Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cartagena (Colombia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Cartagena (Colombia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy Cartagena's restored colonial mansions, fusion restaurants and the Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas, the greatest fortress ever built by the Spanish colonies.
Member Image beasleybird
5 reviews
Jan 2016
We booked a ship's tour which was a city tour that included the fort, the inquisition museum, the cathedral, old town, and a folklore music/dance show. While the selection of tour stops was great and did give a nice overview, my rating was based on the overcrowding of these stops. In the cathedral, there were five different tour groups packed into the cathedral with guides all speaking over each other. Experience at other stops was the same so we couldn't really hear our guide speak. Seemed like princess had multiple tours in the same small spaces at the same time and then there were a couple celebrity tours also competing for space. Plus it was hot! Advice, book a tour on your own and get a good guide who might be able to avoid these cruise tour groups.
Read beasleybird's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Shazzer4400
1 review
Dec 2015
Great tour! Cartagena was extremely hot and humid, so it was nice to have an air conditioned bus to get back to. This tour included a guided tour of the Castillo, several stops inside the old city, entrance to the Palacio de la Inquisicion and the Museo de Oro.
Read Shazzer4400's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image snafyensid
6 reviews
Dec 2015
This was the Hop-on Hop-off tour. Unfortunatley, we stopped at a one of the stops along the way and an Indian "gentleman" (claimed he was a professor of engineering) boarded and spent the next 30 minutes loudly arguing with the attendant about getting a senior citizen discount and a better rate, even though this tour we were on was for the cruise passengers only. As a result we only hear about half of the tour commentary and were grateful when we got off to walk around the old city.
Read snafyensid's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tbmrt
9 reviews
Nov 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed our prearranged trip with Dora in Cartagena Columbia. Thanks for arranging, Steve! The walled city was beautiful as were the other stops. Would have liked more time to shop in the dungeon area though. Dora bought the group some fresh fruit which was really delicious, especially in the high humidity/heat of Cartagena. Could have skipped the time at Emerald Shop stop
Read tbmrt's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Dora
Member Image evalwarner
1 review
Nov 2015
Too short
Read evalwarner's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 1Bratwurst
1 review
Nov 2015
Tour was on boat and on foot. After cruising through the harbor we walked through old town. Lovely place. Lot of things to see and nice stores. Had a great guide. Back to the ship by boat again.
Read 1Bratwurst's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image docktoar
1 review
Nov 2015
Horrible
Read docktoar's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image casofilia
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Too many people!! We started at the Navy Museum; the folkloric show was far too short and we were rushed through. Then the museum could have been a highlight if there had been more time and some of the information had been in English. We would have liked a lot longer in the Gold Museum but again there were too many people and we were rushed through with little time to take in what was available. After that there was a total waste of time for shopping; it could have been better spent in the attractions. The beggars and "souvenir sellers" were a real pain and did nothing to add to the tour. We first came across them at the Fortress, luckily they moved from bus to bus as they arrived so we didn't get hassled as we were not there long. At the Gold Museum and on the walk round the Old City they were hard to shake off. That was till I discovered a method; I agreed a price for an item and then offered to pay the USD5 in USD1 COINS; the whole lot of them disappeared very quickly.
Read casofilia's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Corinne2012
1 review
Aug 2015
not enough time= guide vey knowledgeable
Read Corinne2012's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: cruisingexcursions.com
Member Image Cruising Traveler
1 review
May 2015
Beautiful country, very interesting. One thing I didn't enjoy were the vendors, very determined and pushy. The weather is hot and humid. We enjoyed the countryside.
Read Cruising Traveler's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Prof Don
3 reviews
May 2015
It was what I expected to see. Clean, growing, stores, some housing, a lot of history. The street vendors came up to us, and they negotiated until we had reasonable prices, and those we waved off just walked away with no hassles.
Read Prof Don's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image nana2many
6 reviews
Apr 2015
We were in port for a very short time, about 4 hours. Not really enough time, but since we were a bit concerned about personal safety in Cartegena, it was adequate. We don't normally book a ship excursion, but did in this case for safety reasons and to ensure we got back to the ship in time. We saw a museum, the fortress, stopped for a little shopping, saw the beach and old city as we were driving in the bus. Good English speaking guide.
Read nana2many's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Pamtom
1 review
Apr 2015
Liked this a lot. Knowledgeable guide and the fort was interesting. It was very hot there. The first stop, a museum, was ok. But the remainder of the trip was good.
Read Pamtom's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CharlesOK
1 review
Apr 2015
Traffic is amazing in the City. Busses did take our scooter as requested. This was the only place that carried the scooter for us. People were nice the ride up the small mountain gave a nice view from above.
Read CharlesOK's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bobtrains2004
1 review
Apr 2015
The tour was very interesting. Our tour guide was very friendly and informative. Very nice, except for getting mobbed by the street vendors every time we got off of the bus.
Read bobtrains2004's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ChesterLocksley
1 review
Apr 2015
The stay in Cartagena was far too short really. The tour was a bit rushed and too much time was spent at shopping venues - seemingly associated with the shops on the ship. The wlaking tour was very interesting but very rushed.
Read ChesterLocksley's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image missjazz
1 review
Apr 2015
Now for Cartegena. So sad. A city working hard to establish a tourist destination yet the trash, lack of grass and pretty flowers did nothing to entice me. We saw real poverty there (and I am glad to have seen it for myself). The ladies dressed in costume with their fruit stacked high on their head was great. The old city, our guide, the fort were wonderful but the atmostphere of dirt and poor roads made me want to get out of there quickly. Even the high rise I saw seemed neglected (but that was only one) They have a lot to work with in this city, but a long long way to go. Even what they called the wealthy area was small and not what I would call wealthy; the houses looked out on the huge shipping cranes which marred the view of the water. Give this port a chance as these people need the work but....but it's not for me.
Read missjazz's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image walter54
2 reviews
Apr 2015
A brief stop at the foot of the castle and already enclosed by intrusive vendors. It continuated all day long. Just one interesting point: the cathedral. Shopping is ot our thing, we look for culture interesting facts.
Read walter54's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image aginglawyer
1 review
Apr 2015
Waste of time and money. Advertised as "less shopping" but was still almost all shopping. The bus got lost and left us standing for 25 minutes in the hot sun at the fortress. We were given no tours to speak of and the guide was most interested in directing us to his favored stores
Read aginglawyer's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image trubarry
1 review
Apr 2015
Cartagena is a beautiful city to sail into. Modern buildings at one end and historic buildings at the other. The Hop-On-Hop Off bus tour gave us the choice of staying on to see and listen to the tour guide's commentary or get off and explore.
Read trubarry's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mike Lowe
2 reviews
Apr 2015
A good tour by small bus plus walking. About 20 people in our party, each paying $20. Very good value. We preferred this impromptu tour, which we were able to book once we were ashore and could assess the weather, etc.
Read Mike Lowe's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: No idea!
Member Image Walt-on-wheels
1 review
Apr 2015
Driver and guide took 3 of us in wheelchairs...and 3 others...for a tour of the Old City and New Cartegena. We DROVE the "City Waking Tour" and got lifted up stairs to the monastery and museums. They explained about life in Cartegena in the past and the present. His English was excellent and he took us where we wanted to go look after the official tour. The Emerald Museum is worth a miss unless you really want to buy some. The "dungeons" is just a huge gift shop area....we spent 10 minutes then toured elsewhere.
Read Walt-on-wheels's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Dora de Explorer
Member Image CARMEN KANE
1 review
Mar 2015
WE had tried to book a tour with DORA but it was too late.WE met our bus at 0745am and we proceeded trough a traffic jam ,as the harbour is connected by four bridges all that were packed with early morning commuters.We proceeded up the mountain to the monastery and a spectacular view of Cartegna and the inner harbour.After a short tour and description,it was very hot and humid we left to stop at the fort and then onto the naval museum,we stayed here for an hour used the bathroom facilities ,watched a local Colombian dance troupe for a few minitues ,then we did somelocal shopping in the area of the museum .We then left and toured the bigmouth area of Cartegna or as wesay in North America the bigshot area,best beaches,high security police everywhere you look.Our tour guide Monica was very informative and was able to answer almost all of our questions.We arrived back at the ship at noon.
Read CARMEN KANE's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image floridatravelersforlife
5 reviews
Mar 2015
WE visited Cartagena 5 years earlier. We did the historical city tour and really enjoyed it this time. Included was a coffee tasting which was very enjoyable.
Read floridatravelersforlife's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lovelylinny
2 reviews
Feb 2015
Very good city tour provided thru dora@cartagenatour.com.. Guide met us at assigned time and place.. was knowledgeable and professional..a great price too
Read lovelylinny's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.