Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Hilo Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Excursion Reviews

Hilo Hawaii Volcanoes National Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore the unique volcanic landscape of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Containing both Mauno Loa, the world's largest volcano, and Kilauea, among its most active, this park offers a fascinating glimpse into a world rarely seen.
Member Image Quilting LMT
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

Our guide was Alan, born and raised on Hilo. He is very funny, extremely knowledgeable about volcanos and the island and so proud of his side of the island and Hawaii. He is terrific! This was a longer excursion that started at coffee plantation where we learned to appreciate the high price of coffee. Next the Volcano Park where we learned about volcanoes, walked on lava, thru a lava tube, carefully learned over a steam vent and saw amazing views in every direction. Next was a gallery with a great lunch followed by a chocolate store with samples galore/ This one was well worth the money!

Read Quilting LMT's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image snafyensid
4 reviews
Dec 2013

We had a great tour guide who was very knowledgeable about the island and the route along the way. We stopped at the Mauna Loa factory (a big disappointment-mostly a store and not very wheelchair accessible) and then the Dole plantation (again a disappointment as it is pretty much a store with Dole merchandise, no exhibits or cultural information at all but completely accessible). The view from the visitors center was excellent even though it rained off an on throughout the day.

Read snafyensid's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image IMACRUISEBUM2
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

Yes a must see for those making this trip..... If you've been there, Try something new!

Read IMACRUISEBUM2's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image IMACRUISEBUM2
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

Absolutely go see the volcano's It is in( National Park) The tour is your best bet! Worth the money if you've not ever been,.. It is active all the time.. This is the YOUNGEST of all the Island, yet the largest!
Very green, and the climb to the mountain tops are very high in elevation BRING A SWEATSHIT if traveling in Oct. Nov, Dec, Jan, Feb. May thru Sept its very humid Anywhere in the Islands!

Read IMACRUISEBUM2's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cruzcpl
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

Totally nice gentleman and a regular guy met us at the pier in his own vehicle, and he was ours for 6 hours - to do or see anything. PERFECT!! Took us directly where we wanted to go, told us about Hawaii as a local and as a tour guide, ansered all our questions 1 on 1, was charming, informative, funny, positive, supportive, just ... perfect! We toured the Volcanoes National Park and a little around Hilo.

Read cruzcpl's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Tours by Locals
Member Image moonzblue
1 review
Aug 2013

Loved this part. Not for the feeble.

Read moonzblue's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Ernest Hemingway
1 review
Jul 2013
Fun quick overview of the park. You won't be given any time for independent exploration.
Read Ernest Hemingway's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image bos2733
1 review
Jun 2013

good tour of volcano in Volcano Nat'l Park. Seeing and sampling at the coffee factory was a nice added feature. The lunch they provided us at the Art Gallery was very good.

Read bos2733's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SunshineDawn
1 review
Jun 2013

Awesome! My husband and I had a personal tour by Marylou -- fabulous! Enjoyed the VNP, saw the HI state Nene bird, lava tube, Akatsuka Orchid Gardens, Hilo Coffee Plantation, Macademia Nut Factory, Rainbow Falls and black sand beach. Great day!

Read SunshineDawn's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Marylou's Big Island Guided Tours
Member Image Mighty Joe
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2013
Rainbow Falls was beautiful. Can spend more time at the Mac Nut factory. Cheaper Mac nut in Wal-Mart in Kona Lovely flowers in the orchid farm.
Read Mighty Joe's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image drewpat
1 review
Mar 2013
Not the most exciting of tours, but not every day you get up close to a volcano.
Read drewpat's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mistletoe
1 review
Mar 2013
Great tour but a bit on the expensive side.
Read mistletoe's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image BudinFla
16 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2013
Same excursion you can book on ship, but cheaper. Got city tour and Volcanoes National Park.. Small group great diver. Even checked on the free shuttle and then dropped us off at WalMart for a little shopping. Great Value. Can book on line.
Read BudinFla's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image motes727
1 review
Feb 2013
Great tour. Our guide was wonderful--gave us so much history about the park.
Read motes727's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rockabutzer
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Nice leisurely tour. You get to see the highlights and make a few stops along the way. Caution: Don't pick up any souvenir pieces of lava rock along the way. It's against the law and considered bad luck. You don't want to incur the wrath of Madame Pele'.
Read rockabutzer's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jenniferkatie
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Did the Chain Of Craters tour and it was AWESOME!! Got to have lunch that was better then most of the food on the ship!!
Read jenniferkatie's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image vaugirard12
1 review
Dec 2012
We booked through Roberts Hawaii to see Volcanoes National Park. The Roberts website was really easy to use-- it brought up all of their excursions after I listed the name and departure date of our ship. We also booked a trip to Waimea Canyon on Kauai but that port was canceled due to weather. Roberts greeted us warmly as we disembarked in Hilo then introduced us to our guide, Dean, who has an amazing knowledge of the flora and fauna of the islands. He was one of the best guides we've ever had-- friendly and informative without being silly. And, as it turns out, we were the only two people on the tour so we got to take a long as we wanted at each of the stops-- and he threw in a stop to an orchid farm for us, as well. Roberts is charged a flat fee for every vehicle they take into the park and it was only $5 less than what we paid for our tour. It says a lot that Roberts didn't cancel on us but instead gave us the opportunity to learn about this beautiful island.
Read vaugirard12's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Robert's
Member Image NoHUB
1 review
Dec 2012
While here with Ricky's Tours we saw Thurston Lava Tube, Steam Vents, Jaggar Museum, Halemaumau Crater/Kilauea Caldera, 1982 lava flow, Keanakakoi Crater, Kilauea Caldera. Ricky was very helpul even suggesting that we take photos of items when we first arrived in case the clouds moved in while we were inside the visitor center. The clouds did move in and if we had waited we would have missed the photos we had taken at his suggestion. He adjusted his tour to make the best use of the existing weather and once again his local knowledge paid off by making it possible to see things either before the clouds had moved in or after they had lifted. Thanks again Ricky. Ricky is very knowledgeable of the local area and history, he adjusted his tour schedule to make sure we arrived at places before the cruise ship bus tours did so we could avoid the big crouds. He even added a stop to at the local Walmart at the request of all the tour guests. He knew that a couple of Sea Turtles would be at Richardson Park and I got some great photos of them. He was very friendly and at $60. per person his tour is a great value as well as a fun day. HILO WATERFALL TOUR - Banyan Drive - Liliuokalani Garden - Rainbow Falls / Wailuku River - Mau Na Loa Mc Nut Co. / they have snack bar - Akatsuka Orchid Garden - Richardson Ocean Beach Park /black sand beach VOLCANO NATIONAL PARK TOUR - Steam Vents - Jaggar Museum - Halemaumau Crater / Kilauea Caldera - 1982 lava flow - Keanakakoi Crater - Kilauea Caldera - Thurston Lava Tube
Read NoHUB's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Ricky's Tours
Member Image gypsylady
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Great trip as usual, but due to the vog surrounding Kilauea, a good portion of the road was closed.
Read gypsylady's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sargeatwork
1 review
Oct 2012
Guide was very knowledgeable about the park and was also very safety conscious.
Read sargeatwork's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: MaryLou's Tours
Member Image Cruising Montrealer
1 review
Oct 2012
Booked directly with Ricky. He is well versed; showed us Rainbow Falls, Lava tree state park, Orchid garden, City tour, Volcano national park and Thurston lava tubes and more... Pleasant tour, at an affordable price. Ricky really gives it all.
Read Cruising Montrealer's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Ricky's Tour
Member Image askmeanother
1 review
Sep 2012
This trip was actually Volcano and Rainbow Falls. It was all day with lunch provided. We went to Rainbow Falls first and this was somewhat disappointing as the fall was very small but we did see the rainbow. We also visited an orchid place which had the most enormous collection of orchids you could imagine and the smell was divine. The visit to the Volcano National Park was fantastic. The landscapes we saw really were amazing and it was weird to think we were standing on the most active volcano in the world. We were very close to the crater and could see the smoke coming from it. The Jagger museum was interesting especially since we had seen it on a recent TV programme.We went to the area where the 1974 eruption had flowed - it went right across the road and it is just great to have the opportunity to actually see such sights. On the way back we called at the Macadamia nut factory where we were able to buy nuts to take home - also had a delicious ice cream here! A packed lunch had been supplied for this trip and was perfectly OK - a turkey sandwich and crisps plus a bottle of water. I was provided with a gluten free version.
Read askmeanother's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 7Flags
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Wife flew it in a Safari Helicopter and the girls and I drove it. Spectacular from both vantage points. We got closer to the calderas but she got to see the lava down inside. Part of the circle road was closed but plenty was open.
Read 7Flags's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Safari Helicopters
Member Image lsufan93
1 review
Jul 2012
Private tour was fantastic. Allowed ability to take time where you wanted to and move on when bored.
Read lsufan93's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: hawaiicruiseexcursions.com
Member Image SaveTheWavesGirl
1 review
Jul 2012
Great way to see many parts of the park! Bring a sweater or rain coat - Hilo is the rainiest city in the U.S.A
Read SaveTheWavesGirl's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 7960Ken
5 reviews
Jul 2012
A physical challenge for sure. Hiking for 4 miles does not sound tough, but the inclines, the rough lava surface, and the hike back out turned in to quiet a challenge. Our guide was a nice young man, but not the naturalist I had hoped for. He was more focused on speed than information. We did get an extra stop at the nut factory, but that may have been so he could enjoy the ice cream. We also visited the rain forest and really enjoyed the cooling shower while we took pictures of the scenery and falls. Our time was short at this stop to make up for the nut house, but we probably didn't miss much.
Read 7960Ken's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ATLmagnos
1 review
Jul 2012
This was the only mistake we made the entire trip. If you are under the age of 60, this tour is not for you. We should have just rented a car and done it ourselves. Nothing like being herded around a bunch of tourists traps to make you feel like cattle. Skip this or do it by yourself (or with friends from the ship). Seriously. You only get 10 mins at the volcanoes but 40 mins at the nut and orchid stores. Very strange. I wanted to see volcanoes not buy a bunch of random stuff. The tour guide was nice and very informative - again, this is geared towards a much older person.
Read ATLmagnos's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jnap
1 review
Jul 2012
Ricky was knowledgeable, personable, and he couldn't do enough for us! He tours the area in his 15-person van, rather than a huge bus-load of folks, and he sees all of the major sites! He only charges $60.00 each, which he collects at the end of the tour.
Read jnap's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Ricky's Tours
Member Image soxfan1495
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Interesting stop, especially if you are interested in geology. We actually liked the Botanical Gardens more.
Read soxfan1495's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Aina Tours
Member Image flower_gal12
1 review
Jun 2012
This was another fantastic excursion. Lots of stops for pictures and the tour guide gives you lots of information along the way. There is also a stop at the gift shop there. Tennis shoes are a must to wear.
Read flower_gal12's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dmausa
1 review
Apr 2012
Learning about Hawaii Volcanoes was very interesting. The tour guide was very kind and was very knowledgeable. It was kind of disappointing not seeing any lava, but we did get a great picture of a volcano smoking in the back ground. The nut farm was OK.
Read Dmausa's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image shardock
4 reviews
Apr 2012
It was good especially the Lava Tube and the Lava Lake. The bus driver gave us commentary during the bus ride but we were on our own at the volcano and I wish we had had a guide to explain things to us. Other groups had guides who were very informative from the commentary I overheard.
Read shardock's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Maxroadster
2 reviews
Apr 2012
Picked us up at the port, clean van, safe operation and very informative! I would recommend their services!
Read Maxroadster's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Big Island Aina Tours
Member Image Queen of the Queen
1 review
Mar 2012
This was part of our six hour city tour. We went to the Volcano National Park but it was difficult to see the crater becasue of the fog. The Jaggar Museum was interesting, and we loved walkling through the Thurston Lava Tube. We also saw the Kilauea Iki Crater.
Read Queen of the Queen's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Ricky's Tours
Member Image Cruise Raider
11 reviews
Mar 2012
We've been on this tour before which included the Macadamia Nut Farm, Volcano's National Park and the Thurston Lava Tube. It was very rainy this time -- but was much better previously without the rain.
Read Cruise Raider's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Ali'i Tours
Member Image patmama
4 reviews
Mar 2012
We enjoyed seeing it, but no lava was flowing the day we were there. Mary Lou herself picked us up. There was only 4 people(one other couple). Her husband has a van and also had about 8 people. She carried us to Volcanoes National Park, nut factory, lava tubes, water fall, black sand beach, winery, orchid farm, coffee farm, and etc. It was great. $75.00 pp. Ship wanted over $100 for same trip. We really enjoyed Mary Lou sharing her island with us.
Read patmama's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Mary Lou
Member Image mauiedin87
2 reviews
Mar 2012
Nice, even the second time there. Excellent tour guide. Great plumes of smoke coming from the caldera. Miserably cold and rainy though.
Read mauiedin87's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image lawyers2
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2012
The park was great and we we're really glad we did it but our van was truly not safe to be on the road,watch out for island marketing, a booking company that simply sets up tours with local operators. They would note refund our ones even though we foundation slip of paper in the van saying that the wheel was not working correctly and the entire van rattled! Hilo is not a very impressive port.
Read lawyers2's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Green tours
Member Image DDBINK1
1 review
Feb 2012
The volcano was great and the bus driver informative. But there were too many short stops on the way to the volcanos and park and on the way back also. Lunch was not very good but I only had the great food on the ship to compare it to.
Read DDBINK1's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Sherlocked
3 reviews
Oct 2010

At this port, you can easily book a rental car and drive to Volcanoes National Park yourself, it's really close to the cruise port. It's only ten bucks (2010)for a car load of people to get in and the car was a hundred and ten bucks so still cheaper than booking with the cruise line and you get to do what you want when you want. This was my favourite port in Hawaii.

Read Sherlocked's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.