Kauai Wailua River Excursion Reviews

Kauai Wailua River cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A tour of the Wailua River, one of Kauai's most dramatic natural attractions, is perfect for first-timers to the island and nature lovers alike.
Member Image ruzzharris
1 review
Oct 2016
Nice river ride, but overpriced. Recommend going with a local tour company for a better overall experience. Loved this Island and wish we had more time to explore.
Read ruzzharris's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image she talks to mermaids
1 review
Oct 2016
Went on a river cruise a rain forest and a luea
Read she talks to mermaids's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dudley2331
1 review
Oct 2016
beautiful boat ride and walk to the fern grotto
Read dudley2331's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image couple2nds
2 reviews
Jul 2016
nice tour
Read couple2nds's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image larocca3@zoominternet.net
1 review
Jul 2016
Nice boat ride. Fern Grotto was very pretty and the band and luau ladies were great
Read larocca3@zoominternet.net's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nisky
6 reviews
Jun 2016
We booked a 5-tour Hawaii package from Roberts Hawaii – much less expensive that the same NCL tours (they are using Polynesian Adventure Tours). The second day in Kauai we took the Wailua River (calm) cruise and Fern Grotto tour that we enjoyed. Here, we had we had a good driver/tour guide.
Read nisky's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image Yogi B
1 review
May 2016
Beautiful and nice boat ride on the river. Hawaiian entertainers, including hula lesson
Read Yogi B's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Born2birdie
1 review
May 2016
Fun little tour. River boat ride and Fern Grotto. Nice Hawaiian entertainment.
Read Born2birdie's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Foxflower50
1 review
May 2016
it was expensive for just 3hour tour. It was a large bus & spent more time getting on & off the bus. River & Fern Grotto are beautiful.
Read Foxflower50's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RetiredNTraveling
4 reviews
Apr 2016
Nice and relaxing. Very serene!
Read RetiredNTraveling's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mousefan
2 reviews
Apr 2016
This was actually a fairly short boat ride up river and a short walk to the fern grotto. It was fairly quick. On the boat they sang and played the ukulele, which was nice. I will admit the cave and grotto was nice and we had a good time.
Read mousefan's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image haggis gal
1 review
Dec 2015
Tour included views of waterfalls, a leisurely boat ride with local Hawaiian music and hula, and fern grotto. A laid back morning with lovely scenery. Again local guide who gave good historical perspective.
Read haggis gal's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image Dexie
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Great trip down the Wailua River and to the Fern Grotto. The entertainment was good and the grotto is not to be missed. The driver was informative. Unfortunately the bus broke down but we were given a new one and made it back to the ship in plenty of time.
Read Dexie's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image RJAYL
3 reviews
Jul 2015
1/2 day tour nice entertainment, left time for the beach!
Read RJAYL's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jaybeeaz
1 review
May 2015
Our great driver gave us a lot of history on the drive over. The river cruise was very nice with island entertainment. Going to the grotto and renewing my marriage vows was a wonderful experience. The view was beautiful.
Read Jaybeeaz's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image knittinggirl
19 reviews
Apr 2015
Loved the vocalists on the boat and near the grotto. The best shore excursion of this cruise!
Read knittinggirl's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Musiconnie
1 review
Mar 2015
The entertainment was very good. One of the crew helped everyone take pictures, and the view was amazing. I had thought we would be entering a grotto, but that was not the case. The view was amazing.
Read Musiconnie's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KCCAKID
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Tour of the River was definitely a tourist trip, Got sung to and visit the Wedding Grotto. Saw the old Elvis Hotel that is in total disrepair, but also was able to see the Fantasy Island Waterfalls and the Boiling Pots. Waterfall... It was enjoyable time and still worth doing....
Read KCCAKID's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaiian
Member Image Footloose Oz
4 reviews
Feb 2015


Wailua River trip not that great but the Fern Grotto at the end was beautiful.

Read Footloose Oz's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image tatanka49
4 reviews
Sep 2014

This was a tour we booked through Roberts at the hotel. Their price was under Gray Line by a lot of money. It was a combination tour of the Canyon and the River spaced by a lunch stop back at the ship Nice narrated trip around the island. Stopped at a Coffee plantation. It was better than the one in Kona as there was actually something to see. But, there was not enough time to enjoy the property. The gift shop was doing a great business. We stopped at a few beaches but not the real 'famous' ones (they claimed no time) We eventually arrived at the Canyon--the Grand Canyon of the Pacific. Grand Canyon, no. But it was a magnificent sight. Had plenty of time to wander around the overlooks. On the way back to the ship, the bus broke down. The driver called ahead and told it would be about an hour before the replacement bus arrived. He pulled into a small farmers market in village along the way where there were a few stores and a Subway restaurant. We waited around for about an hour until the new bus showed up. We went back to the ship where we had an hour or so for lunch and they adjusted the schedule so that we would not miss the river trip.

Read tatanka49's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image Rogerdob
1 review
Apr 2014

The Wailua river is a little over-rated. It is beautiful, of course, but please be aware that the river looks the same all along the whole ride. The scenery doesn't change. In other words, after one has seen the river for about five to ten minutes...that's it! Our tour lasted about 45 minutes each way and I was done with it after ten minutes, Fortunately, they had superb hula dancing performed by beautiful women on our boat which made up for the slow ride.

Read Rogerdob's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image IMACRUISEBUM2
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

I have to say this was the most spectacular tour and the best $210.00 dollars I spent on the entire trip!
I booked this tour prior to going! goggled Helicopter tours in Kauai! I went with the slightly more expensive tour, held 5 in the NEW helicopter's. The tour was a little over an hour and a half long and you can PURCHASE YOUR own private tour that you took! You will be given the DVD before you leave! Do some homework folks! absolutely Breathtaking! I have taken other's including airplanes nothing compares! There is not a lot to do on this island by way of driving. I would not rent a car. The Island is 80% uninhibited! A must see by air! There of course lots of little stuff to shop by all the peer's! This Is one of the islands I plan to come back and stay a week! They have a couple Awesome hotels on this island and it is very private...... Breath taking Beauty!

Read IMACRUISEBUM2's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image deecav
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2013
Too short and not what we expected, plus couldn't do certain things after we paid money we were told too dangeous because of hurricanes.
Read deecav's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image paratrooper888
3 reviews
Mar 2013
We booked this tour through the ship and while it was somewhat crowded, the short trip up the riven on a large flat-bottomed boat was pleasant as we were serenaded by a Hawaiin music group which included a lovely young dancer. We also visited the Fern Grotto which was a little underwhelming.
Read paratrooper888's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mrfviews
11 reviews
Mar 2013
Loved cruising up the Wailua River to some great Hawaiian songs and dances, beautiful setting, staff on the boat very cordial ! Unfortunately the main path up to the cave "FERN GROTTO" has been shut off and you don't get that close to it anymore,sad! Just not the same, but enjoyed the staff of 3 sing the beautiful Hawaiian Wedding Song ...
Read mrfviews's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?