Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Though a long drive from port, Ho Chi Minh City is the largest city in Vietnam and rife with things to see and do.
Member Image Steve East Sussex
1 review
Feb 2014

Very different from Hanoi - appearred to be much more prosperous and with, surprising to us, much more communist propaganda. The presidential palace complete with the tanks that broke through the gates at the end of the Vietnam war was a major site.

Read Steve East Sussex's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image megandav
1 review
Mar 2013
guide on bus was extremely knowledgable and give a very informative explanation of South Vietnam
Read megandav's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image AnnieB22
1 review
Feb 2013
Long day but interesting points visited. as ever though- obligatory 'shopping experience' is truly irritating
Read AnnieB22's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image helenls
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Many of the shops were closed due to Tet. The only interesting sight was the old post office. It would have been nice to have seen more of the old colonial buildings and notable neighborhoods. We should have taken the Cu Chi Tunnels tour.
Read helenls's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Annie1959
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Presidential palace was interesting. Ho hum on the Notre Dame cathedral & post office. Lacquerware shopping stop was interesting & expensive.
Read Annie1959's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image paul reynolds
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Although we were overnight in Saigon the ship did not dock until lunchtime and therefore limited time on the first day but a visit around the city with various stops was very enlightening once one got used to the traffic.
Read paul reynolds's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Taxwatcher
1 review
Jan 2013
Very interesting city tour. French influence noteworthy. Presidential Palace may be a skip unless you are really interested in 1960s architecture.
Read Taxwatcher's full Seabourn Pride cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image Karen Anne
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2012
nice modern CLEAN city. would revisit this place
Read Karen Anne's full Aegean Odyssey cruise review
Provider: Voyages to Antiquity
Member Image alexandra cruiser
6 reviews
Dec 2012

Bus tour of city with stops at major tourist sites.

Read alexandra cruiser's full AmaLotus cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image calgal729
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Really loved the city tour and was able to see many highlights of the city, however, our tour guides english was not very good so we werent able to ask many questions.
Read calgal729's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Smile tours
Member Image Steph27
6 reviews
Dec 2012
We booked a tour from our Celebrity Roll call with Smile. The tour had 10 people and we were picked up on the first day and brought to Saigon and then on the second day had a tour and returned to the ship. The Smile tour was just ok. They brought us to a lacquer store when we arrived in Saigon which was not on the itinerary. We left and went to our hotel instead by taxi. The Smile guide hardly explained anything and also decided we should skip the Bin Tay market but we insisted on going there and he relented. We saw the Reunification Palace, Notre Dame Cathedral, post office and the history museum. Our last stop was the Ben Thanh market. Saigon is a sea of motorcycles. I hired my own private guide from Viator for the first day and we spent the day shopping. We had a great time. My favorite store was Khai Silk. We had lunch at the Temple Club and then followed that up with Ice Cream at Fanny's downstairs. The ice cream is all natural and yummy! We went to a water puppet show the first night and enjoyed the 45 minute performance but would not lose sleep over missing it. We stayed at the Saigon Nikko Hotel. It was nice but we would have been better off at the Sheraton which is closer to town.
Read Steph27's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: 2 tours, one with Viator and the other with Smile
Member Image B55
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Preferred Hanoi for its authenticity but Saigon is nice enough and very interesting to see. From the point of view that it has more designer label shops in this communist run country than I have seen anywhere else in the world.
Read B55's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image seekAdventures
1 review
Oct 2012
Loved this tour!!! It takes about a good 2 hour bus ride to get to Ho Chi Minh City, but the ride is very interesting. You drive along some rice paddies and see the locals (who were all very friendly and waved at us) on their mopeds. The tour guide was very good. Very informative. We saw a lot of interesting things. Lunch was included and was the most delicious meal we had in those 14 days of the cruise. I highly recommend to take any tour in Vietnam.
Read seekAdventures's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wolfegizmo
1 review
Oct 2012
Ho Chi Minh was an interesting city! We booked a private tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. An amazing amount of motorbikes were everywhere!! We also saw a lot of poverty and very dangerous electrical wires. A temple, Reunification Hall, Notre Dame, the Post Office, and other general sites were the areas we visited. Also included was a great lunch at the Rex Hotel and time for shopping for local crafts.
Read wolfegizmo's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Duane T
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Before Saigon, we stopped at the beach city of Nha Trang. Both locations were very hot, humid, sticky. The boat ride in Nha Trang offered some respite from the heat and humidity, but the tour was a little disorganized due to the tender system broke up tour groups. We ended up with a mix of people from different tour groups that got separated during the tendering. Saigon is a long busride from the port. That left less than 4 hours in Saigon itself and we only got to go past alot of key sites instead of going inside to visit.
Read Duane T's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image poppetau
1 review
Oct 2012
Good Morning Vietnam (it had to be said) Once again we're off on the 'Saigon on your own' (well with 6 million others) style tour. Our guide was very helpful, and we hit the town. You can see a fair bit of Saigon by foot, and we ticked off the major pictures on our map during the day. Helpful hint on Ben Thanh market- the outer area has fixed price stuff, which was cheap as. I wouldn't bother delving deeper to try and save a few dhong. Sizing is Vietnamese. The Large T-shirt I bought is an Aussie size Small. Brave the Scooters, cross the roads and enjoy a different experience
Read poppetau's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image aussiegirl51
1 review
Mar 2012
I did the city tour and it was interesting but the guide went on about the politics of "the American war" too much.
Read aussiegirl51's full Costa Classica cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image isaacmidnight
1 review
Mar 2012
great guides and generally good vans and drivers with the exception of Singapore where the van was unacceptably small with poor visibility.
Read isaacmidnight's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: ReadyClickandGo.com
Member Image leedscruiser
2 reviews
Feb 2012
As for Bangkok, hot humid and fascinating
Read leedscruiser's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sheila Robson
1 review
Feb 2012
Again a long hot ride to get there - it was OK but I think I'd sooner visit somewhere inland like this on a land tour rather than a cruise.
Read Sheila Robson's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image R&Jcruisers
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2012
Long drive to Ho Chi Min- take plenty of cold water with you. Not much time in city but we went to the War Remnants Museum. Would have like to go and see the Re unification Hall but ran out of time. At the drop off point ,The Tax Trade Centre,or maybe next door, there is a coffee shop upstairs on the 2nd floor. You can get refreshing drinks before you star you day. Great place to eat lunch is Pho 24 - noodle soup. Tasty soups at great prices.
Read R&Jcruisers's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image scottishcat
1 review
Feb 2012
Fascinating, lots to see.
Read scottishcat's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.