Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Kauai Waimea Canyon Excursion Reviews

Kauai Waimea Canyon cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The gorgeous expanse of Waimea Canyon is a sight unlike any other, and a must-see for any who visit Kauai.
Member Image electrician513
1 review
Apr 2016
Boarded a large bus, did the canyon and also went to a coffee plantation and tasting. the Grand Canyon of the pacific was unbelieveable price was very reasonable and Roberts as a company does a very good job with all they tours
Read electrician513's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image searaider
2 reviews
Apr 2016
First time here and want to go back-scenery was fantastic with all the colors. Booked tour with Roberts Hawaii as part of a package they offered for this cruise.
Read searaider's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image logantonshoes
1 review
Apr 2016
Very pretty, informative and chatty bus driver (again, Roberts). Scary ride up to canyon. Incredible views.
Read logantonshoes's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: ICruise/WMPH
Member Image bellamed
5 reviews
Mar 2016
it was all in one tour and our tour guide was very good and we had a very good time.
Read bellamed's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Maraviclin
1 review
Feb 2016
Guide was excellent, knowledgeable and funny
Read Maraviclin's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image GinaAllegraXO
1 review
Jan 2016
This excursion was so-so. The bus driver/tour guide seemed to be more interested in stopping at gift shops than the actual destination. When we got to the Canyon, I could tell that it's quite beautiful, but 75% of it was covered by fog/vog.
Read GinaAllegraXO's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image haggis gal
1 review
Dec 2015
Wish that there was some way could have driven to the end of the Waimea Canyon road for overlook with views of Na Pali Coast below, however coaches cannot travel the narrow roads. Views of the canyon with coloring of the rocks and vegetation are not to be missed. Our coach broke a tie rod, and we were very lucky to have make it up the steep grades and switch backs and back to lower levels, but our driver was very professional. Thank you.
Read haggis gal's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image VieraMaggie
1 review
Nov 2015
We really enjoyed seeing Waimea Canyon and Fern Grotto. However, it is a very long tour and we returned when it was dark and raining so we didn't get a chance to walk around any of the shops or eat in the area near the port. The tour guide wasn't the best but Kauai is absolutely beautiful and I would consider this to be the prettiest island. It was interesting seeing so many roosters and chickens running loose. We were still recovering from our waterfall hike from the previous day so we were happy that we didn't have anything too strenuous. The trip included a boat ride to fern grotto and it was beautiful. Plenty of photo opportunities on the trip.
Read VieraMaggie's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nolanativeinATL
1 review
Oct 2015
Here we rented a car very easily. It was a beautiful island to drive. Stopped at a little place called the Shrimp Shack for lunch. Wonderful experience overall. See the Napali coast! I would come back.
Read nolanativeinATL's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wanderer_deb
1 review
Oct 2015
great trip to see the canyon which is a tremendous experience - great driver and even though it was a long drive, it was still a great trip
Read wanderer_deb's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image GLENNJACK
1 review
Aug 2015
We actually did a brand new excursion called "Discover Kauai and Lu'au" We spent the day with a small group on a bus with Darvin our driver! He was extremely knowledgeable! We saw Waimea Canyon, Poipu Beach, Lydgate State Park, Opeakka falls and so much more. Darvin gave us a history lesson of everywhere we went! Pure enjoyment! The Lu'au was perfect...that is a whole lot of people to feed and transport back to the ship in a timely manor! NCL you do it right no matter what you have planned!!!
Read GLENNJACK's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image retire-rehire
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Bus excursion to Waimea Canyon. Once there, outstanding, beautiful views of the canyon with its many colors.
Read retire-rehire's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Utjim
1 review
Aug 2015
Terrible weather at the canyon so visibility was only 150 feet. Other than that the tour was good.
Read Utjim's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image rrussell1967
1 review
Jul 2015
We actually went on the best of Kauai tour, which included Waimea Canyon and the Fern Grotto and a cruise on the Wailua river. Given the choice I would probably just do the Waimea Canyon tour on its own. It is amazing.
Read rrussell1967's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LuauLei
1 review
Jul 2015
Oh, so beautiful! It's called the Grand Canyon of Hawaii, and it's even more colorful than our amazing Grand Canyon of Arizona.
Read LuauLei's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image ashelbie
1 review
Jul 2015
Our driver had wonderful stories and narration to tell us on the way up to the canyon. We also enjoyed the stops for coffee and the spouting horn on the way back. Very glad we booked this tour.
Read ashelbie's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 3dsbrad
1 review
Jun 2015
Very good.
Read 3dsbrad's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Alex Tours
Member Image kxb7662
1 review
Jun 2015
Bus broke down but good tour.
Read kxb7662's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Hawaiian
Member Image Wpooh1968
1 review
May 2015
Our guide was very entertaining. Made several small stops before the Canyon. This area is so beautiful. We had ample time to explore and even grab a snack. The drive is as beautiful. Made a stop at the blowholes.
Read Wpooh1968's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Patti217
1 review
May 2015
Great tour guide, great tour with beautiful sites. My favorite of all the islands. Unforgettable experience. All the tour guides we had from Polynesian Tours were wonderful but this one was exceptional.
Read Patti217's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gbowman2
1 review
May 2015
Informative and entertaining; excellent transportation and guide -- just the right pace; appreciated the experience and would recommend it. The price was right!
Read gbowman2's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image D. Gibbon
1 review
Mar 2015
Excellent tour and great tour guide. Bus ride was a little long but several stops were made and the guide made it entertaining. Stops at Spouting Horn blowhole, craft market in park, a tourist shop in Hanepepe and Waimea Canyon lookout. The canyon is spectacular - not as big as the Grand Canyon, but a lot greener! Although the tour guide was not a long-time native of the Islands, she was very knowledgeable about historical events and current statistics (and if she didn't know, she would make something up!)
Read D. Gibbon's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image *angel*
2 reviews
Mar 2015
We stopped off at the first lookout which was our first look at the canyon. Our bus broke down and waited for 30 minutes for our replacement but overall once we got to the Waimean Canyon it was breathtaking and beautiful waterfalls in areas. Walking track is easy with lots of people.
Read *angel*'s full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruiseLOver136
2 reviews
Mar 2015
We enjoyed a couples of hours driving in and around Kauai before arriving at Waimea Canyon. After a short walk to the Canyon, we enjoyed the massive view and found it very special. We stopped in an area of water spouts where we witnessed this phenomenon of nature.
Read cruiseLOver136's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Footloose Oz
3 reviews
Feb 2015

We loved the Waimea Canyon which is called the Grand Canyon of Hawaii. The red soil and lush green foliage were a beautiful contrast to the deep blue of the sky. The canyon was worth traveling the curvy road.
Kauai is a beautiful island and this time our driver did not talk all the time and spoil the atmosphere.

Read Footloose Oz's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.