Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Maui Molokini Crater Excursion Reviews

Maui Molokini Crater cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dive beneath Maui's waters to visit Molokini Crater, an underwater volcano that formed over 150 thousand years ago and a marine sanctuary for many unique species of aquatic life.
Member Image AnnMimi
1 review
Nov 2014

Water was rough, so unable to snorkel at Molokini Crater, but went to another area that was calmer. Saw many colorful fish. Nice continental b'fast & light lunch on board the catamaran. Used a wet suit jacket that was available to rent, $10. Helped with buoyancy, sunburn & warmth. After snorkeling was over we took a trip out into the waters & saw (2) whales.

Read AnnMimi's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image FiveString
1 review
Jan 2013
This 'snorkeling' trip was the highlight of the trip. I use the quotes because while the snorkeling was lovely, we had the once-in-a-lifetime experience of being "mugged" for an extended period of time by a pod of humpback whales that surrounded the boat and put on a fantastic show for us. Captain Dave and his crew, being experienced whale naturalists themselves, provided terrific information and seemed as blown away by the experience as we were. Obviously one has to be extremely lucky to have that happen but the crew were really fun and engaged and I'm sure they would provide a good time no matter what.
Read FiveString's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jannielee
2 reviews
Dec 2012
Excellent snorkeling experience with great lunch and crew.
Read jannielee's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sparkle
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Maui: We booked the ship's Snorkel at Molokini, which was great. We got off the tender, and the boat we went on was right there at the pier. They had all the snorkel equipment onboard, and passed it out on the way to Molokini. They had noodles, vests and float belts you could grab on your way off the boat if you wanted. It took almost an hour to get there. They had fruit, pastries, juice and coffee for us on the way. The snorkeling was great, with many varieties of fish closer to the crater in the coral. (Watch out for the coral!) The crew was very good with the people that did not snorkel before or were timid. They also had 3 of the crew out swimming with the experienced snorkelers. The water was about 75 degrees F. They had wet suits available for $10 cash, but no one needed them. On the way back they had trays of cold cuts and cheese to make your own sandwiches, and salads, chips, etc. Then we stopped in an area where the sea turtles were, and the fish that "clean" them. We snorkeled again there, with the turtles, & also saw a shark. We got back to Lahiana with a couple hours to wander around and shop and have a cold one.
Read sparkle's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Romy40
8 reviews
Sep 2012
The husband took this snorkeling excursion and had a blast! Soooo many fish and turtles to see, plenty of time in the water, and gear and noodles were provided.
Read Romy40's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lsufan93
1 review
Jul 2012
Great trip. Guides were excellent. Despite size of catamaran, there was considerable motion. Not good trip for those easily prone to seasickness.
Read lsufan93's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SaveTheWavesGirl
1 review
Jul 2012
Great snorkeling and sea turtles! The water can be pretty rough but it is well worth it to brave them for the beauty under the sea!
Read SaveTheWavesGirl's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ATLmagnos
1 review
Jul 2012
You really have to do this - it's pretty amazing. The gift shop has underwater cameras you can rent for like $30 - get one. All of the money supports a really great cause so you have fun and feel good about it. We swam INCHES away from multiple sea turtles - it was amazing.
Read ATLmagnos's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mooch7
1 review
Apr 2012
Saw a humpback whale breaching, lots of fish, some saw turtles, yummy food included. Only drag was weather was not great so had to go to another location, but it (Coconuts) was excellent too.
Read Mooch7's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Ikenuts
1 review
Mar 2012
Day 2 very early morning to sail out to the Molokini Crater, again saw more whales. Continental Breakfast/Coffee provided on the sail out to the crater. Lunch provided after snorkeling. Water was very cold, but fish were phenomenal. Great crew, good food, very nice group of travelers. Great day until the rain hit :(
Read Ikenuts's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Paragon Sailing Charters
Member Image 1sttimenclcruiser
1 review
Feb 2012
Snorkeling at the crater was wonderful. The water is much more shallow than where you snorkel with turtles. We even saw whales on the way to the first stop. The food was good and they provided me with prescription mask. Wet suite tops are available for 10.00 and well worth the money. The water is cool. All the people working the boat were very friendly. We saw lots of colorful fish. Snorkeling with the turles was neat but the water is a lot deeper. Turtles were hard to spot and there were so many people chasing them that they go deep in the water. The excursion was wonderful and I would do it again.
Read 1sttimenclcruiser's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.