Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Aruba Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

Aruba Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Aruba offers some of the finest offshore locations to experience the island's small coral bays and vibrantly colored fish. Beginners and experienced snorkelers alike will love the experience.
Member Image isupilot
2 reviews
Feb 2015

We did the catamaran sail and snorkel excursion. It was very typical, snorkel first then enjoy rum punch on the ride back. A short walk from the cruise terminal and onto the catamaran. There were two snorkel locations. The first was in shallow water and we were able to see some fish. The second was at the German shipwreck, but the water was much deeper and murky, thus we only saw a small portion of the ship. The catamaran ride ended at a beach BBQ restaurant where we were served a mediocre meal. Then there was about 45 minutes to kill on the beach. This was right at sunset, so it was getting too cold to enjoy the water or lay out. The views were nice, however. From here, it was a bus ride back to the cruise ship.

Read isupilot's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image musnbny
5 reviews
Feb 2015

Very difficult getting a taxi at the port in Aruba. Had to go out to the main street and got lucky to get a taxi out to Mambo beach. They made a big deal about not being wet in the taxis--bring a change of clothes so this isn't an issue. We enjoyed snorkeling the Antilla before all the crowds. We saw plenty of tropical fishes and star fishes. Capt. Rene was great. I would figure out a way to book transportation before you go. Taxis are in limited supply. At least book a later excursion so you have plenty of time to get there. It was windy and low 80s. Got sunburned. Credit cards were ok for beach activities on Mambo Beach. We grabbed a taxi back from the lobby of the Holiday Inn which is right there.

Read musnbny's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image LUFFANDTOUCHHER
1 review
Feb 2015

In Aruba we took the Carnival Catamaran and Snorkel. I would give it a 3 out of 5. The snorkeling was murky but the Antilla wreck was good especially if you can free dive. The crew were also interactive and fun.

Read LUFFANDTOUCHHER's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image globetrotter921
1 review
Feb 2015

We arrived on a cloudy, windy day and met our excursion in the arrival terminal. They informed us that the wind made visibility reduced and offered us a refund. They reported visibility of 30' so we decided to go anyway, expecting no more than a nice boat ride and swim. The first site was a small reef with typical Caribbean fish. It was shallow enough that the reduced visibility was not a big issue. The second site was Aruba's standard wreck stop. The wreck lies in 60 feet of water, and the seas were rougher by this time. We swam the length of the wreck getting brief glimpses of some parts. The catamaran was large and the crew was friendly and helpful. I have never seen a great snorkeling site on Aruba and this experience was did not change that view. We enjoyed our excursion and greatly appreciated the crews honesty in informing us of conditions before hand.

Read globetrotter921's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image AandJ7237
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2015

Want to swim in a fish tank? Look up Aruba Bob Snorkeling. A total of five people on this excursion. Most amazing snorkeling we've ever done. Try tripadvisor versus packing yourself with 60 others on a bus.

Read AandJ7237's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SnowBird-Beachbum
1 review
Dec 2014

the weather was bad so we were unable to visit the 2 snorkel spots.

Read SnowBird-Beachbum's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image April.Koop
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Wanted to do the swim, sail, swing snorkel but it was cancelled. Took the boat ride and snorkeled. Was awesome. Saw a ship wreck and lots of fish. Drinks served on boat on the way back. Great time!

Read April.Koop's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Photomatt264
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

We did the "Sailaway Beach & Snorkel Cruise". It was so much fun! The first place we snorkeled was just okay. The second was a sunken ship that was so incredible. We went to the beach after snorkeling and had lunch. It was nice but would have like to spend a little more time at the beach. The crew was so awesome! Captain Johan, Mac and Arthur were so much fun! If you have a chance to take the Pelican catamaran for a trip with them, do it! You will not be disappointed!

Read Photomatt264's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tybro
5 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

This was one of the best ship's excursions I've ever been on. We walked straight from the ship onto the Catamaran...no bus! We took off for the two snorkel sites and the ship staff was wonderful. They were friendly and professional and offered non alcoholic drinks during the entire trip out there. After the snorkeling the bar was open and they had all kinds of cocktails. They drove us to a dock and pulled up right to a restaurant. We literally stepped out of the catamaran and into a restaurant and they handed us a plate with barbecue food that was pretty good. We then had about 40 minutes to enjoy the gorgeous beach. They had chairs just for us and came around offering us the free drinks the whole time. There really isn't one thing they could have done better. This was with Pelican tours via the ship so if you book this, ask if this is the company they are still using.

Read Tybro's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bigdog69
1 review
May 2014

We had a great time and we saw some different types of fish beyond a normal excursion

Read bigdog69's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image boomerone
14 reviews
Apr 2014

Atlantis shipwreck snorkel trip, a little bit bumpy and windy but still enjoyable

Read boomerone's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HankBuckley
1 review
Mar 2014

I wish we could have spent more time in this port. Next time!
Took an enjoyable boat ride to a snorkeling spot (lots of fish and coral), then to the sunken ship. The water was choppy at the sunken ship and very deep. It was also crowded with other boats and divers present. Many of the older and more feeble people on the excursion stayed on the boat and just watched others snorkel(a very smart choice). We had a great time on the boat ride back with complementary rum punches!

Walked around the shops in Aruba (lots to choose from) and ate a little snack. A very enjoyable day!

Read HankBuckley's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image holy_cruzer
1 review
Feb 2014

I took the Mi Dushi cruise. Nothing wrong with the crew or boat, but it did not live up to my expectation of being on a sail boat. We were there on windy day - so water was choppy and visibility poor. The lunch was really good!

If you want a relaxed day on the water take this trip, if you want snorkel and fish - well I wish I had done snorkel in Bonaire.

Read holy_cruzer's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image radgalut
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

SAIL ARUBA ON THE MIDUSHI

What an incredible crew. I loved everything from the fun bus ride, the water taxi, snorkeling training, snorkeling over the wreck, and even swinging (ok more like falling) form the rope swing. It was a blast and the "snack" was a full meal of rice, bbq chicken, fish, and salad. I had never snorkeled before and they took great care of me. I would definitely do this excursion again!.

Read radgalut's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HnJCruzrs
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Really fun. Loved the Rum Punch on the way back.

Read HnJCruzrs's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Herbs Mom
2 reviews
Jan 2014

We loved the snorkeling - the seas were a bit rough and current was strong, but still it was fun. We had over 70 people on our catamaran, and most were "older". When they got in the water to snorkel I was a bit nervous for them because there were only 4 crew members on the catamaran - I think there should have been a few more crew members or less people there in case of emergency. It was obvious many of them had never snorkeled before. Two older people weren't paying attention to where they were going and swam over my husband, pushing him down causing to go down on some coral. A little instruction from the crew might have helped. We did 2 snorkeling stops, and many of them didn't dive off at the 2nd stop.

Read Herbs Mom's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image sippin_pisco
1 review
Dec 2013

lovely catamaran sail - beautiful clear water to see fish - then to sunken ship site - scary dark blue water - I then decided to pack it in and drink some rum punch. No shortage of punch! Nice staff, clean boat and equipment.

Read sippin_pisco's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lukes Grandmother
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2013

Sailaway Snorkel & Beach Cruise--very enjoyable with amazing snorkeling just offshore from the catamaran plus at a second location a bit further from shore where we viewed the sunken WWII German freighter, the Antilla. The crew was knowledgeable, professional, and fun. It included an open bar and all snorkel equipment. After the snorkeling we docked at Pelican Pier for a delicious barbecue meal that featured thick juicy ribs, chicken, beans, macaroni salad, roll, and fruit salad & open bar. We had some time to spend at the beach before being transported by bus back to the ship.

Read Lukes Grandmother's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image FamilyTravels4
1 review
Jul 2013

AR48-Sail, Snorkel, Swim & Swing--Great excursion. Got to swing from a rope off a Pirate Ship into the water.

Read FamilyTravels4's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image acan
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

We booked a private boat to take us out snorkeling for two hours at two different locations. The price of the snorkeling was rather cheap for including refreshments! The two young men aboard the ship were fantastic and friendly. They knew a lot about the island and were great. The locations of snorkeling were great, a beautiful reef and a sunken WW2 German ship. I would highly recommend their tours to anyone anytime and they have convinced me to visit Aruba in the future.

Read acan's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dack
2 reviews
Mar 2013
We did the De palma snorkeling, we did not snorkel the waves were too choppy for us but many did snorkel, so maybe the snorkeling was great, this is private island and we expected nice beaches it turned out very commercialized beach not very sandy maybe would appeal to families it had a play area for the young one that looked like it could be fun. For us our expectations were different so it did not fit us too well.
Read dack's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Erik79
1 review
Feb 2013
Awesome experience. Great tour guides. 2 good snorkeling stops, then a lunch/beach break.
Read Erik79's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image chickentravel1
4 reviews
Feb 2013
The snorkeling was average for the Caribbean. The downtown has been taken over by the usual high end tourist shops and has lost any character. We were disappointed.
Read chickentravel1's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image paulajj
2 reviews
Feb 2013
The snorkeling here was great. The park itself would be great for families with children.
Read paulajj's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lisamarch
1 review
Jan 2013
At the end of the jeep tour, son and husband got one hour on a beach with snorkeling equipment provided and had a fun time. If we go back, we'll just spend all our time on the beach and in the water.
Read lisamarch's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bigcity57
3 reviews
Jan 2013
The water was choppy with lots of plankton. The crew on the catamaran were friendly and safety conscious and explained everything thoroughly . Enjoyed the music and did some dancing. The rum and coke was a plus.
Read bigcity57's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CaribbeanBluSea
1 review
Dec 2012
The catamaran snorkeling and beach excursion was nice. The catamaran crew was very friendly and funny. We saw a lot of colorful fish, coral, and other marine life.
Read CaribbeanBluSea's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image collinsmom4301
3 reviews
Dec 2012
This is a great place to snorkel. The air and water temps were great. The island was crowded but modernized. Great sea views and Caribbean feel on this island.
Read collinsmom4301's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Strea Charters
Member Image memsquad
1 review
Dec 2012
Superior experience with Aruba Bob. You can find them online or through TripAdvisor.
Read memsquad's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Aruba Bob
Member Image jbackus8746
3 reviews
Dec 2012
We were met at the dock and off we went for a nice boat ride. We went two spots of open water snorkeling. ONe was off a wrecked WWII German ship.
Read jbackus8746's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image manyquestionscruiser
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2012
Best tour. Wonderful sailing trip to two snorkel spots. Helpful staff. My first ever snorkel on a shipwreck and the fish were fantastic. It was the highlight of the trip for me.
Read manyquestionscruiser's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Luvsnorkeling
3 reviews
Dec 2012
THERE IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE WITH THE PIRATE SHIP EXCURSION. They take you from shore to the pirate ship in a small flat john boat. The crew of the excursion packed about 50 of us into this small boat until I was scared (and I'm a good swimmer). The boat felt like it would tip or sink. There were no life jackets aboard, and we were literally sitting on top of each other. Had it sunk or tipped over, it could have been disastrous. After the excursion, we were taken back to shore the same way. Loved the excursion but would not take it again nor recommend it until this safety issue is resolved.
Read Luvsnorkeling's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Woodinville
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Aruba - we opted for a Sail/Snorkle trip with about 25 others. It was as expected. What was very nice to see was the over-emphasis by the ships crew on personal safety. Following the excursion we opted to walk into town for dinner (as sail-away was at 2300) - we chose LG Smith Steak House - excellent service, good wines, and good steaks (not as good as the Pinacle Grill).
Read Woodinville's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Sandra in San Antonio
3 reviews
Nov 2012
We chose the Mi Dushi Sailing/Snorkeling excursion. Lunch was great. The people on the ship were friendly. The water was warm and the snorkeling locations were good. The rope swing was fun! There was no shade on the boat, however, and limited seating. Bring a big hat and lots of sunshade lotion!
Read Sandra in San Antonio's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image suepell
1 review
Nov 2012
not much to see.
Read suepell's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BSinPNS
9 reviews
Nov 2012
Aruba Bob Another great snorkeling adventure in the Southern Caribbean We had never heard of power assisted snorkeling before but were fascinated by the idea and booked with Aruba Bob based on TA and Cruise Critic reports. The process was straightforward and Stuart Finch arrived early to pick us up near the cruise terminal. He drove us to a resort near the site where he fitted us with excellent gear. Then it was off to the entry point for a great time snorkeling. Stuart carefully explained what we were going to do and some safety rules before we entered the water. Throughout the trip, Stu was checking on us, pointing out things of interest and taking pictures. We snorkeled for about two hours and covered almost a mile. After finishing, we were given the option to go back to the resort to shower, swim in the pool, and have a few drinks or head back to the port. We opted for the later. Can't say enough good things about Stuart and Aruba Bob - a professional organization with top quality equipment and great customer service. Cruise ship passengers are required to pay a 50% deposit through PayPal due to a history of excessive no-shows from shipboard passengers. (BTW, we are in our mid/late 60's in fair to good condition and had no problems participating in all the activities.)
Read BSinPNS's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Aruba Bob
Member Image robert0317
1 review
Nov 2012
Phenomenal tour and guides
Read robert0317's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image deckchair_captain
12 reviews
Nov 2012
Booked with a group of friends (40) this was a delightful snorkel tour, three different snorkel stops, beautiful scenery, a full BBQ lunch, and open bar for the entire tour. We would definitely recommend them to anyone, and we would certainly consider taking a tour with them again on our next visit.
Read deckchair_captain's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Jolly Pirates
Member Image chatty_cathy
3 reviews
Oct 2012
We were a little disappointed in the snorkeling. We had 25 minutes at 2 different sites. The first a reef and the second a sunken ship. We felt we could have had more snorkeling time if we had just gone to the beach and seen just as many fish.
Read chatty_cathy's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 4skeeter
1 review
Oct 2012
The catamaran was full 72 people. The swim areas are also full of others. Yet we had a lot of fun. Saw the wreck, a reef, and lighthouse fm the water. Looks like a real fun island! Got back w less than 45 min to board ship so NO shopping. Shops are typical of Carribean but if you want to shop you better not go on long water tour. shorter choices will work but we had lots of rum punch! All 72 were singing on the way home. SUNBLOCK!
Read 4skeeter's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image azbjc
2 reviews
Apr 2012
Was not impressed with the snorkel site. Jolly Pirates was okay but wouldn't use them again.
Read azbjc's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rudeman
6 reviews
Mar 2012
We had an early excursion in Aruba on a pirate ship to three snorkeling stops. The ride from the pier and back was an excursion in itself aboard a party bus! The ship was an old pirate vessel. Free drinks, once snorkeling was complete, music, sun and fun made for a great trip. The highlight, however, was the rope swing off the vessel. Most folks tried it and it was a fun event. We'd also recommend this tour. We did a little shopping then headed aboard.
Read rudeman's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image footlooseFF
2 reviews
Mar 2012
We booked a snorkel trip with Aruba Bob. It was fabulous! Stuart picked us up at the dock and we snorkeled Mangel Halto using motorized handheld units. We freshened up at Club Arias (where Aruba Bob is based), using the restrooms, outdoor showers and having a refreshing drink before returning to the ship. We would definitely do this excursion again. The transportation cost was $20 each way and the snorkel was $40.
Read footlooseFF's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Aruba Bob
Member Image Ole Salt
2 reviews
Mar 2012
This was a part of the sailing experience discussed above.
Read Ole Salt's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image beach1948
1 review
Feb 2012
Nice experience but too crowded. Our catamaran (Fiesta) had 82 people. We joined two other similar boats at the snorkeling sites. Too many people in the water at the same time made things dangerous and challenging.
Read beach1948's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AttilaTheFun
1 review
Feb 2012
We booked another Princess excursion of a snorkeling trip on a catamaran - $50 per person for a 3-hour tour again. The crew were very nice, but the snorkeling was tougher than we expected. The first snorkel spot was very close to the coast and we saw some coral about about 3 kinds of fish. TIP - take a bagel or other kind of bread with you to feed the fish. I know technically you're not supposed to take any food off the ship, so proceed at your own risk, but you will see a TON more fish that way. The second snorkel spot was further off the coast where the Antilla shipwreck was located, but the waves were much rougher. We spent most of the time choking on seawater and emptying our masks, but did see some of the ship. We were definitely tired after that though! On the way over, they served soft drinks and on the way back, you could also get rum punch. The sailing part was beautiful and a nice way to see the coastline of Aruba.
Read AttilaTheFun's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image curiselove
1 review
Aug 2011
Went on a pirate ship snorkeling and rope swinging. People were great - a little choppy for snorkeling, but I just love the ocean, so it was great for me!
Read curiselove's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.