Dunedin Taieri Gorge Railway Excursion Reviews

Dunedin Taieri Gorge Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A highlight of any visit to Dunedin is a trip on the Taieri Gorge Railway -- one of the world's greatest train trips through rugged landscapes and hand-carved tunnels.
Member Image trurotraveler
2 reviews
Oct 2016
There was some very nice scenary on the second half of the trip....but not worth the money
Read trurotraveler's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Pinery
1 review
Oct 2016
We took the Tranz Alpine railroad through the cruise line - expensive but worth every cent. The train was comfortable, food was good, and the scenery spectacular. I wapuld give it 5 stars
Read Pinery's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruiseellen
1 review
Oct 2016
Long train ride but the end was kind of pretty don;'t know that I would go again.
Read Cruiseellen's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image byrwcfh
1 review
Feb 2016
Nice train trip. Relaxing - good food and beautiful gorge.
Read byrwcfh's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image verne1956
2 reviews
Jan 2016
I enjoyed this trip the cruise ship had booked out the train so volunteers maned it. Gaye our hostess was full of fun she made my day. It was cloudy and cool in Dunedin but hot and clear in the Gorges. Booking on the ship was expensive I think you could get it much cheaper if you went on another day if staying in Dunedin
Read verne1956's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image kwkiwi
2 reviews
Dec 2015
Loved the train ride into Taieri Gorge. What a spectacular engineering feat from the late 1800s. Make sure you ask for a right hand side seat going into the gorge. The bus trip round Dunedin afterwards was also fab, Richard is a local and gives a very good overview of Dunedin. NB wouldn't recommend the train trip for kids or teenagers, it's too long at 4 hours there and back.
Read kwkiwi's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Good Company Tours
Member Image hazelmurf
2 reviews
Nov 2015
Some spectacular scenery. Much cheaper to book independently and included a city tour.
Read hazelmurf's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image thistledoo
3 reviews
Oct 2015
We took a private tour with Good Company Tours, booked online prior to the cruise. There was pick up from the port, a train trip to Taieri Gorge followed by a two hour city tour. Highly recommended at a fraction of the cost of the ship tour.
Read thistledoo's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Table 197
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Our tour guide was very lovely. All guides were volunteers and enjoyed what they were doing. Train stopped at 2 local markets for us to buy gifts. Lunch provided. Great day
Read Table 197's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Purdo57
1 review
Mar 2015
A fantastic day out. make sure you get the first shuttle once off the ship which will get you to the railway station in time for the 9.30 train and then from there it's clickety clack for the day.
Read Purdo57's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CHELSEADOG
5 reviews
Mar 2015
Nice train ride. We were able to see the country side. The seats were tight. The tour booked with the cruise line had wine and a nice lunch. We had a snack bar. Our train went further so we got back later. I wasn't able to go to the Cadbury chocolate factory
Read CHELSEADOG's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Nightowl50
1 review
Mar 2015
Lovely day and sights spectacular.
Read Nightowl50's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mab58
1 review
Jan 2015

Lovely trip nice meal

Read mab58's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bushbaby52
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Excellent tour
Read bushbaby52's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image walmar8416
1 review
Feb 2013

Took the Taieri Gorge Railway, thoroughly recommend it. Lovely morning tea and lunch. and stop at wonderful Craft Market that only comes out for the Cruise Ships.

My sister and I went into Dunedin for a look while Mum took the train back to the Ship.

When it left it was lovely to sit on the balcony and listen to the Pipe band playing as we sailed away.

Read walmar8416's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image prperry
1 review
Jan 2013
This was by far the best excursion of the whole trip. The train picked us up at the wharf and we started off with champagne and orange juice. A bit later on we had morning tea, which was a cuppa and a short bread. We had a stop half way up and the locals were there with a small craft market. Then at the end of the line, there was a bigger craft market. We were told that the market only operates when the cruise ships come in. On the way back, we had a lovely lunch with more wine. We got off at Dunedin station to explore the city, our mother went on back to the ship. There was a festival on which was a bonus for us. At the end as we were leaving the wharf, we where sent off by a Pipe band which was lovely,
Read prperry's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Mountains123
2 reviews
Dec 2012
Definitely worthwhile to take the Taieri Gorge Railway to see some of the scenery in this beautiful country - takes you from Port Chalmers (dock) thru Dunedin thru farmland thru high hills/forest areas and back again. You are served tea/coffee there and a delicious box lunch with sandwich, salad, cheese, dessert on the way back. Train station is beautiful. Note 1: Yes, you can pick up the train in Dunedin, but you must get there first from the ship and it's about 30 mins away; if you take the ship shore excursion, so it may cost alittle more, but with less hassle and you have first choice of seats. Note 2: There is no free time if you see both sights (train and castle) to do exploring/shopping.
Read Mountains123's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Bella Lee
1 review
Oct 2012
Excellent ride.. tho exorbitantly priced through Cruise Line. Even with $12 fare each way on shuttle is a better deal, and with time in Dunedin.
Read Bella Lee's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cassamanda
1 review
Mar 2012
Outstanding experience and the operator supplied a shuttle bus from the terminal to the station. A town tour was also offered at minimal cost after the train trip. The views were spectacular. A cafe operated on the train.
Read cassamanda's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Taieri Gorge Railway

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?