Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Nassau Ardastra Gardens Excursion Reviews

Nassau Ardastra Gardens cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Park in Nassau is home to dozens of species of animals, birds and reptiles, including an indigenous Bahamian parrot bred here in captivity.
Member Image coledavidson
1 review
Jun 2014

Unfortunately our day got rained out by quite a storm and we only got to experience Adastra for about 45 minutes by the time the rain stopped. From what we did see, it was a great zoo with lots of exhibits. The flamingo show was very entertaining, and the staff dried the benches off with towels for us so we could watch comfortably. We would do it again, if only because we didn't get to experience it in full the first time.

Read coledavidson's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image billanddeb
1 review
Oct 2013

The zoo and gardens were nice....not very big. I think kids would enjoy this. The flamingos and peacocks just "hang around". They walk freely with the people and you can get some great pictures. Be careful of the parrots and other birds that are sitting outside of any cages. THEY WILL BITE!!! I would not recommend you holding out your arm/hand thinking they are going to be friendly. There is a fenced in area that you can go into and feed and interact with other birds. Not many animals; very small place; but really cool to see the flamingos and peacocks up close. My husband (53 yrs old) had a great time with one of the parrots who would whistle and rock back and forth with him. Snack bar available for cold drinks.

Read billanddeb's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Glenn90
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Go yourself, no need to pay for excursion.

Read Glenn90's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MrChocoholic
5 reviews
Jun 2013

Took my kid there 50 years after my parents took me. Much nicer now, covered bench seats. Pink flamingos "march" and "perform" for visitors. Many other interesting animals on display, gorgeous landscaping with tons of bromeliads, peacocks run wild. Truly a great stop.

Read MrChocoholic's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Derek Honda Odyssey
Member Image Budcruisers
2 reviews
Mar 2013
The gardens are nice, great fun feeding Lory parrots and the flamingoes were entertaining. The bus driver had good historical information for us.
Read Budcruisers's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image rafinmd
11 reviews
Feb 2013
Nassau is a nice but crowded town. I went to Ardastra Gardens which is really more of a zoo. The animals seemed to be mostly African, as well as a large collection of birds. There are 2 interesting shows, parrot feeding (audience participation) and marching drill by pink flamgoes.
Read rafinmd's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ndame4nd
1 review
Jan 2013
Took a taxi from the dock, which was much cheaper than through the cruise line, and we had the freedom to do what we wanted.
Read ndame4nd's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Taxi from port
Member Image moxiegretl
1 review
Jan 2013
We went to the Gardens ourselves as the cruise excursion was rather expensive for the 3 of us. Glad we did because even though we hopped on a bus to get there, we walked back because it was close to the port. The Gardens and Zoo were quaint, but plenty of unique animals to see. We had a blast feeding the Lory Parrots and the Flamingo "show" was interesting. We had a restaurant recommendation for Oh Andros, which is one of the fish fry shacks close to the Gardens along the beach. It was very tasty! We then strolled along the beach back to downtown and took our own city tour just looking at the neat buildings and such. Got some great pictures! It was nice doing it on our own because we didn't have to get back to a coach bus by a certain time and we weren't in a large crowd ever. Also, saved us a lot of dough!
Read moxiegretl's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: N/A
Member Image Rogueperson
2 reviews
Dec 2012
This was a small little garden with a zoo. There's nothing really major about it, as I've seen a lot more impressive zoos, but for what it was, it was a fun time.
Read Rogueperson's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image JMaclauchlan
1 review
Dec 2012
Its more of a small zoo as opposed to a Garden but a nice trip and the flamingo show was really nice!
Read JMaclauchlan's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CathyI8205
1 review
Nov 2012
The Ardastra Gardens were interesting. You could see they were still cleaning up from Hurricane Sandy.
Read CathyI8205's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image cincele
2 reviews
Oct 2012
This is an excursion I would not have missed for anything. Sure, it is a bit cheesy but that is sometimes the best part of it. They have wonderful parrots and we really did not have time to see much else because the feeding the parrots and the marching flamingoes were on a schedule and we only had so much time. I completely enjoyed myself feeding the parrots the apple. The flamingoes are beautiful and they march into a round grass area and turn around on command. I have never been so close to them and they are so beautiful. They had a few clowns that wanted to do their own thing. If you are looking for a "San Diego" zoo experience you will be disappointed. If you love the tropics and the wildlife and fauna found there, you will be delighted. I would love to go back, and I will!
Read cincele's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image barbadosbeachbum
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Ardastra Gardens was a small zoo (exactly what we expected) and it was interesting to see the different kinds of animals. This part of the tour would definitely be great for a family with kids because of the flamingo parade. We also fed the lorikeets and that was just an amazing experience. I think they should lose the city tour (these two were a combined excursion) and just offer Ardastra Gardens. Maybe offer a bit of beach time in there instead.
Read barbadosbeachbum's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image 092306
11 reviews
Oct 2012
Took #10 city bus to the zoo and back. Zoo was nice, but nothing great. Good for little ones if you need something to do other than beach w/young children. Mostly birds at the zoo and it didn't take long at all to tour. Cute flamingo show.
Read 092306's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Kamlhj
1 review
Sep 2012
Great overall. Stop at water tower was not too exciting. Rest of tour was very enjoyable.
Read Kamlhj's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image eadtngd
2 reviews
Sep 2012
The zoo was nice to see, we saw the flamingos and we got feed Lory Parrots by hand.
Read eadtngd's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image bcsinger25
2 reviews
Sep 2012
The Zoo is fabulous as always. My family are members and we stop here everytime we go to Nassau (2-3 times/year) FUN, FUN, FUN!!!!
Read bcsinger25's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image kaymo1
1 review
Aug 2012
booked directly and saved a lot of money...short taxi ride, great sights, lots of exotic animals and birds...plant life/jungle was great...worth a trip...needs about 2 hours to enjoy.
Read kaymo1's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image CruZen the C's
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Ardastra Gardens and Zoo was a very nice experience. The gardens are beautiful. We fed the Lorry parrots and saw the marching flamingos which we really enjoyed. The different animals in the zoo were very interesting. This was a very beautiful area to visit.
Read CruZen the C's's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image bcsinger25
2 reviews
Mar 2012
Ardastra Zoo & Gardens is always a great experience! (My 5th visit) Shows, bird feedings, pictures with animals, gift shop, petting zoo, etc. It is a phenomenal value at $16/person! Check out their website or Facebook page for more information!
Read bcsinger25's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Laurarc
2 reviews
Feb 2012
A quick tour of the city and Ardastra gardens which is a small and simple zoo. a flamingo show which is cute. Historical visits to forts and queens' stair case. Just the basics.
Read Laurarc's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.