Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Aqaba Petra Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Aqaba Petra Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Among the last surviving great wonders of the world, the ancient city of Petra is a sight that must be seen to be believed.
Member Image roselilyoz
14 reviews
May 2016
Petra is a long way from the port, so decided to do a ship's tour. We had an excellent guide, who if anything gave too much information to take in! Petra is amazing, everything we had hoped for. It is quite strenuous to walk in the heat but absolutely worth it - it is unforgettable. The tour was expensive but for a once in a lifetime experience, worth it.
Read roselilyoz's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Wheech
1 review
May 2016
Very long Day but new this before we booked. No visible RCI guide on board just the Bus tour guide and tourist police. The tour was amazing and was an easy walk down through the the Gorge to Petra. They provide a horse and two person cart for anyone and the price has to be negotiated for the return journey before you board the cart. Around40$. The walk back uphill in the heat is a killer so take plenty bottled water
Read Wheech's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rovert
1 review
May 2016
Petra was great , the buses organized by RCCL were extremely oridinary
Read Rovert's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lisakauai
2 reviews
May 2016
The most exceptional tour I have ever been on. Stunning views, I took over 1000 pictures! We are planning to return because it takes more than a day to see the entire historical area. Awe inspiring!
Read Lisakauai's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hjb123
1 review
May 2016
Petra is amazing- stunning to see. Our guide was average though, and walked so slowly so we felt that we missed seeing more. We did not use horses or camels to take us along the way. The lunch was provided by the Movenpick Hotel and it was excellent with flavoursome local foods.
Read hjb123's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chiquitamar
4 reviews
May 2016
The tour company picked us up and took 2 hours to get to Petra. Magnificent place. Lots of walking. Could had ridden a donkey or a little buggy but they went so fast, you could not have seen much. Were supposed to also go to Wadi Rum but due to an accident on the road that delayed us a whole hour we could not go to Wadi Rum. Had lunch in a local restaurant that was better than expected.
Read Chiquitamar's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Jordan Tours
Member Image Jack Voyager
1 review
May 2016
The lost city of Petra is a must see! A bucket list experience. The bus was good, and the guide not so much. He made several mistakes that caused the group to be broken up and lost control by going much too fast for the mostly older group. When we came back up the steep walking road to Petra we were even slower. Never got back together until the bus back. Ship waited for us as we were delayed by a road accident. The scenery and the ancient town were magnificent.
Read Jack Voyager's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image travelroc
2 reviews
Oct 2015
too many people on path, too long for older folks, not enough transport in petra included lunch was suspect did once, never again
Read travelroc's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CJSANDFS
5 reviews
Oct 2015
The site is amazing but the guide for group was less than wonderful. I asked about getting a buggy out and got a very vague reply about cost. What he did not tell me was that most people taking buggies book them for the return trip so when I wanted to leave to get to lunch at the Movenpick, like everyone else at 1.30pm, all the buggies were taken. I managed to get a lady to share but it was a real hassle. He also left one lady on the bus and there was no first aid for another lady who fell and grazed her knee. I'd recommend a private tour as some of the mall vans managed to pick people up at a sort of side entrance so no need to walk out. It is a long, hot, dusty walk.
Read CJSANDFS's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image giorgo49
1 review
Oct 2015
Excellent and good value for munny
Read giorgo49's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Group hired a taxi for a quarter of the cost
Member Image Valpike@hotmail.com
1 review
Apr 2015
The highlight of our entire cruise was Petra, Jordan. We felt very comfortable the entire time on the Ships tour. The pre were some who booked did independently, but we like the safety of knowing if we had a delayed returned back to the ship issue the ship would wait for us! Petra is Amazing! Lots of walking. Easy down hill, but far, long and hot going back up to the top.
Read Valpike@hotmail.com's full Star Pride cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image claudiaYVR
4 reviews
Mar 2015
Great tour guide, lunch at a local high-end hotel was chaotic but ended up well when restaurant management directed us to a different area of the restaurant where we could be seated and served. Petra is magnificent and a must-see.
Read claudiaYVR's full Seabourn Sojourn cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image sandgropercruising
1 review
Mar 2015
A must to do. Truly an amazing experience you cannot miss. Highlight of our trip. Cheaper to do this tour with the boat than interdependently, also if you do a private tour you will not have enough time to see everything.
Read sandgropercruising's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image AvastMate
2 reviews
Apr 2014
A fantastic experience, not to be missed. If this isn't on your bucket list, it should be. The mystery of this ancient civilization is captivating. We had an excellent guide and loved the tour. It is a long walk and well worth the effort. If you care for horses, donkeys and camels, then be warned these animals are not well treated by the locals.
Read AvastMate's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image BigdogWirral
1 review
Mar 2013
Fascinating, and much bigger than we imagined. Take stout footwear, as its rough going in places, and it was only 15 degrees in march, so take a sweater too.
Read BigdogWirral's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image soxlamp
1 review
Mar 2013
On day 1 we took the shuttle bus into the centre and had a walk around , there were a few taxi drivers waiting to offer tours but not to pushy. on day 2 took the thomson tour to Petra .Overall a very good trip , guide was very informative all day and very knowledgeable , Petra was well worth the visit, must have walked at least 8km with the last 4km being uphill all the way. Fabulous lunch at the Movenpickhotel Hotel which was included
Read soxlamp's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Pozzeypolly
1 review
Mar 2013
Petra was amazing and well worth the trip.
Read Pozzeypolly's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image blackpearuk
3 reviews
Feb 2013
Collected by driver who spoke excellent English for comfortable car journey to Petra. Petra provides its own approved guides and we had an excellent one who fitted in far more than the cruise company's bus tour in the limited time available. Lots of walking involved but used horse and trap (at extra cost) for return journey to Petra entrance.
Read blackpearuk's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: cruisingexcursions.com
Member Image Cornishpisky
1 review
Jan 2013
Fabulous tour and absolutely excellent meal. Expensive but totally worth it.
Read Cornishpisky's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image LoopieLu
1 review
Nov 2012
A long day but an excellent tour. The coach was air-conditioned. "Comfort" stops were made along the way. Initially I had been worried that I was not fit enough for all the walking involved, but it was fine. We were not rushed along and everyone could go at their own pace. The guide was excellent. Petra is amazing and well worth the effort. Lunch was included and that too was very good. I was very pleased that I decided to take this trip and would recommend it.
Read LoopieLu's full Seabourn Odyssey cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image 00lovecruising00
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2012
All day tour but very little time in Petra itself which was disappointing. Very difficult tour for people unsteady on their feet and there is a lot of walking on uneven and sloping ground.
Read 00lovecruising00's full Silver Wind cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Alan Luty
reviews
Apr 2012
Wow I could write a book. What a fabulous place to visit. The walk to the Siq entrance took about 10 minutes and the walk through the Siq although long, took 45 minutes, was amazing but with very uneven surfaces to walk across could be an issue for some people. It was a wonderful sight to see, the cut outs in the rock surfaces showed how the people they lived and how water was transported from the village was amazing. The Treasury appears through the pink landscape at the exit to the Siq. A real piece of art work. A must see for anyone. Plus doing the journey through the Suez Canal to reach the port of Aqaba will complete a trip of a lifetime. Fabulous.
Read Alan Luty's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image krsto
1 review
Apr 2012
The trip to Petra was a full day tour - a 2 hour drive from Aqaba to the town of Petra and then a 90minute guided walk through the canyon to the Treasury and other wonders of Petra. Not a trip to be undertaken by the faint hearted - especially in hot weather! We were exhausted by the time we had walked back (another 90 minutes) to the hotel for a late lunch (delicious before boarding the coach for the drive back to Aqaba where we were welcomed back with a glass of champagne by the Captain Karlsson, Ryszard our Hotel Director, and Russ our Cruise Director mounted on camels!
Read krsto's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Dorrigohenry
1 review
Mar 2012
Two hour coach trip from port, very engaging informative guide, four hours in the lost city itself, lots of free time there. Ship provided packed lunch.
Read Dorrigohenry's full Discovery cruise review
Provider:
Member Image edward s bear
1 review
Mar 2012
Petra was every bit as spectacular as we imagined. One word of warning though remember its a long walk down, so remember you need to go back. There are horse drawn buggies which we sampled for the return journey which was an experience & the traders took no for an answer.
Read edward s bear's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.