Hilo Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Excursion Reviews

Hilo Hawaii Volcanoes National Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore the unique volcanic landscape of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Containing both Mauno Loa, the world's largest volcano, and Kilauea, among its most active, this park offers a fascinating glimpse into a world rarely seen.
Member Image expc
1 review
Oct 2016
To see lava bubbling up from a crater vent is something not to be missed and our coach driver/guide was extremely knowledgeable about the volcano and all things Hawaiian.
Read expc's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ruzzharris
1 review
Oct 2016
Excellent overview of island, but I am told the west end is much more "tourist" friendly!
Read ruzzharris's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Wooden Seagull
1 review
Oct 2016
I highly recommend Volcano National Park on Hilo. The view from the Research Center overlooks a volcanic caldera that was full of molten lava and was spewing lava into the air.
Read Wooden Seagull's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Jhc456
1 review
Oct 2016
Great trip - Kilauea crater was amazing.
Read Jhc456's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 49erteacher
1 review
Oct 2016
Lori Pele: Goddess of Fire Volcano Exploration 4 hour tour of Volcanos National Park I am glad I selected the small group option as we were in a small bus with about 15 people. Lori was interesting but you could tell this was close to the end of tourist season and she had done the tour many times. The first stop is the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut factory. Lori did inform us that there was no food service any other place on the tour so we might want to pick up a sandwich etc. here. It was about an hour up to Volcanos National Park. At the Jagger Museum you could look out over the crater and see the lava spewing about 50 feet in the air. There isn’t a current lava flow just the cauldron. The return trip had two main attractions the Thurston Lava Tube and the 1974 lava flow. The Lava Tube required a walk down steep steps and was slippery so I did not go down. Sitting at the top of the steps I enjoyed ease dropping on another tour operator talking about the tube and the local flora and fauna. The day in total was interesting and I did learn a lot about volcanos.
Read 49erteacher's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image one more
2 reviews
Sep 2016
One of the best tours we have done the chaps name was Volcano Bill he was very knowledge a good driver & showed us lots of great places, the bus took 12 people we only had 11 but that was great the tour was mento to be 4 hrs but it took us 51/2 no extra charge, nothing was rushed, really enjoyable, the final spot was Rainbow Falls & they are beautiful
Read one more's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Pacific tours
Member Image swayingpalms1
1 review
Sep 2016
Informative & fun to see.
Read swayingpalms1's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image Norm&Ruby
1 review
Sep 2016
Bicycle tour around volcano: fun and great guides, beware you will be riding on some roads competing with cars and buses
Read Norm&Ruby's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image smocz
1 review
Sep 2016
interesting
Read smocz's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sailor1268
1 review
Aug 2016
Roberts Tours did an excellent job.
Read Sailor1268's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Tours
Member Image eggplant7
3 reviews
Jul 2016
wonderful experience especially loved walking the lava tube
Read eggplant7's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mystang52
1 review
Jul 2016
Awesome to witness power of plate tectonics.
Read mystang52's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Quackery
1 review
Jun 2016
Incredible
Read Quackery's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Canal Street sailor
2 reviews
May 2016
Walked through a lava tube and saw the cauldera steaming. Very nice tour.
Read Canal Street sailor's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image electrician513
1 review
Apr 2016
Lavaland Tour the guide was excellent one of the best tours in my life. The guide Vince was very knowledgeable. You do need to be in decent physical shape to do this tour - 5 miles total in about 3 hours and much is done in 2 separate hikes then lunch and some short hikes and a quick look at the Rainbow falls if your back to the ship in time. This tour is very good but you need to be fit, and not for the elderly unless they can walk at least 5 miles. Also the lava rock you traverse is not easy to maneuver you need walking/hikers. The hikes are worth it and if anyone is a little winded you stop and take a break - everything about this tour was first class.
Read electrician513's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Lavaland Tour
Member Image Amma24
3 reviews
Apr 2016
Exact same tour as with the ship for 2/3 the price. As this was our first time in Hawaii a tour to Volcano National Park was required. We enjoyed the tour, but we're very disappointed in the amount of time we spent at shopping spots -Mauna Loa macadamia nuts 60 minutes, Orchid Factory - 30 minutes and not terribly interesting. Big Island candy -another 30 minutes. When the driver said the next stop was the port, we all cheered.
Read Amma24's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image Traveling Dot
3 reviews
Apr 2016
We did the small group excursion and enjoyed that we did not have to wait for 45 people to get back to the bus. Volcanoes are a must see.
Read Traveling Dot's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image sdragoo
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Excellent
Read sdragoo's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Maraviclin
1 review
Feb 2016
Great guide.
Read Maraviclin's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image R@D2
1 review
Jan 2016
Our guide was excellent, stories during the trip. We enjoyed the trip to the volcano and nut factory
Read R@D2's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image artistic groundhog
2 reviews
Jan 2016
Our little group had it's priorities: lava, destruction, and any toxic or deadly fumes and/or animals possible (3 young boys). Our tour guide, Vince, did his best to comply. We walked on lava fields, saw fossilized footprints of victims, fossilized trees, viewed a crater spewing toxic fumes, and took a hike along the side of the crater opposite the museum. It was great. The snacks were also very good. Hawaiian Vidalia onion potato chips are incredibly addictive.
Read artistic groundhog's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Lavaland
Member Image haggis gal
1 review
Dec 2015
Excellent tour, best of our trip. Small group van tour. Personable, knowledgeable guide Vince took us off the beaten path to volcano and steam vent overlooks not shown to big coach tours. Excellent picnic lunch with catered sandwiches, plenty of native juices all served on table with linen tablecloths. Gave special assistance to disabled on trails through the park. Explained geothermal formations and native plants. Definitely more assistance than the big coach tours.
Read haggis gal's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Lava Land
Member Image sueohara
1 review
Dec 2015
A full day, great lunch, lots of hiking and a great tour guide.
Read sueohara's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image KristaJGizzo
1 review
Nov 2015
This was great on our own. The park is super easy to get to and along the road with most attractions on it. We hiked through the Sulphur Banks up to the Jagger Museum then drove to the Thurston Lava Tube. We were running out of time so we only made one more stop at Big Island Candies before returning the car. Great last stop!
Read KristaJGizzo's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image VieraMaggie
1 review
Nov 2015
The tour was interesting and we were so happy that we were able to go to Volcanoes National Park. We were initially worried about taking this excursion because of the disclaimer warning about people with breathing problems because my husband has COPD. However, we did not have any issues. There was no lava but we did see steam vents and the caldera with smoke. We got out at several spots for photos and walked on a lava field. We also stopped at an orchid farm and the Mauna Load macadamia nut factory. Overall, a good trip although all excursions are pricey.
Read VieraMaggie's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?