Grand Cayman Dolphin Encounter Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Dolphin Encounter cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This is more than just a swim with the dolphins. Witness fun dolphin behaviors that you will never forget; from handshakes to jumps and kisses, there is no telling what the dolphins will do next!
Member Image Robertasteveo
1 review
May 2017
Loved this excursion! It was clean and fun! Carlos and the dolphin Alma were the best!
Read Robertasteveo's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image topaige
1 review
Apr 2017
Loved the dolphins and the beach club afterwards. See my comment on the photos about tender boats.
Read topaige's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image KBoltin
1 review
Mar 2017
The dolphin encounter is one of the most therapeutic excursions I would recommend. It was forever life changing!
Read KBoltin's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image areneed1984
1 review
Feb 2017
Was neat to see the Dolphins perform a small performance. Wish we would have had a better way to watch instead of in a huddle.
Read areneed1984's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dfrauhiger
1 review
Jan 2017
We enjoyed the dolphin encounter. Each person got to kiss a dolphin and dance with it. The dolphin went by us several times and we got to touch it. We missed orientation talk because our guide forgot our group after the turtle farm.
Read dfrauhiger's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image djcoach
1 review
Dec 2016
Boring, boat almost collided with another, picture machine was not working correctly so it took an hour to get the CD we purchased for $200 which cost us and free time to walk around.
Read djcoach's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image josephlena
1 review
Nov 2016
We took the Dolphin Show, Hell & Tortuga Rum Cake excursion. This was good. An easy excursion.
Read josephlena's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Dovie888
2 reviews
Sep 2016
WOW ! They say an experience of a lifetime and they are absolutely right ! Lots of time with the dolphin. Trainer was funny and informative. Very organized and worth every cent !!!
Read Dovie888's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JollyMia
1 review
Aug 2016
Dolphin encounter was very good met a very clever Dolphin called Lucy.
Read JollyMia's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CARNIVALCRUISE3
8 reviews
Jul 2016
I loved it! I highly recommend it!
Read CARNIVALCRUISE3's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JetZetter
1 review
Jul 2016
Excellently done. Though I prefer the "Dolphin Swim" to the "Dolphin Encounter". It was fun and everyone in our group had equal opportunity to play with the dolphin!
Read JetZetter's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rebafischer
1 review
Jul 2016
Our kids did the Push, Pull and Swim with Dolphins and we purchased the Observer tickets as we have done it before. Our excursion also included the Turtle Farm and that was fantastic. Really want to go back to the Turtle Farm. The Dolphin Facility was fairly new, clean and nice.
Read rebafischer's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Silverhand
1 review
Jul 2016
Very good and easy to go by taxi or bus. Taxi 8 dollars per person, 2.5 dollars for bus, basically they look the same.
Read Silverhand's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Dolphin discovery
Member Image kcamp317
2 reviews
May 2016
Grand Cayman is one of my favorite places to go. Dolphin Encounter and sea turtle place are amazing! Great for a family.
Read kcamp317's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 84Cheif
1 review
May 2016
Very good
Read 84Cheif's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 123cwm
1 review
Dec 2015
after a short bus ride we entered the dolphin facility, put our things in lockers, and met our "guide" we were herded to one side of the pools for a "photo op" but the camera was broken so we waited for a while while the switched it. By then were staring straight into the sun. We were then herded to the other side of the pool and got in to interact with our 38 yr old dolphin Luna. We had been told that no sunscreen was allowed with the dolphins and no jewelry either but almost all of the others on our tour used both. We stood int he bright sun as the dolphin swam in front of us so we could reach out and feel her glide beneath our hands. Then she came back and "posed" with each of us for another photo opportunity. We were told to look at the camera the whole time so we couldn't really even see the dolphin or what she was doing when it was our turn to "interact". It felt like one long photo shoot with an old tired dolphin. Then we were herded back out. When we saw our pictures were were shown the package prices. Since there were four of us we could buy the whole package for $250 or we would be 4 poses of the same person for $120 or we could buy one print of one person for $38. They had told us that cameras were not allowed, but there were several people sitting inside the facility outside of the pool area taking pictures of the people interacting with the dolphins. The whole "experience" was not about enjoying time with these amazing animals but was an assembly line to shuffle tourists through and then trap them into purchasing pictures for outrageous amounts of money. We did a similar experience in Jamaica a year ago and it was SOOO much better! I was very disappointed in this experience and wouldn't recommend it to anyone!
Read 123cwm's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image snafyensid
7 reviews
Dec 2015
a 20 minute stop with a quick observation of the dolphins.
Read snafyensid's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image DeeCRC
1 review
Dec 2015
Good but just a money making scam! Over $200 for the photos for a family of 4. Needed more time to interact with the dolphins in smaller groups.
Read DeeCRC's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Toby1957
5 reviews
Nov 2015
Such fun. Swimming with the dolphins was super fun. Only wish it had lasted longer!
Read Toby1957's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gballard
1 review
Oct 2015
There were a set number of tricks that the dolphins did with us: let us hold their fins to pull us, kiss us on the cheek, let us pet them. All of these were photo ops. We were not allowed to use our own cameras. They even took one guy's camera from him. The pictures were $40 each!!! Needless to say, we have no pictures.
Read gballard's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 2Ready2Cruise
1 review
Jul 2015
the dolphins are amazing but it's very commercial.
Read 2Ready2Cruise's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cyndeebran
1 review
Jul 2015
Good encourage tee. Up close to the Dolphins.
Read cyndeebran's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mandigo
1 review
Jun 2015
BEST TOUR EVER!!! these Guys was very good!!! we covered the whole island in 2 hours and got out several times to eat shop and my wife even got a kiss from a Doplhin. which was cool
Read mandigo's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image kshanks
1 review
May 2015
I was disappointed in that the dolphins are corralled into an area, it's like an assembly line of photos ops and I felt very ripped off by the photo prices. The quality of the pics was very poor and as we were not allowed to take any of our own photos, we were forced to purchase the overpriced ones that they took. Not recommended.
Read kshanks's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JRE99
1 review
Apr 2015
Our worst rip-off excursion was the Dolphin meet & greet on the Cayman Islands. The meet & great with the Dolphins was actually nice. But You were not allowed to video or take pictures yourself. They did this for you, consequently the price of 1 photo started at 50,- USD (just for one!). A few photos and the CD (with the video) would set you back a whopping 150,-USD. Considerable more than the high price you paid for the excursion in the first place.
Read JRE99's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?