Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Though a long drive from port, Ho Chi Minh City is the largest city in Vietnam and rife with things to see and do.
Member Image gogetter2
1 review
Jun 2016
Interesting for short trips and a fun way to stretch legs
Read gogetter2's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 54Aussie
1 review
Jun 2016
This proved to be a bit expensive for a city tour especially as Ho Chi Minh is around 2 hours by bus from where the ship docked.
Read 54Aussie's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Holly2
7 reviews
Feb 2016
Usually have good experiences with private tours but this tour with Private Asia was disappointing. Did not get to go to Cathedral or City Hall because tbe driver headed back to port early. Did do Cyclo ride and market.
Read Holly2's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Private Asia tours
Member Image housemartin
2 reviews
Jan 2016
Private local guide with a love for the city that came across in all he did
Read housemartin's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Saigon Touring (Zoom)
Member Image Traveller32
1 review
Dec 2015
Far away from city
Read Traveller32's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bobeteebob
1 review
Nov 2015
Walked out of the port gate to find another operator who charged far less than Celebrity
Read bobeteebob's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image spandance
2 reviews
Oct 2015
quite interesting but not worth the money
Read spandance's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LiSoRi
1 review
Oct 2015
This time we took the excursion from the cruise, it was good. The guide was very nice and she explained a lot of things about culture, work, food....
Read LiSoRi's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rrensink
1 review
Oct 2015
I really don't feel like we saw much of Vietnam, and definitely didn't feel like we got much fo the culture. We saw reunification Hall, a chinese temple, and a market. The lunch was great, however. It was probably the best meal of the cruise.
Read rrensink's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pc1949
5 reviews
Oct 2015
Really good eye opener and got to see a lot.
Read pc1949's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Friscojoyce
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Bus tour around Ho Chi Minh City and Cholon. Just a big city. Lots of construction.
Read Friscojoyce's full Viking Mekong cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image divad61
4 reviews
Aug 2015
It was fine. Included Reunification Palace, and that's mainly what we wanted to see.
Read divad61's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image The Cruising Golfer
1 review
Jun 2015
Very average. Over promised and under delivered.
Read The Cruising Golfer's full Quantum of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image highlander150
1 review
Jun 2015
Guide was took every opportunity to insult Americans.
Read highlander150's full Quantum of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image possum52
1 review
Mar 2015
We loved this tour and our guide was excellent. The venues we visited were interesting - the Reunification Palace, a temple, a museum where we saw a water puppet production which was lovely, visited a laquerware factory and were driven past the Cathedral and post office, had a walk around the area where the Continental Hotel (Graham Green was a famous guest), the opera house and the city hall are all situated.
Read possum52's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SirHorse
1 review
Mar 2015
Located 2 hours from the harbour at Phu My, the city of Saigon is a must-see. The tour was excellently executed, presenting both cultural heritage, colonialism, the war and the 'tiger economy' that is about to change the city. Do visit Saigon now!
Read SirHorse's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image howardrd
3 reviews
Mar 2015
Did the "Saigon on your own". It was busy, spread out and extremely hot and we possibly wasted quite a bit of time. With hindsight should have perhaps taken a tour thay was guided throughout.
Read howardrd's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image merrygoround
1 review
Mar 2015
A pit stop of several places, good overview of the City, a few people were struggling with the walking & on &off coach so beware if you have an issues with mobility.
Read merrygoround's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image spy53
3 reviews
Feb 2015
A well run and inexpensoive tour in whch we saw so much in so little time, even though we did not feel rushed. We were part of a small party and given the places we saw, the day was enjoyable, the trishaw ride to the politcally set up war museum was teriffic. Lunch was also excellent and the timings for the whole day were adhered to.
Read spy53's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Smile Tours Service Int. Co., Ltd
Member Image 2903happy
4 reviews
Feb 2015
This part of Vietnam is very poor and densely populated. Crossing the road is a hair raising experience. We had a tri shore ride through the city to the war memorial, and red lights are only a suggestion. We visited some temples and didn't enjoy the shopping experiences here.
Read 2903happy's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cyba
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

In Vietnam the ship docks at Phu My which is a container port roughly 1.5 hours from HCMC/Saigon. There is nothing much around there so it’s best to pre-arrange your tours. We booked with Zoom who was great guide for Saigon (dungzoom@gmail.com). We thoroughly enjoyed his tour which took us to Chinatown, a lacquerware workshop, the War Remnants Museum, Independence Palace, Notre Dame, great coffee at the Rex Hotel and a lunch at Pho 2000 where President Cliniton dined in 2000.

Read cyba's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Steve East Sussex
1 review
Feb 2014

Very different from Hanoi - appearred to be much more prosperous and with, surprising to us, much more communist propaganda. The presidential palace complete with the tanks that broke through the gates at the end of the Vietnam war was a major site.

Read Steve East Sussex's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image megandav
1 review
Mar 2013
guide on bus was extremely knowledgable and give a very informative explanation of South Vietnam
Read megandav's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image AnnieB22
1 review
Feb 2013
Long day but interesting points visited. as ever though- obligatory 'shopping experience' is truly irritating
Read AnnieB22's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image helenls
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Many of the shops were closed due to Tet. The only interesting sight was the old post office. It would have been nice to have seen more of the old colonial buildings and notable neighborhoods. We should have taken the Cu Chi Tunnels tour.
Read helenls's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.