Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Maui Haleakala Crater Excursion Reviews

Maui Haleakala Crater cruise excursion
Overall Rating
An expedition to the extraordinary Haleakala Crater makes for a beautiful trip, but you may want to bring a jacket to keep warm.
Member Image Adessii Austin
1 review
Jul 2015
View was breathtaking
Read Adessii Austin's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image limmerb
1 review
Jun 2015
We had foggy weather and therefore didn't see the sunrise at Haleakala, but the bike ride down was fun even though we had rain at times and thankfully they provide windbreaker/rain jackets and pants (this was the 3rd time my husband and I did this, and 2nd time for our son). We had to walk several blocks to meet the van.
Read limmerb's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image eewhlpn
1 review
May 2015
The tour bus operator was wonderful, great safe driver and great stories, weather on that day was horrible so didn't see the crater or the sunset so that was disappointing but not tours adult.
Read eewhlpn's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Anacwood
1 review
May 2015
Shore excursion was great. Gorgeous view. Driver was so nice, friendly and funny. My only recommendation, wear warm clothes. Very cold up there and very windy. It is worth the money. You cannot miss this one
Read Anacwood's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image oskar95
1 review
May 2015
Sunset tour was AMAZING and very beautiful. We had the best driver who talked continously from departing the pier to top of crater. Sunset was breathtaking.
Read oskar95's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image flgranny
2 reviews
May 2015
Wow, traveling up a zig-zag road through the clouds to the top of the volcano at 10,000 feet, then down to the Iao Valley where the Hawaiian kings are buried, followed by a brief shopping trip to Lahaina. Through in a nice sit-down lunch, and you have the makings of a perfect day.
Read flgranny's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Wpooh1968
1 review
May 2015
Trip to the Crater for Sunset...breathtaking, bring several layers of clothing because it gets cold! Very professional guide. Made a couple stops and he was very informative.
Read Wpooh1968's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Patti217
1 review
May 2015
One of my favorite tours. We had a great knowledgeable tour guide and this tour was especially scenic. This tour was definitely worth the money. I would definitely recommend this one.
Read Patti217's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gbowman2
1 review
May 2015
Informative and entertaining; excellent transportation and guide -- just the right pace; appreciated the experience and would recommend it. The price was right!
Read gbowman2's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CruisingFeline
1 review
Apr 2015
Long bus ride, but the driver made the trip worthwhile. He was a true Hawaiian, and kept us all entertained for the day. Don't do this trip if you have medical conditions, as it hits almost 10000 feet with no oxygen. I'm mid 30's and was out of breath!
Read CruisingFeline's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tmwsbm
1 review
Apr 2015
This was a large bus excursion (no snacks or drinks provided) arranged through the ship. Very nice. Due to unpredictable sunrise conditions we chose to do this during the day. The trip to the summit was very scenic and we got to see lots of beautiful flowering trees and local plants. We also saw chukars, pheasants, the silver sword plants and cattle, but no nene. It was windy and ~40 degrees at the summit so a jacket is very helpful. We had plenty of time and there are 2 National Park gift shops where we stopped to make purchases. On the way down, it became very cloudy so our view was a lot more limited. Our guide had lots of very useful information.
Read tmwsbm's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KT2honeymoon
1 review
Apr 2015
Our driver/guide was awesome. So wonderfully informative about so many native things. Loved him, I think was Henry. Great view. The drive up and down not for the faint of stomach.
Read KT2honeymoon's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bluejayro
1 review
Mar 2015
The best excursion I did on the cruise. Could not tell from the ship if it would be worth it. Because all you could see was clouds. But once we got above those clouds it was perfectly clear. Clear enough so that when we got to the crater, you could see all the way to Mauna Kea on the Big Island, about 80 miles away. Where the bus stops, you can either stay there or go up steps about a half mile to a higher vantage point. I went up the steps but came back down before sunset because it's cold up there. When we left the ship it was about 83 degrees in the port. After the 37 mile bus ride up to the crater at 10000 feet, it was about 45 degrees and windy. Where we watched the sunset across the street from the bus parking lot, there was a photographer with two assistants shooting wedding pictures for a couple.
Read bluejayro's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image blue22girl
1 review
Mar 2015
It was well run, and the driver/guide made the most of setting expectations and helping us. It was cold and horribly windy (hubby and I honeymooned in Antarctica, and thought this was colder, though we didn't wear our big ski jacket here either).. be warned that you stand out there with no real wind block for about 50 minutes in near pitch dark waiting. no real sunrise that day since it was cloudy, but good stops and good length.
Read blue22girl's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruiseLOver136
1 review
Mar 2015
The drive was lovely and exciting around hairpin curves. I'm sure the Crater was magnificent but cloud cover kept us from seeing more than 20 yards into it. Anyone who goes up there should have warm clothing. The temperature at over 9,000 feet was 38 degrees. Our lunch at a beautiful plantation was very nice.
Read cruiseLOver136's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Footloose Oz
3 reviews
Feb 2015

The Haleakala Crater is impressive, however we did not see it at its best because of the weather. The trip up offered great views of the port and surrounding area. The top is much cooler so a jacket is needed most times of the day. I must admit I would have enjoyed it more if the driver did not talk continually as sometimes it is nice to just take in the views.
On the first day in port we had we caught the local bus for $4 for all day and went and saw Lahaina and Kaanapali

Read Footloose Oz's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaiian
Member Image AnnMimi
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

Very nice & relaxing trip up to the crater top. Not too cold at the top. Sun was out, but it was windy. Light jacket was good to wear. Tour guide was very informative on the trip up to the crater. Made frequent stops for photo taking. Very winding road to the top.

Read AnnMimi's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image OhJinkies
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014
After a lot of consideration, I booked the “Exclusive Haleakala Sunrise tour” through NCL. The 3:30 a.m. departure time and frigid mountaintop temps were a little off-putting, but I knew this would be a special experience. This is a small van tour and includes breakfast. I had to pack some warm clothes – a fleece pullover, scarf, warm socks, and lined gloves. We arrived at the 9K level pre-dawn, seized a position right against the railing, and watched the show begin. I was VERY fortunate – temps were in the 50s, which is downright balmy for Haleakala, and winds were calm. Skies were clear above the lower clouds, and they slowly became illuminated as the sun crept up. It was spectacular. After the sunrise, we ascended to the 10K level and walked around a bit and took photos. We then traveled back down and had breakfast at the Kula Lodge, which has breathtaking views and a beautiful garden out back. We took time to tour the garden and our guide pointed out the various plants. We also had time to browse the nearby gift shop.
Read OhJinkies's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cozumel Jim
3 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Awesome!

Read Cozumel Jim's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image motes727
1 review
Feb 2013
Wonderful. Our tour guide was great. We ran a little late because of traffic getting back to the harbor
Read motes727's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image stretch1942
1 review
Feb 2013
Didn't enjoy. Rained very hard. Couldn't see anything at the top. Learned lots about the island from the bus driver. We were Forty five minutes late getting back to the ship. Would not book this tour again.
Read stretch1942's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TheWowFactor
1 review
Jan 2013
Good tour. Vans air conditioning wasn't working that day though. People like us in the back seen were feeling car sick way in the back. They also were suppose to have oxygen for this trip but upon needing it they realized ooops we don't have any. Not good. But overall, good trip, much fun downhill on bikes.
Read TheWowFactor's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Adventures in Hawaii
Member Image wacotx46
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Over 2 hour bus ride up to crater; beautiful view; we were told to expect a temperature drop but not that temperature would drop 30 degrees and be very windy! It was 45degrees F, and many people weren't dressed warmly!
Read wacotx46's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rwr235
4 reviews
Oct 2012
After 2 hours sleep, we were up at 1am, off the ship by 145am, and picked up by Bike Company at 2am. Van ride to summit to watch the sunrise..SPECTACULAR !! Then a 23 mile bikeride down the mountain...FANTASTIC !! Highly recommend.
Read rwr235's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image RexJanes
4 reviews
Oct 2012
We took a bus tour with Princess. A 1.5 hour drive to the crater and only spent 30 minutes at the summit. We spent 1.5 hours at a restaurant and more time at a restroom. Again, taking a bus tour was a mistake.
Read RexJanes's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image soxfan1495
2 reviews
Jun 2012
A very interesting experience, even if it is cold, windy, and rainy, during your visit (as it was for us).
Read soxfan1495's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: on our own
Member Image Mooch7
1 review
Apr 2012
Amazing. Guide was very knowledgeable. Bring jackets and camera!
Read Mooch7's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image DDBINK1
1 review
Feb 2012
It was FREEZING on that crater. The bus ride again had multiple stops on the way there which I thought was not necessary. Some seem to be just to buy a tee shirt or get a trinket. The views were great. Over all it was worth it totally.
Read DDBINK1's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.