Nassau Ardastra Gardens Excursion Reviews

Nassau Ardastra Gardens cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Park in Nassau is home to dozens of species of animals, birds and reptiles, including an indigenous Bahamian parrot bred here in captivity.
Member Image Sunandbeach
1 review
Jul 2016
A fun way to get away from the crowds and great to do if the weather is a little rainy
Read Sunandbeach's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image leeleesma
1 review
Jun 2016
Very niceplace
Read leeleesma's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jsparksok@gmail.com
1 review
May 2016
Excellent expeience. Small zoo, but great to see some unusual animals.
Read jsparksok@gmail.com's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SpiritAnimal
1 review
Mar 2016
The tour was so beautiful, and the animals in the gardens were stunning. The whole island was amazing.
Read SpiritAnimal's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image weatherguy97
1 review
Mar 2016
Our tour guide was awesome! He took us around and showed us the town of Nassau and educated us on the people of the Bahamas. The horror began at Adastra Gardens. I do not think the Bahamas hold the same standards as Americans do with their captive wildlife. The water in the Adastra gardens was stagnant and looked like a swamp. It smelled of animal wast and was appalled that another group of flamingos were drinking and wading in it. Many of the animals did not look very healthy. At the end you could have your picture taken with a cockatoo that honestly looked old and or emaciated.
Read weatherguy97's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cnmatl7
3 reviews
Dec 2015
Great tour
Read cnmatl7's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image grammah317
1 review
Nov 2015
This is something you do once. The flamingo show was very enjoyable but as far as the zoo it had birds, some monkeys and a few snakes. The ground was very uneven for walking. Gift shop was extremely overpriced. Wanted $32.00 for a t-shirt. Went on a short bus tour of the city but they didn't stop for pictures except at a fort. You had 15 minutes to either go up the hill to the fort or go to the stands where you could bargain with the natives. One was as cheap as the other.
Read grammah317's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Ellie2015
1 review
Oct 2015
Cute zoo but not much to see.
Read Ellie2015's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CliveS
1 review
Aug 2015
A short sightseeing drive around the town with a very knowledgeable driver was followed by a visit to the zoo. this is very small with few exhibits, the main one being flamingos that march in formation around a parade ring. Trip was spoiled by torrential rain
Read CliveS's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image foxylady206
1 review
Jun 2015
See my description in the Baltimore spot. Great experience. Carvin was a great bus driver. He was funny and entertaining. Loved the tour and Loved zoo. Fed the parrots and walked with the flamingos!
Read foxylady206's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image redhdkat@gmail.com
1 review
May 2015
Only malted this as good because zoo is somewhat small. The march of the flamingos is wonderful. They even had a small snack shack and a gift shop. Their pictures were good too.
Read redhdkat@gmail.com's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SandChair53
1 review
Apr 2015
Zoo had few animals and most were birds. Not much of a "garden" to see. There was no guide. Two young girls did a show with the "flamingo's" that walk around amongst you and that was the highlight of the tour. Nothing spectacular there. We went in a small bus with other travelers and got a tour of city. The driver was funny and pointed out a lot about the history of the city but largely, this was a wasted trip and money. The city is poor and dirty. Don't waste your money or time getting off the ship unless you do a water excursion or visit Atlantis. This might be good for people with small children who can't do much else.
Read SandChair53's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image KMB5
1 review
Apr 2015
The trip is very nice, you get a little sight seeing in as well. The flamingo's and little parrots feeding off your hand make for nice pictures. It was worth the price of the trip.
Read KMB5's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NancyOu
1 review
Mar 2015
This tour gave us a chance to see a bit of Nassau and a small exotic garden with plenty of tropical plants and some tropical birds and animals. I did not come away completely overwhelmed, but it was a pleasant outing even if we did start out in the rain.
Read NancyOu's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image byhisello99
3 reviews
Mar 2015
My wife went on her own as my feet hurt. She thought it was OK. I'm supposed to use a minimum of 150 characters. Oh, we did walk down to the straw market on our own. It was worth the walk.
Read byhisello99's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image katrapp
1 review
Oct 2014
We had the most wonderful informative tour guide I have just about ever had. The told us all about the flora and medicinal qualities it had. He showed us great places to go eat and did not rush us. I loved the gardens and zoo. They had a wonderful assortment of wildlife and flamingos walk around the gardens unhindered, except when they are corralled for photographs. A wonderful trainer whistles to them and the do what he wants. It is really neat. They just stand around and tourists walk by like it was the usual thing to do. Would go back again. Wonderful place!!
Read katrapp's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image coledavidson
2 reviews
Jun 2014

Unfortunately our day got rained out by quite a storm and we only got to experience Adastra for about 45 minutes by the time the rain stopped. From what we did see, it was a great zoo with lots of exhibits. The flamingo show was very entertaining, and the staff dried the benches off with towels for us so we could watch comfortably. We would do it again, if only because we didn't get to experience it in full the first time.

Read coledavidson's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image billanddeb
1 review
Oct 2013

The zoo and gardens were nice....not very big. I think kids would enjoy this. The flamingos and peacocks just "hang around". They walk freely with the people and you can get some great pictures. Be careful of the parrots and other birds that are sitting outside of any cages. THEY WILL BITE!!! I would not recommend you holding out your arm/hand thinking they are going to be friendly. There is a fenced in area that you can go into and feed and interact with other birds. Not many animals; very small place; but really cool to see the flamingos and peacocks up close. My husband (53 yrs old) had a great time with one of the parrots who would whistle and rock back and forth with him. Snack bar available for cold drinks.

Read billanddeb's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Glenn90
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Go yourself, no need to pay for excursion.

Read Glenn90's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MrChocoholic
6 reviews
Jun 2013

Took my kid there 50 years after my parents took me. Much nicer now, covered bench seats. Pink flamingos "march" and "perform" for visitors. Many other interesting animals on display, gorgeous landscaping with tons of bromeliads, peacocks run wild. Truly a great stop.

Read MrChocoholic's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Derek Honda Odyssey
Member Image Budcruisers
2 reviews
Mar 2013
The gardens are nice, great fun feeding Lory parrots and the flamingoes were entertaining. The bus driver had good historical information for us.
Read Budcruisers's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image rafinmd
14 reviews
Feb 2013
Nassau is a nice but crowded town. I went to Ardastra Gardens which is really more of a zoo. The animals seemed to be mostly African, as well as a large collection of birds. There are 2 interesting shows, parrot feeding (audience participation) and marching drill by pink flamgoes.
Read rafinmd's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ndame4nd
1 review
Jan 2013
Took a taxi from the dock, which was much cheaper than through the cruise line, and we had the freedom to do what we wanted.
Read ndame4nd's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Taxi from port
Member Image moxiegretl
1 review
Jan 2013
We went to the Gardens ourselves as the cruise excursion was rather expensive for the 3 of us. Glad we did because even though we hopped on a bus to get there, we walked back because it was close to the port. The Gardens and Zoo were quaint, but plenty of unique animals to see. We had a blast feeding the Lory Parrots and the Flamingo "show" was interesting. We had a restaurant recommendation for Oh Andros, which is one of the fish fry shacks close to the Gardens along the beach. It was very tasty! We then strolled along the beach back to downtown and took our own city tour just looking at the neat buildings and such. Got some great pictures! It was nice doing it on our own because we didn't have to get back to a coach bus by a certain time and we weren't in a large crowd ever. Also, saved us a lot of dough!
Read moxiegretl's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: N/A
Member Image Rogueperson
3 reviews
Dec 2012
This was a small little garden with a zoo. There's nothing really major about it, as I've seen a lot more impressive zoos, but for what it was, it was a fun time.
Read Rogueperson's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?