Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Dunedin City Tour Excursion Reviews

Dunedin City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Tour the city of Dunedin to see the best of its Victorian and Edwardian architecture and attractions, including the world's steepest street.
Member Image KayTong
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

So we were so dump. when you get off right at port charmers the information center has everything there, you can book tours half the cost, but we spent $36 for the 4 of us to take a taxi into the city.

the city tour picks up and drops off on the port if you take the last castle tour, but you can start the city tour right away. but realize this that each drop off point you have to wait 1 hour before getting picked up.

Book the chocolate tour early, but if you can't just go there and you can get in like in a half hour.

Read KayTong's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image mezza
15 reviews
Mar 2013
would have liked to have done other excursions such as the railways but all were very expensive - maybe next time
Read mezza's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mr walker
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Guide was informative - well organised tour
Read mr walker's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pcpop
1 review
Dec 2012
I would highly recommend this tour to first time visitors to Dunedin. We were picked up from the wharf and dropped us off in dunedin Central which allowed us some free time to wander around and see the historic train station, speights brewery and cadbury chocolate factory. all were walking distance from the Octagon. We were then picked up from the info centre and taken on a (2 hour)guided tour around the inner city and the surrounding areas of Dunedin before being transported back to the Boat. Our tour guide (Richard) was very knowledgble and informative. He even gave us a break down on each suburb we drove through including average property prices. The History of Dunedin and its people was very interesting and boasts alot of firsts both nationally and internationally. Dunedin is a beautiful clean city surrounded by water and rich in History. It was a fine sunny day but there was a cool wind outside on the inner city.
Read pcpop's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Good Company tours
Member Image Granny S
1 review
Nov 2012
A clean, medium sized, airconditioned bus picked us up for our tour. With only about 20 passengers capacity there was a friendly atmosphere. The driver was friendly and offered a very informative commentary during the 2 hour trip. This encompassed the city and surrounding areas from the hills to the beaches, including the worlds steepest street. It also gave us time to take photos. We had a great time and saw as much as was possible in the time available. Great value!
Read Granny S's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: goodfellow tours
Member Image janwar17
1 review
Mar 2012
Very good as well, the whole day was excellent.
Read janwar17's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: information centre
Member Image Jennifer gilby
1 review
Jan 2012
The city run a hop on bus, brilliant,from the port for just $25nz takes you to the Botanical Garden,(1-2hrs) Oraga Museum (1-2hrs plus all the other places of interest. If you want to do the Taieri Gorge Railway on your own book online beforehand as it sells out price about £100 cheaper than cruise ship
Read Jennifer gilby's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Po11y27
1 review
Dec 2011
Self-directed touring. We hired a vehicle and drove to each of the stops. The first stop was Cadburys. The tour was not very good as the factory was mainly closed down. We did get a very good commentary from our guide and we all sampled various types of chocolate. Interesting but would have been better if it were all operating. We then drove out to Natures Wonders for a fun excursion to see some fantastic conservation efforts. We all enjoyed the tour in the eight-wheel-drive buggy to see seals and penguins along with a very interesting commentary from our guides. This is one to add to your list. A must see. From there we went on to Speights Brewery.
Read Po11y27's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.