Nassau City Tour Excursion Reviews

Nassau City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
From the decadent Atlantis resort to the colonial era Fort Charlotte, there is no lack of activity on Nassau. Take a guided tour to see it all in one day.
Member Image Sun Lover
1 review
Feb 2017
We met our tour operator at the designated place in Nassau as stated in their email. It was only about a 10 min. walk from the ship. Kevin was the name of our guide. This was a city tour that took us by van to several different places, including a distillery, rum cake factory, chocolate factory, Atlantis, and the Queen's staircase. It was a nice tour and Kevin was very informative about the history of Nassau along the way. The only thing that could have been better would be to allow more time at Atlantis. We only had 30 mins. there and it's such a big place, that it didn't give us much time. However, we walked along the marina area and saw some amazing yachts docked there and went in a couple shops. For the cost of this tour, I felt it was well worthwhile and a good way to spend the day in Nassau, as our time there was very short.
Read Sun Lover's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tyrone Wilson through Viator
Member Image lynnc2015
1 review
Feb 2017
Although the area around the cruise ship port is kept very nice for tourists, the remainder of Nassau could use cleaning up. Quite a lot of trash by the roads and on lots within the city. I don't know anything about the public services of Nassau but it seems to me that if the city were cleaned up tourist traffic and dollars would only increase.
Read lynnc2015's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: toured on our own by foot
Member Image TexasBlue7
1 review
Jan 2017
Too many stops at commercial ventures
Read TexasBlue7's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ott
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Tyrone Wilson Tours is a local tour company I found on TripAdvisor. It was a two hour tour and was excellent. Our driver, Kevin, was very familiar with all the designated sops we made and gave us more history and antecdotes than we could remember. We stopped at Atlantis, a Rum Cake bakery, a rum distillery, a chocolate factory and the Queen's Steps. All in all, this was a fabulous tour for the money and Kevin made it superior.
Read ott's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Tyrone Wilson Tours
Member Image kodipepper
1 review
Jan 2017
Historical and food tour - a walking tour with 6 different food stops in little local restaurants. Authentic Caribbean food. Tour guide was very informative. We enjoyed the tour.
Read kodipepper's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: viator
Member Image r1drama
1 review
Jan 2017
Rum cake and distillery tour. Fun and informative.
Read r1drama's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mrronn1206
1 review
Dec 2016
We did this on our own. Walked around the city, found the straw market, Senor Frog and shipped at the local stores.
Read mrronn1206's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cathie111
1 review
Dec 2016
The driver was super friendly, though loud (despite having a microphone). Not much to really see in Nassau, I guess. We did learn a bit about the history of the island which was great, though I would've loved to have seen more history and less shopping.
Read Cathie111's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image rwalke8
1 review
Nov 2016
Not much to see in a run down area like downtown Nassau. The guide made the best of it.
Read rwalke8's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DOUGinNJ
1 review
Nov 2016
had a nice snorkeling adventure near Paradise Island and went for a horse and buggy city tour
Read DOUGinNJ's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image swatkins56
1 review
Nov 2016
Great tour and guide! However, Friday afternoon traffic was a challenge. Felt we didn't get to see everything there was.
Read swatkins56's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dtaylor144
1 review
Oct 2016
Informative. But was more interested in getting you to spend money at straw markets.
Read dtaylor144's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Deckpals
1 review
Sep 2016
Nassau was not as glamorous as we expecting. The bus tour gave us a good glimpse of the capital, but Nassau looked quite impoverished & in need of investment.
Read Deckpals's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image csk47
3 reviews
Sep 2016
The two and a half hour city tour provided by Tyrone Wilson was okay but nothing special. We stopped at the rum cake "factory" for ten minutes (five minutes waiting in line) just to get a sliver of rum cake. There was no tour of any "factory". We then went to Atlantis for a twenty minute walk around. We also stopped for a "tour" of a distillery where we were given a 1/2 ounce taste of rum...no tour. We also stopped at a chocolate factory...that mean we each got a tiny sliver of chocolate...that's it. There was also the stop at the Queen's Staircase. We were dropped off where there were probably twenty vendors all selling cheap souvenirs and there was really nothing telling about the history of the Queen's Staircase...disappointing. Our driver (not Mr. Wilson) kept asking us questions about who was the original owner of Atlantis....who cares? We didn't go to any scenic spots just mostly driving the streets of downtown Nassau. At least the price was only $20...some operators charged much more for the same thing. My advice is forget the city tour.
Read csk47's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tyrone Wilson
Member Image Kiwi Ko.
1 review
Aug 2016
It was fine. Nothing compared to Castaway Key.
Read Kiwi Ko.'s full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image gusstr
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Enjoyed learning about the city and visiting several land marks.
Read gusstr's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MoBlind
1 review
Jul 2016
Had a great time with our driver and throughout Nassau
Read MoBlind's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Independent Driver
Member Image angoracruiser
2 reviews
Jul 2016
This was a great tour. The bus driver was very attentive and helpful.
Read angoracruiser's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image esantama
1 review
Jun 2016
Captain Kirk was very funny and knowledgeable!
Read esantama's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Captain Kirk
Member Image aleenaali52@gmail.com
1 review
May 2016
Value for money was excellent (US$20 per person for two and a half hours), but the time ended up running to 4 hours, during which the driver took a detour to pick up his son at school, stopped to collect money from someone and took many "back-roads" on the latter hald of the tour through what he described as "ghetto areas" instead of staying on the main roads. We did however get our money's worth by learning fun facts about various buildings and landmarks, visiting historic steps commemorating the abolishing of slavery, touring a rum distillery, exploring a large fort, visiting a beach and taking a drive through Atlantis, where we were able to come out and walk through the hotel.
Read aleenaali52@gmail.com's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cwutzl2@gmail.com
1 review
Apr 2016
Traveled to a different area than most other guides. Fort Charlotte, Graycliff, an herbalist and then the usuals.
Read cwutzl2@gmail.com's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Philip
Member Image garnufa
1 review
Mar 2016
it was a bus tour of city sights. You get what you pay for. We were a bit rushed at a few of the stops. the driver/tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable.
Read garnufa's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dova
1 review
Feb 2016
We walked around the main street til our tour. Nassau was what I expected the Caribbean to be like (hot and colorful full of life). Tour was okay tour guide knowledgeable.
Read Dova's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Shakal
1 review
Dec 2015
Great
Read Shakal's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Perwal
1 review
Dec 2015
Took us on an excellent tour of the wealthy, middle class and poor areas of Nassau. Gave an interesting presentation of the government and history of the island. Visited the Rum factory, and dropped us at a great restaurant for lunch, then came back and picked us up afterward (still hadn't paid him a dime). then took us on a shopping tour and finally to Atlantis at Paradise Island. Very comprehensive and reasonably priced. We did tip him $100.
Read Perwal's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Brent private taxi

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?