Maui Haleakala Crater Excursion Reviews

Maui Haleakala Crater cruise excursion
Overall Rating
An expedition to the extraordinary Haleakala Crater makes for a beautiful trip, but you may want to bring a jacket to keep warm.
Member Image CdMAgFox
15 reviews
May 2017
It was quite cloudy on the way up but the clouds cleared as we approached the parking lot at the Visitor''s Center, providing spectacular views
Read CdMAgFox's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mauvemom
1 review
Apr 2017
comfortable ride on a full-sized bus with an excellent guide, David (Kawika). The crater was fogged in so we couldn't actually see it - bummer - so David went down some so we could get good sunset photos.
Read Mauvemom's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image cbmfam
4 reviews
Feb 2017
Great tour of a beautiful crater. Didn't like all the Hawaiian music on the bus.
Read cbmfam's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pretzels66
1 review
Feb 2017
very beautiful experience. always an interesting time just getting to sites since the drivers teach all we need to know about crater and sights getting to crater
Read pretzels66's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Freddy777
1 review
Jan 2017
Spectacular view.
Read Freddy777's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Vinnie B
1 review
Nov 2016
Great shore excursion good interaction with tour guide and worth every penny it cost would absolutely do this again
Read Vinnie B's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Alohacriser
1 review
Oct 2016
Rented a car and drove up the exciting road to the top at over 10,000 feet. That was a great trip. There were several people cycling from sea to the top.
Read Alohacriser's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Yo-mom1
5 reviews
Oct 2016
2 hour tour to Crater but great views.
Read Yo-mom1's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Moana tour
Member Image sgbulldog
1 review
Oct 2016
The driver was interesting and the drive up to the crater was a nice experience.
Read sgbulldog's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Jhc456
1 review
Oct 2016
Superb trip to 10000 feet to see the Haleakala crater - wonderful views, we were lucky with the weather- and visits to a Lavender Farm and distillery. Long trip and a lot of driving - not so good if you suffer from travel sickness - but wouldn't have missed it for the world.
Read Jhc456's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lindiloo65
1 review
Sep 2016
The tour included a ride up to the summit of the crater to view the crater and the sunset. The weather was clear and we were able to see an awesome sunset.
Read lindiloo65's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image cavydad
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Large bus with an excellent driver somehow executed the hairpin turns on the road to the top of Haleakala. Definitely would recommend the tour.
Read cavydad's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image smocz
1 review
Sep 2016
great tour guide
Read smocz's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SweetPea68
1 review
Sep 2016
It’s a long walk to the beach! You can take a taxi but they are expensive, about $70-80 one way per person. We, along with many other people ended up walking to the nearest shopping center where you can catch a bus that takes you to another shopping center where you catch a larger bus that goes to Lahaina historic district. The 1-day round trip pass was only about $4 per person but the wait is ridiculous. They should have better transportation arrangements knowing that this cruise comes to town every single week. Anyways, once you get there you can enjoy local food or shop around the different stores. There you will see the amazing Banyan trees, make sure to take pictures because it’s hard to believe they are real. The views are beautiful and definitely worth the hassle. We booked the Haleakala Crater excursion through Skymilescruises.com to do on our 2nd day in Maui. We were picked up by Roberts Hawaii shuttle bus and our driver was Harry, an intelligent funny guy. Wear comfortable clothing as you will have to do some minor climbing to enjoy the view. When it comes to craters I prefer Crater Lake (in Oregon) … this was beautiful just not as beautiful.
Read SweetPea68's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Skymilescruises
Member Image MauiJef
1 review
Aug 2016
We rented a car and drove there.
Read MauiJef's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Car Rental
Member Image bonnierph
1 review
Aug 2016
Breathtaking sunrise and biking down the volcano was just amazing. Be prepared to be picked up at 2:45am for this excursion. Well worth it.
Read bonnierph's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Adventure Maui
Member Image eggplant7
4 reviews
Jul 2016
outstanding crater views. thoroughly enjoyed the amazing scenery!
Read eggplant7's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image makakilo@mail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Took a bus ride up the winding road to the overlook above Haleakala Crater. Knowledgeable Driver/Guide and a well organized excursion
Read makakilo@mail.com's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mystang52
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Crater was awe-inspiring
Read mystang52's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Yogi B
1 review
May 2016
Interesting narrative while getting to the crater. Time to walk around and take pictures.
Read Yogi B's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jtpm
1 review
May 2016
Long but enjoyable
Read jtpm's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Peggyloves cruising
1 review
May 2016
Raining, foggy, windy! Couldn't see the sunset. Did see a few silver swords at least!
Read Peggyloves cruising's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Capebeachwalk
1 review
May 2016
Beautiful vistas at sunset. Wild terrain.
Read Capebeachwalk's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wayjenh
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Was worth the drive to get there. The weather wasn't great the day we went but it was still enjoyable. I felt like I was on another planet. ABSOLUTELY LOVED LAHAINA and Front Street with all it's shops, art galleries, cafes, pubs and the Outlet store where we got some fantastic bargains.
Read wayjenh's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Pen1993
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Drove ourselves to the summit to see the sunrise. The drive is about an hour and a half. Plan to get there much earlier if you want decent parking.
Read Pen1993's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?