Hilo Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Excursion Reviews

Hilo Hawaii Volcanoes National Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore the unique volcanic landscape of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Containing both Mauno Loa, the world's largest volcano, and Kilauea, among its most active, this park offers a fascinating glimpse into a world rarely seen.
Member Image eggplant7
3 reviews
Jul 2016
wonderful experience especially loved walking the lava tube
Read eggplant7's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mystang52
1 review
Jul 2016
Awesome to witness power of plate tectonics.
Read mystang52's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Canal Street sailor
1 review
May 2016
Walked through a lava tube and saw the cauldera steaming. Very nice tour.
Read Canal Street sailor's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image electrician513
1 review
Apr 2016
Lavaland Tour the guide was excellent one of the best tours in my life. The guide Vince was very knowledgeable. You do need to be in decent physical shape to do this tour - 5 miles total in about 3 hours and much is done in 2 separate hikes then lunch and some short hikes and a quick look at the Rainbow falls if your back to the ship in time. This tour is very good but you need to be fit, and not for the elderly unless they can walk at least 5 miles. Also the lava rock you traverse is not easy to maneuver you need walking/hikers. The hikes are worth it and if anyone is a little winded you stop and take a break - everything about this tour was first class.
Read electrician513's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Lavaland Tour
Member Image Amma24
3 reviews
Apr 2016
Exact same tour as with the ship for 2/3 the price. As this was our first time in Hawaii a tour to Volcano National Park was required. We enjoyed the tour, but we're very disappointed in the amount of time we spent at shopping spots -Mauna Loa macadamia nuts 60 minutes, Orchid Factory - 30 minutes and not terribly interesting. Big Island candy -another 30 minutes. When the driver said the next stop was the port, we all cheered.
Read Amma24's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image Traveling Dot
3 reviews
Apr 2016
We did the small group excursion and enjoyed that we did not have to wait for 45 people to get back to the bus. Volcanoes are a must see.
Read Traveling Dot's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image sdragoo
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Excellent
Read sdragoo's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Maraviclin
1 review
Feb 2016
Great guide.
Read Maraviclin's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image R@D2
1 review
Jan 2016
Our guide was excellent, stories during the trip. We enjoyed the trip to the volcano and nut factory
Read R@D2's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image artistic groundhog
2 reviews
Jan 2016
Our little group had it's priorities: lava, destruction, and any toxic or deadly fumes and/or animals possible (3 young boys). Our tour guide, Vince, did his best to comply. We walked on lava fields, saw fossilized footprints of victims, fossilized trees, viewed a crater spewing toxic fumes, and took a hike along the side of the crater opposite the museum. It was great. The snacks were also very good. Hawaiian Vidalia onion potato chips are incredibly addictive.
Read artistic groundhog's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Lavaland
Member Image haggis gal
1 review
Dec 2015
Excellent tour, best of our trip. Small group van tour. Personable, knowledgeable guide Vince took us off the beaten path to volcano and steam vent overlooks not shown to big coach tours. Excellent picnic lunch with catered sandwiches, plenty of native juices all served on table with linen tablecloths. Gave special assistance to disabled on trails through the park. Explained geothermal formations and native plants. Definitely more assistance than the big coach tours.
Read haggis gal's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Lava Land
Member Image sueohara
1 review
Dec 2015
A full day, great lunch, lots of hiking and a great tour guide.
Read sueohara's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image KristaJGizzo
1 review
Nov 2015
This was great on our own. The park is super easy to get to and along the road with most attractions on it. We hiked through the Sulphur Banks up to the Jagger Museum then drove to the Thurston Lava Tube. We were running out of time so we only made one more stop at Big Island Candies before returning the car. Great last stop!
Read KristaJGizzo's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image VieraMaggie
1 review
Nov 2015
The tour was interesting and we were so happy that we were able to go to Volcanoes National Park. We were initially worried about taking this excursion because of the disclaimer warning about people with breathing problems because my husband has COPD. However, we did not have any issues. There was no lava but we did see steam vents and the caldera with smoke. We got out at several spots for photos and walked on a lava field. We also stopped at an orchid farm and the Mauna Load macadamia nut factory. Overall, a good trip although all excursions are pricey.
Read VieraMaggie's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nolanativeinATL
1 review
Oct 2015
Hop on hop off, crowded bus. not a good experience. tour guide needs to be quiet at times. talked nonstop!
Read nolanativeinATL's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dexie
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Volcanoes National Park with Rainbow Falls, and Macadamia Nut Factory and Orchid Farm. Guide was very informative and humorous. Sites were unbelievable.
Read Dexie's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image Sunny Sydney
1 review
Jun 2015
Good tour, volcanos were a bit disappointing despite being active. We just saw a bit of steam coming out. The lava tube was great. It would have been good to hike through the crater - that was a different tour
Read Sunny Sydney's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GrannyPat48
1 review
May 2015
Amazing day with lots of time to see everything. Great port with lots to see and learn about. Our guide was great. She knew so much about the island and the culture in general.
Read GrannyPat48's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image oskar95
1 review
May 2015
Fog, rain, wind, more fog and even more rain. Not a very good experience but interesting. Driver was very helpful and tried to do the best due to he weather. Didn't get to see any lava.
Read oskar95's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jaybeeaz
1 review
May 2015
Rainy and cold, but the real problem is that you are nowhere near the volcanoe. The warning about respiratory issues is unwarranted. Find another excursion or rent a car and drive yourself. On another visit, we did that and saw the lava fields and felt the heat.
Read Jaybeeaz's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cortlandtcruise
1 review
May 2015
good tour and Jane the driver was quite informative. some parts were boring but we did see the lava flow at the volcanos and that was spectacular. Good stop at the macadamia nut factory-great samples and good stuff to buy.
Read cortlandtcruise's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gbowman2
1 review
May 2015
Informative and entertaining; excellent transportation and guide -- just the right pace; appreciated the experience and would recommend it. The price was right!
Read gbowman2's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 2atfurnas
1 review
Apr 2015
Our tour was calf Volcano National park and tastes of Hawaii. Loved it. Small bus was great. Excellent tour guide. Saw active volcano. Got wonderful photos.
Read 2atfurnas's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KT2honeymoon
1 review
Apr 2015
It was specifically a tour and tastes of Hawaii. The tour was good, informative. I love that she took us to a coffee plantation and the island candy company. What made this trip wonderful was the guide Chelsea. She was so knowledgeable in so many ares. Wonderful woman. The trip was a good more laid back day. Cool lava and walk through a lava tube.
Read KT2honeymoon's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image skm3998
1 review
Apr 2015
Tour guide was VERY good. We enjoyed the various stops within the park. Very educational and the various stops showed the volcano from both sides. We liked the park building with the video showing the eruption.
Read skm3998's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?