Kona City Tour Excursion Reviews

Kona City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
There's more to Kona than just coffee —- see it all with a guided city tour.
Member Image SweetPea68
1 review
Sep 2016
For this port we booked the Kona Coffee, Chocolate & City of Refuge Tour through Skymilescruises.com. The driver’s name was Bob from C-Big Island tours. He was driving a regular size van not a shuttle. I guess it was ok for a small group of 8 but it was hot, the A/C did not work properly so we were extremely hot inside the van. The driver was nice and knowledgeable but I felt like we made too many stops unnecessarily. I was disappointed to find out that most of the coffee is only 10% Kona coffee unless you’re willing to pay a pretty penny for it. At least the samples were free and one of the coffee places had samples of rum cake and that was delicious! The city of refuge is surrounded by water so instead of watching the movie about the history and how it came about you can just walk to the water and enjoy the water, black sand, fishes and turtles and the beautiful view. You don’t necessarily have to take an excursion in Kona since the beach is right by the pier, within walking distance.
Read SweetPea68's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: C Big Island tours
Member Image cwysocarski
1 review
Jul 2016
good value
Read cwysocarski's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: hop on hop off
Member Image Elvis_The_King
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Nice but too short, needed more time.
Read Elvis_The_King's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Engeldad
1 review
Jun 2016
Wonderful coffee and tour
Read Engeldad's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Getta On, Getta Off
Member Image Capebeachwalk
1 review
May 2016
Enjoyed Historic Kona and loved the coffee factory!
Read Capebeachwalk's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lertaanne
1 review
Mar 2015
Hop on Hop Off Trolley --- very nice but would have liked more narration Our own fault for not booking a "tour"
Read lertaanne's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image brino99
8 reviews
Jan 2015

Took a Kona Highlights tour with Roberts Hawaii. Great price for the tour. Enjoyed seeing the sights. Tour guide was awful. Used a lot of slang and could barely understand him.

Read brino99's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image daughter1
1 review
Mar 2014

Skip getting off the boat. Though NCL people were wonderful getting my mom up and down the 12 stiars to tender and the 2-3 steps into the rocking tender, this experience was daunting and tiring. the tour itself was a debacle as the lift for the bus had mechanical issues that I spent much time fixing as the tour bus driver was clueless. Though they comped us for the tour, and the balloon wheelchairing in the national park Polynesian temple site was fun, overall the experience was harrowing for all. There are plenty of activities on the boat that day-stay on and enjoy!

Read daughter1's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sundance36
3 reviews
Jan 2013
We split up here with my wife taking the Kayaking and me the tour of a park and then a coffee plantation. Both were very good and from the report on the water, she had a great time.
Read Sundance36's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image gypsylady
3 reviews
Nov 2012
The bus trip was very interesting, but the catamaran cruise was by far the highlight. Three hours of relaxation was excellent. We saw dozens of spinner dolphins and they were so playful. We loved this excursion.
Read gypsylady's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image askmeanother
3 reviews
Sep 2012
This was a fabulous trip. We were taken to a Kona shop where we could taste lots of different flavoured coffees and buy if we wished. We then called at the Puuhonua Honaunau National Historical Park which has been a religious and political sanctuary since ancient times. It really was a little piece of paradise with soft sand, palm trees and the lapping ocean - beautiful. We then got on our catamaran. It was a double decker and we sat upstairs where a lovely breeze kept us comfortable. We were lucky enough to see a lot of spinner dolphins who put on fantastic display for us - we also saw a lot of flying fish. Lunch was provided - sandwiches and crisps although I got a gluten free box of salad which was delicious. We could have as much soft drinks and coffee as we wanted free and alcoholic drinks could be purchased. We were given a narration of interesting points as we sailed and saw the Captain Cook monument. There was a chap playing the guitar and singing as we sailed back and it was quite magical. Great day.
Read askmeanother's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lsufan93
1 review
Jul 2012
Bus tour and then catamaran tour. Bus tour was so bad we spoke with the ship's excursion group and skipped the catamaran tour.
Read lsufan93's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?