Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Maui Haleakala Crater Excursion Reviews

Maui Haleakala Crater cruise excursion
Overall Rating
An expedition to the extraordinary Haleakala Crater makes for a beautiful trip, but you may want to bring a jacket to keep warm.
Member Image AnnMimi
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

Very nice & relaxing trip up to the crater top. Not too cold at the top. Sun was out, but it was windy. Light jacket was good to wear. Tour guide was very informative on the trip up to the crater. Made frequent stops for photo taking. Very winding road to the top.

Read AnnMimi's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image OhJinkies
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014
After a lot of consideration, I booked the “Exclusive Haleakala Sunrise tour” through NCL. The 3:30 a.m. departure time and frigid mountaintop temps were a little off-putting, but I knew this would be a special experience. This is a small van tour and includes breakfast. I had to pack some warm clothes – a fleece pullover, scarf, warm socks, and lined gloves. We arrived at the 9K level pre-dawn, seized a position right against the railing, and watched the show begin. I was VERY fortunate – temps were in the 50s, which is downright balmy for Haleakala, and winds were calm. Skies were clear above the lower clouds, and they slowly became illuminated as the sun crept up. It was spectacular. After the sunrise, we ascended to the 10K level and walked around a bit and took photos. We then traveled back down and had breakfast at the Kula Lodge, which has breathtaking views and a beautiful garden out back. We took time to tour the garden and our guide pointed out the various plants. We also had time to browse the nearby gift shop.
Read OhJinkies's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cozumel Jim
3 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Awesome!

Read Cozumel Jim's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image motes727
1 review
Feb 2013
Wonderful. Our tour guide was great. We ran a little late because of traffic getting back to the harbor
Read motes727's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image stretch1942
1 review
Feb 2013
Didn't enjoy. Rained very hard. Couldn't see anything at the top. Learned lots about the island from the bus driver. We were Forty five minutes late getting back to the ship. Would not book this tour again.
Read stretch1942's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TheWowFactor
1 review
Jan 2013
Good tour. Vans air conditioning wasn't working that day though. People like us in the back seen were feeling car sick way in the back. They also were suppose to have oxygen for this trip but upon needing it they realized ooops we don't have any. Not good. But overall, good trip, much fun downhill on bikes.
Read TheWowFactor's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Adventures in Hawaii
Member Image wacotx46
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Over 2 hour bus ride up to crater; beautiful view; we were told to expect a temperature drop but not that temperature would drop 30 degrees and be very windy! It was 45degrees F, and many people weren't dressed warmly!
Read wacotx46's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rwr235
4 reviews
Oct 2012
After 2 hours sleep, we were up at 1am, off the ship by 145am, and picked up by Bike Company at 2am. Van ride to summit to watch the sunrise..SPECTACULAR !! Then a 23 mile bikeride down the mountain...FANTASTIC !! Highly recommend.
Read rwr235's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image RexJanes
4 reviews
Oct 2012
We took a bus tour with Princess. A 1.5 hour drive to the crater and only spent 30 minutes at the summit. We spent 1.5 hours at a restaurant and more time at a restroom. Again, taking a bus tour was a mistake.
Read RexJanes's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image soxfan1495
2 reviews
Jun 2012
A very interesting experience, even if it is cold, windy, and rainy, during your visit (as it was for us).
Read soxfan1495's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: on our own
Member Image Mooch7
1 review
Apr 2012
Amazing. Guide was very knowledgeable. Bring jackets and camera!
Read Mooch7's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image DDBINK1
1 review
Feb 2012
It was FREEZING on that crater. The bus ride again had multiple stops on the way there which I thought was not necessary. Some seem to be just to buy a tee shirt or get a trinket. The views were great. Over all it was worth it totally.
Read DDBINK1's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.