Grand Cayman Dolphin Encounter Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Dolphin Encounter cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This is more than just a swim with the dolphins. Witness fun dolphin behaviors that you will never forget; from handshakes to jumps and kisses, there is no telling what the dolphins will do next!
Member Image JollyMia
1 review
Aug 2016
Dolphin encounter was very good met a very clever Dolphin called Lucy.
Read JollyMia's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CARNIVALCRUISE3
7 reviews
Jul 2016
I loved it! I highly recommend it!
Read CARNIVALCRUISE3's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image rebafischer
1 review
Jul 2016
Our kids did the Push, Pull and Swim with Dolphins and we purchased the Observer tickets as we have done it before. Our excursion also included the Turtle Farm and that was fantastic. Really want to go back to the Turtle Farm. The Dolphin Facility was fairly new, clean and nice.
Read rebafischer's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Silverhand
1 review
Jul 2016
Very good and easy to go by taxi or bus. Taxi 8 dollars per person, 2.5 dollars for bus, basically they look the same.
Read Silverhand's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Dolphin discovery
Member Image kcamp317
1 review
May 2016
Grand Cayman is one of my favorite places to go. Dolphin Encounter and sea turtle place are amazing! Great for a family.
Read kcamp317's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 84Cheif
1 review
May 2016
Very good
Read 84Cheif's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 123cwm
1 review
Dec 2015
after a short bus ride we entered the dolphin facility, put our things in lockers, and met our "guide" we were herded to one side of the pools for a "photo op" but the camera was broken so we waited for a while while the switched it. By then were staring straight into the sun. We were then herded to the other side of the pool and got in to interact with our 38 yr old dolphin Luna. We had been told that no sunscreen was allowed with the dolphins and no jewelry either but almost all of the others on our tour used both. We stood int he bright sun as the dolphin swam in front of us so we could reach out and feel her glide beneath our hands. Then she came back and "posed" with each of us for another photo opportunity. We were told to look at the camera the whole time so we couldn't really even see the dolphin or what she was doing when it was our turn to "interact". It felt like one long photo shoot with an old tired dolphin. Then we were herded back out. When we saw our pictures were were shown the package prices. Since there were four of us we could buy the whole package for $250 or we would be 4 poses of the same person for $120 or we could buy one print of one person for $38. They had told us that cameras were not allowed, but there were several people sitting inside the facility outside of the pool area taking pictures of the people interacting with the dolphins. The whole "experience" was not about enjoying time with these amazing animals but was an assembly line to shuffle tourists through and then trap them into purchasing pictures for outrageous amounts of money. We did a similar experience in Jamaica a year ago and it was SOOO much better! I was very disappointed in this experience and wouldn't recommend it to anyone!
Read 123cwm's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image snafyensid
6 reviews
Dec 2015
a 20 minute stop with a quick observation of the dolphins.
Read snafyensid's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image DeeCRC
1 review
Dec 2015
Good but just a money making scam! Over $200 for the photos for a family of 4. Needed more time to interact with the dolphins in smaller groups.
Read DeeCRC's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Toby1957
4 reviews
Nov 2015
Such fun. Swimming with the dolphins was super fun. Only wish it had lasted longer!
Read Toby1957's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gballard
1 review
Oct 2015
There were a set number of tricks that the dolphins did with us: let us hold their fins to pull us, kiss us on the cheek, let us pet them. All of these were photo ops. We were not allowed to use our own cameras. They even took one guy's camera from him. The pictures were $40 each!!! Needless to say, we have no pictures.
Read gballard's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 2Ready2Cruise
1 review
Jul 2015
the dolphins are amazing but it's very commercial.
Read 2Ready2Cruise's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cyndeebran
1 review
Jul 2015
Good encourage tee. Up close to the Dolphins.
Read cyndeebran's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mandigo
1 review
Jun 2015
BEST TOUR EVER!!! these Guys was very good!!! we covered the whole island in 2 hours and got out several times to eat shop and my wife even got a kiss from a Doplhin. which was cool
Read mandigo's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image kshanks
1 review
May 2015
I was disappointed in that the dolphins are corralled into an area, it's like an assembly line of photos ops and I felt very ripped off by the photo prices. The quality of the pics was very poor and as we were not allowed to take any of our own photos, we were forced to purchase the overpriced ones that they took. Not recommended.
Read kshanks's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JRE99
1 review
Apr 2015
Our worst rip-off excursion was the Dolphin meet & greet on the Cayman Islands. The meet & great with the Dolphins was actually nice. But You were not allowed to video or take pictures yourself. They did this for you, consequently the price of 1 photo started at 50,- USD (just for one!). A few photos and the CD (with the video) would set you back a whopping 150,-USD. Considerable more than the high price you paid for the excursion in the first place.
Read JRE99's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image trisnlanismom
1 review
Apr 2015
We had a wonderful time learning about Darwin and even our apprehensive 7 year old got over her fear of him and actually touched him. Very well organized. Only complaint is the extremely high cost for pictures. Sticker shock!
Read trisnlanismom's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image mama2003
1 review
Apr 2015
Fun experience great kind helpful staff there to ensure a good time. Very informative. An on site out door fresh water shower to rinse in. The birds on the way in were a pleasant surprise. We got to let macaws sit on our arm my son loved it. These people know customer service and execute it well. Clean place. Dolphins seemed happy and well cared for. Helpful friendly informative staff that keeps you on time.
Read mama2003's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CruiseGilly
1 review
Apr 2015
Lovely to learn and spend time with the dolphins although we passed on the 35 USD photo which they really push on you after your swim. We then went to an amazing area of 7 mile beach which was just beautiful.
Read CruiseGilly's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mduffy1834
6 reviews
Mar 2015
Did the push/pull dolphin encounter and had a fantastic time. Had about an hour in the water with the dolphin and loved it all. Nice way to get off the ship without having to get a tender ticket and was something that we always wanted to try. Great time
Read mduffy1834's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image vazquezmar2004
1 review
Mar 2015
It was the best since had the oportunity to do both the dolphin encounter and the sting ray city. We had a blast. I would recommend it to my friends. I would do it again if I go back to Grand Cayman.
Read vazquezmar2004's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SJC60
1 review
Feb 2015

The excursion was great. The Dolphin encounter was also fun. The guides were entertaining as well as informative. You get to rub, pet, dance with and kiss a dolphin. It goes by quick. They of course take plenty of pictures for you. The negative, pictures were very expensive for dolphins excursion. it was a short ride to the encounter.

Read SJC60's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Flake0911
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2015

About an hour. You stand on a ledge in a large pool and get lots of opportunities to interact with the dolphin and learn about them. We got the pleasure of meeting Esperanza - a 23 year old dolphin. She was so beautiful. If you pay attention, you will see lots of small, and some very large, fish swimming around your feet! Afterwards, you guessed it, a gift shop! Plus they will push the pictures they took you. The pictures were very expensive, around $35 per picture or there were package options. We skipped the pictures. They get you on an impulse - for us, there is simply no real reason we needed them. But if you really want, they are there. But, I would suggest you don't take their prices, I think they would work with you if it means a sale. Keep that in mind.

Read Flake0911's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JMGardner
1 review
Jan 2015
Again, due to the ship being completely unorganized we almost missed our excursion. Dolphin trip was amazing had a wonderful time, would definetely do that again.
Read JMGardner's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image marschaller
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Everything was OK. Private photo is not allowed there and a little bit complicated to buy the photos made by the dolphin cove's staff.
They want you to send a sample photo about the persons and they try to find the pictures and email it.

Read marschaller's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?