Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Hanoi Halong Bay Excursion Reviews

Hanoi Halong Bay cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Journey from Hanoi to Halong Bay, a UNESCO World Heritage Site replete with limestone islands and a picturesque coastline. The extreme biodiversity of the area makes for many endemic species of flora and fauna.
Member Image howardrd
3 reviews
Mar 2015
An absolute must do and far easier through the cruise line as the boats came straight to the ship rather than having to tender ashore and start all over. The Caves were interesting and the boat trip around Halong Bay was tranquil, relaxing and spectacular. I would have to say that sailing out from Halong Bay on Millennium was equally, if not even more, dramatic.
Read howardrd's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Teresahinton
1 review
Mar 2015
Two hour journey and some if it wasn't great, too hot to walk around and with another 2 hour journey back, felt we were on a coach tour; felt it was a waste if time visiting a Vitemese house, could not really see the point if that.
Read Teresahinton's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image merrygoround
1 review
Mar 2015
We went to the caves, Halong bay , stunning and you will be right there in the bay so great views of rock formation and bridge. Caves, very busy & could do without all the coloured lights used to enhance them but really impressive. Ride back through formations impressive.
Read merrygoround's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image C1deb
1 review
Mar 2015

Was glad to have booked with the cruise line as the cruise ship was tenderedthe tour boats came to the cruise ship to take us on the Ha Long bay tour and it was amazing, because we booked with the cruise line we were the first to disembark, definetly worth doing this tour, really enjoyed it, took lots of photos, very relaxing place. You do have to climb a lot of steps at the caves so make sure you were comfortable shoes.

Read C1deb's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kasr
2 reviews
Dec 2014

Halong Bay itself is amazing. We opted for the proverbial 3 hour cruise, rather than a 7 hour round bus trip to Hanoi. The local cruise boats docked directly at the ship making access easy.

The tour went past many of the better known islands in Halong Bay, but really just touched the sides. It included a visit to a large limestone cave formation that was quite interesting, but involved about 100 steps to access.

Halong Bay City is nothing to write home about. There is a small market opposite the tender dock, and free wi-fi at a bar next door. There is a pleasant esplanade to walk along to the north, and the township offers ATMs and restaurants, although it is about a 15 min walk if you don't want to take up the services of the many taxi and tuk-tuk drivers at the terminal.

One unexpected bonus was the high-tech light show on the new bridge connecting the two halves of Halong Bay City - well worth sitting through the full 10 minute cycle.

Note that the December weather was as forecast, very misty - but to some extent this just added to the mystique of an amazing location.

Read kasr's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image D. B.
1 review
Dec 2014
Very well done! We visited the Islands and toured a Cavern.
Read D. B.'s full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Steve East Sussex
1 review
Feb 2014

Outstanding views on a good day - which we were fortunate to enjoy - a must see. The floating villages, boat people - including those sailing alongside our boat ro sell their fruit and vegetables provided a brief glimpse of a world unkown to us, and I suspect most people from the west. Not to be missed - but during our visit very crowded.

Read Steve East Sussex's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dalbert
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2013
Halong was interesting but there were about 5000 other people at the caves also. But they were still cool.
Read dalbert's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Allan Richards
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2013
Again a very well organised private tour and very good guide. You need to pay in US Dollars cash
Read Allan Richards's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Ha Vietland Discovery
Member Image donman
1 review
Feb 2013
We were on a tourist boat with a small group we booked independently. The experience was overwhelming. Beautiful cruise but horrible food but we had to eat it as it was cooked by the person who lived on the ship.
Read donman's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image helenls
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Cruised Halong Bay on a junk for 5-6 hours and made stops to visit caves and a pearl farm.
Read helenls's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Annie1959
2 reviews
Feb 2013

Great cruise among spectacular scenery for about 1/2 the cost of the cruise line's tour.

Read Annie1959's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image paul reynolds
2 reviews
Feb 2013

The ship arrived at mid-day but the trip from the river mouth to the dock fascinating with all the tall rock formations and the ship picking its way (with the aid of the pilot) to the dock an experience. The half day tour on boats through the various rock formations incredible and half way through the tour a stop to visit the most spectacular caves with stalagmite and stalactites amazing but quite strenuous with lots of steps.

Read paul reynolds's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Taxwatcher
1 review
Jan 2013
Truly a wonder of the world
Read Taxwatcher's full Seabourn Pride cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image alexandra cruiser
6 reviews
Dec 2012

Hanoi stay was 2 days at Sofitel Hotel.City tours included.Fantasic sites to visit,but be aware of crazy traffic.Loved the rickshaw ride. Halong Bay junk cruise only mediocre.Poor food and small rooms.But area beautiful.

Read alexandra cruiser's full AmaLotus cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image helping145
1 review
Dec 2012

Great scenery, pity about the cost!!!

Read helping145's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Steph27
6 reviews
Dec 2012
We did an overnight in Halong Bay on the Halong Violet. The name of the company changes from Cruise Halong and is now known as Heritage Line. (www.heritage-line.com) The was the highlight of the entire cruise for us. We arrive in Halong Bay at 1:00 pm. After a delay 40 minutes to tender to shore, we walked to the Royal Pier where our private tender was waiting to take us to the Violet. Apparently there was someone waiting for us at Bai Chay when we arrived but we did not see them. It would have saved us the walk. It took about 40 minutes to get to the Violet by tender. We saw some beautiful scenery. When we arrived they showed us to our room which was the Cloud Suite. This being a luxury junk, we had a beautiful room with wood floors and floor to ceiling windows. I was traveling with my mother and the bed could be made as a king or pulled apart for two twin beds. We also had a gorgeous bathroom with lovely shower and huge bath tub. The food on the Violet was delicious. They served a dinner with many options and also a yummy breakfast. The events included a visit to the floating museum and village by row boat which was magical. The water was clean and emerald green. We also visited a cave and the next day a beach for swimming. Everything was done very professionally and such a difference than Celebrity. We did not want to leave. The Violet only holds 12 people and it was wonderful to spend the time relaxing on the junk. During the night we anchored and you could see a few boats which were lit up nearby drifting near us. It was one of the best excursions I have ever done! When we came back to the ship the next afternoon we had a ship tour which was called Countryside and Shopping. The tour was awful. There was no shopping, no farm, and we only saw the buildings at the foot of the mountain for the Yen Pagoda. You actually have to take a cable car to the real Yen Tu which was 20 minutes from where we were. We stopped three different times for a bathroom break. It was the worst tour ever.
Read Steph27's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Heritage Line
Member Image B55
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Most enjoyable. Though it was mid winter and weather could have been better for photo opportunities, the excursion was a pleasure. However I worry about the skills of some of the boat captains and how the seem to ram into each other as it if it nothing at all.
Read B55's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image B55
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Most enjoyable. Though it was mid winter and weather could have been better for photo opportunities, the excursion was a pleasure. However I worry about the skills of some of the boat captains and how the seem to ram into each other as it if it nothing at all.
Read B55's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bernie01
1 review
Feb 2012
The tour guide was just guiding us up and down the boat with no information provided during our tour in the cave. He walked through the cave quickly without stopping for explanation or photo taking, so most people eventually chose to stay behind and take pictures instead of following him. After the boat tour, he took us to a restaurant for "beef noodles" which was not of good quality and the waitress charged us a higher price than stated in the menu. Her explanation was that price in the menu was for a smaller bowl of noddles but we didn't see any difference in sizes with orders from nearby tables.
Read bernie01's full Costa Classica cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image Sandy
6 reviews
Jan 2012
Seriously? A junk tour? I expected a junk, not a tourist houseboat. Yuk, I would not eat nor drink on this boat where the dishes were washed in the bay. Death on a plate. This is so commercialized it is not really any good. Book a smaller craft and enjoy the beautiful cliffs without all the constant barrage of "gifts" they are selling.
Read Sandy's full Seabourn Pride cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.