Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Nassau Beach Break Excursion Reviews

Nassau Beach Break cruise excursion
Overall Rating
You don't have to go far for a good time in Nassau. Enjoy a relaxing day with friends and family on the island's beautiful white-sand beaches.
Member Image clr
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

I did this same excursion back in May and I was so impressed with the beach that I wanted to return there.In fact I am going back to the Bahamas next May and I will return for a 3rd time!The ferry ride over is informative.You get a little history of the islands,you pass several celebrety homes(Oprah,Tiger Woods,Beyonce,Michael Jordan),and they entertain you with island music and dance.Once on the island you can lie back in the sun on a lounger or even a hammock!The BBQ is good(hamburger,hot dogs,chicken).Your choice of 3 different times when to return to Nasseau.

Read clr's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image EduCruiser
1 review
Sep 2014

We chose an excursion for Nassau to Atlantis, and I'm not sure I'd do this again. To be honest, we just didn't want to hassle with hiring a car/taxi, paying an admission fee to a beach (club), and lugging towels off and back to the ship. There was no charge for our son (3 years old), but it was about $130 for the remaining three of us, and it included transportation, towels, and admission to Atlantis' underwater tunnel and lagoon sights. Our kids enjoyed that as much as the beach, which was quite a walk from the resort, and was quite rough on our day there. The kids couldn't really enter the water as there was a strong undertow that knocked them over repeatedly. There's really no way to avoid the beach 'salespeople', but a kind 'No thank you' always does the trick.

One word of advice is to buy a water package (or two) on the ship and to take the water with you: I paid $8 for a 1.5 liter bottle of water at the resort (bought two, actually, so I shelled our $16 for 3 liters of water).

Read EduCruiser's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Drums5150
1 review
Aug 2014

This was by far the worst organized excursion between a cruise line and their contracted transportation service I have ever seen. First, the cruise line has a guest carry the group number paddle board as the "leader" to get off the ship. However, in the chaos of disembarking, the group of about 90 people got split into at least two or more separate groups that got disconnected from each other and we all lost the "leader". When we got off the ship we had no idea where we were supposed to go. It took close to an hour sitting at the end of the pier to get reconnected with the rest of the excursion group. Our excursion was supposed to be from 2PM-7PM. However, we were told the last shuttle back would now be 5:30PM and due to the delay in the beginning, we did not get to Atlantis and on the beach until 3:15PM. Therefore, we basically only had 2 hours of beach time and a quick sprint through the "dig" before heading back to the shuttle to return to the ship. A complete waste of time and money for such a short amount of time. The beaches themselves in Atlantis are beautiful, we just had no where near enough time to justify the aggravation and cost.

Read Drums5150's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Surf Girl One
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

We had a beautiful, restful day at the beach & the water was wonderful. Had drinks & lunch at the beach & met very friendly people. The DJ at the beach played great music. We looked at the Stingrays & also watched people swim with the Dolphins & of course took pictures. I highly recommend.

Read Surf Girl One's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image katrax64
1 review
Mar 2014

Nassau is nice but my father is Bermudian so Bahamas feels like the poor version of Bermuda. The beach was beautiful and we also did jetskiing.

Read katrax64's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image truenewfie
1 review
Feb 2014

We enjoyed our day at the beach. Our kids found it a bit boring as they prefer to have some waves to play in but the beach was quite clean and the staff very friendly although some of them appeared to be intoxicated or under the influence of something. The food was decent but expensive and it would be better to buy the meal package. Alcohol is not included in the pricing.

Read truenewfie's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image SlavinPatL
2 reviews
Sep 2013

Nice beach and excellent service. Ferry to beach and return was awful, overloaded boat and a two foot jump down to disembark, unacceptable for older folks.

Read SlavinPatL's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image asamsal
3 reviews
Aug 2013

All-Inclusive food, drinks, towels, umbrella's, pool and beautiful beach. Located right next door to Atlantis... Never made it over there, to much fun here. and at less than 1/2 the price of our fellow cruiser paid to Atlantis. The beach was beautiful, with all the fishes in the sea that come-up when you feed them bread crumps. It was beautiful.....

Read asamsal's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image longislanderlloyd
3 reviews
Aug 2013

Cheap but a lot of walking and crowding in van.
Very very hot there and hounded by extortionists on Atlantis Hotel beach.

Read longislanderlloyd's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image dredly
4 reviews
Aug 2013

We took the water taxi across to PAridise Island and then walked to beautiful beach. The diesel fumes from the boat was terrible while we were waiting for the boat to fill. Just $6 a person. We didn't book return on this. Just got a cab from beach back to the ship also for $6 per person.

Read dredly's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Deezel31
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Wonderful Time! Would do it again without hesitation! I had my own section on beach, Drinks were being served! The most beautiful view and clear waters my eyes have ever seen! It was Paradise!

Read Deezel31's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image morgan246
1 review
Feb 2013
Loved the beach in Nassau, went to paradise beach. Crowded but found a place to sit down and enjoy it. The waves were awesome, had a great time playing in the water.
Read morgan246's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: taxi
Member Image Airbubble
1 review
Jan 2013
Grabbed a taxi for $5 each to cabbage beach much nicer and quieter away from paradise beach, easy walk to explore Atlantis and take pictures yourself,
Read Airbubble's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image phantompiper
1 review
Jan 2013
Beach was a bit of a bust due to high winds and overcast conditions. Nobody's fault. If the weather had been better I can see that it would have been very good.
Read phantompiper's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image scarlabrown@gmail.com
1 review
Oct 2012
This was a great excursion. Taxi cab ride was $4 per person and we were dropped at the door resort pool, beach, alcohol and food. Along with games and music.. great choice for our group!!
Read scarlabrown@gmail.com's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image MelV
1 review
Sep 2012
This hotel was within walking distance of the dock. Their beach was nice and clean. The day pass was $55 and included $29 food and drink credit. The food was wonderful. Everything about the hotel was excellent quality. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I would definitely go there again.
Read MelV's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Honeymoon Cruise_Sept2012
1 review
Sep 2012
Briefly: $40 each 15 minutes bus ride 1 rusty beach chair each (umbrella was $15 extra) 1 cup of fruit punch in a plastic cup each @ a small sandy/rocky beach
Read Honeymoon Cruise_Sept2012's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image gah1987pdh
1 review
Jul 2012
Paid less for the whole family to take the cab both ways than for 2 of us to take the excursion bus. We used the money we saved to try para sailing.
Read gah1987pdh's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image lovecrousing969
1 review
Jul 2012
I still believe that the excursion is on the over priced side, but non the less we had a good time. The beach itself was slightly dirty and disorganized, with some bottles and waste. It seems to me that for such a high priced resort there should be people taking care of the beach at all times. During our time there we did not see one person cleaning the sand area. We also decided to rent an umbrella, the cost of that was $30 :-/(it was about 98 degrees outside). There are some vendors in the beach but nothing too overwhelming like in the free beaches. We paid $4 for a coke in the beach. Do yourself a favor and buy water from the vendor at the pier selling water for a cool $1 at the pier. We bought a couple of them, much better than paying $4 a drink. The water at the beach is among the cleanest and clearest I've ever experience. So I am sure you will enjoy that. Great for snorkeling and just splashing around. As far as the waking goes. Well it all starts at port, our ship was one of the furthest away, so there was some walking just to get to the bus. But every one getting of the ship has to do this journey. Walking around the hotel is well, a little hard. Some small hills an yes there is about half a mile total walking. The problem is all the aquariums are spread all over the resort. So if you want to see all there is to see, be ready to walk. The other problem is timing. By the time we got to the beach it was about 11:00-11:15 (can't recall exactly). We only stayed there about 2 hours cause we wanted to see the resort aquariums and also do some light shopping at the marina back by the ship. So it's kind of hard to justify $80 for only 2hrs at the beach. Please do yourself a BIG favor, the disembarkation process only takes a couple of minutes. Please stay in the ship until 5 minutes prior meeting time. There are a lot more commodities in the ship, including AIR CONDIONER and drinks!!! It's hot down by dock and you have to wait until everyone has signed up. Also stay near the ship, the sing up lady will be there at the time of your ticket. We got confused and walked all the way to the bus areas and then we were told to go back near the ship. If you follow those tips you will be fine. As far as the aquarium goes, it's nice and large for a hotel, but like everything else in the hotel it's in dier needs of some maintanainace. They simply do not take care of the hotel like they should. They buses go back and forth every 30 minutes. They are not on a strict schedule, but what I noticed was that they left around 5 minutes prior an zero or half hour. All in all I did it and I am happy I did, but most likely I will never do it again. It's just too expensive. We ended up leaving early to go down town and shop a little.
Read lovecrousing969's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image drawtheline
1 review
May 2012
They brought us to a deserted beach near the Poop Deck restaurant and it was beautiful. Only problem was that we had to be back on board by 1:30
Read drawtheline's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Lawyer1732
1 review
May 2012
We took the excursion to Blue Lagoon Private Island and loved every second. We were back in time to do some shopping but, again, were completely unimpressed by the attitude of the native Bahamians who seemed put out by the tourists willing to spend their money.
Read Lawyer1732's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image brandsto
1 review
May 2012
We loved Nassau. Yes, the people were pushy. Stay away from the ones who push things in your face. A polite no thank you is works. We rented a private boat to fish and snorkel. Then we took a local bus to cable beach for $1.25 each way. We toured downtown on our own and went to the straw market. Beware- They are very, very pushy. At night we left the ship and took a taxi for $4 each to Atlantis for gambling.Just stick with the official ones. The Bahamian people are really, really nice and helpful. They are just trying to make a buck. The island is beautiful. It is worth taking the bus, which was safe. But to rent a scooter or car- you take your life in your own hands. The drivers are crazy!
Read brandsto's full Carnival Imagination cruise review
Provider: Blue Hole Watersports
Member Image sbb1256
1 review
May 2012
Five members of my party did the Blue Lagoon Island beach day. This is a lovely rustic island with lots of places for sun and shade or both! Plenty of chairs, free beach floats and toys, plus lots of other stuff to do in the water. Beach and water were clean and lovely. Food (included) was standard BBQ stuff - just ok. We had a sunny morning but then it rained all afternoon so we went back early to the ship. I would have loved to have stayed there all day!
Read sbb1256's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sunshine-lady
1 review
May 2012
Nice beach and enjoyed the sea lions and dolphins.
Read Sunshine-lady's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jdotter
1 review
May 2012
Atlantis was nice. Very good beaches. A LOT OF $$$. Was $250 for 2 people to use the beach and water park (for 6 hours). Drinks ranged from $9 a beer to $15 for a mixed drink. Food was also pricey. Good casino, aquarium was decent. Art work and building were great.
Read jdotter's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Atlantis
Member Image schizman
1 review
Apr 2012
Atlantis is very nice but too expensive.
Read schizman's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image hobbesey
2 reviews
Apr 2012
The time at the Bahamas was very short. For the money, I would not recommend the tour to the Atlantis. We arrived at 8:30 am and the pools didn't even open till 9 am and the slides till 10 am. And of course, we had to head back to the ship by 2:30 pm. So, you have very limited time, so for the money it really isn't worth it. There are a lot of pools and the slides are fun, but it gets busy fast so that you can't really do them that many times.
Read hobbesey's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Peace at sea
1 review
Apr 2012
Wyndam Not an all inclusive. Frankly, really boring.
Read Peace at sea's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image peggylee48
1 review
Apr 2012
The tour was informative, time was given to explore on your own, tour operator was professional and on time.
Read peggylee48's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lolololo
1 review
Apr 2012
It was beautiful. gets crowded though so you need to grab chairs quickly once you're off boat but we loved it. the only bummer was not enough time. by the time you get there, you only have a few hours. But we still loved it!
Read lolololo's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ryan1996
1 review
Apr 2012
Nice enough place, private area, but they charged for everything; it was getting annoying by the end of the excursion.
Read ryan1996's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image KenD17
1 review
Apr 2012
Private pool, basketball court, volleyball court, outside beds, beach, beach toys, snorkeling, kayaks, restaurant, bar, shopping.
Read KenD17's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: British Colonial Hilton
Member Image lookingforlove
1 review
Apr 2012
Atlantis is a fab spot for the aquarium, dolphins, and private beach. A bit pricey but such a refreshing change from the rest of Nassau.
Read lookingforlove's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image chicaone
1 review
Apr 2012
Paid 200.00 for this one but it was not worth the money. You basically get a day at Wet n Wild in Florida. That's it. The resort overcharges for water $4.00 a bottle, A drink will cost you 10.00, and food can cost up to $30.00 a person. The resort only takes credit cards--NO CASH! I won;t o that again and can't see how people pay 399.00 a night to stay there.
Read chicaone's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KL34
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2012
FANTASTIC, GORGEOUS Island. Don't miss it. Dolphins, sea lions, parasailing, so fun! It is one of the most beautiful islands I have ever been to.
Read KL34's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Buckwild
1 review
Apr 2012
We booked this one through the cruise line. It was very expensive but worth doing once. The resort was beautiful and the Lazy river was very nice.
Read Buckwild's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image rsds
1 review
Apr 2012
We went to the Atlantis. The tour guide walked us to the beach where most people wanted to go. However, my husband and I wanted to see the aquarium. So, once at the beach, we headed off by ourselves and took a lot of pictures along the way. The grounds are beautiful and the aquarium was amazing. The size of some of those stingrays were unbelievable. It was well worth the time. However, at lunch, my husband headed back to the ship because he was still not feeling well. The resort is gorgeous. We had been there once before, but did not take the excursion and missed out on a lot. Glad we did it this time.
Read rsds's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image krisans5
2 reviews
Apr 2012
This was a Atlantis Day pass and Harbor tour from the cruise for $55. The tour was rushed thru the Dig and too many tours were converging there at the same time. But there was plenty of time to go back and thats what we did. Atlantis is pretty awesome but very crowded.
Read krisans5's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image outtosea8
1 review
Apr 2012
EXCEPTIONALLY POOR, POOR organization from the get go.....They book 1800!!! when the capacity is for 700!!! This translates to hours of your tour time off boarding the ship, being herded here, there and everywhere and then, dealing with small, small, small roads clogged with tourist buses herding you to Atlantis which then takes you about an hour to get from the bus drop off to your recliner and gives you oh, time for, about, 2( Count them) 2 rides on those slides before you begin the trek back to the bus depot for all of this in reverse!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Bad road management, bad, bad, bad......I would rather fly to Nassau and stay there as a separate, independent stay over trip....Not quite used to being treated as cattle, you see!!!
Read outtosea8's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Soulpride
4 reviews
Apr 2012
With lunch option is much better.
Read Soulpride's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image donnadev
1 review
Mar 2012
Atlantis seemed to be kind of run down, water areas had a bad odor, Cove Beach was a big disappointment after experiencing Trunk Bay in St John. There were jellyfish floating around, huge rocks w/seaweed in most of beach area and sand was like sand you would mix for cement, heavy and difficult to walk because you would sink in as you walked, like quicksand. Staff seemed unfriendly, as I asked 4 employees how to get to the Dig once we were disappointed in the beach, and each one gave wrong directions. There were guards manning their posts everywhere telling us we couldn't even walk through any areas other than Cove Beach and restaurants, casino,etc.Not enjoyable at all.
Read donnadev's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image coold8
8 reviews
Mar 2012
Many people went on the Atlantis Tour, and we had a good time with that. The day ran smoothly, and they took time to give you a quick tour of the property. I am personally not a fan of the Bahamas, as I think it is run down, and kind of sketchy (after all, in the area near the boat I was offered drugs on several occasions, ever seen locked up abroad?). There was a rude lady loading up the buses in the Bahamas, and several people were berated by her. It was very strange, and I couldn't even speak to my mother over her yelling to get on the bus. While the attack was clearly not personal, her tone and volume had many people visibly unhappy, but once the trip was underway we had better luck. Atlantis was nice, but it was beginning to have that old theme restaurant feel, where the paint wasn't quite fresh any more. Also it was unbelievably expensive, and the lines were extremely long for the water slides. I would just do the beach pass, we did the Aquaventure, and didn't end up even going on the water slides. Cruise boat was well organized, and got us to and from the ship quickly.
Read coold8's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image buckeyebandman
1 review
Mar 2012
Nassau -- We took the Beach Excursion to the Wyndham Resort Casino/Beach because we didn't want to deal with the mobs of people going to Atlantis. The beach there is decent, but nothing too special. One person on our excursion was upset. He was an older gentleman and had a problem keeping up with the walk to the Bus from the ship. In Nassau there is about a 5 minute walk involved for any excursion to get from the ship to the dock so be warned.
Read buckeyebandman's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jmcclub
1 review
Mar 2012
Time was cut short but the price remained the same. Royal Caribbean should have reduced the price for the execursion and I would have rated this higher.
Read jmcclub's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LivingLifetotheFullest
3 reviews
Mar 2012
Our Atlantis Beach Break Excursion included the taxi ride to and from Atlantis, beach chair, umbrella and towel; the Dig and Aquarium. Plan to do lots of walking. You may stay at Coral Beach (very big, water sports) Cove Beach (some snorkeling) or Lagoon Beach (smaller, shallow - good for smaller kids) Also Toured the Hotel and some of the water park area.It's amazing to see Atlantis and we can check that off our list!
Read LivingLifetotheFullest's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MIDVALCRE
1 review
Mar 2012
The fish save this place as they did entertain my son but they should go the extra mile and set up transportation too as it's a bit confusing. The stafff were friendly enough and the food and drinks were good, but the garbage in the crystal clear water was pretty bad. I finally cleaned up the garbage myself and disposed of it ashore.
Read MIDVALCRE's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Resort For a Day
Member Image snyderwest
2 reviews
Mar 2012
Atlantis Aquaventure - crowded and slides weren't that great.
Read snyderwest's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image limeyalchemist
2 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2012
In Nassau, we loved Blue Lagoon Island so much, we decided to go again, but this time we booked it ourselves. NCL was not advertising the beach day for some reason on its website, but they did on-board. Only difference was we had to take a taxi over to paradise island first and then sail to BL Island. What a great place to spend the day. We had 5 cruise ships in port that day, so it was very busy, but the best part was that most of the beach goers left at 1 or 2 PM to get back to their ships. We stayed until 4 PM, which have us two hours of quiet time with access to all of the beach inflatables. We had a great time, lunch and all for $50 pp. Only scare was the ferry back was 15 minutes late, which only gave us 30 minutes in Nassau before needing to be back on the ship. Fortunately, since we had been to Nassau twice before, we knew where to find the shops that we needed for duty-free liquor and gifts. Again managed to bring home 4 liters of liquor duty free. Customs did not even care, despite the 1 liter exemption. They are much more interested in getting the line down.
Read limeyalchemist's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Beston Bahamas.com
Member Image Canusa02
1 review
Mar 2012
Blue Lagoon beach break was a great getaway for the first full day of the trip. The water was a little cool, but bearable. Snacks and drinks were overpriced, but I guess that is what happens when you have a captive audience. Next time, we would take some snacks with us. At least we brought our own water. The lunch provided was not like at Labadee, where you get to actually fill up. We had a choice of one hotdog, one hamburger, or one chicken burger, as well as some fries on the side (and an apple if you so chose). It was a very relaxing time, but we did not have time to see any of Nassau when we got back to the port.
Read Canusa02's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rodlehnertz
1 review
Mar 2012
Took a boat to a small island with a great beach and not many people. We did have to wait for about :45 minutes for our boat and we began to wonder if they had forgotten us. We para-sailed (10-15 minute ride in groups of 2 and 3) and rode wave runners for :30 (again 2 on one and 3 on the other). Could have also snorkeled but decided to hang on the beach. It did take longer the get the return boat back than we preferred but it eventually got there and the beach was so enjoyable we were not really in a hurry to leave.
Read rodlehnertz's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Paradise
Member Image tredsaw12
1 review
Mar 2012
The place is getting old. Nothing new since the last time we came 4 years ago just getting a bit run down. If you've never been, then definitely check it out, but no need to go back again. If you don't like paying $7 for a slice of pizza and $13 for nachos, bring something to eat with you.
Read tredsaw12's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bhm10101
1 review
Mar 2012
We did not enjoy downtown Nassau as much as the other ports. The shopping wasn't as great and we only had limited time because we had to be on an excursion at 2:45. Ship docked at 12:00. Be cautious when booking the 2:45 dolphin encounter with Blue Lagoon. If you go to town, you must walk all the way back to the ship to meet the group. Then you must walk all the way back out of the port area to board a boat to the island. This seemed redundant. Also, when we booked, it was for 2:45 excursion. Our tickets that were waiting in our stateroom said 3pm. When we met the group they informed us we would not leave until 3:30pm. The actual dolphin encounter was wonderful. I highly recommend it. However, it ran over on time. We were supposed to be back on the ship by 6:30pm and the boat didn't depart the lagoon until after 6pm for a forty minute ride. When we docked it was already 6:40 and we had to run through the port, go through the id check in the port, and then down the dock. We were told the ship would wait for us but this being our first cruise we didn't want to chance it.
Read bhm10101's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pixelwiz
2 reviews
Mar 2012
In Nassau we did the water park at the Atlantis, it was a lot of fun, the slides, the lazy river, and Atlantis itself was great, but I would say it is a little over priced, you can get better or similar water parks in Florida for less, but we weren't in Florida, so I think that was a great choice. Can't rent a sail boat or hobie cat there though, but other boats like kayaks or pedal boats or Jet Skis they do have.
Read pixelwiz's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image cruiserswithababy
1 review
Mar 2012
In Nassau, we did the half day at Atlantis. It is pricey at $140 per person, but well worth it. We all had a blast. We only had 5 hours at Atlantis, but we had exhausted our 3 year old and we didn't really need more time than that. Other people might not think 5 hours is enough, though. It does go by quickly.
Read cruiserswithababy's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Loloschuma2002
1 review
Mar 2012
Great place to relax- cute water sports area for 15 pp which was fun.
Read Loloschuma2002's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ytrap2007
1 review
Mar 2012
A "zero" would be of a more appropriate rating than a "1" because I never got to experience this excursion. My family and I were 30 minutes early and got our bracelets to indicate we paid for the excursion. ($95 per person, included meal)The tour began by the ship and we had to walk the pier (which is a LONG walk) The man who led the group said more than once, "Do not loose me, you need to keep up with me." My family and I could not keep up him and we lost our tour. There is a free bus that will take you from your ship to the end of the pier, but we had to walk) Granted, a lot of people are able to do this, but not everyone has the ability to walk the pier at a brisk pace. At any rate, we went back to the Freedom and they were very professional and refunded our money. I must say, 'shame on http://www.dolphinencounters.com/' My advice, would be to do some research and book your Blue Lagoon tour with another tour-group. This was unacceptable!
Read ytrap2007's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image princess-snowflake
1 review
Mar 2012
Nassau is much better! It was clean and inviting (except for the hair braiding attacks everywhere you walked...lol). It was more upscale once you got away from the port. We took our children to a Dolphin Encounter on Blue Lagoon island for our excursion. Expect to pay top dollar for the experience, but figure you will only do it once in your lifetime. I recommend an early time for the encounter because you can also buy a pass to spend the day at their private lagoon for swimming and fun. You can also get a lunch included in your price (which was not the best value, but we didn't have another option). They have other fun things to do...kayaking, water bikes, snorkeling, etc. (for an additional fee). But the beach was beautiful there and the kids had a wonderful time!
Read princess-snowflake's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image kiteekat
1 review
Mar 2012
This excursion starts out with a tour of the facility that last approximately 35-45 mins, depending on the questions asked by those in the group. Although nice to see, we were there for the water park so the tour just doesn't go fast enough. This cruise was our second time doing Carnival's all-day excursion to Atlantis, so we knew not to go on the tour. We simply advised the tour guide "been here, done that" and she let us loose, pointing us in the direction to the water park, which saved much precious time to enjoy the park! Atlantis is beautiful, and I don't think there's any other lazy river better. Even the food was tasty. A great excursion but I think the cost is a little pricey.
Read kiteekat's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image funinthesunforme
1 review
Mar 2012
Nassau: Our first port was Nassau and it was a short stay but we made the most of our time and it ended up being a perfect day! We docked at 8:30 am and it was already warm and beautiful outside. We walked through the little terminal mall and made our way out to the taxis/shuttles outside ($4 pp ride). I asked to be taken to Cabbage beach because it is a free public beach that shares the same beach front as the Atlantis resort. I figured that it had to be beautiful and fun beach if it is sharing beach front with Atlantis. By the way, it is a beautiful beach with soft sand and water is fairly warm. Two things to keep in mind. There are no bathrooms on this beach for those that taxi to the free access of the beach and there are no restaurants to buy food and drink. There are people with ice chests out there selling mixed drinks and such but no real food to be had. We actually ordered room service the night before and ordered sandwiches and chips and took that off the ship in our bags. We also brought our own waters on board so I took a water for each of us and that was good. However, there was young men walking up and down the beach with ice cold water bottles for sell and I would have bought from them if I had known there would be someone selling Waters. Also, the venders there will sell you chairs and umbrellas if needed... they all offer different prices. I had negotiated an Unbrella for $15 threw out towels in the sand. We spent most of the time in the water anyway! There are jet skiing, banana boats, parasailing at this beach. Keep in mind the guys driving the boats are high... I smelt pot several times throughout the day on these guys. Warning: I met a lot of people who took the water taxi over and they were dropped at Atlantis Resort but ended up having to walk one mile in the hot sun with their stuff in order to get to Cabbage beach. Also, they had to sit on the water taxi for over a half over waiting for it to fill up. This is a waste of time if you only have 8:30 to 2:00 in Nassau. Another warning: The current is extremely strong here so do not let your kids play in the water without being close to them or very near to them. I have researched this beach and found several drowning's so pay attention to your kids. There is a safer beach called Cable Beach but there is a $25 fee from the Sheraton per person but that will give you access to their hotels and such. I felt our stay was too short to put out that much money for each of us so I took us to Cabbage beach and it was perfect for us.
Read funinthesunforme's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Taxi/Shuttle at cruise terminal
Member Image gappleton
1 review
Mar 2012
Very nice experience. LOTS of walking. A bit overpriced, but nice to see at least once.
Read gappleton's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jennycap
1 review
Mar 2012
liked the excursion - a little overpriced for the encounter - you were in a pool in a line and the dolphin came up to you for a photo op. We could not do the swim one as our youngest was only 2 but I would suggest spending the extra money and doing the full swim with the dolphins...
Read jennycap's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image paktwins@aol.com
1 review
Mar 2012
Wyndam Resort. missed buffet lunch.. had a very good time. went to straw market where a woman told me she was going to chaop my hands off if I didnt buy anything
Read paktwins@aol.com's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: our own
Member Image smoochie789
1 review
Mar 2012
We didn't know what to do in Nassau, so we just hopped on a taxi to Atlantis and paid $40 a person to view their aquariums and hotel. Although it was a little pricy, the aquarium was great, and Atlantis has been kept up very nicely. We were expecting it to be run down because of how old it was, but it was quite the opposite. Just a heads up - anything you want to do there is pretty expensive. Nothing is included, unless you want to pay over $120 per person to experience the water park or beach. Which, with the limited amount of time the ship allows you to be in Nassau, I wouldn't waste my time with it.
Read smoochie789's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gjs2266
2 reviews
Feb 2012
Atlantis was packed, again, tons of kids. I was taken to the beach farthest from where the taxi dropped us off, over by the condo tower. The beach was gorgeous, and not too crowded, but the pools and water parks were mobbed to the point that people were jammed together in the lazy river (so glad I did not pay for that!). The food is outrageously priced; I returned to the ship early.
Read gjs2266's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image shelet
1 review
Feb 2012
In Nassau, we chose to go to Atlantis...Ahhhhh Atlantis...There is the one true bright spot in this whole cruise! Atlantis is totally and completely amazing. Like nothing I have ever seen before! We spent the day at Aquaventure and although it was another $933 for my family to get in, we loved it and didn't want to leave. The pools are tropical and inviting and the waterslides are spectacular. The lines were not bad at all. The "dig" is really cool too. Just a word of caution, the "lazy river" is ANYTHING but "lazy". It is full of waves, rapids and drops that had people flipping over and getting thrown against the sides and many people came out battered, bruised and bloody (my child included), still we enjoyed it once we knew what to expect. This is why your sign a release to get into the park. In my opinion, NCL should cancel Port Canaveral altogether and stay in Nassau overnight. I would have loved another day in Atlantis just to sit on their beach which is the exact definition of tropical and relaxing! Our family is already looking into a land trip strictly to Atlantis for a few days. It is sooo beautiful there.
Read shelet's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tiskismet
1 review
Feb 2012
Frustrating! We booked this because their site said they are accessible for wheelchairs on the dolphin encounter (not the swim). The transport boat was not even close to being accessible - so he couldn't even start off with us. They wanted him to step on a rocking boat, over a large cement curb, onto an orange crate, then onto the boat..with no rails. There was just NO WAY. He had signed up for the observer program which was indicated as accessible, yet the orientation was at the top of a flight of stairs with no access. The encounter which was also labeled accessible, was at the bottom of a ladder. My daughter and I had to leave him behind - my daughter was bitterly disappointed. The encounter itself was great, and while the lagoon is beautiful, it is very shallow and the beach scene is very contrived with a miniature fake Caribbean village backdrop. I would have just preferred local flora and fauna...but that's just me.
Read tiskismet's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image phleb21
2 reviews
Feb 2012
We had originally decided to do the Atlantis beach tour. Changed our minds on the ship and thought just go and see what it was like. Got a taxi from the port to Atlantis Hotel. $4.00 US dollars per person. The only thing you can do is walk around the casino and some of the shops. "If you want to see the property at all. (even just walking around it will cost you $40.00 per person) Spent a couple of hours there and went back to the ship.
Read phleb21's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image davies81
2 reviews
Feb 2012
GREAT, AWESOME TIME AND BEAUTIFUL! Nassau was so much fun. We shopped at the straw market- took the Jitney #10 bus (cheapest way to get around) $1.25 per adult each way and kids under 6 are $1, each way. It took us for about a 20 minute ride from Bay Street near the port to the Crystal Palace where you can pay about $40 to use their facility (beach and pool and includes drinks and lunch). The kids had an awesome time and it was so nice. We said we would even book a vacation at this hotel. NOW..what you can do is leave the ship towels on ship and walk right through the hotel like you are a guest and go right out to the beach and pool. No questions! It's a red flag IF you are not wearing a colored wristband and holding a carnival blue towel. All the regular hotel guests dont wear the bands so if you are looking to save some $, go for it! They have a fun water slide in the pool and some poolside games for adults that we participated in. After a few hours we got back on the Jitney and went back into town. Stopped in a local liquor store and had a local beer that we enjoyed while walking through the town. Then we got the kids some rest and dropped them off at Camp Carnival. We then headed back out just my hubby and I and went to Senor Frogs. We thought maybe the drinks are kinda "fu fu" but we each had a YARD size drink and then shared a Zombie (also Yard size) and we were feeling pretty good. We got some fun balloon hats and danced until 9:30 then back on the ship to leave! :-(
Read davies81's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Wyndham Crystal Palace
Member Image isaiahkim17
1 review
Feb 2012
$310 for 12 people to walk through the auguarium didn't include water slide or beach as we thought. While on beach the waves were crazy that day and dozens of people attack you to buy everything. I felt so harrassed.
Read isaiahkim17's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Atlantis
Member Image Caitinmountain
2 reviews
Feb 2012
I would not recommend paying the exorbitant rates that the cruise line charges. My sisters took a cab for $4 per person each way and went to a beach near Atlantis. We paid $152 per person and hardly spent any time at all inside Atlantis--if you want to see Atlantis without time constraints, dont do it on a cruise...
Read Caitinmountain's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image johnnyga
4 reviews
Jan 2012
Good excursion. A quiet place to be if you want a beach. The town was crowded with 5 ships in at the same time.
Read johnnyga's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruisephypro
7 reviews
Jan 2012
The beach is beautiful- the resort not be be believed. We enjoyed the day.
Read cruisephypro's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image blushpea
3 reviews
Dec 2011
Nassau, Bahamas: A+. We took the Blue Lagoon private island excursion through the ship (more budget-friendly than the Atlantis excursions, which also looked great for families) -- had an excellent time! Lovely expanse of private beach (we chose to be closer to the lunch area, which had more trees, rather than the more remote stretch, which had more open sand). Not sure if it was a natural or manmade lagoon but true to the definition, the lagoon didn't look out to open sea but was an enclosed area. Regardless, it was nice and relaxing! They had some cool water stuff (like inflatable water park stuff) & Little Tykes play boats on the beach for our baby. Tasty lunch, gift shop for assorted sundries. They also had some wildlife encounter stuff as they host assorted programs there (including a dolphin encounter) so after a while we wandered to see the dolphins (who will still showboat if they see you above), sea lions, etc. Overall, a really nice time!
Read blushpea's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image TeMich
1 review
Dec 2011
A few parts of Nassau are worth seeing but the beaches are not very desirable, unless you stay at the Atlantis (but I don't even know that for sure because Atlantis is quite exclusive). You have to be either checked in at the resort or probably pay a lot of money for the excursion there. Some people in Nassau are not friendly.
Read TeMich's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image family4nj
1 review
Nov 2011
Not all you see is included, basically all you get is beach and a not so good lunch.
Read family4nj's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.