Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Nassau City Tour Excursion Reviews

Nassau City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
From the decadent Atlantis resort to the colonial era Fort Charlotte, there is no lack of activity on Nassau. Take a guided tour to see it all in one day.
Member Image Shakal
1 review
Dec 2015
Great
Read Shakal's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Perwal
1 review
Dec 2015
Took us on an excellent tour of the wealthy, middle class and poor areas of Nassau. Gave an interesting presentation of the government and history of the island. Visited the Rum factory, and dropped us at a great restaurant for lunch, then came back and picked us up afterward (still hadn't paid him a dime). then took us on a shopping tour and finally to Atlantis at Paradise Island. Very comprehensive and reasonably priced. We did tip him $100.
Read Perwal's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Brent private taxi
Member Image Karen4120
1 review
Sep 2015
We were originally going on a catamaran and beach tour but the weather looked iffy. We were told we could not cancel just had an option to change to another tour. We booked the charm & beauty of the bahamas. The tour guide was awesome Tour was too long. Most of the stops were a waste of time. A 2 hr drive would have been better. The tour guide did take one of the best pictures of my husband and I so that was a plus :)
Read Karen4120's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GablesandGreen
3 reviews
Aug 2015
went ashore to Nassau on a city tour that was $55 each, but with our onboard credit, it was $36US each. It was supposed to be 3.5 hours, but was closer to five, which was fine by us. We got to see inside one of the Atlantis hotels, we went to a distillery, we saw a food demonstration at a restaurant, and other sites. Our guide did a great job. We felt we got our money's worth and that it was safe going on a Carnival excursion. Although it may cost more to do it this way, our credit off-set the cost and the safety aspect is important to us.
Read GablesandGreen's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image croozernosnoozer
1 review
Jul 2015
It was the City Tour and beer hopping excursion. We enjoyed the tour and all the beer! The tour guides were wonderful & after the tour and beer tastings, we opted to shop on our own near the ship.
Read croozernosnoozer's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image QueenKatherine
1 review
Jul 2015
I wasn't impressed. Our guide, Richard, was great...the tour itself, wasn't. The official name of our tour was "Discover Nassau Town and Atlantis" - it was a small outfit and difficult to find the place to meet. We had to ask around - the locals were friendly and helpful, but they will accost you to braid your hair. (Those with short hair are NOT in the clear!) The bus was air conditioned, which was a necessity. The tour was way too short. With two stops, you only spend 30 minutes in each place - not nearly enough time to explore and see things. Richard provided fun and interesting insights into life in Nassau, and he was the one who made the tour. Had he not been so great, I would have given this tour a "1". After the rushed tour we did a little shopping, but were back on the boat well before we needed to be. This was the only tour I would not recommend, sadly. The Atlantis Aquaventure excursion seems too expensive for the time you are there (and semi-redundant, considering the cool waterslides on our ship), best left as an independent vacation spot. I would choose any of the other excursions if I went back - too bad I didn't know about them at the time of booking. Save the money you would spend on this tour and spend it on food or shopping - you will be so much happier!
Read QueenKatherine's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: cruiseexcursionsgroup.com
Member Image Atlasmc74
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Nassau is dirty, crowded and a hassle to get through as you wade through vendors just getting off the pier. The "City Tour" was essentially a ride to a fort overlooking the city where you encounter more vendors hassling you to buy stuff. - On our most recent trip (on Royal's Grandeur) the captain intimated that Nassau is one port that presents an above-average risk of infection from Norovirus.
Read Atlasmc74's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image davidwyant
1 review
Jun 2015
The tour included an old fort and paradise island.
Read davidwyant's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vdfuller
1 review
May 2015
Duane was great at giving us a tour of Nassau as we used him last year on our Disney cruise. He was very knowlegeble about things going on in Nassau. We will continue to use him in the future...he comes highly recommended.
Read vdfuller's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Duane Bethel
Member Image rogpeck2002
1 review
May 2015
Highly recommend people stay with a group. As soon as you leave the protected area your flooded with taxi and tour drivers, getting into town was a easy walk, but know your surroundings
Read rogpeck2002's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: unknown
Member Image seawalls
1 review
May 2015
My excursion was cancelled due to logistical reasons. So when I got off board, a man was promoting a city tour. The more people together, the cheaper the tour. The driver, Vern, took us all through the city, to Atlantis, and a couple of ports. The driver was so historically knowledgeable and he allowed us to stop in places off the path like the post office and to buy conch!
Read seawalls's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Vernal Moss
Member Image Linda Luau
1 review
Apr 2015
This was an informative tour of the islands, including a stop at Fort Charlotte, the Buena Vista Estates. home of the John Waltings Distillery for a self-guided tour and rum-tasting. We also drove through local neighborhoods, experiencing both ends of the economic spectrums of the island. Our guide was knowledgeable about the history of the island as well as the local floral and fauna of the area. Very entertaining time was had by all.
Read Linda Luau's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HJMeyer
1 review
Mar 2015
Short tour of the island. Saw the forts and Queens staircase. Not much selection in shopping and it's all the same. Not enough time to explore. Driver was informative. Went to Atlantis but you can't go inside much, only the casino and shops.
Read HJMeyer's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image moniemonie54
1 review
Mar 2015
Taken all over Nassau all around. Tour Guide Mr. Murray was well informed and very entertaining. Vehicle was very nice. He was concerned with everyone entering and exiting the vehicle. One woman was wheelchair bound and he lifted her and was very considerate of her condition. The people of Nassau were friendly
Read moniemonie54's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Shawn Murray
Member Image 2ndsailing
1 review
Jan 2015

Enjoyed our tour of Nassau. Tour operator was knowledgeable and friendly.

Read 2ndsailing's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image blumberg1703
1 review
Dec 2014

Very knowledgeable tour operator, took us to souvenir shops and Atlantis Resort.

Read blumberg1703's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image trekshop@aol.com
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

very nice older gentleman who was born and raised in Nassau, he was soliciting customers right at the pier after we came off the ship, but not in a pushy way, so when we finally arrived at the point where all the other tour guides are, that harnessed the hell out of us, we actually went back to him.
and that was the right decision, he gave us a very informative great tour of his island, even agreed to wait for us at the Yunkanoo beach so we can swim a little but the weather wasn't right for that so he took us back to the port, and got a good tip from us :)

Read trekshop@aol.com's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Gregg's Tours
Member Image senorcruzer0013
2 reviews
Feb 2014

Hall - independent taxi operator took 10 of us all over Nassau to see sites, shop & eat lunch locally. Very good. Would do this again.

Read senorcruzer0013's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Hall
Member Image Oma55
1 review
Feb 2014

Enjoyed going threw the city before we embarking to Fort Nassau and Atlantis Resort and our tour guide was funny and very knowledgeable.

Read Oma55's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image garyyager
1 review
Oct 2013

Nassau:
-Is a busy Capital city, but traffic really picks up after school let's out around 3.
-Cheryl's Taxi & Tour is great. Craig is a friendly and proud Bahamian, who's proud of his country and makes for a great guide.

Read garyyager's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Cheryl's Taxi & Tour
Member Image billanddeb
1 review
Oct 2013

Drive to Zoo/Gardens gave us a tour of the city. Driver was very nice and gave us lots of information. It was a very hot day (in late October) so the air conditioned bus was nice! Also, on the city tour we stopped at an old fort and a small market. MAKE SURE YOU GET BACK TO THE BUS ON TIME....ONE OF OUR PASSENGERS WAS LEFT!! However, the driver tried to find her and could not. She found some way to the zoo and met up with us.

Read billanddeb's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Wishy
1 review
Aug 2013

There was a torrential down pour so we cancelled the tour. The ship did not have any problem with the last minute cancellation. We did walk around the town. Not much more than tourist shopping but colorful.

Read Wishy's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tiahnam
1 review
Aug 2013

Our guy was really funny and showed us the best spots in the bahamas.

Read tiahnam's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MrChocoholic
6 reviews
Jun 2013

Brief immersion into Bahamian history and culture. Saw Government House, Parliament Square, toured Queen's Staircase, Fort Fincastle.

Read MrChocoholic's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Derek Honda Odyssey
Member Image ~sail~away~
1 review
May 2013

This was just a brief tour of Nassau. If you enjoy history and fun facts this is a good cheap excursion for you.

Read ~sail~away~'s full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.