Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Aqaba Petra Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Aqaba Petra Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Among the last surviving great wonders of the world, the ancient city of Petra is a sight that must be seen to be believed.
Member Image AvastMate
1 review
Apr 2014
A fantastic experience, not to be missed. If this isn't on your bucket list, it should be. The mystery of this ancient civilization is captivating. We had an excellent guide and loved the tour. It is a long walk and well worth the effort. If you care for horses, donkeys and camels, then be warned these animals are not well treated by the locals.
Read AvastMate's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image BigdogWirral
1 review
Mar 2013
Fascinating, and much bigger than we imagined. Take stout footwear, as its rough going in places, and it was only 15 degrees in march, so take a sweater too.
Read BigdogWirral's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image soxlamp
1 review
Mar 2013
On day 1 we took the shuttle bus into the centre and had a walk around , there were a few taxi drivers waiting to offer tours but not to pushy. on day 2 took the thomson tour to Petra .Overall a very good trip , guide was very informative all day and very knowledgeable , Petra was well worth the visit, must have walked at least 8km with the last 4km being uphill all the way. Fabulous lunch at the Movenpickhotel Hotel which was included
Read soxlamp's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Pozzeypolly
1 review
Mar 2013
Petra was amazing and well worth the trip.
Read Pozzeypolly's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image blackpearuk
3 reviews
Feb 2013
Collected by driver who spoke excellent English for comfortable car journey to Petra. Petra provides its own approved guides and we had an excellent one who fitted in far more than the cruise company's bus tour in the limited time available. Lots of walking involved but used horse and trap (at extra cost) for return journey to Petra entrance.
Read blackpearuk's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: cruisingexcursions.com
Member Image Cornishpisky
1 review
Jan 2013
Fabulous tour and absolutely excellent meal. Expensive but totally worth it.
Read Cornishpisky's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image LoopieLu
1 review
Nov 2012
A long day but an excellent tour. The coach was air-conditioned. "Comfort" stops were made along the way. Initially I had been worried that I was not fit enough for all the walking involved, but it was fine. We were not rushed along and everyone could go at their own pace. The guide was excellent. Petra is amazing and well worth the effort. Lunch was included and that too was very good. I was very pleased that I decided to take this trip and would recommend it.
Read LoopieLu's full Seabourn Odyssey cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image 00lovecruising00
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2012
All day tour but very little time in Petra itself which was disappointing. Very difficult tour for people unsteady on their feet and there is a lot of walking on uneven and sloping ground.
Read 00lovecruising00's full Silver Wind cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Alan Luty
1 review
Apr 2012
Wow I could write a book. What a fabulous place to visit. The walk to the Siq entrance took about 10 minutes and the walk through the Siq although long, took 45 minutes, was amazing but with very uneven surfaces to walk across could be an issue for some people. It was a wonderful sight to see, the cut outs in the rock surfaces showed how the people they lived and how water was transported from the village was amazing. The Treasury appears through the pink landscape at the exit to the Siq. A real piece of art work. A must see for anyone. Plus doing the journey through the Suez Canal to reach the port of Aqaba will complete a trip of a lifetime. Fabulous.
Read Alan Luty's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image krsto
1 review
Apr 2012
The trip to Petra was a full day tour - a 2 hour drive from Aqaba to the town of Petra and then a 90minute guided walk through the canyon to the Treasury and other wonders of Petra. Not a trip to be undertaken by the faint hearted - especially in hot weather! We were exhausted by the time we had walked back (another 90 minutes) to the hotel for a late lunch (delicious before boarding the coach for the drive back to Aqaba where we were welcomed back with a glass of champagne by the Captain Karlsson, Ryszard our Hotel Director, and Russ our Cruise Director mounted on camels!
Read krsto's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Dorrigohenry
1 review
Mar 2012
Two hour coach trip from port, very engaging informative guide, four hours in the lost city itself, lots of free time there. Ship provided packed lunch.
Read Dorrigohenry's full Discovery cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image edward s bear
1 review
Mar 2012
Petra was every bit as spectacular as we imagined. One word of warning though remember its a long walk down, so remember you need to go back. There are horse drawn buggies which we sampled for the return journey which was an experience & the traders took no for an answer.
Read edward s bear's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image havegunwilltravel
3 reviews
Mar 2012
Spectacular!!!! Long day, but worth it. Vendors again were a problem,
Read havegunwilltravel's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image oenone
2 reviews
Mar 2012
One of the wonders of the world, it was incredible - it's one of those sites that one doesn't really believe in, even when there. It was very hot; they walk into Petra is quite long (but interesting), and the way out even longer - even with the horse ride back to the entrance. I almost got heat stroke, but I would not trade the experience for anything in the world. Our guide, Achmed, and driver, Emad, were helpful, knowledgeable, and very friendly. I cannot recommend this enough.
Read oenone's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Rhamses Tours

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.