Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Hanoi City Tour Excursion Reviews

Hanoi City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a guided city tour of Vietnam's capital and second largest city, Hanoi. You will be captivated with it's architecture and culture!
Member Image Steve East Sussex
1 review
Feb 2014

Excellent tour guide who explained much about vietnamese culture. The links to the Vietnam war could not be missed, but were covered in a factual rather than triumphant manner. The old town was an astonishing mix of people and motorbikes - an experience that is not available in the west. Ho Chi Minh memorial was very impressive - but one cannot avoid wondering about the cost to an essentially poor country. It is easy to describe as unspoilt and charming, which it was - but it was also obviously fairly poor and I suspect the people living there might prefer a liitle less charm and a little more prosperity.

Read Steve East Sussex's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Allan Richards
1 review
Mar 2013
WE covered all wea sked to see and had agreat lunch.
Read Allan Richards's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Ha Vietland Discovery
Member Image helenls
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Enjoyed seeing traffic crazy, frenetic Hanoi but the long ride both ways was excruciating. The tour buses have seats built for smaller Asian bodies. Maybe someone can devise a faster way to visit Hanoi from a cruise ship
Read helenls's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Annie1959
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2013
Be aware that the "Hanoi Hilton" is largely devoted to French atrocities against the Vietnamese, and that only one room is devoted to the spectacular treatment given to the US POWs. They are shown to be so happy & healthy that they are decorating a Christmas tree. I almost threw up.
Read Annie1959's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image bonbon893
1 review
Feb 2013
Ha Long bay was nicer than Hanoi. Too many bad feelings after visiting the Hanoi Hilton prison.
Read bonbon893's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image paul reynolds
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Hanoi is a three and a half hour journey from the ship docked in Halong Bay but most people visiting Vietnam would regard Hanoi as a "must see" The journey is broken up by a stop half way at a huge shopping warehouse selling everything from silk to marble statues. The problem was that the coach was there for 45 minutes on the way to Hanoi and 30 minutes on the way back. Comfort breaks were necessary and toilets very clean but these have to be paid for and the souvenir shops provide for this. Hanoi is interesting and to see how Ho Chi Minh lived was enlightening. The City is very clean and lunch in a local restaurant very good. Criticism was that there was not enough time to explore the shops but we were told by our guide that it was because he needed "keep us together" as we could easilly get lost. This was not really true and some of us felt that they wanted us only to see what they were allowed to show us. There is a much stronger feeling of a communist country in Hanoi than Saigon
Read paul reynolds's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Taxwatcher
1 review
Jan 2013
Great city tour including Hanoi Hilton. Ho's home, city parks, B52 crash site, Ho's resting place etc. Take rickshaw ride through city--unforgettible experience
Read Taxwatcher's full Seabourn Pride cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image Latinosal2
1 review
Dec 2012
Long drive to and from the city (3.5hrs) but excellent tour guide who shared lots of information about Vietnam and communism so helped to pass the time. Lunch was very mediocre and the visit to Ho Chi Min's mausoleum was disappointing as we could not go in due to it being closed.
Read Latinosal2's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image alexandra cruiser
6 reviews
Dec 2012

Bus ride and walking tour to major sites.Informative.

Read alexandra cruiser's full AmaLotus cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image calgal729
3 reviews
Dec 2012
We had Tom from Smile Tours and not only did we get a wonderful tour of the city, but a history lesson that was so interesting as well. He showed us things off the beaten path, and was the best tour of our Asia trip.
Read calgal729's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Smile Tours
Member Image B55
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Hanoi is wonderful. Celebrity excursions are usually good and this one was. Well selected options of sites to view and a wonderful restaurant to eat at. The detraction was the distance of the port from Hanoi. Three hours plus from port to city was immensely tiring and not recommended. Still if you want to see Hanoi from the cruise ship, you endure the discomfort.
Read B55's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image B55
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Hanoi is wonderful. Celebrity excursions are usually good and this one was. Well selected options of sites to view and a wonderful restaurant to eat at. The detraction was the distance of the port from Hanoi. Three hours plus from port to city was immensely tiring and not recommended. Still if you want to see Hanoi from the cruise ship, you endure the discomfort.
Read B55's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sutho
1 review
Feb 2012
Very interesting place and allot of dedication to Ho Chi Minh. There are allot of impressive temples and shrines. The mood here is friendly and the political attitude is independence. There is still some anti-American sentiment due to the Vietnam era war which would probably make them feel uncomfortable. They are Communist here and proud of it. To the Vietnamese Ho Chi Minh is a national here who fought French colonisation and resisted further colonisation after WWII. The Vietnamese love him and allot of dedications to him.
Read Sutho's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.