Nassau City Tour Excursion Reviews

Nassau City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
From the decadent Atlantis resort to the colonial era Fort Charlotte, there is no lack of activity on Nassau. Take a guided tour to see it all in one day.
Member Image csk47
3 reviews
Sep 2016
The two and a half hour city tour provided by Tyrone Wilson was okay but nothing special. We stopped at the rum cake "factory" for ten minutes (five minutes waiting in line) just to get a sliver of rum cake. There was no tour of any "factory". We then went to Atlantis for a twenty minute walk around. We also stopped for a "tour" of a distillery where we were given a 1/2 ounce taste of rum...no tour. We also stopped at a chocolate factory...that mean we each got a tiny sliver of chocolate...that's it. There was also the stop at the Queen's Staircase. We were dropped off where there were probably twenty vendors all selling cheap souvenirs and there was really nothing telling about the history of the Queen's Staircase...disappointing. Our driver (not Mr. Wilson) kept asking us questions about who was the original owner of Atlantis....who cares? We didn't go to any scenic spots just mostly driving the streets of downtown Nassau. At least the price was only $20...some operators charged much more for the same thing. My advice is forget the city tour.
Read csk47's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tyrone Wilson
Member Image MoBlind
1 review
Jul 2016
Had a great time with our driver and throughout Nassau
Read MoBlind's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Independent Driver
Member Image angoracruiser
2 reviews
Jul 2016
This was a great tour. The bus driver was very attentive and helpful.
Read angoracruiser's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image esantama
1 review
Jun 2016
Captain Kirk was very funny and knowledgeable!
Read esantama's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Captain Kirk
Member Image aleenaali52@gmail.com
1 review
May 2016
Value for money was excellent (US$20 per person for two and a half hours), but the time ended up running to 4 hours, during which the driver took a detour to pick up his son at school, stopped to collect money from someone and took many "back-roads" on the latter hald of the tour through what he described as "ghetto areas" instead of staying on the main roads. We did however get our money's worth by learning fun facts about various buildings and landmarks, visiting historic steps commemorating the abolishing of slavery, touring a rum distillery, exploring a large fort, visiting a beach and taking a drive through Atlantis, where we were able to come out and walk through the hotel.
Read aleenaali52@gmail.com's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cwutzl2@gmail.com
1 review
Apr 2016
Traveled to a different area than most other guides. Fort Charlotte, Graycliff, an herbalist and then the usuals.
Read cwutzl2@gmail.com's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Philip
Member Image garnufa
1 review
Mar 2016
it was a bus tour of city sights. You get what you pay for. We were a bit rushed at a few of the stops. the driver/tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable.
Read garnufa's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dova
1 review
Feb 2016
We walked around the main street til our tour. Nassau was what I expected the Caribbean to be like (hot and colorful full of life). Tour was okay tour guide knowledgeable.
Read Dova's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Shakal
1 review
Dec 2015
Great
Read Shakal's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Perwal
1 review
Dec 2015
Took us on an excellent tour of the wealthy, middle class and poor areas of Nassau. Gave an interesting presentation of the government and history of the island. Visited the Rum factory, and dropped us at a great restaurant for lunch, then came back and picked us up afterward (still hadn't paid him a dime). then took us on a shopping tour and finally to Atlantis at Paradise Island. Very comprehensive and reasonably priced. We did tip him $100.
Read Perwal's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Brent private taxi
Member Image Karen4120
1 review
Sep 2015
We were originally going on a catamaran and beach tour but the weather looked iffy. We were told we could not cancel just had an option to change to another tour. We booked the charm & beauty of the bahamas. The tour guide was awesome Tour was too long. Most of the stops were a waste of time. A 2 hr drive would have been better. The tour guide did take one of the best pictures of my husband and I so that was a plus :)
Read Karen4120's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GablesandGreen
3 reviews
Aug 2015
went ashore to Nassau on a city tour that was $55 each, but with our onboard credit, it was $36US each. It was supposed to be 3.5 hours, but was closer to five, which was fine by us. We got to see inside one of the Atlantis hotels, we went to a distillery, we saw a food demonstration at a restaurant, and other sites. Our guide did a great job. We felt we got our money's worth and that it was safe going on a Carnival excursion. Although it may cost more to do it this way, our credit off-set the cost and the safety aspect is important to us.
Read GablesandGreen's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image croozernosnoozer
1 review
Jul 2015
It was the City Tour and beer hopping excursion. We enjoyed the tour and all the beer! The tour guides were wonderful & after the tour and beer tastings, we opted to shop on our own near the ship.
Read croozernosnoozer's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image QueenKatherine
1 review
Jul 2015
I wasn't impressed. Our guide, Richard, was great...the tour itself, wasn't. The official name of our tour was "Discover Nassau Town and Atlantis" - it was a small outfit and difficult to find the place to meet. We had to ask around - the locals were friendly and helpful, but they will accost you to braid your hair. (Those with short hair are NOT in the clear!) The bus was air conditioned, which was a necessity. The tour was way too short. With two stops, you only spend 30 minutes in each place - not nearly enough time to explore and see things. Richard provided fun and interesting insights into life in Nassau, and he was the one who made the tour. Had he not been so great, I would have given this tour a "1". After the rushed tour we did a little shopping, but were back on the boat well before we needed to be. This was the only tour I would not recommend, sadly. The Atlantis Aquaventure excursion seems too expensive for the time you are there (and semi-redundant, considering the cool waterslides on our ship), best left as an independent vacation spot. I would choose any of the other excursions if I went back - too bad I didn't know about them at the time of booking. Save the money you would spend on this tour and spend it on food or shopping - you will be so much happier!
Read QueenKatherine's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: cruiseexcursionsgroup.com
Member Image Atlasmc74
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Nassau is dirty, crowded and a hassle to get through as you wade through vendors just getting off the pier. The "City Tour" was essentially a ride to a fort overlooking the city where you encounter more vendors hassling you to buy stuff. - On our most recent trip (on Royal's Grandeur) the captain intimated that Nassau is one port that presents an above-average risk of infection from Norovirus.
Read Atlasmc74's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image davidwyant
1 review
Jun 2015
The tour included an old fort and paradise island.
Read davidwyant's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vdfuller
1 review
May 2015
Duane was great at giving us a tour of Nassau as we used him last year on our Disney cruise. He was very knowlegeble about things going on in Nassau. We will continue to use him in the future...he comes highly recommended.
Read vdfuller's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Duane Bethel
Member Image rogpeck2002
1 review
May 2015
Highly recommend people stay with a group. As soon as you leave the protected area your flooded with taxi and tour drivers, getting into town was a easy walk, but know your surroundings
Read rogpeck2002's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: unknown
Member Image seawalls
1 review
May 2015
My excursion was cancelled due to logistical reasons. So when I got off board, a man was promoting a city tour. The more people together, the cheaper the tour. The driver, Vern, took us all through the city, to Atlantis, and a couple of ports. The driver was so historically knowledgeable and he allowed us to stop in places off the path like the post office and to buy conch!
Read seawalls's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Vernal Moss
Member Image Linda Luau
1 review
Apr 2015
This was an informative tour of the islands, including a stop at Fort Charlotte, the Buena Vista Estates. home of the John Waltings Distillery for a self-guided tour and rum-tasting. We also drove through local neighborhoods, experiencing both ends of the economic spectrums of the island. Our guide was knowledgeable about the history of the island as well as the local floral and fauna of the area. Very entertaining time was had by all.
Read Linda Luau's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HJMeyer
1 review
Mar 2015
Short tour of the island. Saw the forts and Queens staircase. Not much selection in shopping and it's all the same. Not enough time to explore. Driver was informative. Went to Atlantis but you can't go inside much, only the casino and shops.
Read HJMeyer's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image moniemonie54
1 review
Mar 2015
Taken all over Nassau all around. Tour Guide Mr. Murray was well informed and very entertaining. Vehicle was very nice. He was concerned with everyone entering and exiting the vehicle. One woman was wheelchair bound and he lifted her and was very considerate of her condition. The people of Nassau were friendly
Read moniemonie54's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Shawn Murray
Member Image 2ndsailing
2 reviews
Jan 2015

Enjoyed our tour of Nassau. Tour operator was knowledgeable and friendly.

Read 2ndsailing's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image blumberg1703
1 review
Dec 2014

Very knowledgeable tour operator, took us to souvenir shops and Atlantis Resort.

Read blumberg1703's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image trekshop@aol.com
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

very nice older gentleman who was born and raised in Nassau, he was soliciting customers right at the pier after we came off the ship, but not in a pushy way, so when we finally arrived at the point where all the other tour guides are, that harnessed the hell out of us, we actually went back to him.
and that was the right decision, he gave us a very informative great tour of his island, even agreed to wait for us at the Yunkanoo beach so we can swim a little but the weather wasn't right for that so he took us back to the port, and got a good tip from us :)

Read trekshop@aol.com's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Gregg's Tours

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?