Nassau Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

Nassau Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dip into Nassau's beautiful waters to catch a glimpse of the spectacular coral reefs hidden just below the surface. Snorkeling provides access to this unforgettable underwater world without the difficulty and training necessary for full on scuba.
Member Image hirro
1 review
Nov 2016
Staff didn't add any value to the trip, didn't show or explain anything in the water and the reef was dead.
Read hirro's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rehusk1
1 review
Oct 2016
Loved it, easy to find and great workers. Good rum punches included after the snorkel on the way back to the ship.
Read rehusk1's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Downpayment
1 review
Oct 2016
Great group of people! Had a first timer and they did awesome explaining everything.
Read Downpayment's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image smstaf1
1 review
Oct 2016
While it was somewhat understandable that the island was still dealing with the effects of Hurricane Matthew, is seemed inexcusable why we were still allowed to attempt the excursion. First, the excursion staff seemed totally unprepared for the number of guests booked from the 3 ships that were in port. They decided to pile everyone (approximately 75-100 passengers) onto one catamaran to "sail" to the snorkeling location. Prior to leaving the port, the operator had to obtain enough equipment from a second boat in order for everyone to have both goggles/snorkels and flippers. Second, they had no refreshments available on board at the time they picked everyone up. Again, due to the proximity of how recently the hurricane hit, it is understandable that bottled water was scarce on the island, but to have nothing seems like poor preparation. After the equipment was all loaded aboard the one boat, we were taken to a fuel dock so the staff could get a water cooler to fill with water for the passengers to drink. Third, and probably most importantly, once we finally reached the location we were to be snorkeling, we were told the water was too cloudy (again due to the recent storm) and would not be allowed to get in the water. We were then brought back to town and dropped off and told we would need to contact our cruise staff regarding any refunds (which we later found out that the cruise line was told by the snorkeling operator that everything went fine). To me, it would have made sense for the company operating the excursion to send someone to the snorkeling site to verify the conditions in the morning before we boarded the catamaran rather than wasting over 2 hours of our time in port.
Read smstaf1's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TickledBlue
1 review
Sep 2016
Rainbow reef was beautiful and had a good number of fish. The tour was pretty basic but it was very reasonably priced. Wouldn't recommend for a first time snorkle, go on a catamaran sail/snorkle tour with fewer people, more personalized service.
Read TickledBlue's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jesterjax
3 reviews
Sep 2016
The boat of sadness, booked this outside the gates for less, but it was the same excursion that NCL had booked folks on for SUP and glass bottom kayak. Old boat, motored out to Athol Island, very little living reef. The gear was old junk, I should have brought my own gear which was on the ship. Super cheap, common water from a jug, not bottled, they gave you a plastic cup, and reminded you to keep it if you wanted refills. Drinks were rum punch for $5 on the way back, but no one bothered. They had us sit in the blazing sun with no shade on the top deck on the way out to listen to the guys safety talk, and get a harbor tour of the rich and famous houses. Who cares! It's hot! Most folks wanted to get back into the shade on the first deck. While snorkeling, I saw what I later identified when I got home from my video as a Remora, which swam past about 5 feet away, looked like a shark. People said it looked like a baby barracuda, in any event it was a bit frightening. One of the "Lifeguards" said it was a baby nurse shark, and did I want to hold it, I guess that would be great fun for him, because they like to stick on to people, which would really have freaked someone out! The only quality thing I've ever done in Nassau was Blue Lagoon island, swimming with Dolphins. Versus every other experience, I'd rather stay on the ship, the stop is really quite depressing.
Read jesterjax's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Festa
Member Image heit0068
1 review
Aug 2016
Beautiful fish and coral reef. Very reasonably priced. Bathrooms available on the little boat taking you out to the reef. Friendly guides who offer chips and drinks for purchase on the way back.
Read heit0068's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Pamela36
1 review
Aug 2016
I didn't think I'd be snorkeling in the Atlantis Hotel's fishtank. I actually thought it would be in a protected reef area on the Atlantis property somewhere. It was good, but wasn't as big as I would have liked. The Atlantis employee who stayed with us the entire time talked about the different types of fish and sharks and showed us a shark egg. He was very nice.
Read Pamela36's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image scipriani
1 review
Aug 2016
We picked this to snorkel with sharks. Only got to see two, but still very cool.
Read scipriani's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Stuart Cove
Member Image 2hot2cruise
1 review
Aug 2016
reasonably well run. Number of people made it a challenge to enjoy the reef, but by recognizing the novices and entering the water first, swimming away from the boat and staying away from other folks it was a good trip
Read 2hot2cruise's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RtisticMe
1 review
Aug 2016
Rode for about an hour to diving area. Once everyone was in the water, it was a little crowded. Snorkeled for about an hour, then an hour ride back. If you are prone to sea sickness, take your meds. This boat travels slowly and rocks quite a bit.
Read RtisticMe's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dwayneh
1 review
Aug 2016
Lots of fun!
Read dwayneh's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jfelliott@live.com
1 review
Aug 2016
Two reef snorkel by boat -- excellent staff and experience!
Read jfelliott@live.com's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ocalabunch
1 review
Jul 2016
Two reef snorkel was good. Good instruction from crew and equipment was in good shape. Spent about 30-40 minutes at each snorkel spot. Saw lots of fish. Some real close and in large schools. Others down at the bottom in the reef. Lots of colorful coral but water depth was too deep at about 20 feet. First time out for my 12 year old son. He loved it and even saw a fish that had to have been almost his size. On the way back to the ship the crew tried to talk about the big houses on Paradise Island but did not have a speaker system so we could not hear very well.
Read ocalabunch's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jljnsuger@sc.rr.com
1 review
Jul 2016
In Nassau we did the 2 Reef Snorkel by Boat. It was a great experience with lots of colorful fish. Shopping by the docks was interesting. If you go to the Straw Market be ready to be pressured for sales by the merchants. Would highly recommend this snorkeling excursion.
Read jljnsuger@sc.rr.com's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image police2365
1 review
Jul 2016
Great experience. Capt. Paul was awesome and very patient with some of the small children who were not the best behaved!!!
Read police2365's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Clawman
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Our catamaran was out of service and the ship cancelled our excursion. They offered a 2 story boat and charged us an extra $20 because they offered rum punch on the way back to the ship! This was not a fun atmosphere that we hoped for!
Read Clawman's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image highseas1
2 reviews
Jul 2016
We did the Athol Island Snorkel trip. This was one of the best snorkel sites we have been to on a cruise- plenty of fish and a wide variety of living coral. One hour was not enough. Unfortunately, this trip was scheduled right in the middle of the stay-over, so we did not get to do much more than pick up some souvenirs in Nassau. Take advantage of the free shuttle offered by the Bahamas government from the boat to the port. Otherwise, it looked like a hot, long walk from the port to the ship.
Read highseas1's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Luvmydachshunds
1 review
Jul 2016
There were not many colorful fish or things to look at under the water where we were.
Read Luvmydachshunds's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image trumpetfish55
1 review
Jul 2016
The reef was great and the water was crystal clear. On the way back to the ship celebrity homes were pointed out.
Read trumpetfish55's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image awunderlich3
1 review
Jul 2016
We went to Rainbow Reef - Best snorkel experience we've ever had! The fish and coral were stunning, and the cruise guides told us about who owned which houses and islands (we saw Eddie Murphey's private island, and houses owned by Johnny Depp, Oprah, Beyonce, and Chuck Norris!
Read awunderlich3's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MrLancasterPA
1 review
Jul 2016
Perfect 3 hour boat ride and snorkel. Great value as well only $40 per person
Read MrLancasterPA's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image fbrocca
1 review
Jul 2016
Very nice snorkeling on a little island... the mask and snorkel are not really clean, but it was ok.
Read fbrocca's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image parkeramjc
1 review
Jul 2016
Snorkeling was OK. Long boat drive but we were in the water for 45 minutes. Good area and this was the alternate as the primary was choppy.
Read parkeramjc's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image alanazahorak
1 review
Jun 2016
Rainbow Reef and snorkel was amazing, nice crew and location to snorkel was just fantastic, the best I've experienced to date.
Read alanazahorak's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?