Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Freeport City Tour Excursion Reviews

Freeport City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a tour of Freeport to learn more about the background and history of the city and Grand Bahama Island.
Member Image ellesee89
1 review
Nov 2014

Too long and annoying

Read ellesee89's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cricket551
1 review
Oct 2014

We had originally planned the ATV adventure, but had to cancel before sailing because I had to have surgery and did not think I would be up to this. SO while on the ship we went to the excursions desk to see if anything looked fun and easy! As this day was our 22nd year anniversary. We decided on a trip on a boat around the island, “unlimited rum included” then a stop in town for shopping. We meet right off the ship and headed into town, the bus was just fine, the driver did fine and the guide was informative. They dropped us off for about an hour and half at the shopping area in town. Then they were to pick us up and head to the boat part (this is why we booked). We waited for about 30 minutes at the designated area. During this time hearing rumors that the boat was broken. Once back on the shuttle our guide did not speak to us at all. We were all taken back to the port and dropped off. Our money was refunded. SO that was fine, I was just sad that we really didn’t get to see or do anything in this port! It was our first time here. But we still enjoyed our self’s! Come to find out the generator broke, stuff happens.

Read Cricket551's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Oma55
1 review
Feb 2014

Did not see much of the city before we went to the The Garden of the Grove tour.

Read Oma55's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: dont remember
Member Image Thechesapeakecruiser
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

We booked the tour on the dock, finding a taxi driver who would give us a tour of the area of $30 each (6 of us). He drove us around the Freeport area, took us to a definite downmarket flea market and gave us lots of history of the area. On the way back to the ship, we passed the Sands Brewery that offered tours. We made an unscheduled stop, took the tour, sampled the merchandise and made it back to the ship in plenty of time for the departure.

Read Thechesapeakecruiser's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Taxi driver Mr. B
Member Image Maryeveryday
1 review
Apr 2013
City tour was ok; basically learned about the economy of the island. It was informative but if someone thought they would see historical areas or beautiful landscapes, they would be disappointed. I frankly don't think there are any . . . . except the ocean/beaches, of course. Went to Taino beach. Surf was rough so could not swim.
Read Maryeveryday's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image callmearavis
1 review
Apr 2013

There is nothing in this city worth touring. We drove through housing additions. It was a waste of time and money. I would NOT recommend it.

Read callmearavis's full Bahamas Celebration cruise review
Provider: Celebration Cruise Line
Member Image rafinmd
11 reviews
Feb 2013
Apparently good for beach, snorkel, and shopping, there was little to offer in cultural and historic attractions. I took the ship's "Island tour", and it was mostly looking at upscale houses and a lengthy shopping stop.
Read rafinmd's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image celtic1950
1 review
Jan 2013
We did the Ardasta Gardens and City tour and it was fun and informative. Easy trip for those who don't want to be rushed.
Read celtic1950's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image rapunzel18
3 reviews
Jan 2013
The guide in Freeport was much more informative than the one in Nassau. He showed us many buildings and explained what they were. It's fun to see different areas of the world.
Read rapunzel18's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image pdub811
1 review
Nov 2012
Had a really good time. Our tour guide was excellent! Loved the straw market and Port Luchaya.
Read pdub811's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Happyfamilyontario
1 review
Nov 2012
We took an early bus into the town as our sailing/snorkeling wasn't till 1pm from the ship. Looking around the village was fun and interesting, you have to eat at Daddy Browns...a vendor for a shop told us about this Mr Brown that serves fresh conch....we had fresh lobster and conch fritters and then I had to go back and get the fresh conch salad...amazing food for a little booth!!!
Read Happyfamilyontario's full Bahamas Celebration cruise review
Provider: Celebration Cruise Line
Member Image peacefrog0521
1 review
Nov 2012
After much haggling and wrangling, Sonny was able to drop the other passengers at Taino Beach, then took me to the Lucaya Cricket Club at my specific request. (While this increased the cost to $30, it included the trip back to the beach, and the return to port.) He took me around, introduced me to the club manager, and was able to take me inside the clubhouse for a look around. Much of it had been badly damaged by Hurricane Sandy, but much more by neglect. Cricket just isn't the national sport in the Bahamas. But it was enlightening all the same, and a much more real and memorable experience than I might have gotten otherwise.
Read peacefrog0521's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Sonny's Taxi
Member Image Posada
1 review
Oct 2012
Not much to do on this port....next time I will stay on the ship
Read Posada's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image MelV
1 review
Sep 2012
Freeport was not very pretty. Their economy is suffering and there were a lot of businesses closed there. I don't think they have recovered very well after the last hurricane that hit them. The people were very friendly. Of course they wanted you to buy stuff from them but we found if you just said no thank you, they would leave you alone. They will bargain with you and we got some good deals.
Read MelV's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image OldGuy46
1 review
Sep 2012
The city tour was handled by a local bus line. The bus was clean and the driver was very knowledgeable and friendly. The tour included the drive around the island, a stop at a local shopping area, and a stop a the name brand shopping stores. It was pretty normal as far as city tours go.
Read OldGuy46's full Bahamas Celebration cruise review
Provider: Celebration Cruise Line
Member Image Raynedayplayer
1 review
Aug 2012
Day 5: Freeport You will port in an industrial area. There really is no shopping to speak of, other than the Carnival sanctioned vendors....so plan to book something away from port!!!! We booked the Carnival sanctioned tour: The city and BREWERY tour ($40 per person). We weren't quite sure as this one didn't have many reviews. We were taken by bus (driver Bryce) on a short tour of the island, went to a local shopping market (mostly everything was closed), and then to the brewery. Some reviews will complain that the vendors weren't open, but lets keep in mind, the economy. We have been hit hard, so they have been hit hard. There were many businesses on the island that have been forced to close, just as we have experienced in Arizona and beyond. It is not anyone's fault, it is simply a sign of the times....no one was closed to ruin your cruise experience. (getting off my soap box now)....There is a little candy shop, that has pretty typical candy...but if you look behind the counter, they have these wonderful pockets of yumminess. They were pattys...which resembled pasties. We had the pizza flavored, and the beef, another couple had the chicken....the beef was the favorite. Pretty soon....the whole bus was getting them. The lovely lady behind the counter was so excited for us to try them, she even let me sample some tamarind sauce that they had just made....ooo tasty!! Back to the bus, we were dropped off at another vendor location that had fruits, crafts, and shells. I bought some more sugar apples and shared them with some tour mates....fun for all. The vendors were super nice....there is an intriguing shaman who makes medicinal herbal tonics if you are willing to try one. Neat stories, neat people. Off to the brewery, short tour....really hot and humid inside....but all the beer you can drink til the tour is over, in an air conditioned location. :) We got to sample 5 beers plus a non alcoholic malt beer (maltz beer---German sweet beer), you picked the one you liked, or a few, and drank until it was time to leave....A great time all around. The other tourists were great and we made some new friends, the tour was nice, the beer was good and cold. Back to the pier, we ate a one of the small shacks next to the ship...we had conch salad, cracked lobster, and garlic conch.....OMG....super, super delicious and fresh. Back to the ship, it rained as we sailed away. Great ending to a pretty perfect day.
Read Raynedayplayer's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Stacktester
1 review
Aug 2012
The place is an industrial wasteland in the Caribbean.
Read Stacktester's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image brdrawn
1 review
Jun 2012
Freeport is not a very touristy place to visit. Overall the area is very industrial and has little in historical places to visit. The city tour was a bus ride that educated us on the current state of the island and how everyday life is. The shopping took you to a local straw market as well as a larger commercial shopping area "cruise village". We stopped at each location for around 30-45 minutes and then went back to the bus. The final portion of the excursion was the beach break ... the way the description reads, you would think the beach time is minimal or optional but its not and there is only 1 small beach food shake and no shaded area so come prepared to spend about 1 hour at the beach. It is a local beach, not a tourist area so there isn't anything within walking distance either.
Read brdrawn's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ridge-rider
1 review
Apr 2012
Terrible waste of money.
Read ridge-rider's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Winderdawg
1 review
Apr 2012
We chose the "Freeport Island Tour" it was an ok experience. We boarded a bus and rode around the island before stopping at a straw market and then the Lucaya area. It was eye opening for the kids to see how the "well-off" in other countries actually live in worse conditions than we do. Lucaya was your typical touristy shopping area. Next time, we would skip the tour and take something that dropped us off here and than walk to the beach and enjoy the water.
Read Winderdawg's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.