Cartagena (Colombia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Cartagena (Colombia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy Cartagena's restored colonial mansions, fusion restaurants and the Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas, the greatest fortress ever built by the Spanish colonies.
Member Image charccs
1 review
Apr 2017
An overall view of the city and some history. Loved Cartagena--spent time on my own walking into Old Town , shopping and eating. Glad we had 2 days there.
Read charccs's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image briangdg
1 review
Mar 2017
We mainly toured the old city.
Read briangdg's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AlwaysPlanningNextCruise
1 review
Mar 2017
Native Cartagenian, Dora, kept aggressive vendors at bay. She was informative, professional, and organized. The tour included entrance and bathroom fees and she gave us refreshment of our choice.
Read AlwaysPlanningNextCruise's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Dora De Explorer of Cartegena tours
Member Image EllieinNJ
1 review
Mar 2017
Disappointed. Only took us to fort for 15 minutes. Mostly took us to shopping places.
Read EllieinNJ's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Dora
Member Image ABEEHILTZ
1 review
Mar 2017
Booked as highlights of Cartagena. Also the description of the torture of slaves was shocking - not what I wanted to hear - it was such a hot day we got a taxi back to the ship
Read ABEEHILTZ's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Circus Riff Raff
2 reviews
Feb 2017
hop on/Hop off bus. Walled old city was cool, but $50 USD for one fort tour, plus $5 for every church and museum, was more than we paid for the entire tour! Beggars are like fleas and will not leave you along to the point of hostility.
Read Circus Riff Raff's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image fjkjr
1 review
Feb 2017
Wasted a significant amount of time waiting for the tour to be called. Felt there was way too many people, felt rushed the whole time, and spent way too much time looking at "local artisans" crafts. Truly amazing these local artisans can make thousands of exactly the same "hand made" items that look exactly the same and provide inventory for so many "local artisan" stores. These Columbian artisans are evidently busy folk. Also more expensive than some of the private tours we took on other ports.
Read fjkjr's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image harlena
1 review
Feb 2017
The tour guide spent too much time talking about a map in one of the churches. She walked too fast. We could not stop if we saw something we were interested in; it was full speed ahead! She took us to 2 emerald jewelry stores. We were not interested in buying emeralds.
Read harlena's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneer Guianza Express
Member Image TTWestie
1 review
Feb 2017
Good but could have used better time looking at some points. Very hot. Tour guide just okay.
Read TTWestie's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image edzucker
1 review
Feb 2017
The tour was enjoyable and included time at the old fort and a walking tour of the old city. I wish we would have had time to go into the fort. Don’t miss the animal zoo/area at the Cartagena cruise terminal.
Read edzucker's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kidfree&cruising
1 review
Jan 2017
Great person and operator to go with. A 10 out of 10.
Read kidfree&cruising's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Dora the Explorer
Member Image pacerh
1 review
Jan 2017
excellent, knowledgeable guide
Read pacerh's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image wgmiller
1 review
Jan 2017
Got a good sense of the city.
Read wgmiller's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image topcat326
2 reviews
Jan 2017
This was part of the hop on hop off bus option. Very good value indeed.
Read topcat326's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HaveDogWillTravel
3 reviews
Jan 2017
We enjoyed Dora and the tour a lot. We went to La Popa on the hill and got an overview of the land as well as a tour of the monastery. Then we drove to the fort but did not get to walk up. The walking tour of the walled city was excellent (she even bought us all fresh fruit cups from a street vender half way through- very refreshing!). When we did the obligatory "Now here's where you have some time to shop" she always had an alternative for us non shoppers...we could walk up onto the wall and explore it and the beautiful views. I was a little disappointed that we did not go into the Inquisition Museum, but I really liked the art museum and church we did go to.
Read HaveDogWillTravel's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Dora the Explorer
Member Image plannertogo
1 review
Jan 2017
A lot to see and do. We could have done with out Emerald and Chocolate tours
Read plannertogo's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Dora de Zubira
Member Image firecruise
1 review
Jan 2017
We did the tour to see Cartagena by land and sea. A bus took us to the fort that overlooks the entire city. You were able to see the new high rise area and the old walled city. The walled city was full of houses, shops and restaurants. The architecture was similar to San Juan. We took a boat to see the walled city form the water as well as the new island where the high rise buildings were located as well as the forts that guarded the entrance to the harbor.
Read firecruise's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image twils2006
1 review
Dec 2016
Lots of history. Very knowledgeable guide. Some free time in old city
Read twils2006's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Marelvy Pina Tour
Member Image AllenO
1 review
Dec 2016
Crowded, but interesting. Plenty of time to explore on your own. Many places do not take USD. Good to know rudimentary spanish.
Read AllenO's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Fzzlove
1 review
Dec 2016
Ride the whole line or save yourself money and take a taxi to Old City.
Read Fzzlove's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image britain22
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Chiva bus tour. It was a blast and saw lots of the city!
Read britain22's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image yellowjacket_cruiser
1 review
Dec 2016
City walking tour, guide was terrible. It was set up to take our group to certain vendor, we stopped at a break dancing group, a street painter and a specific stall in the market. The guide had little information about the city itself or the sights. We tried to split from the tour, but the guide would not tell us where or what time to meet the bus. In hind sight, we should have left the tour and taken taxis back.
Read yellowjacket_cruiser's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image phcalo
1 review
Dec 2016
Enjoyed the fort and walking through the old city. Vendors at the fort were persistent, but understood 'no thanks.'
Read phcalo's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image celebrity74
1 review
Dec 2016
The sights (locations) were interesting but it was so hot, hot, hot... not good for a walking tour!
Read celebrity74's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Boschmann
1 review
Dec 2016
Port stop was a short 8am to 2pm. Several couples from our Cruise Critic roll call booked the City Tour with Dora De Zubiria. With three ships in port she booked up early and we were in a "Group Two" with Veronica, Dora's niece. Dora's team was waiting for our group of 12 with signs right at the pier. We had a clean, large van with PA so everyone could hear. We enjoyed the time at La Popa, Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas and in the walled city, but could have spent less time in the Dungeons (tourist shops) and Emerald Museum (jewelry store).
Read Boschmann's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Cartagena Tour - Dora De Zubiria

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?