Da Nang Hoi An Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Da Nang Hoi An Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Hoi An, a historic town recognized by UNESCO, is about 22 miles from Da Nang. Discover the spectacular, old-world trading port with its narrow streets, former merchants' homes and iconic 400-year old Japanese covered bridge.
Member Image Yessirhesaid
1 review
Oct 2016
Not a lot to see in Hoi Ann apart from loads of other tourists. Includes visit to Marble shop on way home, enabling the coach driver and others to earn commision. Beware drivers adjacent to ship offering $10 trip around Da Nang. Took this as trip finished very early. There was a driver and his friend in the car, after 10 minutes they asked if l wanted to be taken to a massage parlour, no issue with this, but they were not pleased when l refused. Went to the market in the middle of town and left for 45 minutes. Once picked up, they asked if l wanted to go to the Marble shop, again. l refused, they then admitted they would get $10 commission, if l went there. Felt intimidated, so l agreed. Had to convince the saleswoman that l was serious, but needed to go back to ship to get my wife's approval. She wanted to come back to the ship with me! Eventually was able to get back to the ship without her. When back the driver wanted $10 plus $10 for his friend, as they could have driven off with me inside, agreed to pay his friend $5.
Read Yessirhesaid's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Andrew.W
2 reviews
Feb 2016
Danang/Hoi An: a very pleasant destination. We started the day in Hoi An, with a guided tour through the local street market to show us the local veg, herbs, etc. It was off to a cooking class after that, in which we learned how to make a variety of delicious Vietnamese dishes. After a quick look at some local historical buildings, we had about 2 hours of free time to roam around, do a bit of shopping, and try a few more local delicacies. We had a brief stop at the beach in Danang, which was quite scenic. Both Danang and Hoi An are places we would definitely visit again.
Read Andrew.W's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Holly2
7 reviews
Feb 2016
Loved Hoi An. Did private tour with Private Asia tours. Would have liked some time on our own. Instead taken to certain ( more expensive) stores and not allowed to stop at stalls to shop. Did make quick stop at China Beach on way back.
Read Holly2's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Private Asia tours
Member Image HeapsGood
2 reviews
Oct 2015
One of the first groups off the boat. Waiting for around 10 minutes and our van and guide arrived. Straight off to explore for the day. We went to Marble Mountain, which is very beautiful and well worth braving the huge number of stairs! We had lunch in HoiAn - beautiful restuarant picked by our Guide Viet. We wandered the lovely streets of HoiAn, with an opportunity to do some shopping. Didn't get long enought, but will definitely be a place we will come back to again and spend more time. Dropped back to port with about 15 minutes before required time. A lovely day and would recommend Vietland Discovery. We were planning on doing a cycling tour, but all agreed we were glad we did not as the weather was extremely hot and humid.
Read HeapsGood's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Vietland Discovery
Member Image helenls
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Enjoyed a second day partly in Hoi An. It is a picturesque,walkable, enjoyable place. The first day was on a private tour.
Read helenls's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image paul reynolds
2 reviews
Feb 2013

This tour started in a somewhat boring Museum where the "brainwashed guides" wanted to impress upon you how the Country developed. We were not impressed and felt we would have a disappointing day - how wrong we were! We left Da Nang and travelled through the countryside to Hoi An an absolutely fascinating place with canals and historic buildings dating back centuries. The market stalls packed, not only with the usual local produce but some with "fake designer goods" of all descriptions. Lunch at a local restaurant on the return journey was excellent.

Read paul reynolds's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Taxwatcher
1 review
Jan 2013
Interesting international heritage site. Also took tour of canals. Also stopped at China Beach
Read Taxwatcher's full Seabourn Pride cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Latinosal2
1 review
Dec 2012
Excellent and very interesting. The lunch was superb and the walk around Hoi An very informative. Plenty of time left for shopping if that's your thing!
Read Latinosal2's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Steph27
6 reviews
Dec 2012
We did the ship tour "Hoi An on your own". The drive to Hoi An was about 90 minutes each way. We had a great lunch at Morning Glory. The ancestral houses and assembly halls were very interesting. Our favorite was the Tan Ky house which is located next door to Morning Glory. We looked at many of the shops but it was too hot to contemplate any clothing purchases. The stores are all open to the outside and do not have a/c. We very much enjoyed Hoi An and the lush countryside of Central Vietnam.
Read Steph27's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image B55
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Oh what a place to visit. A charming glimpse of the past, a show put on for the tourists but most enjoyable nonetheless. Also a reasonable distance from the port.
Read B55's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image aussiegirl51
1 review
Mar 2012
Again, we got too much politics from the tour guide. The trip was interesting but not value for money
Read aussiegirl51's full Costa neoClassica cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?