85 US each.
Read Jennyhays's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Smile Tours
Member Image SMCruiseControl
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Guide was pleasant and knowledgeable. It's a long drive from Phu My to Saigon, but fortunately, on a Sunday, we did not encounter much traffic. Saw the temple, the cathedral (exterior only), the palace (thorough tour), the museum (a different perspective of the war than we had), and the zoo. Also had a sumptuous buffet lunch at a nice hotel with lots of local foods to try.
Read SMCruiseControl's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pipandcol
1 review
Oct 2016
Too rushed
Read pipandcol's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Karen3500
1 review
Oct 2016
We got to see lots of the city and our guide was very informative.
Read Karen3500's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ETdreamer
4 reviews
Sep 2016
A good overview of the highlights of the city.
Read ETdreamer's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image darkpelagic
3 reviews
Sep 2016
The tour was basically a bus ride into Ho Chi Minh city - you then did your own thing. I'm rating it as average because it was only 4.5 hours and not nearly enough time - though the distance of the port makes any longer difficult. It really is a 1.5 hour ride to Ho Chi Minh. The Phu My port is not really satisfactory. I wish ships still docked at Vung Tau.
Read darkpelagic's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image oddstuff
1 review
Sep 2016
Saw the old and the new. Nice
Read oddstuff's full Viking Mekong cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Rgm1953
3 reviews
Aug 2016
A 1.5 hour drive to the city from the ship. We had a couple of hours on our own which was great. Our bus guide gave us good information and we visited the main attractions and got a good overview. Would definitely go back and spend some more time.
Read Rgm1953's full Dawn Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image gogetter2
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Interesting for short trips and a fun way to stretch legs
Read gogetter2's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 54Aussie
1 review
Jun 2016
This proved to be a bit expensive for a city tour especially as Ho Chi Minh is around 2 hours by bus from where the ship docked.
Read 54Aussie's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Holly2
8 reviews
Feb 2016
Usually have good experiences with private tours but this tour with Private Asia was disappointing. Did not get to go to Cathedral or City Hall because tbe driver headed back to port early. Did do Cyclo ride and market.
Read Holly2's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Private Asia tours
Member Image housemartin
3 reviews
Jan 2016
Private local guide with a love for the city that came across in all he did
Read housemartin's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Saigon Touring (Zoom)

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?