Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Dominica Whale & Dolphin Watching Excursion Reviews

Dominica Whale & Dolphin Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dominica's whale and dolphin species can be found year round in the island's crystal blue waters. Various species you may encounter include, Spotted and Spinner dolphins as well as Pilot and Orca whales.
Member Image HankBuckley
1 review
Mar 2014

This was our LEAST favorite port.
Whale/Dolphin watching: We saw absolutely NOTHING the entire boat ride. While the crew was very nice and tried many locations in order to get us to see something, we saw nothing and it was more than a little disappointing. That's the risk you take when trying to see wild animals in their natural habitat. There are no guarantees! I wish we had chosen a different excursion, in hindsight.

We were there on a Sunday and almost everything was closed. No shops, maybe 1 or 2 restaurants (we ate at CocoRico cafe - it was lovely), and a small open air market that sold touristy trinkets. We were back on the ship with hours to spare.

Read HankBuckley's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Tyrmowes
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Hassled a bit when arriving at the port but ok once on the excursion, nice clean boat, friendly and knowledgable staff, saw lots of whales but no dolphins, and a large turtle basking in the sun, drinks included. But when we left the port a pod of dolphins swam with us.

Read Tyrmowes's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mill99
1 review
Jan 2013
Dominica is a beautiful, but poor island. This excursion was great. The captain of the boat was very skilled at spotting whales and getting alongside them to give us a great view of them. We saw lots of sperm whales - adults and calves - it was a wonderful experience. They don't guarantee sightings of course, but if the whales are there I'm pretty sure that captain will find them. I'd recommend it.
Read Mill99's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Blue_waters
2 reviews
Dec 2012
Other members of our party who were not SCUBA certified went on this excursion and found it very enjoyable. No whales were spotted; however, dolphin were abundant and put on quite a show for the tour boat. Boat crew was knowledgeable and provided background on sea life found in the Caribbean. The port of Dominica shows some wear to the buildings but was very clean. A tent market is next to the pier but mostly knick-knacks from China at prices higher than elsewhere in the islands. Some trendy shops on side streets had better quality wares, but no bargains. Expect to pay full retail. Local water was $2 a bottle but as delicious as Fiji water since it is also sourced from volcanic springs on the island. The port area was strangely deserted as compared to other ports - only tourists and vendors. Traffic was almost nonexistent.
Read Blue_waters's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hyker1
6 reviews
Dec 2012
This tour was the low point of our trip. Whenever you seek out wildlife, it's never a guaranteed thing. However, the staff/crew that led this tour didn't do much to enhance the experience. We were taken straight to the dock and boarded the whale-watching boat. We would be looking for Sperm Whales, 200 of which roam off the coast of Dominica year-round. The crew used echo-locating devices that were dipped into the water to sound "readings" to locate whales that were within several miles. We didn't have any luck. However, nor did the crew do much explaining as to what they were doing. Several people (myself included) fielded questions regarding the process, but sometimes we were "shushed" and we wound up learning very little about Sperm Whales. Consequently, little or no information was given about dolphins, which we were also supposed to be looking for. Several times, people saw birds feeding/flying about over the water, but we didn't see anything. Supposedly, we "heard" whales, but I'm not 100% sure about that, personally. The crew acted almost as though they were the only ones on board and that we weren't there at all. Most of the people on the boat fell asleep after the first hour and a half. My husband and I kept looking for wildlife, still asking several questions. Those were answer tersely without any additional information given. We both felt like the captain and crew missed a great opportunity to discuss whales and dolphins and perhaps even educate us more on the process of locating them, despite us not having any luck. Honestly, I didn't see a single person place anything in their tip jars. Sad to say, they didn't really deserve any, and it had nothing to do with our not seeing any whales or dolphins!
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image unaversatility
1 review
Nov 2012
At Dominica we had an organised Dolphin and Whale excursion in a small boat, the rain was pouring down and we were pleased to see that the boat had a covered deck. The Dolphins were amazing, one actually jumped up and spun like at the Dolphin shows and I actually caught this on camera. The only disappointment was that the Sperm Whales were not available, possibly delayed in their pilgrimage to spawn by the recent storm. There was a lovely warehouse of market stalls to shop in when we returned to dock, and just to make the day perfect it had stoped raining soon after our sightseeing tour began.
Read unaversatility's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Cindy
13 reviews
Nov 2012
The Whale and Dolphin Safari was a boat ride off the coast looking for wildlife. We saw plenty of dolphins, but alas no whales. This tour departed from a pier right next to the ship. We would like to go back to Dominica and see the interior of the island.
Read Cindy's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image sanwt77
1 review
Mar 2012
Don't waste your time. You are basically paying for a boat ride. They had something that looked like some kind of homemade contraption that supposedly called whales. It did not work.
Read sanwt77's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.