Kona Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

Kona Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Snorkeling in the beautiful waters of Kona is a great way to see Hawaii's wide array of beautiful and exotic sea creatures up close.
Member Image blare246
2 reviews
Apr 2017
We started by riding a Zodiac out to the cove where we snorkeled. The captain would stop periodically to point out interesting things (like the chapel where John Wayne married his third wife and a couple of multi-million dollar homes that had no road access). The Captain Cook monument was located at cove where we snorkeled and the captain told us Cook's story. The water was smooth as silk and was clear to the bottom. We saw so many fish! Trumpet fish, Moorish Idol, Butterfly fish...the list goes on! As we were leaving, a pod of spinner dolphins came by and gave us quite the show. I highly recommend this trip!
Read blare246's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mauvemom
1 review
Apr 2017
This excursion, called "Tide Pool & Reef Exploration", consisted of transportation to and from a great snorkeling site, where we were dropped off with a pickup time. We saw lots of sea turtles and beautiful fish during the 3 or so hours we were there. On the way back to the port, the driver was kind enough to let us off at a good local shopping site and we walked a few blocks back to the port.
Read Mauvemom's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image Blondie2017
1 review
Feb 2017
Good trip, rough due to the weather but we still got to snorkel and while it was rough it wasn't horrible, just a bit wet! The crew took good care of us and tried to cushion the ride as much as possible. It would have been good to have a chat about the kinds of fish we were looking at.
Read Blondie2017's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Sea Quest
Member Image cinthom
1 review
Jan 2017
This was the zodiac snorkeling. It was awesome. Fun, fun ride out to the cove. Lots of fish and even a pod of dolphins swam in while we were in the water.
Read cinthom's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SEL10
1 review
Dec 2016
Barbecue on board, snorkel in Captain Cook monument area. Cab ride from the ship.
Read SEL10's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Viator "Fair Wind 2" was the vessel
Member Image nd53
2 reviews
Nov 2016
clear water, on a cloudy day.
Read nd53's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Heavenlydm
1 review
Nov 2016
Ken brought all the equipment and instruction. He was great and took my sister out who is a non-swimmer. It was a really good, safe experience.
Read Heavenlydm's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Marylou's Big Island Tours
Member Image Alohacriser
1 review
Oct 2016
We took the hop on hop off again to go to a beach and go snorkeling. We saw a lot of beautiful fish and the life in the coral is quite amazing.
Read Alohacriser's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image swayingpalms1
1 review
Sep 2016
Booked the Tide Pool and Reef Exploration tour. This was a basically a beach transfer. Great snorkeling! Saw turtles. More fish than we have ever seen on any snorkel tour. Food truck & snorkel vendor at beach. You could probably take taxi or hop on/off bus for less money.
Read swayingpalms1's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image Norm&Ruby
1 review
Sep 2016
Captain Zodiac; fun experience
Read Norm&Ruby's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HACKT
12 reviews
Sep 2016
Kona was probably our favorite stop, also helped the weather was sunny. Nice town, easy to walk to the shops and restaurants. Only stop we tendered but they moved quickly so lines were fairly fast. We took the Catamaran Snorkeling excursion which was real good. This is a great stop for the beach, water stuff, or just walking around the town (Kona brewery!)
Read HACKT's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image smocz
1 review
Sep 2016
fun and very helpful crew
Read smocz's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bonnierph
1 review
Aug 2016
Snorkeling was fun although we only saw 3 different kinds of fish.
Read bonnierph's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TJ51
1 review
Jul 2016
We went out on a catamaran. The water was 99% clear. The water was not rough and you could just relax and enjoy the views. The burgers were cooked fresh for lunch. There was a slide and high jump place if you were interested.
Read TJ51's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mystang52
2 reviews
Jul 2016
We went to a quasi-protected cove which made for great snorkeling.
Read mystang52's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image salsalisa
2 reviews
Jul 2016
We booked the Big Island Snorkel excursion through NCL. It was expensive, but it was also the nicest snorkeling excursion I've ever been on. Delicious breakfast and lunch were served on a spacious and well-kept boat. The staff was very knowledgable, friendly, and safety-conscious. There was a lot of equipment available to enjoy the water. Snorkeling was a lot of fun. The whole family really enjoyed this excursion.
Read salsalisa's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Amma24
3 reviews
Apr 2016
We took the catamaran snorkeling adventure. We were picked up at the port and transported to the catamaran. Before leaving he he or we were surrounded by a pod of about 60 dolphin, jumping, spinning and thoroughly entertaining us. Then we motored to a quiet spot where we spent about an hour snorkeling. Said back to the dock. Gorgeous day on the water.
Read Amma24's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image solarsister
1 review
Jan 2016
Captain Zodiac's Snorkel Adventure was our excursion. I do not swim but felt very secure. They had life preservers on board but they have you put your feet under a rope and have lots of things to hold on to while you go. They suggested a swimming noodle instead of a life preserver while snorkeling and it worked beautifully! My only problem was getting back on the boat. The ladder kept trying to turn over and I got a little scared, but between my husband and two ladies in the water steadying it I got back in with the guide helping me, too. Coming back is the wild part. They take you close to the coast and you catch good wave action, felt like a roller coaster. Dolphins swam next to us for awhile on the return. Great excursion! If you don't swim, don't go alone. My husband stayed close to me and between him and the noodle I did fine.
Read solarsister's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Spirithearts
1 review
Jan 2016
Captain Zodiac raft and snorkeling tour to Kealakelua Bay was fantastic and one of the highlights of our trip! The raft crew were well versed in whales and dolphins and we saw many of both! At one point we were surrounded by at least 50 spinner dolphins. The snorkeling was amazing in crystal clear waters. And we were given drinks and fresh pineapple picked that morning in the crew's garden...like candy! Thrill ride on the Zodiac
Read Spirithearts's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image artistic groundhog
2 reviews
Jan 2016
We took the Captain Zodiac snorkel tour, and it was hands-down the big hit of the entire cruise. Capt Dave and mate Sam went out of their way to make it fun, pointing out whales, dolphins, and lava tubes. We went to a calm, secluded bay and even the first-time snorkelers (including the 5 year old) had a simply wonderful experience.
Read artistic groundhog's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sabodi
1 review
Oct 2015
We did the Captain Zodiac. Heaps of fun! Recommend this tour. Saw dolphins and plenty of time in the water.
Read Sabodi's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wanderer_deb
1 review
Oct 2015
great sail and snorkel experience - it was windy and the surf was rough - still enjoyed and while there was some fish and they were beautiful, the coral reef was not particularly beautiful
Read wanderer_deb's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GeckoRN
1 review
Sep 2015
Great excursion booked through ship and provided by Body Glove cruises. the staff on this excursion were so helpful and attentive. my wife is handicapped but that was not a problem with this cruise. they got her in and out of the water without a problem, made sure she was safe and having a good time while in the water. great food on the boat. we had a blast. would def do this one again.
Read GeckoRN's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CanadianCruiseCritic
1 review
Aug 2015
Catamaran Snorkel- nice boat, but rough waters due to tropical storm Kilo. I think this tour would normally have much better snorkelling when waters more calm (no fault of catamaran tour). Nice lunch, beer and wine provided after snorkelling, but no music! Would be a much more fun excursion if they played some music to get everyone moving. Saw very few fish due to unusually rough seas.
Read CanadianCruiseCritic's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Utjim
1 review
Aug 2015
Captain Zodiac--to go 30 mph doing donuts in the ocean in a 24 foot raft is really fun. The snorkeling is pretty good also.
Read Utjim's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?