Aqaba Petra Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Aqaba Petra Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Among the last surviving great wonders of the world, the ancient city of Petra is a sight that must be seen to be believed.
Member Image rich 112
4 reviews
Jan 2017
Really good guide, loads of info given on the coach. Difficult to hear him at Petra as not only are you a part of a group of 50 but its really really busy. Loads of walking, ok on the way but the way back is up hill. You can pay for a carrage ride, but I felt sorry for the horses, donkeys A late lunch was included at a hotel and was very good
Read rich 112's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image cruising_cattlemen
1 review
Dec 2016
Overly political and chatty guide. Not enough time at Petra.
Read cruising_cattlemen's full Seabourn Encore cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image victor5
1 review
Nov 2016
A very informative talk on the way to Petra and then walking about Petra so much information about what is and is nt known about the builders and residents of the area as well as the Bedouin tribes who inhabited the area prior to it becoming a World Heritage site.
Read victor5's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wandwall
4 reviews
Nov 2016
It took approximately 2 hours to drive to Petra, approximately 80 miles from the port. There was a short stop for restrooms and to take advantage of the store where the restrooms were. The prices seem awfully high;it was mostly typical souvenir stuff. Once we arrived in Petra, the bus parked in the parking lot and we walked down through the gate past the Visitor’s Center along a gravel road toward some hills and finally into the Siq. a thin split in the mountain almost a mile in length but only 10 to 20 feet in width with walls on either side that rise hundreds of feet to the sky. The colors of the rocks were wonderful. There were many carvings along the path including tombs and niches with carved representation of their gods. When we exited the Siq and had our first glimpse of the Treasury. You first glimpse it through a narrow opening. It is as wonderful as photos make it seem but add in at least 300 tourists, assorted camels and donkeys plus postcard and trinket sellers into the photo if you arrive early in the day. It only adds to the magic. One interesting fact which we had not heard before is that the image of the Treasury everyone knows from the Indiana Jones’ movie is that there is actually another level to it which has been recently discovered. Although you can no longer go inside, you can walk to the area near the steps and look down into an excavation which has uncovered more doors and columns below. From reading a non-fiction book called “Married to a Bedouin”, I learned that the Siq and the areas around the Treasury were subject to frequent flash floods once the first inhabitants, the Nabateans, left the area. The sand and debris left by the floods eventually built up high enough to cover the lowest level. After a pause for photographs of the incredible Treasury, the camels and even just the tourists, we continued walking until we reached the Royal Tombs and could see many more tombs higher up on the cliff faces in all directions. We also passed a Roman-style amphitheater which held 6,000 people. It was then time to leisurely walk back on our own to the Visitor’s Center and continue about a block farther to a Movenpick hotel nearby for a typical Egyptian buffet lunch. Total distance walked was about 6.5 miles according to a friend's GPS. While the walk to Petra was downhill to the end of the tour at the Royal Tombs, it was uphill to coming back. There were plenty of offers for camel rides back as far as the Treasury and then it was possible to take one horse carriages through the Siq but the asking prices were about $50 for the carriage ride and I had no problem walking. One caution: they tell you a 10 minute, 1 mile horse ride is included from the ticket entrance to the Siq opening but they do not mention that the horse owner expects a $5-10 tip. Not exactly free. The Movenpick Hotel was immediately next to the gates and everyone from the ship had a nice buffet lunch of Egyptian foods including wine and beer. The tables were arranged very close together so it was warm and crowded. We finished earlier than some and enjoyed time sitting in the airy atrium adjoining the restaurant.
Read wandwall's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image davidandjie
1 review
Oct 2016
A magnificent sight; mere pictures of the "Treasury" do not do it justice. The experience was marred only by the difficult walk to get there and return.
Read davidandjie's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Jordan Horizons
Member Image SeeLDee
2 reviews
Oct 2016
A lot of walking (25 kilometers) to see things our disinterested guide, Mohamed (Bus #14) didn't explain. Should have been a wonderful experience at one of the seven wonders of the world.
Read SeeLDee's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mary Anne R
1 review
Oct 2016
It is hard to describe Petra. It is beyond words. So magnificent. Do not pass on this tour.
Read Mary Anne R's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jerseyv
5 reviews
Oct 2016
tourist driver.aqaba@gmail.com met us at the port and took us to Wadi Rum. After visiting Petra we "text" our driver and were driven back to Aquaba. Good value!
Read jerseyv's full Voyager cruise review
Provider: tourist driver.aqaba@gmail.com
Member Image Cornishe traveller
4 reviews
Oct 2016
Nothing can describe the feeling as you glimpse the site from the siq.
Read Cornishe traveller's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image seadiamond
3 reviews
Oct 2016
Wonderful tour guide, although sometimes I felt he spent more time on the water system than necessary. He was very well known, not sure if that is a good sign or not. Gave us great information. Lunch was included, which was a nice buffet. I felt the bathroom stop at a store was a bit of a shakedown, charged us to use the facilities and we spent time there to browse--if that is the case, pay for the facilities get to Petra faster.
Read seadiamond's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image roselilyoz
16 reviews
May 2016
Petra is a long way from the port, so decided to do a ship's tour. We had an excellent guide, who if anything gave too much information to take in! Petra is amazing, everything we had hoped for. It is quite strenuous to walk in the heat but absolutely worth it - it is unforgettable. The tour was expensive but for a once in a lifetime experience, worth it.
Read roselilyoz's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Wheech
1 review
May 2016
Very long Day but new this before we booked. No visible RCI guide on board just the Bus tour guide and tourist police. The tour was amazing and was an easy walk down through the the Gorge to Petra. They provide a horse and two person cart for anyone and the price has to be negotiated for the return journey before you board the cart. Around40$. The walk back uphill in the heat is a killer so take plenty bottled water
Read Wheech's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rovert
1 review
May 2016
Petra was great , the buses organized by RCCL were extremely oridinary
Read Rovert's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lisakauai
3 reviews
May 2016
The most exceptional tour I have ever been on. Stunning views, I took over 1000 pictures! We are planning to return because it takes more than a day to see the entire historical area. Awe inspiring!
Read Lisakauai's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hjb123
1 review
May 2016
Petra is amazing- stunning to see. Our guide was average though, and walked so slowly so we felt that we missed seeing more. We did not use horses or camels to take us along the way. The lunch was provided by the Movenpick Hotel and it was excellent with flavoursome local foods.
Read hjb123's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chiquitamar
5 reviews
May 2016
The tour company picked us up and took 2 hours to get to Petra. Magnificent place. Lots of walking. Could had ridden a donkey or a little buggy but they went so fast, you could not have seen much. Were supposed to also go to Wadi Rum but due to an accident on the road that delayed us a whole hour we could not go to Wadi Rum. Had lunch in a local restaurant that was better than expected.
Read Chiquitamar's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Jordan Tours
Member Image Jack Voyager
1 review
May 2016
The lost city of Petra is a must see! A bucket list experience. The bus was good, and the guide not so much. He made several mistakes that caused the group to be broken up and lost control by going much too fast for the mostly older group. When we came back up the steep walking road to Petra we were even slower. Never got back together until the bus back. Ship waited for us as we were delayed by a road accident. The scenery and the ancient town were magnificent.
Read Jack Voyager's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image travelroc
2 reviews
Oct 2015
too many people on path, too long for older folks, not enough transport in petra included lunch was suspect did once, never again
Read travelroc's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CJSANDFS
6 reviews
Oct 2015
The site is amazing but the guide for group was less than wonderful. I asked about getting a buggy out and got a very vague reply about cost. What he did not tell me was that most people taking buggies book them for the return trip so when I wanted to leave to get to lunch at the Movenpick, like everyone else at 1.30pm, all the buggies were taken. I managed to get a lady to share but it was a real hassle. He also left one lady on the bus and there was no first aid for another lady who fell and grazed her knee. I'd recommend a private tour as some of the mall vans managed to pick people up at a sort of side entrance so no need to walk out. It is a long, hot, dusty walk.
Read CJSANDFS's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image giorgo49
1 review
Oct 2015
Excellent and good value for munny
Read giorgo49's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Group hired a taxi for a quarter of the cost
Member Image Valpike@hotmail.com
1 review
Apr 2015
The highlight of our entire cruise was Petra, Jordan. We felt very comfortable the entire time on the Ships tour. The pre were some who booked did independently, but we like the safety of knowing if we had a delayed returned back to the ship issue the ship would wait for us! Petra is Amazing! Lots of walking. Easy down hill, but far, long and hot going back up to the top.
Read Valpike@hotmail.com's full Star Pride cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image claudiaYVR
5 reviews
Mar 2015
Great tour guide, lunch at a local high-end hotel was chaotic but ended up well when restaurant management directed us to a different area of the restaurant where we could be seated and served. Petra is magnificent and a must-see.
Read claudiaYVR's full Seabourn Sojourn cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image sandgropercruising
1 review
Mar 2015
A must to do. Truly an amazing experience you cannot miss. Highlight of our trip. Cheaper to do this tour with the boat than interdependently, also if you do a private tour you will not have enough time to see everything.
Read sandgropercruising's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image AvastMate
2 reviews
Apr 2014
A fantastic experience, not to be missed. If this isn't on your bucket list, it should be. The mystery of this ancient civilization is captivating. We had an excellent guide and loved the tour. It is a long walk and well worth the effort. If you care for horses, donkeys and camels, then be warned these animals are not well treated by the locals.
Read AvastMate's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image BigdogWirral
1 review
Mar 2013
Fascinating, and much bigger than we imagined. Take stout footwear, as its rough going in places, and it was only 15 degrees in march, so take a sweater too.
Read BigdogWirral's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?