Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Punta Arenas Penguin Reserve Excursion Reviews

Punta Arenas Penguin Reserve cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The Punta Arenas Penguin Reserve provides the perfect opportunity to observe the adorable creatures up close.
Member Image lomasteam
1 review
Dec 2014

Visited Otway Sound penguin reserve and saw hundreds of Magellan penguins both on the beach and in the vegetation around the beach area. The commentary offered by the guide was interesting, but in retrospect you could save money by hiring a taxi outside the port to visit the area independently. After the tour we walked around the town which was small and safe with a handicraft market in the main square and some pleasant cafes.

Read lomasteam's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image smajy
2 reviews
Mar 2014

All the penguins at the Otway Sound Penguin Colony are gone by March. If you are going that late, do not book any penguin excursion.

Read smajy's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image boulders
6 reviews
Dec 2013

Three of us went on this shore excursion. It involved a short bus ride to the ferry and a 2 hour ferry ride each way to Magdalena Island. A snack and lunch pack was provided with 2 sandwiches, chocolate bar, cereal bar, large bottle of water and a large juice pak. Magdalena Island was covered with Magellan penguins. We were told there were 200,000 penguins. Even on the ferry you were extremely close to the penguins. We had seen the Magellan penguins at Volunteer Point though. So, while I got some great pictures, having been to the Falklands, it would have been better to save the money. This shore excursion was also sold out.

Read boulders's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Santorinigirl7
1 review
Mar 2013
In Punta Arenas, we booked again with Shore Excursions and went to Otway Sound Penguin Reserve. Not that many penguins were still there but I got some good photos and the scenery was beautiful. I think it was worth it. A small bus of approximately 18 or so, and they willingly dropped us off in the middle of town at the end to do some shopping. Our friends went sea-kayaking. I don't know who they booked with but it was literally half of what the HAL people were paying on the same tour. I think they had hoped it would be a bit more scenic but they paddled with a lot of porpoises.
Read Santorinigirl7's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image diarykeeper
1 review
Feb 2013
Took a ferry ride to the Penguin Reserve. All staff, guides and couriers very good and friendly. Fabulous day/
Read diarykeeper's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Salty Dave
1 review
Jan 2013
I have penquin fever - I love those little critters.
Read Salty Dave's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image KayakOtter
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Very windy and limited to path to see Penguins. Still was fun. Long very bumpy ride to Reserve.
Read KayakOtter's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image beach grandma
7 reviews
Mar 2012
The Penguin Reserve was fabulous. We took a 2 hour ferry to the Magdalena Island reserve then spent an hour with the penguins. There were hundreds of them and we were very close to them. They were beginning to leave this area for the winter, so I was so pleased that many of them waited until our visit before leaving. Thank you penguins. They were Gentoo penguins and are relatively small. This was one of our favorite experiences.
Read beach grandma's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tlmoose
1 review
Feb 2012
The Otaway Penguin tour was more interesting... the guide provided more of the area history and identified wildlife, including rheas and upland geese. There were only a small number of penguins, but we were able to observe them on the beach, in the water and in their burrows.
Read tlmoose's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tankengine
1 review
Feb 2012
Good, informative guide/escort. Interesting (if bumpy) journey with commentary on fauna and flora en route. Penguin colony itself something of an anti-climax since most had already migrated northwards!
Read tankengine's full Balmoral cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.