Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cartagena (Colombia) Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas Excursion Reviews

Cartagena (Colombia) Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Travel back to the colonial period and observe the ramparts and battlements of Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas in Cartagena, the strongest fortress built by the Spaniards. The undefeated walls of this historic landmark stand proud as they guard and protect its rich antiquity.
Member Image Herbs Mom
2 reviews
Jan 2014

We really wanted to go into the fort, but it was very pricey ($17/person) so we opted out of going in, but Wil shared the history of the fort with us as we toured outside. Again, the vendors are very persistent but usually polite. Don't try to take a picture of the "Fruit Ladies" unless pay them! They are not happy if you snap a picture and don't pay.

Read Herbs Mom's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Wil
Member Image jsja79
1 review
Mar 2013
Very interesting!
Read jsja79's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 2006prius
1 review
Jan 2013
Impressive but we only saw it from the ouside.
Read 2006prius's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jeanne_lynn
1 review
Jan 2013
My daughter and I were completely surprised about how much we loved Cartagena. This was the one port I really didn't care about. We decided to do the tour since a group from Cruise Critic on the message boards had a tour planned. It was such a good deal at $47.00 apiece for a complete tour of the town, that we decided "What the heck" let's just do it. Our tour guide was such a nice woman and was so knowledgeable that we felt like we really got a wonderful experience. I would recommend this tour to everyone. I loved the people of Columbia and the town of Cartagena is lovely.
Read jeanne_lynn's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Mr. Lee
Member Image Phoenix cruiser
3 reviews
Dec 2012
A through tour of every corner of the fort with lots of history from a knowledgable guide.
Read Phoenix cruiser's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Cartagena Tours- Dora De Zubiria
Member Image Gojirart
1 review
Dec 2012
A long, hot walk to the top, but our guide (who had to be close to 70!) took us up in segments. He was very informative. Many pushy vendors, but we took our guide's advice, didn't make eye contact and repeated no thank you and they mostly left us alone. The underground tunnels and passageways were amazing. Be sure to bring a flash camera if you love to take picture of tunnels and hallways. The views of the surrounding city were also amazing. Beware if you plan to take a taxi here. The traffic in Cartagena was the worst we've ever seen anywhere. The excursion said a 15 minute ride to the fort - it took about 45 minutes with the traffic.
Read Gojirart's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SJandSinFolsom
1 review
Dec 2012
This is a nice site to visit but it is very steep walking up to the top. If you can't walk to the top there isn't anything to do at the bottom. My husband sat on the bus. Having said that, I thought the history was interesting and there are great views of the city. There is also a shop at the top where you can buy souvenirs or refreshments.
Read SJandSinFolsom's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BudinFla
16 reviews
Nov 2012
The walk up is really steep and it was really hot, but worth the effort. The walk around the old town was nice. The shopping for emeralds was worthless-- the prices are really high!
Read BudinFla's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TheGoomba
1 review
Oct 2012
Part of a deluxe package to visit the castle fort, inquicision palace, and tour of the city. Being in Colombia itself was a treat and the locals were very nice (non merchants), saying 'welcome to our country', 'enjoy your stay' (we speak spanish). This part of the tour was around 20 minutes, I enjoyed the scenic view of the fort and walking up was also fun. I wished we could of stayed an extra 20 minutes or so to explore, but the guide would come yell at you the second you ventured away from the group. Once you reach the top, theres about a 5 minute stop at a souvenir shop.
Read TheGoomba's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image shamrockace
3 reviews
Oct 2012
Met us right at the pier. The van was airconditioned and the driver was excellent and watched our belongings left on the van. La Popa Monastery was my favorite. Beautiful courtyard. Be prepared for about 3 miles of walking on the city tour in old town. We stopped in several cathedrals, the dungeons for shopping and also visited the new town shops. Street vendors are hard to ignore, just don't make eye contact. Dora gave us a lot of history and is very proud of her country. WE just did a photo stop at the Castillo
Read shamrockace's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 4skeeter
1 review
Oct 2012
It is hot, water hat and camera! Tour was thorough but you move fast. Guide knew his city and was terrific. Lot of people everywhere so you do well w a guide! Watch your wallet the vendors are thick and push hard. Be firm. Take spanish class and learn how to say NO! Guide helped alot in the buying dept but think he knew everyone!! Lot to see in little time.
Read 4skeeter's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.