Freeport City Tour Excursion Reviews

Freeport City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a tour of Freeport to learn more about the background and history of the city and Grand Bahama Island.
Member Image neveragainpride
1 review
Aug 2016
uneventful
Read neveragainpride's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Sea Serenity
1 review
Jun 2016
Used a local provider to tour Grand Bahama. He gave the history of the city and a community tour. Many people in the community knew him and was accommodating to him/us when he arrived. I am normally cautious about local ran excursions, but this one worked out well as there was a lot of guest accompanying us on the trip - safety in numbers.
Read Sea Serenity's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sbanks8911
2 reviews
Jun 2016
The best part of the tour was the bus driver. He was entertaining and humorous, but who wants to see refineries, ghettos, banks and insurance companies. The shopping district was a joke.
Read sbanks8911's full Grand Celebration cruise review
Provider: Bahamas Paradise Cruise Line
Member Image Dova
1 review
Feb 2016
Was not that great, we got a tour of souvenir shops , and oil tanks. The best time was finding a very small beach and the Wendy's for frosty's
Read Dova's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image FirefighterMedic
1 review
Dec 2015
Bus ride around the city - showed the airport and various homes - then dropped at outdoor mall with straw shops - walked about and headed back for the afternoon onboard.
Read FirefighterMedic's full Grand Celebration cruise review
Provider: Bahamas Paradise Cruise Line
Member Image Crusin Rocks
2 reviews
Aug 2015
It was hot so we decided to join the excursion. The taxi van was nicely air conditioned and we saw the city!! Beautiful sights and some greatly new and expensive houses. Modern cars and KFCS and Burger Kings and Wendys!!
Read Crusin Rocks's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image natashax3
1 review
Jul 2015
The tour was fantastic. We were smart and requested a van that had ac and they took us on a two hour tour. They bought us fruit, and even snacks along the way! Loved it.
Read natashax3's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Sammah
1 review
May 2015
We booked a city tour through Carnival for $35 a person. For the price it was really nice, and it gave us something to do besides shop. We weren't comfortable taking off on our own on our first time here, so it was a nice way to spend the day.
Read Sammah's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Shell99
1 review
Apr 2015
This was a good way to see a small part of Freeport and visit the straw markets. We enjoyed the frozen beverages and seeing the wares of the locals. Thank you!
Read Shell99's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Big Tex2222
1 review
Apr 2015
The city bus tour was interesting as it could be given the limited amount of stuff to see. The tour guide was very informative and made it trip fun. We found the best part of Freeport was just watching all the action going on in this busy port city.
Read Big Tex2222's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bpagan59
1 review
Mar 2015
Had fun! It helps when you are with someone that you can goof off with. My wife is my best friend so we make the best of everything. Good and bad. The first market they take you to is kinda hokey but take it for what it is and be nice to the locals. This is their life!
Read bpagan59's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Taflach
1 review
Dec 2014

No variety at the town I was done in 30 min. Looked like some nice resturant bars. The port looked like the industrial park. I would prefer not to go there again.

Read Taflach's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Taxi
Member Image ellesee89
1 review
Nov 2014

Too long and annoying

Read ellesee89's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cricket551
2 reviews
Oct 2014

We had originally planned the ATV adventure, but had to cancel before sailing because I had to have surgery and did not think I would be up to this. SO while on the ship we went to the excursions desk to see if anything looked fun and easy! As this day was our 22nd year anniversary. We decided on a trip on a boat around the island, “unlimited rum included” then a stop in town for shopping. We meet right off the ship and headed into town, the bus was just fine, the driver did fine and the guide was informative. They dropped us off for about an hour and half at the shopping area in town. Then they were to pick us up and head to the boat part (this is why we booked). We waited for about 30 minutes at the designated area. During this time hearing rumors that the boat was broken. Once back on the shuttle our guide did not speak to us at all. We were all taken back to the port and dropped off. Our money was refunded. SO that was fine, I was just sad that we really didn’t get to see or do anything in this port! It was our first time here. But we still enjoyed our self’s! Come to find out the generator broke, stuff happens.

Read Cricket551's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Oma55
1 review
Feb 2014

Did not see much of the city before we went to the The Garden of the Grove tour.

Read Oma55's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: dont remember
Member Image Thechesapeakecruiser
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

We booked the tour on the dock, finding a taxi driver who would give us a tour of the area of $30 each (6 of us). He drove us around the Freeport area, took us to a definite downmarket flea market and gave us lots of history of the area. On the way back to the ship, we passed the Sands Brewery that offered tours. We made an unscheduled stop, took the tour, sampled the merchandise and made it back to the ship in plenty of time for the departure.

Read Thechesapeakecruiser's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Taxi driver Mr. B
Member Image Maryeveryday
2 reviews
Apr 2013
City tour was ok; basically learned about the economy of the island. It was informative but if someone thought they would see historical areas or beautiful landscapes, they would be disappointed. I frankly don't think there are any . . . . except the ocean/beaches, of course. Went to Taino beach. Surf was rough so could not swim.
Read Maryeveryday's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image callmearavis
1 review
Apr 2013

There is nothing in this city worth touring. We drove through housing additions. It was a waste of time and money. I would NOT recommend it.

Read callmearavis's full Bahamas Celebration cruise review
Provider:
Member Image rafinmd
14 reviews
Feb 2013
Apparently good for beach, snorkel, and shopping, there was little to offer in cultural and historic attractions. I took the ship's "Island tour", and it was mostly looking at upscale houses and a lengthy shopping stop.
Read rafinmd's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image celtic1950
2 reviews
Jan 2013
We did the Ardasta Gardens and City tour and it was fun and informative. Easy trip for those who don't want to be rushed.
Read celtic1950's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider:
Member Image rapunzel18
4 reviews
Jan 2013
The guide in Freeport was much more informative than the one in Nassau. He showed us many buildings and explained what they were. It's fun to see different areas of the world.
Read rapunzel18's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image pdub811
1 review
Nov 2012
Had a really good time. Our tour guide was excellent! Loved the straw market and Port Luchaya.
Read pdub811's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Happyfamilyontario
1 review
Nov 2012
We took an early bus into the town as our sailing/snorkeling wasn't till 1pm from the ship. Looking around the village was fun and interesting, you have to eat at Daddy Browns...a vendor for a shop told us about this Mr Brown that serves fresh conch....we had fresh lobster and conch fritters and then I had to go back and get the fresh conch salad...amazing food for a little booth!!!
Read Happyfamilyontario's full Bahamas Celebration cruise review
Provider:
Member Image peacefrog0521
1 review
Nov 2012
After much haggling and wrangling, Sonny was able to drop the other passengers at Taino Beach, then took me to the Lucaya Cricket Club at my specific request. (While this increased the cost to $30, it included the trip back to the beach, and the return to port.) He took me around, introduced me to the club manager, and was able to take me inside the clubhouse for a look around. Much of it had been badly damaged by Hurricane Sandy, but much more by neglect. Cricket just isn't the national sport in the Bahamas. But it was enlightening all the same, and a much more real and memorable experience than I might have gotten otherwise.
Read peacefrog0521's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Sonny's Taxi
Member Image Posada
1 review
Oct 2012
Not much to do on this port....next time I will stay on the ship
Read Posada's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?