Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Dominica River Tubing Excursion Reviews

Dominica River Tubing cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Whirl down some of Dominica's most magnificent rivers. Enjoy a day of gentle rapids and the island's whirling waters under the sun.
Member Image Metsfan30
5 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2014

We pre-booked an excursion, which is something we NEVER do, unless it was to the Beach at Cayo Levantado, Samana, DR. This tour was to go to Hibiscus Falls and see the waterfall for awhile before going on an hour and half long river tubing expedition down a 1.5 mile track. We only did the excursion knowing how poor the island is, and there really isn't much else to do on the island (we have been here twice before, also on the Noordam.) The excursion was great, and Dominica remains high up there on my list of favorite islands, despite the extremely poor conditions on the island.

Read Metsfan30's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SailAwaySal
1 review
Feb 2014

The river tubing was okay but they are always trying to sell you something wherever you go.

Read SailAwaySal's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Martysus
1 review
Mar 2013
Wonderful - well orchestrated; just the most fun imaginable!!!!
Read Martysus's full Silver Cloud cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image minimidget5
2 reviews
Jan 2013
This tour included river tubing in the rain forest and a small hike to see the Emerald Pool. Our tour guide, Crisca, was very informative and excited to tell us about the island. The water was low in the river but we still enjoyed the tubing portion(just be careful as it is easy to run into/over rocks). It does require some physical ability as there's hiking up/down steps to the Emerald Pool and there are some rapids in the river. There was an older gentleman who flipped out of his inner tube and bumped his helmet on a rock but escaped unharmed.(and yet he felt compelled to share that he also nearly lost his swimming shorts in the incident!) Overall, it was fun and was worth the convenience of being taken around the island. We also got tiny little cups of rum punch. The 'tiny' part was not an issue as the punch was delicious and quite potent!
Read minimidget5's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SouthLyonCruiser
4 reviews
Jan 2013
Transportation to and from the river was fine, the only exception being the last mile or so down a very rough road. But, I didn't book this for the bus ride. The tubing was outstanding. The guides were very knowledgeable about the area and quite entertaining. The tubing consisted of coasting down the river including many parts that had moderate rapids with several stops to make sure that everyone was together. The guides indicated that they have had guest as young as 2 years and as old as 90.
Read SouthLyonCruiser's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: WRAVE Ltd.
Member Image Martin85
1 review
Nov 2012
23 of us went river rafting on Dominica. I arranged the trip & transportation with Anison from Antours Dominica. We was great to work with, I paid via Pay Pal and everything went off without a hitch. Everyone in our group wanted the excursion to last a little longer. The water level was not very high so I'm sure it can get a little faster but it was a fun time.
Read Martin85's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Antours of Dominica
Member Image ilovecruisingsoomuch
1 review
Apr 2012
It was so much fun! i really recommend the river tubing, it was a great experience for us. However if you do book it be sure to bring water shoes; lots of rocks in the river!
Read ilovecruisingsoomuch's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image seattletrvlr
1 review
Mar 2012
Very enjoyable. Generally very helpful guides. A little better 'matching' of tube to passenger would have been good. Several sizes and accessories to tubes - the extra 'seat' would have been good for one of us, the larger tube for another. Post tubing, a stop where food, drink, and souvenirs could be purchased - should have been included in tour price. We bought a great sandwich, but given the length of the tour, why not include it in the price and provide a guaranteed customer base to the women who made them?!
Read seattletrvlr's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image TnA206
1 review
Mar 2012
Went tubing on the Layou River. Very fun!! The river is swift enough you dont have to paddle and there was a couple rough rapids! One of the last rapids alot of people came out of their tubes!! No one was hurt and there were guides stationed all down the river helping through the tough spots so we felt safe. After we got to go grab a rum puch at a cool hotel in the jungle. When the tour ended we did some shopping in Rosseau, loved the vibe in this little town! One of our faves!
Read TnA206's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image SLPShelly
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2012
LOVED this--very fun!
Read SLPShelly's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wagardsmith
1 review
Feb 2012
This was a fun, easy river tubing excursion. The guide said we would be going over class one, two and three rapids, but I'm not sure we even had class two rapids...it was pretty mild. The water was low when we were there, so that might make a difference. It was fun. The guides were very nice, but the actual river tubing seemed pretty short. We stopped a couple of times for them to lead us in cheers ("wacky - rollers", "rum - punch", etc.). I think they did that to extend the time we were on the water since the trip itself was pretty short. The excursion cost $69, which I think was a little high for what we got. It included some rum punch at the end, but no meal.
Read wagardsmith's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.