Dominica Emerald Pool Excursion Reviews

Dominica Emerald Pool cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A perfect choice for hot days, Emerald Pool sits in the rainforest on the road to Castle Bruce. Wear your bathing suit but beware: the water can be chilly!
Member Image rncando
1 review
Nov 2016
Levi is great to book with, but the guide we had was aweful!!! I feel bad for saying this, as our tour really should not have technically gone with only 2 people, but Levi made it happen by adding another couple... however the driver who called himself "sexy" (I am not kidding that was what he said his nickname was) would stop at every flippin flower and banana plant to show us the virus attacking them (and I LOVE flowers but this was too much)... then he would drive off before we could get a photo. It was 5 hours of stop/start on meaningless things then hurry up when we were at the places we were meant to see... But please note that others who took a Tour with Levi himself and did not have a specific place they wanted to see of personal interest absolutely raved about their tour.... so it is not a indication of Bumping Tours but rather the driver we had.
Read rncando's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bumping Tours
Member Image ceteach
1 review
Nov 2016
It was beautiful but some people in our group were not able to make it down the numerous steps to the pool and then back up again.
Read ceteach's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ScorpInCan
1 review
Nov 2016
Trafalgar Falls and Emerald Pool were both enjoyable
Read ScorpInCan's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image patricia.schmaltz
1 review
Oct 2016
Not enough time to do the Pool this time, and THAT was a disappointment, as we thoroughly enjoyed it the first time. Beautiful and COLD swimming!
Read patricia.schmaltz's full Sagitta cruise review
Provider: Island Windjammers
Member Image jack7298
2 reviews
Mar 2016
What a great way to see 2 really beautiful spots on an incredible island.
Read jack7298's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image msmayor
1 review
Mar 2016
Beautiful tour of Trafalgar Falls and the Emerald Pool; enjoyed walking through the rainforest to see these natural wonders.
Read msmayor's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BeachLover68
1 review
Oct 2015
Beautiful falls and nice, short hike through a rainforest to get there. Although beware, the pool is frigid (but nice after the climb that leaves you sweaty)
Read BeachLover68's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kimmiloulovestocruise
1 review
Apr 2015
A great day spent hiking through the rain forest with time to swim in the Emerald Pool and take a dip in the sulfur springs as well. Comes with a complimentary beverage. Very accommodating tour guide and good driver (considering the terrain).
Read kimmiloulovestocruise's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: BJs Vacations-Shorex
Member Image jenjes3
3 reviews
Apr 2015
Excursion was interesting but too much driving. The tour guide did not stop talking the entire time. There was a lot of combing on slippery steps. It was drizzling but very pretty.
Read jenjes3's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image WizBang
5 reviews
Apr 2015
This was part of the excursion the "City Highlights and Emerald Pool" through Celebrity. The tickets stated it was operated by Nature Island Taxi Association. I strongly suggest taking Bonine or some other type of motion sickness precautions because the ride is very steep and winding. We took a small tour bus (about 20 people) and drove up the mountain to the Emerald Pool. The walk to the Emerald Pool takes about 20 minutes on a well beaten path through the rainforest. It is not a difficult walk, but there are some small inclines. It rained on and off through the whole excursion, which is typical there, so you need to watch your footing on the mud, and your photos will not look as impressive as it does being there in person. The water is mostly waist-deep and they said it was 71 degrees. It was fun to take a dip under the waterfall, but most people stayed out of the water. The tour also stopped at the botanical garden, which was more like a park with some tropical trees. The last stop was Morne Bruce, which is a lookout that gives you a nice view of the ship from atop a hill.
Read WizBang's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Wareaglex5
1 review
Mar 2015
The pool is in the rainforest so you hike through the forest and pass the double waterfalls where you can stop and take pictures, then hike further to the pool. The pool is a creek than has several areas where you can sit and enjoy the warm mineral water, it makes your skin very soft and is very warm, but not that warm. If you are adventurous you can hike all the way down to the bottom pool but you have to fit through a hole in a boulder and as I am a bit claustrophobic I just stayed in the third pool down with about six other people. The people that went through the hole in the boulder said it wasn't that bad. They went to the bottom and circled their way back around via a path in the rainforest to where we were. We hiked back the way we came. On the hike in we noticed a crab under a tree among the ferns. I honestly have never seen a crab in the woods before… it was most interesting.
Read Wareaglex5's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Bumping Tours with Levi
Member Image Nanatravel
9 reviews
Mar 2015
Roads in Dominica are narrow & twisty; now some are in very bad condition as well. Finding her across from the pier area was a little confusing, but that was my fault for not carrying her instructions. Helen was a safe driver, took us to all of the highlighted areas we had requested and gave us plenty of time to shop native stands and asked if we wished to go to other places. Since our day continued to be rainy, we decided to skip the beach break but she did take us there to see the beach; glad we skipped it. Did not like the area at all. Other than the bad roads, we had a great day with My Sister.
Read Nanatravel's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: My Sister's Tour - Helen
Member Image OregonDuck
2 reviews
Mar 2015
was ok, cheaper than the ship, small vehicle made it a little difficult to see out of, but was good hiked up and down to the pool which was slippery and wet
Read OregonDuck's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Eddie's
Member Image H.Allan
1 review
Mar 2015
Had a great time with a wonderful guide and saw some really spectacular sights. Had our eyes opened to the truly low economic life these folks lead here and everything they do to make a dollar.
Read H.Allan's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image OttawaMom
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2015

The walk to this pool was nice, the was so clear cool. Not crowded.

Read OttawaMom's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Dennchen
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Wonderful driver as well as an additional tour guide....We first went to Emerald Pool with a tour and explanation of everything we passed along the way. We saw pineapples in their condoms (protective blue plastic wrapping) on the trees, pineapples growing along the road, cocoa fruit we sampled as the cocoa bean is surrounded by a fleshy fruity fiber that is dried before grinding the beans to make chocolate and it taste delicious. Just do not eat too many like I did (2 or 3 would be fine, I ate about 25-FAIL) Dominica has 365 rivers and you see them everywhere you drive, almost. Mero Beach was our last stop and it was about 90 minutes and you are provide with umbrella, chairs and rum punch as part of the tour. Well worth the price and highly recommend.

Read Dennchen's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mollyny
1 review
Apr 2014

We booked our excursion last minute on the ship. It was well worth it. Again, you can get the same trip outside the terminal for cheaper. Emerald Pool was beautiful!!! It was cool and refreshing. The bottom is rocky - you definitely need water shoes.

Read Mollyny's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bowallace
1 review
Feb 2014

Too crowded. Was hard to get the full effect of the pool.

Read bowallace's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image collinsmom4301
3 reviews
Dec 2013

Not my favorite as I don't like to submerge myself in water I can't see the bottom. It was warm and a unique experience however.

Read collinsmom4301's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Nature Isles
Member Image Lolly60
1 review
Feb 2013
Was very nice and quite at this place and could enjoy all the beauty of the fall
Read Lolly60's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image OhioLEO
1 review
Nov 2012
This was our only planned excursion of the cruise. It was booked privately not through the cruise ship. Company was called Bumpiing Tours. Levi was our contact. We emailed back and forth after I found a review here on CC. There were 7 in our group that did the island tour, Emerald Pool, Mr Nice fruit stand, Trafalgar Falls, Sulpher Springs, Rain Forest tour and Morne Bruce. Our guide Kashma was wonderful and explained everything that we saw. Brendon our driver was great to hang out with and talk. They got us to the Emerald Pool before the rest of the tours from the ship showed up so we were able to enjoy the cool water pretty much by ourselves. By far the best day of the cruise. I will def use them again and highly recommend them to anyone.
Read OhioLEO's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Bumpiing Tours
Member Image KBVegas
2 reviews
Mar 2012
The pool is hardly "emerald" in color. Many people, including my husband and myself, chose not to walk to the emerald pool but to view it from afar due to the difficulty in getting there. If you are not entirely able-bodied, do not attempt.
Read KBVegas's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image mrfviews
11 reviews
Mar 2012
Dominica:Just gorgeous, was little too crowded when we were there wish they staggered the tours farther apart 1
Read mrfviews's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SLPShelly
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2012
Pretty, but hard to get to Emerald Pool as there was a line to wait. Saw it from a distance. The rain forest was GORGEOUS!
Read SLPShelly's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Parlaming0
1 review
Mar 2012
It was jammed full of cruise passengers! Pretty nice, but you'd be waiting a long time to take a dip or get a photo without 300 people in it.
Read Parlaming0's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?