Bangkok (Laem Chabang) Wat Po (Reclining Buddha Temple) Excursion Reviews

Bangkok (Laem Chabang) Wat Po (Reclining Buddha Temple) cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Witness the glimmering temple of Wat Po (Temple of the Reclining Buddha) on an amazing guided tour. Learn remarkable facts about the oldest and largest temple in Bangkok. And if you happen to be achy from your travels, try a Wat Po Thai massage -- you won't leave the same way you came in!
Member Image Spainishannie
1 review
May 2016
This was fantastic it was enormous you would have to see it to believe it
Read Spainishannie's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bwindi
1 review
Mar 2016
Bangkok’s Hidden Treasures with Tuk Tuk Experience Bangkok is a two hour trip each way and I would say we were at the outskirts of Bangkok before we began to hit serious traffic. First stop is at the Pavilion on Kings Avenue, which is quite beautiful but we only have a quick photo stop here. We drive past the Democracy Monument on our way to Wat Pho Temple with its huge reclining Buddha. You have to take your shoes off here but they provide little bags for you to put them in and carry them with you. Also included in the ticket is a small bottle of water which is handy in the stifling heat. The next stop is at an international hotel for a buffet lunch. There is a wide range of food which is of a good standard. The next part of the trip is definitely the best - our Tuk Tuk experience. Lots of Tuk Tuks line up outside the hotel waiting for us tourists. Me and hubby end off in the lead Tuk Tuk which is great but the leader does tend to stick the vehicle out into oncoming traffic to stop it and to let the other Tuk Tuk’s out – a bit hair raising at times. The ride is truly exhilarating and the highlight of our trip to Bangkok. The ride ends at the What Suthat Temple which is absolutely breathtaking. The final stop is of course a high end jewellery store before the journey back to the ship. There is a comfort stop on the way for those who need it.
Read bwindi's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image julie52
1 review
Feb 2016
We went to the King's Summer Palace, Wat Po and then Ayuttayha, the original capital of Siam. A big day, but well worth the effort, very nice buffet lunch at a local hotel as well. Well looked after.
Read julie52's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image housemartin
2 reviews
Jan 2016
The temples in Bangkok were very impressive but somewhat crowded, the only drawback was the place the coach stopped (Asia Hotel) for the return journey back to the ship was some way out from the centre and most attractions.
Read housemartin's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image martyfl48
1 review
Mar 2015
It was stunning how large the reclining Buddha was and the pearl toes were huge. Very impressive!
Read martyfl48's full Viking Orient cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image IamKWgirl
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

One of the few temples that allowed pictures to be taken inside. Amazing how huge this budda is. You couldn't get him into one picture. The feet at the end are probably 8-10 feet high. At the end are 102 wishing bowls. We purchased our coins to drop into the bowls to make wishes.

Read IamKWgirl's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Booked through JW Marriott
Member Image donman
1 review
Feb 2013
Amazing sculpture.
Read donman's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image helenls
2 reviews
Feb 2013
We saw the major Bangkok tourist sights and markets on a private tour during the 1 full day and 2 partial days in port.
Read helenls's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image seekAdventures
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2012
The port (container port) is a good 2 1/2 hours away from Bangkok. We liked the tour and the tour guide. Everyone even got to ride in Tuk Tuk's. Lunch was included. Very nice restaurant where we all got to taste delicious Thai food. The temples we saw were stunning. Downside: At the end of the tour you get dropped off at a jewelery factory where they try to sell all kinds of jewelery to you. I would have rather spend my precious time at one of the famous sights in bangkok than listening to a sales pitch.
Read seekAdventures's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Duane T
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Temples, temples, temples. After 19 or so days of temples, I was a little numb to viewing any more temples.
Read Duane T's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Duane T
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Temples, temples, temples. After 19 or so days of temples, I was a little numb to viewing any more temples.
Read Duane T's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image honolulu traveler
5 reviews
Mar 2012
Amazing to see the size of this buddha.
Read honolulu traveler's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?