Dominica Rainforest Tour Excursion Reviews

Dominica Rainforest Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A rainforest tour through Dominica will take you through the island's isolated nature trails and forest trails, and over bridges and streams. Keep an eye out (and camera ready) for wildlife.
Member Image Business Professor
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Drive through the rain forest but did not have the opportunity to walk around much because of a heavy rainstorm at that particular time.
Read Business Professor's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Reynotours
Member Image mevs904
1 review
Jan 2017
Enjoyed learning about the island and seeing the rainforest portions.
Read mevs904's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cynapz
1 review
Dec 2016
Excellent Guide. Beautiful scenery.
Read Cynapz's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Heartfelttraveler
1 review
Nov 2016
This was a three part excursion and this part was cancelled.
Read Heartfelttraveler's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image WhiteRockMike
1 review
Nov 2016
Lush, but not fun in an uncomfortable, crowded bus that kept breaking down.
Read WhiteRockMike's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image pakeha7
1 review
Nov 2016
We enjoyed the drive to the waterfall and the botanical gardens
Read pakeha7's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jackselfridge
1 review
Nov 2016
This was a very nice tour. The guide was friendly and took time to talk about everything we encountered. We went to the rain forest and went swimming under a waterfall. Very Cool!
Read jackselfridge's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image patricia.schmaltz
1 review
Oct 2016
So glad to see this is protected. Beautiful!
Read patricia.schmaltz's full Sagitta cruise review
Provider: Island Windjammers
Member Image 2springers2
2 reviews
Feb 2016
fun but very tired afterwards
Read 2springers2's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Disco Duck
2 reviews
Feb 2016
The Lost Word 4X4 Waterfall & Rainforest. We took a tour first of Dominica and then went up into the Rainforest. We had a great guide who was very knowledgable about his island. People are very friendly.
Read Disco Duck's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Carlo and Erin
1 review
Jan 2016
island is devastated.. we drove on a bus to the top of the mountain and then hiked thru the rainforest were we swam under a beautiful waterfall.. loved that and the view driving up the mountain.. so scenic but they have so much damage from the storm.. hurricane louis.. the roads are all broken, and there's no shopping. they need someone to fix up their city.. otherwise, loved the waterfalls
Read Carlo and Erin's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image philgard
1 review
Nov 2015
Lovely island with fabulous views
Read philgard's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: local taxi
Member Image Georgeny
21 reviews
Oct 2015
Hot cramped winding bus ride up to top of mountains to see pathetic waterfall. Really not much in Dominca.
Read Georgeny's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cookingfor5
1 review
Apr 2015
Best Excursion we've ever done! Bumpiing Tours was amazing. We were out for over 7 hours and went to Middleham Falls, Ti Tou Gorge, Trafalgar Falls/hot springs, and added Champagne Reef at the end. Levi was social and informative. We were a fairly fit group of 10. I will try to come back to this island just to do a tour with him again!
Read cookingfor5's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bumpiing Tours
Member Image Wareaglex5
1 review
Mar 2015
Great vegetation and unique island. It is well worth the experience. We didn't have a chance to hike much with the time we had but we saw many tourists that were walking along the road. There is a path that many hikers come to the island to hike which takes 14 days to complete.
Read Wareaglex5's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Bumping Tours with Levi
Member Image Nanatravel
9 reviews
Mar 2015
Driving through the Rain Forest was part of our day tour with Helen. Her driving was excellent. Local road conditions were not. This country needs to invest in their infrastructure.
Read Nanatravel's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: all part of My Sister's Tour
Member Image SunnysideCruiser
1 review
Feb 2015
We spent the morning shopping among the vendors in town and took a excursion to the Rain Forest in the afternoon The excursion was very informative and enjoyable.
Read SunnysideCruiser's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tbmrt
11 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Dominica:
Best port stop. Loved jumping into Titou Gorge where Pirates of Caribbean was filmed. Did a great tour with Desmond (Reyno’s Tours). Also visited Screws Spa and enjoyed the various sulphur pools in varying temperatures in middle of the mountains. Wonderful.

Read tbmrt's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Reyno Tours
Member Image jcqangel
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Hot springs were awesome and the rainforest was beautiful. However, if you are afraid of heights you have to walk over a narrow rickety bridge over a river.

Read jcqangel's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SailAwaySal
1 review
Feb 2014

Dominica is where the second Pirates of the Caribbean was filmed. It is very tropical and we took the River, Tubing, Rainforest Drive and Hibiscus Falls excursion. The Hibiscus Falls is beautiful - I was surprised that Dominica had such a large rainforest area, it truly was beautiful but they have a lot of poverty.

Read SailAwaySal's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gottogofishin
1 review
Mar 2013
Elvis was our tour guide. Great guy- This hike was the Batan Death March. Very strenuous. Great waterfall at the end, but you pay for it. Be prepared! You will be completely worn out after this trip.
Read Gottogofishin's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Nature Isle Explorer
Member Image Shipahoy12
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Booked through Thomson. Very green and lush island. Made a nice change from the other more sparse vegetation. Visited the Hibiscus Falls and took some great photos. Then visited Mero Beach with its "black sand" - not really black but certainly not white like the others! Was pretty good and enjoyed it. Driver/guide was ok. Thought tour seemed a little shorter than planned.
Read Shipahoy12's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Susiebell2
3 reviews
Feb 2013
This place was one of the most beautiful places on the earth! The rainforest gardens are amazing, the tour of the resort was very educational. The caribe lunch with flying fish and tamarind juice was spectacular. The sulfur springs and complimentary rum punch were wonderful, too. We want to go back to Dominica...it was a beautiful island and pristine. The taxi cab ride was pretty expensive ($20 per person for 7 miles away).
Read Susiebell2's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Papillote Resort
Member Image awinte2
4 reviews
Feb 2013
Did rain on our tour. They say it rains every day in Domonica. Was interesting but would probably would not go back to this island.
Read awinte2's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vacationdealsgirl
1 review
Jan 2013
We booked the Roseau Valley Best Hike through Levi Bumpiing Tours. Kelvin (Levi's cousin) was our fantastic tour guide for the day. It was my first trip to a rain forest, and pretty much what I expected. I will say I underestimated how strenuous it would be (or overestimated my abilities), but even so, hiking 1000 feet up to Middleham Falls was well worth it. Kelvin was great, shared his knowledge of different plants, trees, the park, and was very patient with us when we needed to stop for a breather. After this they drove us to Titou Gorge which was awesome! You don't have to be an olympic swimmer as everyone has to wear a floatation belt and they will pull you through if the current is too strong (guess how I know this?) This was a great experience, not to be missed! Then we got back on the van and headed to Trafalgar Falls and the hot mineral springs. Again, the falls were beautiful and the hot springs a welcome relief to our tired legs! Normally at this point they take you to Champagne Reef for snorkeling, but everyone in our van opted to stop at a little road-side cafe for some authentic Dominica fare instead. We all had rum punch and a huge plate of food with many different things I had never tried (or seen) before for about $18pp before tip. On our drive out of the rain forest he pulled off at another road-side stand where I bought a large basket for $15! After that we enjoyed the ride downhill back to town and the cruise ship. Again, they provided a cooler with bottled water, Kubli beer and an orange soda that I did not try. I'm neither a beer drinker, but DH and many others really liked the Kubli. Another great day!
Read vacationdealsgirl's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Bumpiing Tours

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?