Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Dominica Island tour Excursion Reviews

Dominica Island tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dominica is known as the "Nature Isle of the Caribbean," and for good reason. Explore the lush rainforests and wide variety of exotic species that populate this idyllic island.
Member Image Cruz4Sun
13 reviews
Nov 2014

The ship sponsored excursion Trolley Train Scenic Ride-Roseau sounded like a good idea for our first trip to this island. Roseau and the trip were underwhelming. The promised beverage at a waterfront bar ended up being a rum punch standing up at the botanical garden. This was not what I had envisioned.

Read Cruz4Sun's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image DeputyDawg46
1 review
Mar 2014

The excursion (South Atlantic...) we took that went to the Southern end of the island of Dominica was pathetic. Very poor tour and tour guide was more of a hyperbolizer. He represented himself and his island of Dominica in a false and exaggerated manner. Was a total waste of money!! Our mini-bus had 11 paxs and was crowded and hot and the same company mini-bus that trailed us at each stop had 2 paxs. But the guide would not let anyone transfer to the other bus even though it was the same company and they would marry up with us at each stop.

Read DeputyDawg46's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sandland
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2014

We had a great tour with Kash (our guide) and Charles (our driver), who took us to the rain forest, where we hiked down to the Emerald Pool and swam beneath the waterfall. We stopped at Mr. Nice Fruit Stand, where we enjoyed the fruit and the banter of Mr. Nice. The fruit was free, but we all made a contribution in the form of a tip so that Mr. Nice could continue to feed and entertain other travelers. We then went on to Trafalgar Falls and to the sulphur springs, where we soaked and relaxed in the warm waters. Kash was a great guide and made our experience of the island very enjoyable.

Read sandland's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Bumpiingtours
Member Image Ines & Volker
2 reviews
Dec 2013

In Dominica we booked with Bumpingtours. On Christmas Eve there was heavy rain what resulting in massive flooding and triggering landslides in several parts of the island. They took us to Titou Gorge and Trafalgar Falls and we enjoyed bathing in the hot springs. Our tour guide Kash seemed not to be in a good mood. One part of the tour should be snorkeling in Champagne Beach. They told us due to the weather conditions we couldn't do the snorkeling which I was all geared up to do. But on the ship other cruisers told us they've been to and they enjoyed it very much.

Read Ines & Volker's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image firstbadger
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2013

Our favorite island. We took a popular tour you will find on recommended sites. We were treated well with snorkeling, swimming into a waterfall and then hiking to the hot springs. Views were great. The snorkeling was very good. We were broken into groups of 8, so it worked well. W

Read firstbadger's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sprotbrough sailors
1 review
Mar 2013
Rainbows & rivers... Best tour of the holiday! Despite being told by several couples we had chatted to on the ship who had visited this island the week we before we embarked - " not to bother getting off the ship" or "there is nothing there", we decided to go ahead and go on a tour with some friends. We wanted to see the Emerald Pool, the Trafalgar Falls and the sulphur springs. We found a number of local tours and taxis offering various trips at the port but happend to get lucky with our amazing driver and guide - Jamerson. The 4 of us had a great day on the beautiful island choc full of fruit and flowers. Despite the number of taxis parked at the entrance to the national park (you must pay the 5USD fee to enter) when we reached the pool it was not busy and we took some lovely pictures. it is only a round 15 mins walk from the car park but wear sensibe shoes as it is slippy. We saw a fresh water crab on the path way at one point a hummingbirds later in the day. Jamerson took us to see the famous "Mr Nice" for some local fruit and entertainment - this was great fun. The boys had a go at crushing sugar cane and we drank this as well as trying all the local bananas, grapefruit and a delicious spicy coconut treat. We only went to see the falls from the other side of the valley close to the suplhur springs which were very smelly! But the view was great and a huge rainbow formed just for us it felt. On the way back to the ship around 4 hours after we 1st got in the taxi (we had to tell Jamerson that we really should be getting back to the ship!)we stopped off at the botanical gardens and Windsor park - very beautiful and obviusly loved and enjoyed by the locals. A cricket match was in full swing and we could easily have stopped all evening. Roseau was clearly not a great town for international shopping when we drove through on the way back to the ship, but as this was not want we were looking for on our holiday, Dominica really delivered the Caribbean we had hoped to see.
Read Sprotbrough sailors's full Azura cruise review
Provider: Jamerson Pier - local guide
Member Image obnurse
3 reviews
Mar 2013
After our "official" excursion on the Fun Cats, our driver (Lindberg) offered to take us on an island tour for $10 per person. We stopped at a fruit stand and enjoyed fresh fruit of the islands. Yummy! We stopped for pictures in a couple spots, including seeing Trafalgar Falls from a distance. It was nice and well worth the $10. Our driver was great. We enjoyed him.
Read obnurse's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mmam40
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2013
Good trip around the island Fortunate to be a carnival day
Read mmam40's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image awhfy
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Superb island tour that went to Jaco Falls, Trafagler Falls & Emerald Pool. Also stopped at the Musum & other scenic overlooks
Read awhfy's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image VICTOR MATURE
1 review
Feb 2013
What an awful place, deep drains everywhere, broken light bulbs, telephone boxes sullen staff in shops, electrical cables sticking up out of the tarmac on street corners. The island was a true volcanic island and we visited a live " Vent" and the waterfalls and the beaches. That was good but when we returned to the town couldn`t wait to get on to the ship.
Read VICTOR MATURE's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kmr0708
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2013

Great tour! Comfortable vehicle & informative tour guide.

Read kmr0708's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Temperate
1 review
Dec 2012
I made a major error in planning for this port but in the end, we had a fabulous day. We had planned to book one of the "Indian River boys," through the Portsmouth Indian River Tour Guides Association to go down the Indian River once we arrived in port. However, what I failed to realize was that this was not a port where our ship was located but rather it was one hour away and we decided not to do it. However, we later realized we should have just done it-especially since we heard how fabulous it was from others. We instead went to the tour information place in the port we were and arranged an amazing tour through a guide that was stationed there to facilitate tours. We had asked the woman inside the building behind the desk but to put it bluntly, she was very unhelpful and very unfriendly. The Guide outside was friendly, extremely helpful, humorous and happy to find the perfect person to provide us with a private tour. He was a very nice and sweet man -incredibly knowledgeable, creative, resourceful, and gracious and the best tour guide we have met on any journey. Unfortunately he neglected to write down his name but we think it might be Pippin (sorry)? He is 50 but looks much younger and is genuine! His van was comfortable and air conditioned but the tinted windows made it difficult to fully appreciate the beauty when driving. The top opened and we could pop out and take a picture whenever we saw something we wanted to capture. He would stop wherever we wanted and at no time did he make us feel rushed (one price no matter length of tour). Along the way he would just stop and show us something - i.e. a leaf that if touched would shrivel up and die (would revive however later), picked a grapefruit then jumped back in, peeled it and gave us some to eat and again with a star fish. He stopped and got us a feast of bananas and that was what our trip was full of. We stopped at many of the tourist places that we wanted to see and he explained in great detail everything about the island. The roads are reasonable and although they drive on the opposite site it feels doable -- as long as you honk going around corners. The island is incredibly beautiful, lush and the rain forest is truly amazing. At the end of the day, we all decided that of all the islands we have visited over the years, this one was our very favourite and we haven't seen it all so it will be the island we will return to.
Read Temperate's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image OhioLEO
1 review
Nov 2012
This was our only planned excursion of the cruise. It was booked privately not through the cruise ship. Company was called Bumpiing Tours. Levi was our contact. We emailed back and forth after I found a review here on CC. There were 7 in our group that did the island tour, Emerald Pool, Mr Nice fruit stand, Trafalgar Falls, Sulpher Springs, Rain Forest tour and Morne Bruce. Our guide Kashma was wonderful and explained everything that we saw. Brendon our driver was great to hang out with and talk. They got us to the Emerald Pool before the rest of the tours from the ship showed up so we were able to enjoy the cool water pretty much by ourselves. By far the best day of the cruise. I will def use them again and highly recommend them to anyone.
Read OhioLEO's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Bumpiing tours
Member Image dml71913
1 review
Nov 2012
www.nietours.com provided a custom tour of the island (5 1/2 hrs) for the same per person cost as a 3-4 hour canned tour from the ship. Totally awesome experience with a personalized tour that took us places that few tourists see. Nature Isle Explorers provided a totally custom tour experience that included the entire mid to lower portion of the island. This included Scott's Head and the Soufriere fishing village, both of which are very worthwhile visiting.
Read dml71913's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Nature Isle Explorers
Member Image NGOrlando
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Dominica is a paradise. The tour was $30 per person with a guy named "Shyguy" (767-276-9447). Ya mon, you didn't seem shy to me! Please ask for this guy. The van is clean. Shyguy is also very charismatic. Shyguy took us to the Emerald waterfalls. We were the first group (8) there. I took a bunch of pictures. The Falls was ours for about 30 minutes. You can get inside. After 30 minutes, the people who paid the over priced excursion began to show up. So our private excursion was cheap and we got there way before the big crowd showed up...sweet.
Read NGOrlando's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RoxieRue
2 reviews
Apr 2012
We selected a local driver to take us to Champagne Beach, and a tour of the island. Champagne beach was disappointing as it was all rock, cost $2.00 each to get in. My friend said there were "some" fish I thought there should be other beaches I would suggest another area to go to. The driver took us to the rain forest, and steam pools. I personally would just as soon have stayed on the ship. The island is extremely poor. I would recommend a boat tour as the roads are extremely rough wherever you go.
Read RoxieRue's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Daisyloo
7 reviews
Apr 2012
Really intesting tour. Bus ride through the island. Went to the rain forest and walked down to a beautiful waterfall. Went to botanical garden. Very mountainous island. Very lush.
Read Daisyloo's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image LOP
5 reviews
Apr 2012
What a GREAT tour and the bus was comfortable and cool with a good driver and fabulous guide. The island is beautiful and the stops were educational. Loved Trafalgar Falls and the hike to/from was not too hard, but should be noted that those with mobility issues should avoid this tour.
Read LOP's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image yippieskippy
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2012
Took the Choo-Choo train. Save your money and go to Trafalgar Falls/Emerald Pool from a taxi guide right outside the gate. Get there before all the tours leave to the falls.
Read yippieskippy's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hlhp3
1 review
Mar 2012
We booked the Nature Isle Explorers Dominica Jewel tour. There were about 20 people so they used two vans. Donaldson went with one van and we went with Big Mama as the driver and Marvin as our guide. They were great. Our first stop was Champagne Reef. It was great. Entering the water is kinda difficult because the beach is very rocky - especially if you are not in great physical condition. They do have a rope/mat etc. that is helpful. We didn't need that though and just got in. The bubbling vents are amazing, and the snorkeling in general was pretty good there. Our second stop was Ti Tou Gorge - awesome! I brought my own life jacket and used that (I always wear it snorkeling) but they provided little flotation belts for everyone. We went all the way to the back and then climbed up the little waterfall at the end. It is a pretty amazing experience. At the end, the guides had us jump back down the waterfall - I hurt my knee. I think someone could really get hurt doing that - be careful. After we had come out, the guides got people to jump from the ridge, down into the gorge. I thought this was insane - children were doing it. I think they are playing with fire - someone is going to get really hurt. It is about at 20 foot drop - one girl really hurt her arm (massive scrapes, bleeding, etc) on her way down. Lucky it was only her arm. The third stop was Trafalgar Falls - HEAVEN! We went first to the falls viewing platform and then straight down to the hot pools. They were heavenly! There are about 3 pools, each can hold about 10 people max. It felt wonderful!
Read hlhp3's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Nature Isle Explorers
Member Image KBVegas
2 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2012
Read my review of Oceania Cruise Lines for details. Basically, most of the buses for "Dominica's Favorites" appeared to be fairly new nice and clean. But too many guests, I guess, so they pulled a filthy old bus that was probably designed for children and put it into use. The seats are metal benches. Our bench seat was too small -- for our feet (we needed to have our toes amputated in order to fit); for our shoulders; and for our legs. (Neither of us is tall; I'm 5'4 and hubby is 5'9 or 5'10.)
Read KBVegas's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image NeverQuit
2 reviews
Mar 2012
With Levi as our guide, we snorkeled at Champagne Reef, braved Titou Gorge...it's cold! And saw Trafalgar Falls and we sat in the hot springs. He is a perfect guide and he can answer any questions you ask about the island. The island itself was beautiful and we stopped at a roadside overlook where we saw over the moutaintops to the port. There was also a stand to buy baskets and vanilla. HIGHLY recommend.
Read NeverQuit's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Bumpiing Tours
Member Image tourexpert
2 reviews
Mar 2012
Nature Isle Explorers - wonderful day of exploring at Champagne Beach for snorkelling, Titou Gorge was very refeshing and to see Trafalgar Falls and relax in Screws Spa. Another excellent day!!
Read tourexpert's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Nature Isle Explorers
Member Image gracieonthebeach
1 review
Feb 2012
Nice driver, good tour of the island
Read gracieonthebeach's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image big1515
3 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2012
Rain forrest ,bad ,dangerous roads unsafe in spots . get a GOOD driver
Read big1515's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image alohadeck
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2012
Loved the beauty of this island. We did it all, snorkel, swim, hot springs, hike, waterfalls.
Read alohadeck's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ChocolateZen
2 reviews
Feb 2012
The port can appear to be a little intimidating with pushy vendors / taxi drivers but most will move on when you tell them you have already booked with someone else. We booked privately with Levi Bumping Tours which offer several different types of excursions. Since we brought my 84 year old mother in law, we wanted something tame and not too difficult to navigate. We asked them to take us to the aerial tram ride, including a suspension bridge walk which was not difficult to traverse. For those more adventurous -- there is a zip line from the top. This is a marvelous experience, the vegetation is lush and gorgeous but if you go - take one of those cheap $ store poncho's as it is the rain forest after all. We followed this with a tour of the island -- be prepared to see some very poor districts. The driver pointed out areas where they filmed one of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies.
Read ChocolateZen's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Levi Bumping Tours
Member Image Chaskamn
1 review
Feb 2012
Levi Baron gets a 5+ but the rain put a damper on our day. Originally hoped to go on his Roseau Valley Best Hike, but he let us know in advance that not enough people were signed up, so we switched to his Roseau Valley Treasures tour. He also has great advance communication by email. So this day had wind and rain. The boat did not dock at what I guess is the main dock, but as we walked out of the initial port area where the cruise excursions were meeting, we did find Levi at the main street where other private cabs were. Champagne Reef has you getting into the water over some rocks. Levi and his crew were helpful getting us in and out but it was a rough day for anyone but confident swimmers. The reef was nice with plenty of fish, the bubbles and even a cannon on the floor. Just a note that if you need to use the bathroom here, the restaurant charges for it. Titou Gorge was flowing heavy because of the rain. I love to swim but life belts were needed and today the water was very cold. Only a few of us braved the current to see the little falls. No way to get close to the falls today. When we got out we were shivering and Levi said this was the coldest he had ever felt the water. He quickly to us to Trafalger Falls and to the nice and warm mineral springs- no one hesitated to lay in the water here. Levi gave great commentary as we drove with history and points of interest. We saw wild parrots as well as monkeys. See his site.
Read Chaskamn's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bumping Tours
Member Image erniesband
1 review
Jan 2012
Dominica: More breakfast-time drizzle, which cleared up before we left the ship. Lots of rainbows this week! We met our friend, Levi (http://www.bumpiingtours.com/), for his newest hike, the Pedu Temps Trail hike. We were the very first ever to get the chance to take this hike. This is an easy-to-moderate hike. We had toured with Levi on two previous trips to Dominica so we wanted to do something different and something we wouldn't be seeing a few hundred of our fellow cruisers doing. Levi limits this tour to 8 people and leads it himself. We had 6 hikers. Levi met us at the dock, this time it was the industrial dock not the one downtown. It took us a while to figure out where he was, getting out of the industrial port was a bit confusing, but we found him by our 9AM meeting time. After about a 45 minute drive we arrived at the starting point of the Pedu Temps Trail. And off we went. We hiked though the rainforest for about an hour on fairly easy terrain, slowly going up hill and crossing over 6-7 rivers (we'd call them streams). Levi took the time to make sure everyone had help crossing the streams where the footing can be slippery. Then comes the uphill not so easy part for about 20+ minutes of climbing. Again Levi made sure everyone was comfortable climbing up on a slippery rock trail. We soon came to Pump's residence, a vast area where Levi's uncle has his farm. After meeting Levi's uncle and chatting for a while about his views on life, the universe and everything, we were treated to a lunch of a veggie stew and an orange/ginger drink. All from things grown right there, including fresh grapefruit straight from the tree. If other fruit had been ripe and ready, we would have gotten that. We spent about an hour wondering around and learning about all the plants growing there. A very interesting experience. We then hiked back down to where we had started. The hike up was about an hour and a half and the hike back was a little longer. Ernie saw an Agouti running through the brush and Levi found a freshwater crab for us to see. After getting back to Levi's van it was time for a Kabuli (beer) and a scenic ride back to the cruise dock. If you have or can pickup a walking stick it will come in handy especially for the hike back down the mountain. I did leave the one I had found at the trailhead for others to use. Dominica is the prettiest island we've ever been to -- love visiting here and love Levi's tours!
Read erniesband's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Levi
Member Image snoopfoggyfogg
1 review
Jan 2012
Stunning island dont be put off by the port as its not the prettiest of the caribbean, was taken by local taxi around the local points of interest and the taxi driver explained all of the history surrounding the topic in great detail, he really knew his stuff.
Read snoopfoggyfogg's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: Local Taxi
Member Image calenita
2 reviews
Dec 2011
This was a great day. We booked a tour with Nature Isle Explorers and it was great. Went snorkeling on Champagne Reef which was incredible... like being in a giant fish tank. Then to TiTou Gorge where Pirates of the Caribbean 2 was filmed. Cold water but lots of fun. Drove through the mountains to get there. Great views. Saw Trafalgar Falls and then to Screw Spa where we soaked in sulfur baths - loved it. Highly recommend Donaldson and this tour. Bought some sulfur soap at the port to take home. Great for the skin.
Read calenita's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Nature Isle Explorers

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.