Cartagena (Colombia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Cartagena (Colombia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy Cartagena's restored colonial mansions, fusion restaurants and the Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas, the greatest fortress ever built by the Spanish colonies.
Member Image flutepilot
5 reviews
Apr 2016
We had 20 minutes for shopping, most of which was taken up by paperwork.
Read flutepilot's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lorzy
1 review
Apr 2016
Dora gave us a wonderful, enjoyable tour of Cartagena. She's the best and knows her city well.
Read Lorzy's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Dora Tours
Member Image Clark cruisers
1 review
Apr 2016
Very informative guides, we had a bit of time to look around and never felt rushed.
Read Clark cruisers's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image U2 fan
1 review
Apr 2016
Walking tour around the unesco world heritage walled city. Very interesting city with hundreds of years of history. Our guide Jairo was great. The city felt quite safe even though it was very busy. I bought the most beautiful emerald ring from here. There are a lot of street sellers who are very persistent, so you must learn to say no thank you, or no grasias.
Read U2 fan's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image clarek13
1 review
Apr 2016
We really enjoyed this, with brief stops at the fortress a lovely walk through the old town and a bus tour through the newer area.
Read clarek13's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image nado
3 reviews
Apr 2016
We took the Hop on Hop Off Tour, there was not enough time to get back to the ship so we didn't Hop Off. It took about 90 minutes. There were people who didn't like it because they thought that the bus was very uncomfortable. This was true, but we Did like it, it was a very simple thing to do and we enjoyed just traveling around the city.
Read nado's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Gator75
3 reviews
Apr 2016
Our excursion was called Deluxe Cartagena and Fortress. First we visited the San Felipe Fortress. Maria, our tour guide, provided an excellent walking tour of the fortress and provided a good brief history of the site. She also provided instructions regarding how to deal with the street vendors and the expectations of the locals regarding payment for taking their pictures. After the fortress, we visited the Las Bovedas Artisan Center for shopping. Following the brief shopping stop, Maria led us on a walking tour of the Walled City. We visited the Inquisition Palace and the majestic San Pedro Clover's Sanctuary. These were impressive. The Walled City was very safe and beautiful. The architecture and the flowers in the city were also impressive. At the port, there was a small shopping area that offered souvenirs and packaged coffee priced at or below those in the city. In that same area is a small local zoo to walk through and observe some local animals. We were very impressed with how Celebrity staff (led by Mario) organized the excursion departures from the ship. People met inside in the theater and were called out in groups when their transportation/guides were ready for them. This limited the amount of time we had to stand outside in the hot sun.
Read Gator75's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image honeyb085
3 reviews
Apr 2016
The Dora City Tour was a nice morning overview tour of the high points. We were met at the pier and had a long walk to get to the air conditioned bus. We walked a bit at the church, and walked a lot more in the old town. Mercedes, our guide, was informative and helped us navigate the vendors which were all over. The Friends For Columbia tour the next morning was even better. Dan and Berit are Americans who have lived in Columbia for years. They run a non-profit that helps folks improve their lives. We were met at the pier with their air conditioned bus. We first went to a center where they train folks to improve their lives. We danced, played dominoes, practiced English, distributed food, and ate some of what they'd made. We had a tour of a gentleman's house where he grew organic herbs for the upscale hotels. We drove through neighborhoods that were quite safe, but never shown on normal tours. Dan and Berit were just great. They also took us on a walking tour of the old city. This tour was very enjoyable.
Read honeyb085's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Dora, Friends for Columbia
Member Image Purliegirlie
1 review
Mar 2016
Excellent
Read Purliegirlie's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image auscple
2 reviews
Mar 2016
A lot of history, interesting place but would not rush back.
Read auscple's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image FEH-HCG
1 review
Mar 2016
A lovely and historic city. Perhaps our favorite city visited on this cruise.
Read FEH-HCG's full Seabourn Odyssey cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image Arscar
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Horse drewn carriage through old city
Read Arscar's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image 4myOpinion
2 reviews
Feb 2016
Horrible port. Regretted choosing this cruise because it changed its itinerary to force us to spend 2 days of our vacation in this awful place. Aggressive vendors and beggars in your face. Hot and humid. Inadequately air conditioned bus. Two lengthy boring stops at jewelry store and at a mall. At the Fortress, there is nothing to see. No historical information. No displays. We still don't know who built it, when, why, and was it ever attacked? Just a long, hot, uphill climb. Avoid cruises that go to Cartagena!!!
Read 4myOpinion's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CPrim
1 review
Feb 2016
Our guide was very friendly and very informative; visiting Old Town on our own would have been a huge mistake. However, there is not much to do in the 60-90 minutes of free time at the end of the tour
Read CPrim's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Teramo48
1 review
Feb 2016
Cartagena is a beautiful city. Our guide was good. Really enjoyed the Old City. The only problem was that all the buses showed up at the same place at the same time. They need to schedule the various tours better.
Read Teramo48's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Ducktape
1 review
Feb 2016
Good tour. Very hot and humid.
Read Ducktape's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image retiring soon
15 reviews
Feb 2016
This was my favourite port. We began by visiting the zoo area at the port before meeting for our our excursion. The park was a nice oasis from the heat of the port area with its trees, cafe & local animals & birds. The tour was very good & the guide informative & helpful. The fort looked very interesting as were the walls. This being Saturday there was a couple of wedding receptions areas set up on the walls & wedding parties being transported in carriages.. The city itself is so beautiful with the old buildings & sculptures both new & old. Juan de la Cruz tried his best to get us into the Cathedral but there was a wedding in progress so we just went up the side aisle. There's a lot to see in Cartagena & I sure hope we make it back there someday.
Read retiring soon's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image sunshine221
7 reviews
Feb 2016
• We took a ship sponsored private tour. (Private Destinations) We were met on the boat by ship staff and escorted to a private taxi and guide. The guide was briefed on our proposed itinerary and she was well prepared. She supplied us with cold water as needed. She took us to La Popa monastery. There was an advantage to being a small group in that we were able to pass by the bigger groups. She explained the history and the various rooms and we reviewed the panoramic view as she described the various islands, communities and districts that make up Cartagena. We then went to the fort. A guide there is essential. She led us through various tunnels so that we covered the entire area without backtracking. She explained a lot of the fort and harbor history. We continued to the walled old city. We chose not to walk too much there due to the heat but she was able to get into the restricted area with the vehicle and she showed us the squared and we went into a hotel and a small but interesting museum of local industries. We continued back to the ship, driving through the hotel district and residential area. The tour lasted about 4 hours. • The only negatives were that while we could understand her, she was a little hard to understand and she didn't understand our questions all of the time. For example we asked about intermarriage between native tribes and she went into a discussion totally unrelated to that topic. Also the literature she provided was in Spanish, not English. • We will obviously compare options but we will consider using this service on future cruises.
Read sunshine221's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cchenningsen@hotmail.com
2 reviews
Jan 2016
Good overview
Read cchenningsen@hotmail.com's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image beasleybird
5 reviews
Jan 2016
We booked a ship's tour which was a city tour that included the fort, the inquisition museum, the cathedral, old town, and a folklore music/dance show. While the selection of tour stops was great and did give a nice overview, my rating was based on the overcrowding of these stops. In the cathedral, there were five different tour groups packed into the cathedral with guides all speaking over each other. Experience at other stops was the same so we couldn't really hear our guide speak. Seemed like princess had multiple tours in the same small spaces at the same time and then there were a couple celebrity tours also competing for space. Plus it was hot! Advice, book a tour on your own and get a good guide who might be able to avoid these cruise tour groups.
Read beasleybird's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Andy200
3 reviews
Jan 2016
Very good.
Read Andy200's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image traveler316
1 review
Jan 2016
Two days in port was great, Good choice
Read traveler316's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Pina Tours
Member Image Shazzer4400
1 review
Dec 2015
Great tour! Cartagena was extremely hot and humid, so it was nice to have an air conditioned bus to get back to. This tour included a guided tour of the Castillo, several stops inside the old city, entrance to the Palacio de la Inquisicion and the Museo de Oro.
Read Shazzer4400's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image snafyensid
6 reviews
Dec 2015
This was the Hop-on Hop-off tour. Unfortunatley, we stopped at a one of the stops along the way and an Indian "gentleman" (claimed he was a professor of engineering) boarded and spent the next 30 minutes loudly arguing with the attendant about getting a senior citizen discount and a better rate, even though this tour we were on was for the cruise passengers only. As a result we only hear about half of the tour commentary and were grateful when we got off to walk around the old city.
Read snafyensid's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Girl7Seas
1 review
Dec 2015
Beautiful old city.
Read Girl7Seas's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?