Cartagena (Colombia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Cartagena (Colombia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy Cartagena's restored colonial mansions, fusion restaurants and the Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas, the greatest fortress ever built by the Spanish colonies.
Member Image twils2006
1 review
Dec 2016
Lots of history. Very knowledgeable guide. Some free time in old city
Read twils2006's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Marelvy Pina Tour
Member Image AllenO
1 review
Dec 2016
Crowded, but interesting. Plenty of time to explore on your own. Many places do not take USD. Good to know rudimentary spanish.
Read AllenO's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Fzzlove
1 review
Dec 2016
Ride the whole line or save yourself money and take a taxi to Old City.
Read Fzzlove's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image yellowjacket_cruiser
1 review
Dec 2016
City walking tour, guide was terrible. It was set up to take our group to certain vendor, we stopped at a break dancing group, a street painter and a specific stall in the market. The guide had little information about the city itself or the sights. We tried to split from the tour, but the guide would not tell us where or what time to meet the bus. In hind sight, we should have left the tour and taken taxis back.
Read yellowjacket_cruiser's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image phcalo
1 review
Dec 2016
Enjoyed the fort and walking through the old city. Vendors at the fort were persistent, but understood 'no thanks.'
Read phcalo's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image celebrity74
1 review
Dec 2016
The sights (locations) were interesting but it was so hot, hot, hot... not good for a walking tour!
Read celebrity74's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Boschmann
1 review
Dec 2016
Port stop was a short 8am to 2pm. Several couples from our Cruise Critic roll call booked the City Tour with Dora De Zubiria. With three ships in port she booked up early and we were in a "Group Two" with Veronica, Dora's niece. Dora's team was waiting for our group of 12 with signs right at the pier. We had a clean, large van with PA so everyone could hear. We enjoyed the time at La Popa, Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas and in the walled city, but could have spent less time in the Dungeons (tourist shops) and Emerald Museum (jewelry store).
Read Boschmann's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Cartagena Tour - Dora De Zubiria
Member Image Tarheel_Cruiser
1 review
Dec 2016
We did the CARTAGENA PRIVATE CITY SIGHTSEEING EXCURSION. We went to the fort, monastery, and tours of both the old and new parts of the city. Our guide (Ben) was great. Pictures: http://s218.photobucket.com/user/GaryMelillo/library/Cruise%202016%20-%20Panama%20Canal%20-%20NCL/3%20-%20Cartagena%20Columbia?sort=4&page=1
Read Tarheel_Cruiser's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneer
Member Image Zuletzt
1 review
Dec 2016
Boat and walking tour of Cartagena. Guide was ok. He would tell you the surface facts of the city but would not include 'when' the 2nd older church in the city was built. Looked as if he was guessing as to the date when we asked him when it was built. He was very nice and knew plenty which seemed to suffice for most passengers but it was not 'in depth' knowledge of the city. The tour itself was nice. They of course take you to the local emerald 'cave' where you exit through the very expensive gift shop. It was air conditioned though. We chose to hang out outside and get an arepa with butter. $2 which was overpriced but they needed the money. The $2 beer was also overpriced given they were $2 at the convenience store around the corner. Again, she needed the money more than we did. The food was amazing, the beer not so much. The local British pub was not open until noon which means they are missing all of the passengers from the boats today. We had to be back at the ship by 1 pm. Too bad as we love the little local places.
Read Zuletzt's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image susanatdotcom
1 review
Dec 2016
"Old City" & Historical Museum of Cartagena tour. There were 3 cruise ships in port on the day we were there and lots of excursions include the Old City. The streets there are narrow and the temperature was HOT. It was very crowded. We were probably more focused on not losing sight of our tour guide in the crowd and missed much of interesting architecture. Bottom line, I’m glad to have seen Cartagena, but probably would have been better had we arranged a private tour.
Read susanatdotcom's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mjonis
3 reviews
Dec 2016
We did a tour with MareIvy. Very good. Learned lots and got to see the sites in the short amount of time that we were in port.
Read mjonis's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MareIvy Tours
Member Image sillerpille
1 review
Dec 2016
Supposed to do a 1h walk, but went just for 20 Minutes. Rip Off for 49.90 per person
Read sillerpille's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image dagreg
1 review
Dec 2016
Had outstanding guide. Emily! Knew the city she lived in very well. took her time explaining, letting us look and never made us feel rushed. The walk up to the fort.......whew........but made it
Read dagreg's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dweslander
1 review
Dec 2016
It was all very interesting and informative because we had a very good guide. Our ship arrived late, but our guide moved us along at a good steady pace so we didn't miss anything.
Read dweslander's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vacation-cruiser
1 review
Dec 2016
Interesting. Very knowledgeable tour guide. Very hot - no breeze at all.
Read vacation-cruiser's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jwh0002
1 review
Nov 2016
We took a city highlights tour that included the fort, the old town, and a drive the the resort distance. The town and the tour were disappointing. I had a Romancing the Stone view of the city and learned after we booked the cruise that the Cartagena fort scenes were actually filmed in Veracruz Mexico. The fort we visiting was up on the hill in a dramatic setting but was not well preserved compared to other forts we have seen in the Caribbean. Old town was Ok but as with most cruise ship excursions there was a heavy emphasis on shopping. The resort district was just a bunch of big hotels. The tour guides description about it was "that's a new hotel", "that's an old building". I'm sure our view of Cartagena was influenced by just having been in San Juan, a beautiful city with a well preserved fortress.
Read jwh0002's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Workinless
9 reviews
Nov 2016
An Excellent city combination bus and walking tour. Dora is very knowledgeable and personable. We recommend her highly.
Read Workinless's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Dora De Explorer
Member Image mninem
3 reviews
Nov 2016
4 people. No shopping. I believe we saw more, got more factual information, more personal attention than what was available in a 50 passenger bus mob.
Read mninem's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Pena-Hall
Member Image Sail Away Annie
1 review
Nov 2016
Toured the old walled city and downtown; was taken to tourist friendly shops.
Read Sail Away Annie's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Curious Kat
1 review
Nov 2016
Enjoyed seeing the old town but it was extremely humid and street vendors were persistent. Good guide
Read Curious Kat's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image talyah56
3 reviews
Nov 2016
We visited the old and new city... there was a lot to learn and experience. Even learning about emeralds, which is what Colombia is known for. What an education.
Read talyah56's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image snehprasad
1 review
Nov 2016
Not much to see except for very narrow streets and did not get to spend enough time in the Emerald Musuem as this is what was hyped to us the most.
Read snehprasad's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image forevertravel
2 reviews
Nov 2016
Our first time in Cartagena. It was very enjoyable and again we had a good guide.
Read forevertravel's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image cleopatraB
1 review
Nov 2016
We saw Old town, a church and the old Fort! Not a great tour
Read cleopatraB's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image AlibeeWW
1 review
Nov 2016
museums were very crowded (three ships in port) and we spent very little time at each, but what I saw was very nice, safe, and worth another trip
Read AlibeeWW's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?