Cartagena (Colombia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Cartagena (Colombia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy Cartagena's restored colonial mansions, fusion restaurants and the Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas, the greatest fortress ever built by the Spanish colonies.
Member Image cleopatraB
1 review
Nov 2016
We saw Old town, a church and the old Fort! Not a great tour
Read cleopatraB's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image AlibeeWW
1 review
Nov 2016
museums were very crowded (three ships in port) and we spent very little time at each, but what I saw was very nice, safe, and worth another trip
Read AlibeeWW's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mysterygal
4 reviews
Nov 2016
Walking tour of old city combined with tour of monastery. Excellent guide.
Read mysterygal's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image srj500
1 review
Nov 2016
We went Through different areas of town and walked through the Monastery. It was a fast paced tour. but enjoyable. Not a lot of climbing, so good for people who can't do a lot of walking.
Read srj500's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Wuburt
1 review
Oct 2016
The tour took too long for the constant delays with translations and waiting for bathroom breaks and corralling the group. Easier to herd cats!
Read Wuburt's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mdurso
1 review
Oct 2016
We got this tour right from the pier. It was a catamaran and tour of the city for only $29 per person. The best deal we got anywhere we went on this cruise.
Read Mdurso's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MrChocoholic
7 reviews
Oct 2016
Very nice, although I missed my bus and had a few minutes of angst figuring out how to get back to the ship. Gorgeous city.
Read MrChocoholic's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image loge23
6 reviews
Oct 2016
Nice short walking tour through Old Town - should see this beautiful place. Beware of relentless street vendors.
Read loge23's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Salathrop
1 review
Oct 2016
Hot & humid, tour guide was terrible, obviously taking us wherever he could get a kick-back from his cronies. He didn't keep track of us or tell us what we were seeing as we walked through the streets. He kept stopping to let the beggars & peddlers bother us. The fortress was the only decent thing on this tour. Our tour guide, Jalisco, must have said "You know what I mean?" at least 500 times during our tour. Took us to an empty hole in a wall where someone was supposedly buried once but was later removed & to an emerald jewelry store.
Read Salathrop's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Kwootton9
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Dora the Explorer gave us a great tour in Cartagena. We started at La Popa with a great view of the city. We visited the dungeons, the fort, and did a walking tour of the old city. We visited St. Peter Claver church. We toured the emerald museum, and some of us bought emerald jewelry. Cartagena is a beautiful city, and Dora is a great guide.
Read Kwootton9's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Dora de Subeira
Member Image mjfun78
1 review
Oct 2016
Great guide showed us the city
Read mjfun78's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Street vendor
Member Image rpiwonka
4 reviews
Oct 2016
A lot of walking in high humidity and a lot of shopping stops. Did get to see some good sights, but be aware of a lot of shopping.
Read rpiwonka's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cobbydale
1 review
Oct 2016
Commentary malfunctioned- staff were aware. What good is a tour without a commentary, Not Happy....... some persons on bus were given water but they ran out & 6 of us missed out. Poor experience of Cartagena. WiFi in Port very poor failed to load..... we paid $3.00 USD each.
Read Cobbydale's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: City Sightseeing
Member Image firegal2539
10 reviews
Sep 2016
Hop On Hop Off bus tour, was informative and very interesting. Cartagena is beautiful and my favorite stop on this cruise. I like to use HOHO's because you can get off any where you want, look around, shop, gamble, etc., and then hop right on and go back to the port.
Read firegal2539's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image revbruce
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Photo ops outside of the fortress, plus a tour of the charming colonial part of this city. Tour guide led us to some street performers; I would rather have toured the cathedral. Street vendors almost ooutnumbered tourists and were pretty agrressive
Read revbruce's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Rookie44
4 reviews
Sep 2016
Extremely busy traffic which slowed down the tour due to large volumes.
Read Rookie44's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image hgtefla
1 review
Sep 2016
The tour guide was very knowledgeable but went on and on and on....
Read hgtefla's full Insignia cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image greenman1168
1 review
Sep 2016
It was ok.
Read greenman1168's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image liz92284
1 review
Apr 2016
Excellent overview of the city. Carlos was our guide. He was very knowledgeable and passionate. Wish we had more time at the first shopping stop - Las Bovedas. Lots of local vendors and would like to see more. Lots of walking up to the top of the fort - Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas. People on our tour had canes and managed, but it seemed difficult. Steep inclines and rough concrete steps. Hour walk through the Old City. Visit to the church- San Pedro de Calver. Second shopping stop was a little high end. Wish we had less time here - or at least the same amount in both places. Air conditioned bus used for transportation between stops. That was nice to get out of the heat. Length was good - not too long and not too short. Classified as moderate for activity level - probably should be specific in description about amount of walking and steep inclines at fort.
Read liz92284's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image flutepilot
5 reviews
Apr 2016
We had 20 minutes for shopping, most of which was taken up by paperwork.
Read flutepilot's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lorzy
1 review
Apr 2016
Dora gave us a wonderful, enjoyable tour of Cartagena. She's the best and knows her city well.
Read Lorzy's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Dora Tours
Member Image Clark cruisers
1 review
Apr 2016
Very informative guides, we had a bit of time to look around and never felt rushed.
Read Clark cruisers's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image U2 fan
1 review
Apr 2016
Walking tour around the unesco world heritage walled city. Very interesting city with hundreds of years of history. Our guide Jairo was great. The city felt quite safe even though it was very busy. I bought the most beautiful emerald ring from here. There are a lot of street sellers who are very persistent, so you must learn to say no thank you, or no grasias.
Read U2 fan's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image clarek13
1 review
Apr 2016
We really enjoyed this, with brief stops at the fortress a lovely walk through the old town and a bus tour through the newer area.
Read clarek13's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image nado
4 reviews
Apr 2016
We took the Hop on Hop Off Tour, there was not enough time to get back to the ship so we didn't Hop Off. It took about 90 minutes. There were people who didn't like it because they thought that the bus was very uncomfortable. This was true, but we Did like it, it was a very simple thing to do and we enjoyed just traveling around the city.
Read nado's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?