Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cartagena (Colombia) La Popa Monastery Excursion Reviews

Cartagena (Colombia) La Popa Monastery cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A beautiful monastery with an even better view, Convento La Popa de la Galera makes for a fantastic visit.
Member Image Herbs Mom
2 reviews
Jan 2014

This was the first place Wil took us and it was a great place to start - great views of all of the city and very interesting. He talked with us about things we saw on the way up the hill.

Read Herbs Mom's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Chicaturtle
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

wonderful tour

Read Chicaturtle's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image VAWCB
1 review
Jan 2013
1) The guide's English skills were not great and it was hard to understand him. 2) One member of our group required an electric wheelchair. Claudia had assured us that her vehicle and her employees could handle this - she was wrong and it created a significant delay and problems throughout the trip,
Read VAWCB's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Claudia
Member Image jeanne_lynn
1 review
Jan 2013
Wow!! What a view from up the top of this monastery. The courtyard was breathtaking and the building is in such great shape for how old it is. Don't miss this!!!!
Read jeanne_lynn's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Mr. Lee
Member Image Phoenix cruiser
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Received an in depth briefing on the history of the monastery before seeing the courtyard, chapel and museum.
Read Phoenix cruiser's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Cartagena Tours- Dora De Zubiria
Member Image analuzdi
1 review
Dec 2012
The tour dedicates a lot of time to la Popa Monastery which is not worth. Instead they just made a photo stop at the Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas which is really nice. We went to visit the old town which is also very interesting and we saw some local dances that were also very interesting. Some shopping is also included in this tour, but our guide was nor very good. Part of my group was with this guide and other part was with another guide who was much better than ours.
Read analuzdi's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Eurovisionfan
1 review
Dec 2012
Good view from the top, but not really into churches.
Read Eurovisionfan's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image shamrockace
3 reviews
Oct 2012
Met us right at the pier. The van was airconditioned and the driver was excellent and watched our belongings left on the van. La Popa Monastery was my favorite. Beautiful courtyard. Be prepared for about 3 miles of walking on the ciyt tour in old town. We stopped in several cathedrals, the dungeons for shopping and also visited the new town shops. Street vendors are hard to ignore, just don't make eye contact. Dora gave us a lot of history and is very proud of her country.
Read shamrockace's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Dora with Cartagena tours
Member Image Gussys Mom
4 reviews
Apr 2012
Great place for pics
Read Gussys Mom's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.