Cartagena (Colombia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Cartagena (Colombia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy Cartagena's restored colonial mansions, fusion restaurants and the Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas, the greatest fortress ever built by the Spanish colonies.
Member Image harlena
1 review
Feb 2017
The tour guide spent too much time talking about a map in one of the churches. She walked too fast. We could not stop if we saw something we were interested in; it was full speed ahead! She took us to 2 emerald jewelry stores. We were not interested in buying emeralds.
Read harlena's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneer Guianza Express
Member Image TTWestie
1 review
Feb 2017
Good but could have used better time looking at some points. Very hot. Tour guide just okay.
Read TTWestie's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kidfree&cruising
1 review
Jan 2017
Great person and operator to go with. A 10 out of 10.
Read kidfree&cruising's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Dora the Explorer
Member Image pacerh
1 review
Jan 2017
excellent, knowledgeable guide
Read pacerh's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image wgmiller
1 review
Jan 2017
Got a good sense of the city.
Read wgmiller's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image topcat326
2 reviews
Jan 2017
This was part of the hop on hop off bus option. Very good value indeed.
Read topcat326's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HaveDogWillTravel
3 reviews
Jan 2017
We enjoyed Dora and the tour a lot. We went to La Popa on the hill and got an overview of the land as well as a tour of the monastery. Then we drove to the fort but did not get to walk up. The walking tour of the walled city was excellent (she even bought us all fresh fruit cups from a street vender half way through- very refreshing!). When we did the obligatory "Now here's where you have some time to shop" she always had an alternative for us non shoppers...we could walk up onto the wall and explore it and the beautiful views. I was a little disappointed that we did not go into the Inquisition Museum, but I really liked the art museum and church we did go to.
Read HaveDogWillTravel's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Dora the Explorer
Member Image plannertogo
1 review
Jan 2017
A lot to see and do. We could have done with out Emerald and Chocolate tours
Read plannertogo's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Dora de Zubira
Member Image firecruise
1 review
Jan 2017
We did the tour to see Cartagena by land and sea. A bus took us to the fort that overlooks the entire city. You were able to see the new high rise area and the old walled city. The walled city was full of houses, shops and restaurants. The architecture was similar to San Juan. We took a boat to see the walled city form the water as well as the new island where the high rise buildings were located as well as the forts that guarded the entrance to the harbor.
Read firecruise's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image twils2006
1 review
Dec 2016
Lots of history. Very knowledgeable guide. Some free time in old city
Read twils2006's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Marelvy Pina Tour
Member Image AllenO
1 review
Dec 2016
Crowded, but interesting. Plenty of time to explore on your own. Many places do not take USD. Good to know rudimentary spanish.
Read AllenO's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Fzzlove
1 review
Dec 2016
Ride the whole line or save yourself money and take a taxi to Old City.
Read Fzzlove's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image britain22
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Chiva bus tour. It was a blast and saw lots of the city!
Read britain22's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image yellowjacket_cruiser
1 review
Dec 2016
City walking tour, guide was terrible. It was set up to take our group to certain vendor, we stopped at a break dancing group, a street painter and a specific stall in the market. The guide had little information about the city itself or the sights. We tried to split from the tour, but the guide would not tell us where or what time to meet the bus. In hind sight, we should have left the tour and taken taxis back.
Read yellowjacket_cruiser's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image phcalo
1 review
Dec 2016
Enjoyed the fort and walking through the old city. Vendors at the fort were persistent, but understood 'no thanks.'
Read phcalo's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image celebrity74
1 review
Dec 2016
The sights (locations) were interesting but it was so hot, hot, hot... not good for a walking tour!
Read celebrity74's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Boschmann
1 review
Dec 2016
Port stop was a short 8am to 2pm. Several couples from our Cruise Critic roll call booked the City Tour with Dora De Zubiria. With three ships in port she booked up early and we were in a "Group Two" with Veronica, Dora's niece. Dora's team was waiting for our group of 12 with signs right at the pier. We had a clean, large van with PA so everyone could hear. We enjoyed the time at La Popa, Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas and in the walled city, but could have spent less time in the Dungeons (tourist shops) and Emerald Museum (jewelry store).
Read Boschmann's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Cartagena Tour - Dora De Zubiria
Member Image Tarheel_Cruiser
1 review
Dec 2016
We did the CARTAGENA PRIVATE CITY SIGHTSEEING EXCURSION. We went to the fort, monastery, and tours of both the old and new parts of the city. Our guide (Ben) was great. Pictures: http://s218.photobucket.com/user/GaryMelillo/library/Cruise%202016%20-%20Panama%20Canal%20-%20NCL/3%20-%20Cartagena%20Columbia?sort=4&page=1
Read Tarheel_Cruiser's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneer
Member Image Zuletzt
1 review
Dec 2016
Boat and walking tour of Cartagena. Guide was ok. He would tell you the surface facts of the city but would not include 'when' the 2nd older church in the city was built. Looked as if he was guessing as to the date when we asked him when it was built. He was very nice and knew plenty which seemed to suffice for most passengers but it was not 'in depth' knowledge of the city. The tour itself was nice. They of course take you to the local emerald 'cave' where you exit through the very expensive gift shop. It was air conditioned though. We chose to hang out outside and get an arepa with butter. $2 which was overpriced but they needed the money. The $2 beer was also overpriced given they were $2 at the convenience store around the corner. Again, she needed the money more than we did. The food was amazing, the beer not so much. The local British pub was not open until noon which means they are missing all of the passengers from the boats today. We had to be back at the ship by 1 pm. Too bad as we love the little local places.
Read Zuletzt's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image susanatdotcom
1 review
Dec 2016
"Old City" & Historical Museum of Cartagena tour. There were 3 cruise ships in port on the day we were there and lots of excursions include the Old City. The streets there are narrow and the temperature was HOT. It was very crowded. We were probably more focused on not losing sight of our tour guide in the crowd and missed much of interesting architecture. Bottom line, I’m glad to have seen Cartagena, but probably would have been better had we arranged a private tour.
Read susanatdotcom's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mjonis
3 reviews
Dec 2016
We did a tour with MareIvy. Very good. Learned lots and got to see the sites in the short amount of time that we were in port.
Read mjonis's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MareIvy Tours
Member Image sillerpille
1 review
Dec 2016
Supposed to do a 1h walk, but went just for 20 Minutes. Rip Off for 49.90 per person
Read sillerpille's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image dagreg
1 review
Dec 2016
Had outstanding guide. Emily! Knew the city she lived in very well. took her time explaining, letting us look and never made us feel rushed. The walk up to the fort.......whew........but made it
Read dagreg's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dweslander
1 review
Dec 2016
It was all very interesting and informative because we had a very good guide. Our ship arrived late, but our guide moved us along at a good steady pace so we didn't miss anything.
Read dweslander's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vacation-cruiser
1 review
Dec 2016
Interesting. Very knowledgeable tour guide. Very hot - no breeze at all.
Read vacation-cruiser's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?