Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Dominica Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

Dominica Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dominica offers some of the finest offshore locations to experience the island's coral formations and vibrantly colored fish. Beginners and experienced snorkelers alike will love the experience.
Member Image sujaka
1 review
Apr 2015
Had a horrible guide. Others had better guides and better experience. Rocky beach which is hard to traverse. Watch out for your ankles. Water isn't that clear but there is a lot of sea life to look at.
Read sujaka's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Best Price Excursions
Member Image Biddi2
1 review
Mar 2015
Highly recommend this tour as it covered so many of the highlights of the island. Great for first timers to Dominica. The guide was excellent and the tour included free drinks during the day.
Read Biddi2's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Bumpiing Tours
Member Image Wareaglex5
1 review
Mar 2015
Snorkeling Champagne Beach was wonderful! It was one of the most fun experiences of the cruise we were on. My teens had a great time and our guide was very informative! We highly recommend booking with Levi with Bumping Tours. It was well worth the money! We were given much information about the sea life, were able to see sea horses, coral, lots of bright fish and were taught much about this unique volcanic place.
Read Wareaglex5's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Bumping Tours
Member Image RANGERAT
1 review
Mar 2015
The vendor they used was great, safety briefing, helped getting on board, three guys in the water to watch and explain to us what we were seeing. great
Read RANGERAT's full Wind Surf cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image globetrotter921
1 review
Feb 2015

We met our tour at the end of the pier and had a long wait, due to two late arrivers. Carnival needs to have a policy to leave people behind if they are more than 20 minutes late. It was about a five minute walk to the boat and a 30 minute sail to the Champagne Reef. The tour divides you into groups for a guided snorkel. The guide tows a float. He will point out some interesting things while snorkeling and then rest on the float while explaining what was seen and what to expect next. The reef was large and healthy with lots of fish, and the underwater hot spring was a unique experience. The tour was unusual because there was only one stop, but they allow you to stay in the water for over an hour.

Read globetrotter921's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bellbus
2 reviews
Dec 2014

My husband and I did not go ashore here but went on a snorkeling excursion. We enjoyed the snorkel spot but were very annoyed that vests were required. My husband is an excellent swimmer and the vest was not good for submersion.

Read bellbus's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image collinsmom4301
3 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

WE snorkeled at Champaign reef and experienced some of the best snorkeling we have ever done. The water was warm and the coral and sea life were spectacular. The bubbles were cool too. It is rocky to get into the water but well worth it.

Read collinsmom4301's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Devilaw
4 reviews
Mar 2013
This was a great shore excursion. We took a nice tour of the island in a bus and made a couple of stops along the way. Dominica is a beautiful island. The falls were spectacular. We then went to the Champagne Reefs for a snorkel. A bit difficult getting into the water as it is a rocky beach, but this was where the volcanic reef was. We enjoyed the snorkel but it was not long enough.
Read Devilaw's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Misswings02
1 review
Dec 2012
What can I say, first time for hubby to island; however, this was my fifth trip. I am never disappointed.
Read Misswings02's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image eltigre
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Read eltigre's full AIDAaura cruise review
Provider: Shepee Fun Tours
Member Image nowhook18
1 review
Apr 2012
I thought CHAMPAGNE REEF was very good for snorkeling. Quite a good time.
Read nowhook18's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image gbsand81
1 review
Mar 2012
The snorkeling was SUPERB -- definitely do this. But this was a 3 1/2 hour excursion during which we spent only an hour in the water. Catamaran captain didn't seem to know what he was doing, as he took 5 passes at the pier before successfully docking. Also, they forgot to bring enough pairs of flippers for everyone on board. (Who does that??) So that's why we were delayed getting into the water. But once we were in, the snorkeling was great
Read gbsand81's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image beachbumsns
1 review
Mar 2012
Had two great guides. Jefferson and Cory. Very funny, helpful and made sure you were safe. A great snorkeling adventure and also a good taxi driver to take us to the location. Saw lots of the countryside, very poor areas, and the beautiful rainforest. Would highly recommend this tour if you can lift yourself on and off the little Fun Cats. And snorkel for 45 minutes or so. Lifejackets were mandatory for the boat ride but not mandatory for the snorkle.
Read beachbumsns's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Snorbens
1 review
Jan 2012
Snorkeling on the Champagne Reef. Nice tour with 2 hours for snorkeling which passed so quickly. A great boat trip. After the snorkeling the boat captain found a school of dolphins and was able to get the dolphins into the wake and they jumped and performed, it was great. The town of Roseau where the ship docked was small and not very interesting. As ever loads of diamond shop, who ever goes to these.!!!!
Read Snorbens's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image FawnRiver
1 review
Jan 2012
Champagne Reef Snorkel Crew on the ship were professional and informative. The tour group was a little larger than what I would have liked.
Read FawnRiver's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.