Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Grand Cayman Dolphin Encounter Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Dolphin Encounter cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This is more than just a swim with the dolphins. Witness fun dolphin behaviors that you will never forget; from handshakes to jumps and kisses, there is no telling what the dolphins will do next!
Member Image bradleyj0014
1 review
Sep 2014

At the Dolphin Encounter portion they yell at you if you even pull your camera out to take a picture so that they can charge you $35.00 for one picture of you with a Dolphin. No lunch was provided and we weren't going to pay for a single slice of Pizza Hut pizza that they ordered and resold to us so we ended up having to wait the whole day until we got back on board the ship to eat. Had a much more exciting time on the excursion that we booked independently in Cozumel.

Read bradleyj0014's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PeachAero
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

On Friday, July 4, we found ourselves in the Grand Caymans. We took a charter to Dolphin Cove. The dolphin encounter was amazing. We were divided into small groups and had a chance to interact with the dolphins. A lot of fun.

After the dolphin encounter, we headed out on a charter to Stingray City. Once anchored, we were able to stand on a sandbar and interact with about 30 stingrays. Incredible creatures. They were very docile and lovable. Wanted to be held like babies. We were able to feel them squid. I was scared about the stingrays at first, but surprisingly enjoyed them over the dolphins. This is the excursion I would do over and over again. 10+

Read PeachAero's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Frugalman
1 review
Apr 2013
Grandkids liked it.
Read Frugalman's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Cruselover
5 reviews
Jan 2013
This is a must do. We did the 'Dolphin Encounter and Swim' where we were in the water with one dolphin and got to interact 1-on-1 doing several activities. Beautiful and intelligent creatures and a lot of fun. Highly recommend this excursion as it is well organized and at a great facility. The trainers and attendants were great.
Read Cruselover's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kim Fontaine
1 review
Dec 2012
Tour went to the encounter: We were not charged to watched: Enjoyed watching the others participate: Yes would do this again:
Read Kim Fontaine's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ercbman
1 review
Dec 2012
Cheapest tour we could do that involved little walking. Dolphin show was only a few minutes but well done. Of course a souvenir shop was part of this as well. Went a short distance to the "rum cake" factory which wasn't a factory at all but a retail store that sold Tortuga rum, liquor and rum cakes and gave samples of rum liquor (sweeter than rum itself) and two different rum cakes. Then the trip continued by van to Hell. Nothing with nothing. Some black rock formations that looked volcanic, some crude devil signs and a gift shop (what else) and Hell post office so you can mail a post card from Hell. Should have gone to the beach or taken the submarine tour which I heard was super but much more costly. Must miss this tour if you go to Grand Cayman. The island is clean as a whistle like Bermuda.
Read ercbman's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Bigorange&crimsoncruiser
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Dolphin encounter and beach break. Encounter means you get your picture made with the dolphin and can touch them for a minute or two, nothing like the dolphin encounter in Mexico. That part of this excursion was a waste of time and money. We also had lunch which was a little sandwich, chips, and a can of beer or a few soft drinks, and or water. The beach in Grand Cayman was beautiful and wonderful break in December but the excursion was not worth the money paid. We should have done just the beach break.
Read Bigorange&crimsoncruiser's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dusty1117
1 review
Nov 2012
Dolphin Encounter. Lockers to put your clothes. Got in separate pool and touched a stingray. Next different pool to interact with dolphin. We were there for 30 minutes to touch, kiss, held a ball and your hand high so dolphin could touch the ball/hand also. Dolphin did do some tricks. Bathroom and changing facilities available. Pictures very expensive. You buy the CD of your experience or individual pictures. $25 for one picture or $35 for 2.
Read dusty1117's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sonsan1
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Much fun. Dolphin pushed me on a boogie board, took me for a ride hanging on to it's flippers, played ball with me, kissed me on my cheek, let me kiss her/him/it. It took placed in a big salt water pool that was clean. The whole facility was nice. Encounter was a nice length and I enjoyed it. Thought it was worth the money. Nice lunch counter with Conch Fritters and cold beer. Downside was the little bus that was provided for transportation. You are crammed onto it and it's overloaded to the point it's uncomfortable. Don't be last on the bus or you will have to sit on a little jump seat that folds down in the aisle.
Read sonsan1's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image levandowskij
1 review
Sep 2012
Our last excursion on Thursday was the dolphin encounter and stingray city on Grand Caymon Island. What a thrill to feed the stingrays. They are truly gentle giants. The dolphin encounter was everything I wished it would be.
Read levandowskij's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Brummie_Benno
2 reviews
Jul 2012
Joint Dolphin Encounter & Stingray swim delivered. Knowledgeable bus driver explained sights en-route. Driving on left comforting! Parrot farm entrance to Dolphinarium unexpected. Only venue provided photography allowed @ $15 per photo. Video much more expensive. Good entertainment.Stingray City by launch from Dolphinarium. Expect a crowded reef with many operators. Waves of Stingrays exhilerating; waterproof camera is a MUST. Operator provided photography available at extra cost.
Read Brummie_Benno's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ILuvDW
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Dolphin Encounter at the Turtle Farm - We originally chose the snorkeling, but due to choppy waters and our young son, we switched to the dolphin encounter. It was awesome to interact with the dolphin for sure, but the turtle part was a little boring. I guess I just don't care much about turtles in tanks. I think it is very pricey for what it is, but all the dolphin excursions seem to be that way, plus they do not allow you to take your own photos, but they have a photographer there catching your every move if you want to buy their pricey photos.
Read ILuvDW's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image RJAYL
2 reviews
Apr 2012
Good time picked this for my youngest who was too young when we did it in Acapulco!
Read RJAYL's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image auburn-cruiser
1 review
Apr 2012
Beautiful, relaxing day and dolphins were amazing!
Read auburn-cruiser's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image tragone
1 review
Mar 2012
The dolphin encounter was fun but getting to the port was a pain
Read tragone's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image FirstTimeCruiser87
1 review
Mar 2012
This was a fun excursion - the ride over from the port was very quick (~20 minutes), and we loved playing and swimming with our dolphin. We were split in groups of ~12 people so you had to wait for your turn with the dolphin for each little activity we did with him, but it moved quickly and watching the others was fun. Afterwards we looked at and played with some turtles. My one huge complaint about this excursion was PHOTOS. They ensured that you could not take a single photo of your dolphin experience, even if you had a waterproof camera. Then, they charged $100 for photos!!!! That's almost as much as the excursion itself! So we ended up not having any photos of our experience.
Read FirstTimeCruiser87's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image SPFisnew2cruising
1 review
Mar 2012
We were a little disappointed that our whole excursion didn't happen. We chose the dolphin encounter with the sting rays. Unfortunately due to being late, and the weather, the sting ray encounter was cancelled. NCL was very good about it and credited us back that portion of our prepaid excursion. The dolphins were very cute and we loved every minute of it.
Read SPFisnew2cruising's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image photographergirl
1 review
Feb 2012
We arrived an hour ahead of schedule, and it showed. Neither the crew, nor the ship, nor the shops on shore were ready. And the power went out just before we walked onto the elevator. It flickered out several times more...we took the stairs. After we were on shore, we saw black smoke pour out of the stack for a few minutes, then everything seemed to be fine. This port and city were our favorite. We enjoyed the island as a whole, and really soaked up the modern, island feel. Everyone seemed to have that lackadaisical, no worries attitude...precisely what we wanted our Caribbean escape to be. We did the dolphin excursion/stingray city excursion. They were both great, well run, and oh so fun! We are considering a vacation just to Grand Cayman.
Read photographergirl's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image AndrewSchwark
1 review
Feb 2012
Highly recommend this is soo awesome! My wife and I loved it. Well worth the money.
Read AndrewSchwark's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.