Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Kauai Waimea Canyon Excursion Reviews

Kauai Waimea Canyon cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The gorgeous expanse of Waimea Canyon is a sight unlike any other, and a must-see for any who visit Kauai.
Member Image AnnMimi
1 review
Nov 2014

The canyon was beautiful. Made a stop in a shop in Hanapepe on our way to the canyon. Many items for purchase that were Made in Hawaii. The scenery along the road to the canyon was great, many pictures. Unfortunately our tour guide "Uncle Willy" was very difficult to understand. So many of the things he mentioned we could not understand. He was a very nice man, but he had a very heavy accent that made it difficult to understand him.

Read AnnMimi's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tatanka49
3 reviews
Sep 2014

The picked us up once again at the ship and took us to Waimea Canyon. The boats were waiting for us and we enjoyed the short ride up the river. The boat docked and we took a short hike to a water fall and heard local music playing. We hiked back to the boat and were entertained with hula dancers on the boat who encouraged everyone to take part. Upon docking, the bust took us up to a nearby overlook. The river looked great but you really needed a big excursion boat in there to make for a good picture. It was too late in the day for that. We returned to the ship by dinner time.

Read tatanka49's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image beisenbp
2 reviews
Jun 2014

This was the best excursion we took on the trip. Again I have to qualify things by saying I was physically limited so there were much more exciting excursions available. That being said, this was a beautiful trip. The canyon is so different because it has trees and not just rocks. On the way, we stopped at a candy and jewelry store which was a nice bathroom break but otherwise, too long. But it did not detract from the canyon itself and we would go back again.

Read beisenbp's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image OhJinkies
2 reviews
May 2014
This is the only “big bus” tour that I took. The format was okay, but the guide talked nonstop -- I tend to tune it out after a while. The day started out gray and misty, and unfortunately just got worse. We stopped to see the Spouting Horn blowhole, which was pretty cool. We stopped at a large gift shop, for a combo restroom/coffee/shopping break. When we finally arrived at the canyon, the clouds and rain pretty much obliterated the view. I did take some nice atmospheric photos and shots of the close-up foliage but it was pretty much a wash. But I had taken the "Heaven and Earth Quest" on the previous day, so this day was more of a “bonus day,” and I was okay with it.
Read OhJinkies's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image flgranny4
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

JOURNEY TO WAIMEA CANYON - Tour was very good and the tour guide was funny and gave lots of information. I've been to the Grand Canyon so didn't come close to the description of the Grand Canyon of the Pacific but it was beautiful!

Read flgranny4's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vorderbruegge13
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

This was my first trip to the Island of Kauai and I had heard how beautiful the Waimea Canyon was and I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with that area. The lady bus driver, Alicia, was very knowledgeable at all times on the trip to and from the canyon and pointed out some interesting areas for us.

Read vorderbruegge13's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image stub's dad
3 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

What a great way to see Kauai. Can't say enough good things about this tour and our wonderful guide Rick. We went to Waimea Canyon, ate a picnic lunch, and beautiful part of Kauai including Spotting Horn.

Read stub's dad's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Cruiseman64
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

First Class trip to Waimea Canyon the Grand Canyon of Hawaii. Including trip to Coffee plantation Excellent informative driver

Read Cruiseman64's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Roberts Of Hawaii
Member Image FarEast33
2 reviews
Feb 2014

Excellent tour and excellent driver / tour guide. Waimea Canyon is very impressive and we were fortunate to visit on a totally clear day and consequently we would agree with Mark Twain's opinion. The tour also went paste where Captain Cook first stood on the island and the Spouting Horn at the volcanic beach at Poipu.

Read FarEast33's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image snafyensid
4 reviews
Dec 2013

A pretty disappointing tour. The canyon is pretty overrated, not much to see, even after pushing the wheelchair up[ the long, steep pathway. The stops along the way included an overlook in the middle of the coffee fields, a souvenir shop, and a res stop along the beach.

After returning to the ship we had plenty of time to take the free shuttle to hilo Hatties to purchase some Hawaiian clothing. We noticed a number of shipmates also taking other free shuttles that Walmart and k-Mart provided, along with the local bus system. There is very little to see or do at the dock.

Read snafyensid's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cozumel Jim
3 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Bring your camera!

Read Cozumel Jim's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image Kalaki
1 review
Aug 2013

Very beautiful place. Great scenery.

Read Kalaki's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mighty Joe
1 review
Apr 2013
Started late since the bus was coming from the airport and the expected flight was delayed. Very magnificent views of the canyon despite the rain.
Read Mighty Joe's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image Woobstr112G
7 reviews
Mar 2013
Great views.
Read Woobstr112G's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image drewpat
1 review
Mar 2013
Nice trip and the canyon is quite impressive, not of the Grand Canyon scale.
Read drewpat's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Dart15
1 review
Feb 2013
Quite impressive and good photo opportunity if its not raining. Once again a very good, informative and funny coach driver
Read Dart15's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image motes727
1 review
Feb 2013
Beatuiful. The Grand Canyon of Hawaii.
Read motes727's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TheWowFactor
1 review
Jan 2013
Very good day. Awesome canyon views.
Read TheWowFactor's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image Bucky63
15 reviews
Jan 2013
Wonderful tour!
Read Bucky63's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jannielee
2 reviews
Dec 2012
Great tour guide with terrific views and lots of time to go to overlook sites.
Read jannielee's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gypsylady
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Very good overall. So beautiful!
Read gypsylady's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BrnBrok
4 reviews
Oct 2012
Lucked out as two couples had a private tour on small bus. We went to the same places as the ship tour and paid lots less money.
Read BrnBrok's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image RexJanes
4 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
Beautiful..reminds you of the Grand Canyon.
Read RexJanes's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 7Flags
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Drove ourselves to what might be the highlight of the whole week. Waimea Canyon is spectacular enough in itself but then when you drive on a little further and look down on the Na Pali Coast, it becomes indescribable!
Read 7Flags's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image James Coulton
3 reviews
Aug 2012
Good driver/guide, comfortable vehicle. Excellent experience.
Read James Coulton's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Alec
Member Image shardock
4 reviews
Apr 2012
The canyon is very pretty. Our lunch stop was wonderful at a really pretty restaurant - great food. The drive around Kauai was good.
Read shardock's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image patmama
4 reviews
Mar 2012
This was a very interesting/beautiful ride. We did have some other stops. However the Canyon was certainly the main attraction. We really enjoyed seeing the Canyon. Also, a local vendor was selling fruits and candy which were great!
Read patmama's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image hvsteve1
1 review
Feb 2012
Nice bus ride. Impressive scene. Didn't see a lot of the Island's beauty.
Read hvsteve1's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image lawyers2
1 review
Feb 2012
This was an awesome experience and having done a helicopter flight over the grand canyon, I felt this was much smoother and easier on the stomach! We thought our pilot Brian did a nice job and had no problems with anything although this was also booked through island marketing. (see Hilo port) the ship also goes around the coast which was awesome so if you don't want to fly over just be sure to be out on deck on the second day as you leave for Honolulu
Read lawyers2's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Air adventures
Member Image DDBINK1
1 review
Feb 2012
The stop at the canyon was too brief.
Read DDBINK1's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image 1sttimenclcruiser
1 review
Feb 2012
This was a large bus(Gray Hound Size)tour. It was the least liked tour but the canyon was worth the trip. This excursion can be done on your own if you don't mind driving. The tour was still worth the money but not as exciting as a helicopter trip. The blow hole on this excursion is the best one we saw. The canyon is very beautiful as much of Hawaii is beautiful. A definite must see.
Read 1sttimenclcruiser's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.