Cartagena (Colombia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Cartagena (Colombia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy Cartagena's restored colonial mansions, fusion restaurants and the Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas, the greatest fortress ever built by the Spanish colonies.
Member Image Keystonekel
3 reviews
May 2017
Very nice tour of the city and harbour areas. Our english speaking guide was very knowledgeable.
Read Keystonekel's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image pugswey
1 review
Apr 2017
Bus tour of the city which was suppose to include going into the fort. Upon arrival to the bus we learned "something" happened at the fort and we could not do that portion of the trip. No fault of the tour group who tried to compensate with a longer but tour. Most of the scenery during the tour is actually blocked by the wall that surrounds Cartagena, so not much to see. When we did get off the bus, we were warned not to look directly or speak to street venders, who swarmed you when got off the bus. Really did not like that. Not terribly impressed with Cartagena. Unless it was included in a trip where other ports I want to see are included, I would choose not to return to Cartagena.
Read pugswey's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image littlegit
3 reviews
Apr 2017
I thought this was a good tour with a very good guide. It concentrated on the old part of the city.
Read littlegit's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: tourincartagena.com with Marelvy Pena-Hall
Member Image CO Gypsy
2 reviews
Apr 2017
Too much walking, not rest spots, no water, no shade.... way too hot and HUMID. DONT GO IN April/May. Oh and your guide only spoke to the six or eight people close to him, the rest of us rarely heard anything he said.
Read CO Gypsy's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image VinHank
2 reviews
Apr 2017
It was a good way to learn about the country and it's people. Our guide was very knowledgeable
Read VinHank's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image charccs
1 review
Apr 2017
An overall view of the city and some history. Loved Cartagena--spent time on my own walking into Old Town , shopping and eating. Glad we had 2 days there.
Read charccs's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image briangdg
1 review
Mar 2017
We mainly toured the old city.
Read briangdg's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AlwaysPlanningNextCruise
1 review
Mar 2017
Native Cartagenian, Dora, kept aggressive vendors at bay. She was informative, professional, and organized. The tour included entrance and bathroom fees and she gave us refreshment of our choice.
Read AlwaysPlanningNextCruise's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Dora De Explorer of Cartegena tours
Member Image DKlec
1 review
Mar 2017
We stopped at the old fort for cultural pictures with a donkey decorated in a flower straw hat and women balancing baskets of fruit on their heads. After this, did a walking tour of the old city and cathedral (which was amazing).We finalized the tour with the Columbia Folkloric show in a beautiful and ornate auditorium complete with murals on the ceiling. The show was thoroughly entertaining and the guide spoke slowly to enuniciate his words so we could understand.
Read DKlec's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MissouriMaid1
1 review
Mar 2017
We were approached by people wanting us to buy souvineres. I said, "We have no money" in Spanish and most of them backed off. The guide took us in an air conditioned car, the seven of us, but had us walk around the town in the heat. He took us to shops to look at Emeralds and tee shirts. We saw a couple of churches. We were not taken to see the monastery because the road was washed out, which annoyed people in our party. Instead we were taken to a different church/monastery. I was disappointed that we only looked at the big fort, and did not go in it. It was probably too hot to walk up there, as there are no easy ways to get there, except to walk.
Read MissouriMaid1's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image EllieinNJ
1 review
Mar 2017
Disappointed. Only took us to fort for 15 minutes. Mostly took us to shopping places.
Read EllieinNJ's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Dora
Member Image ABEEHILTZ
1 review
Mar 2017
Booked as highlights of Cartagena. Also the description of the torture of slaves was shocking - not what I wanted to hear - it was such a hot day we got a taxi back to the ship
Read ABEEHILTZ's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Circus Riff Raff
2 reviews
Feb 2017
hop on/Hop off bus. Walled old city was cool, but $50 USD for one fort tour, plus $5 for every church and museum, was more than we paid for the entire tour! Beggars are like fleas and will not leave you along to the point of hostility.
Read Circus Riff Raff's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image fjkjr
1 review
Feb 2017
Wasted a significant amount of time waiting for the tour to be called. Felt there was way too many people, felt rushed the whole time, and spent way too much time looking at "local artisans" crafts. Truly amazing these local artisans can make thousands of exactly the same "hand made" items that look exactly the same and provide inventory for so many "local artisan" stores. These Columbian artisans are evidently busy folk. Also more expensive than some of the private tours we took on other ports.
Read fjkjr's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image harlena
1 review
Feb 2017
The tour guide spent too much time talking about a map in one of the churches. She walked too fast. We could not stop if we saw something we were interested in; it was full speed ahead! She took us to 2 emerald jewelry stores. We were not interested in buying emeralds.
Read harlena's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneer Guianza Express
Member Image TTWestie
1 review
Feb 2017
Good but could have used better time looking at some points. Very hot. Tour guide just okay.
Read TTWestie's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image edzucker
1 review
Feb 2017
The tour was enjoyable and included time at the old fort and a walking tour of the old city. I wish we would have had time to go into the fort. Don’t miss the animal zoo/area at the Cartagena cruise terminal.
Read edzucker's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kidfree&cruising
1 review
Jan 2017
Great person and operator to go with. A 10 out of 10.
Read kidfree&cruising's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Dora the Explorer
Member Image pacerh
1 review
Jan 2017
excellent, knowledgeable guide
Read pacerh's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image wgmiller
1 review
Jan 2017
Got a good sense of the city.
Read wgmiller's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image topcat326
2 reviews
Jan 2017
This was part of the hop on hop off bus option. Very good value indeed.
Read topcat326's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HaveDogWillTravel
3 reviews
Jan 2017
We enjoyed Dora and the tour a lot. We went to La Popa on the hill and got an overview of the land as well as a tour of the monastery. Then we drove to the fort but did not get to walk up. The walking tour of the walled city was excellent (she even bought us all fresh fruit cups from a street vender half way through- very refreshing!). When we did the obligatory "Now here's where you have some time to shop" she always had an alternative for us non shoppers...we could walk up onto the wall and explore it and the beautiful views. I was a little disappointed that we did not go into the Inquisition Museum, but I really liked the art museum and church we did go to.
Read HaveDogWillTravel's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Dora the Explorer
Member Image plannertogo
1 review
Jan 2017
A lot to see and do. We could have done with out Emerald and Chocolate tours
Read plannertogo's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Dora de Zubira
Member Image firecruise
1 review
Jan 2017
We did the tour to see Cartagena by land and sea. A bus took us to the fort that overlooks the entire city. You were able to see the new high rise area and the old walled city. The walled city was full of houses, shops and restaurants. The architecture was similar to San Juan. We took a boat to see the walled city form the water as well as the new island where the high rise buildings were located as well as the forts that guarded the entrance to the harbor.
Read firecruise's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image twils2006
1 review
Dec 2016
Lots of history. Very knowledgeable guide. Some free time in old city
Read twils2006's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Marelvy Pina Tour

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?