Grand Cayman Brewery Tour Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Brewery Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Learn how the Cayman Islanders brew their beer, from fermentation to bottling and distribution, on an educational tour of the brewery.
Member Image Rabbit58
1 review
Mar 2017
it was called a Taste of Cayman.3 stops brewery needed more help to handle us but the tour was a 10
Read Rabbit58's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KomoxVIP
1 review
Feb 2017
Semi-private tour of a rum distillery. "Help yourself" attitude to samples; very informative guide.
Read KomoxVIP's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Rum Distillery Tour
Member Image lforma
1 review
Jan 2017
Tour good, but the most interesting place, the Rum Cake factory was only 20 minutes, but the Beer and Rum sites were 1 hour plus.
Read lforma's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image blppep
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Brewery not open for tours on Sunday's! Rum cake was not a tour but a store visit. Rum tour was very informative and enjoyable. Ship adjusted our charged pricing but they should have known ahead and told us the brewery was open for samples only.
Read blppep's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image newistcruiseaddict
4 reviews
Dec 2016
Caybrew and the distillery were really interesting. The tour ended with an hour at 7 mile beach. We went to some place called the royal palms...way over priced. $36 for two beers and a single order of the worlds worst conch fritters.
Read newistcruiseaddict's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Clarks Tours
Member Image Dei3Nascar8
2 reviews
Dec 2016
The only good part of this excursion was visiting the rum distillery. I'm not a beer fan but everyone enjoyed the unlimited tastings, for about 15 minutes. Then a quick walk through and back to where you can buy beer. The rum factory was a joke. It is not a factory at all, rather a gift shop that serves run cakes. The rum distillery was awesome. Excellent tasting of all the products, a great story about 7 Fathoms rum, the tour was clean and our guide was knowledgeable. This saved the tour for me. If you are into beer than you will enjoy both parts.
Read Dei3Nascar8's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lflores30@wi.rr.com
1 review
Apr 2016
We were able to try full glasses of several kinds of beer. Very friendly staff. Interesting brewery tour.
Read lflores30@wi.rr.com's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Lily03
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2015

The best of all the ports! We did the brewery tasting and Rum tasting which was nice. It was such a nice day though I wish we had done the sting ray excursion. However we still enjoyed ourselves, and our van driver John was awesome at informing us about the island and answering all our questions. We learned so much from him! Then after he dropped people off he took a few of us down the street to a great local restaurant and then took another couple to the 7 mile beach. We tipped him a little xtra. Great restaurant called Da Fish Shack. You can walk to it from the port probably about 10 mins.
A lot of people complained about the tendering on and off the ship. We didn’t have a problem. Because of the tour we got assigned a time which was nice. We we’re a little late getting in to grand caymen and it took an extra 45 mins to let us board the little boats but it was smooth sailing after that. We headed back to the tenders around 2:30 and the line was pretty long but it moved fast. The ship wasn’t far away at all. AND no one was trying to sell you something, its actually against the law there to walk up to people and try to get you to buy something.

Read Lily03's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image meganh2496
1 review
Dec 2014

Only about a 20-minute tour, and the distillery room was so hot I could've passed out. However, the owner was super friendly, obviously knowledgeable, and of course there were free shots at the end.

Read meganh2496's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruising Photographer
4 reviews
Aug 2014

We booked the Discount Excursions "Party Bus" tour with a group from Cruise Critic. We had about 14 people on our tour, a nice small group. We visited the Seven Fathoms Rum Factory and the Caybrew beer brewery before driving out to the east end of the island. Both stops were generous with the samples and everything we tasted was quite good! At the east end, we had a short break for a rum punch and swimming before heading back to town. Since most excursions take you to Seven Mile beach and the north end of the island, I found this to be a unique and refreshingly different tour.

Read Cruising Photographer's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Discount Excursions
Member Image budsamwalt
1 review
Dec 2011
The first stop was a brewery where they produce Caybrew and several other beers. The tour was very informative, and you get to sample plenty of beer. Stop #2 was the Tortuga rum cake factory. It was interesting, but not as good as the brewery. Stop #3 was at a Rum Distillery. We were particularly interested in the 7 Fathoms Rum because they actually let it age at the bottom of the ocean. The place was very small, but it's neat to see a couple of local guys producing a high-quality product. Good excursion if you like to drink!
Read budsamwalt's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?